GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: HeaveHo on July 02, 2009, 10:26:56 AM

Title: Jimmy Stynes
Post by: HeaveHo on July 02, 2009, 10:26:56 AM
Former GAA player and AFL legend Jim Stynes has been diagnosed with a rare form of cancer and starts treatment tomorrow. The Brownlow medallist and AFL consecutive games record holder and current Melbourne Football Club president noticed a lump on his back three weeks ago which turned out to be cancerous and has spread to other parts of his body. Best wishes go to Jimmy and his family as he starts the fight of his life.
Title: Re: Jimmy Stynes
Post by: corn02 on July 02, 2009, 10:27:45 AM
Horrible, saw the report but it didn;t mention what illness.

Best of luck Jim.
Post by: orangeman on July 02, 2009, 10:35:25 AM
Hope all goes well for him.
Post by: JMohan on July 02, 2009, 10:46:44 AM
An absolute legend and great person - knowing Jim he's going give this one hell of a fight.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 02, 2009, 10:59:37 AM
Sad news...hope everything turns out well for him
Post by: ziggysego on July 02, 2009, 11:50:22 AM
Terrible news, but God willing he'll come through it.
Post by: full back on July 02, 2009, 11:53:00 AM
Bad news for Stynes
Here's hoping he pulls through
Post by: Jinxy on July 02, 2009, 11:55:50 AM
Best of luck to him.
Post by: mick999 on July 02, 2009, 12:10:13 PM
Terrible news ...I'm sure he'll put up a good fight !!

More info here :

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,25720997-661,00.html (http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,25720997-661,00.html)

http://www.reach.org.au/ (http://www.reach.org.au/)
Post by: anglocelt39 on July 02, 2009, 12:35:54 PM
Any Irish person who was in Oz during the late 80's/early 90's when the world was a different place could have nothing but the highest regard for Jimmy Stynes-his winning the Bronlow Medal was a source of great pride, breaking all consecutive fixtures played records when you see the trouble other Irish lads have had with the game, putting himself about, BIG TIME, when playing for Ireland in the 1990 compromise rules series down there, and still sneaking out for the Odd game of Gaelic Footy with the lads in Melbourne much against the wishes of his Club. Former all Black Number 8 Zinzan Brooke makes some great comments about coming across Jim on the Gaelic Football pitch down under.

Hope to god he wins this battle
Post by: ExiledGael on July 02, 2009, 06:07:37 PM
You got a link to any of Zinzan Brooke's quotes AngloCelt?
Post by: Rossfan on July 02, 2009, 06:21:54 PM
My best wishes go to him at this trying time.
Post by: magickingdom on July 02, 2009, 06:36:49 PM
i always been a huge fan of his, best of luck to him...
Post by: anglocelt39 on July 02, 2009, 07:37:58 PM
Quote from: ExiledGael on July 02, 2009, 06:07:37 PM

Can't get you a link mate. It was from Zinzans biography, well one of them. Himself and another All Black of the time Bernie McCahill used play a bit of Gaelic Footy in the off season to keep the eye in. The represented NZ/Auckland or whoever in the Australasian games and came up against Victoria including one Jimmy Stynes whom Zinzan knew nothing off. He described his attempts to swat Jim off once or twice to absolutely no avail as he came back for more, grinning more manically each time. Brooke asked some question about where Jim's raw meat supplies were being stored.

Yet again, can't speak highly enough of him and what he's achieved, I'll even resort to a bit of prayer on the man's behalf.
Post by: ross matt on July 03, 2009, 06:11:14 PM
With you on that prayer Anglo. Have been in Melbourned twice and still have alot of family there. Stynes is simply revered there for his achievements on and off the pitch. Make you proud to be Irish over there.
Post by: 5 Sams on July 04, 2009, 12:56:20 AM
Being an oul fella and having watched Jim's fanatastic success in Oz ...I have great admiration for the man....I hope he makes it.
Post by: Aerlik on July 06, 2009, 10:39:44 AM
Nice tribute by the Melbourne team both before and after the game on Saturday.  Oh, and the fact they belted West Coast was even more special. :D
Post by: mick999 on July 06, 2009, 11:45:20 AM
Quote from: ExiledGael on July 02, 2009, 06:07:37 PM

Brooke content with course of his career By Orla Bannon
02/10/99

More of a surprise is to discover the great man wasn't a bad gaelic footballer. Around the same time he was trying to break in to the All Black side Brooke played centre half-forward for a GAA club in Auckland called the Rangers. Six years under the GAA code brought four national championships but the highlight for him wasn't about medals. "My claim to fame in gaelic football is that I marked Jimmy Stynes in 1985. "He was a big guy who had a bit of a reputation at that time in Aussie Rules. Jimmy's a great guy, we both played centrefield that day and had a full-on battle."

From the Irish News

http://www.irishnews.com/pageacc.asp?tser1=ser&sid=373230&par=ben (http://www.irishnews.com/pageacc.asp?tser1=ser&sid=373230&par=ben)
Post by: the real slim shady on October 01, 2009, 07:08:30 PM
From Melbourne's Herald Sun

JIM STYNES' brave cancer battle appears to have hit another hurdle with the Demons legend revealing he now has a brain tumour.

But the 43-year-old is remaining positive, telling an online audience that he would know the outcome of tests soon.

"Small bump on recover, little tumour on brain, will know soon,'' Stynes wrote on Twitter today.
"Good news PETscan all clean on rest body. great support everyone xox''.

Stynes has been using Twitter to update his supporters on his progress since revealing his health battle earlier this year.
Stynes stood down as Melbourne's club president in June after doctors diagnosed him with a cancerous lump on his back.
In September he underwent a second round of surgery after scans revealed after two new tumours.
Post by: magickingdom on October 01, 2009, 08:04:55 PM
i was just wondering how he was getting on the other day, hopefully thats exactly what it will be a bump on the road to recovery. lance armstrongs cancer had also spread to his brain and look at him now. . .
Post by: thejuice on October 01, 2009, 08:22:56 PM
Fingers crossed for him, wish him all the best.
Post by: orangeman on October 02, 2009, 11:15:23 AM
Quote from: the real slim shady on October 01, 2009, 07:08:30 PM
From Melbourne's Herald Sun

JIM STYNES' brave cancer battle appears to have hit another hurdle with the Demons legend revealing he now has a brain tumour.

But the 43-year-old is remaining positive, telling an online audience that he would know the outcome of tests soon.

"Small bump on recover, little tumour on brain, will know soon,'' Stynes wrote on Twitter today.
"Good news PETscan all clean on rest body. great support everyone xox''.

Stynes has been using Twitter to update his supporters on his progress since revealing his health battle earlier this year.
Stynes stood down as Melbourne's club president in June after doctors diagnosed him with a cancerous lump on his back.
In September he underwent a second round of surgery after scans revealed after two new tumours.

Not good news.
Post by: ross matt on October 02, 2009, 03:24:56 PM
I too was only wondering about him recently. Magickingdom is right... Armstrong is an excellent example of attitude & determination pulling someone back from the brink. I'm sure Stynes is cut from the same cloth.
Post by: the real slim shady on October 21, 2009, 03:54:25 PM
Looks like Stynes is winning his battle.

Footy great Jim Stynes hopes for an all-clear next month after radiation treatment

Herald Sun October 21, 2009 9:44PM

Jim's brave new face

JIM Stynes tonight declared he hopes to conquer cancer by the end of next month.

Fighting back tears after a standing ovation from 800 club supporters, the Melbourne Football Club president said he had finished two weeks of radiation treatment on Monday.

"At the end of November, I have one more session which should, please God, finish it off and get rid of the tumours in the brain," Stynes said.

In an address at the Demons' best and fairest count at Crown Casino, Stynes was upbeat about the future and joked about his shaved head.

"It started falling out so I thought 'it's time'," Stynes said of bringing out the clippers the day before the count.

"My daughter was shocked. My son thought it was cool. My four-year-old son's got the number-two cut."

On his way into the count, Stynes said the only downside was that the bald look revealed old battle scars.

Stynes said he was feeling much better after resting up in the wake of the most recent bout of treatment.

He is leaving no stone unturned in his bid to win the battle with cancer, which first made headlines in June.

"We're doing everything we can ... doctors, specialists," he said.

Almost three weeks ago, Stynes revealed he was being treated for several brain tumours.

After the very public health update, he playfully said the fans now had no reason to approach and ask for an update as the night progressed.

"If you start hassling me, I'll get Brad Miller and Brent Moloney to come over," he laughed.

Stynes was as buoyant as ever about the future of his beloved Demons despite his personal battle.

He said he wanted to celebrate the performance of the club and singled out several staffers for special mention.

"I see it as a dawning of a new era," he said.

Stynes has used social networking site Twitter to update more than 2000 followers on his progress since revealing his health battle this year.

He stepped aside as club president after doctors first diagnosed a cancerous lump on his back, handing the reins to his deputy Don McLarty.

Last month he had a second round of surgery after scans found two new tumours.

Yet Stynes has continued to maintain a positive outlook, last month attending the Brownlow Medal count with wife Sam and taking part in a brief interview with Channel 7.

Last month he joined Prime Minister Kevin Rudd in supporting the Kinglake Football Club in its clash with Olinda.
Post by: JMohan on October 21, 2009, 05:47:35 PM
Please God
Post by: BennyHarp on October 21, 2009, 06:07:00 PM
Thats great news - best of luck to a true legend!!
Post by: magickingdom on October 21, 2009, 07:02:10 PM
absolutely, one tough cookie....
Post by: stiffler on October 21, 2009, 08:31:12 PM
Legend. Does anyone know if his book is available in Ireland?
Post by: Kerry Mike on October 21, 2009, 08:35:19 PM
Met Stynes once in Killarney a giant of a Man and I hope he comes through his current illness.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on October 21, 2009, 09:37:27 PM
The man is a true legend, not just one of these token legends that gets put on some undeserving person.

In Australia they still marvel at how Stynes played so many consecutive games for Melbourne - the record still stands at something like 250. That is unbelievable. Apparently he often played with broken digits and muscle injuries that would normally keep people out for a month.

A great role model too. Delighted to hear he could be over the worst of it. Fingers crossed.
Post by: orangeman on October 21, 2009, 11:39:42 PM
Hope the news is good.
Post by: JimStynes on October 22, 2009, 12:00:00 AM
The man is a complete legend here in australia especially in Melbourne. His apperance at the Melbourne best and fairest night has made it on the front page of news papers and it was one of top stories on the main news. Really hope my namesake pulls through.
Post by: orangeman on December 01, 2010, 11:01:23 PM
Documentary on rte next tuesday night at 10pm.

Looking forward to it.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on December 02, 2010, 12:00:20 AM
Quote from: orangeman on December 01, 2010, 11:01:23 PM
Documentary on rte next tuesday night at 10pm.

Looking forward to it.

Same as. A great man who hasn't been suitably recognised in his native land.
Post by: Declan on December 02, 2010, 12:40:36 AM
Should be worth a look alright - Any word on prognosis at all from our Aussie lads?
Post by: All of a Sludden on December 07, 2010, 10:13:29 PM
Reminder for 22.40 RTE1
Post by: Minder on December 07, 2010, 10:15:33 PM
Quote from: All of a Sludden on December 07, 2010, 10:13:29 PM
Reminder for 22.40 RTE1

Good lad, i forgot all about this.
Post by: orangeman on December 07, 2010, 11:10:07 PM
Amazing stuff so far.
Post by: gerrykeegan on December 07, 2010, 11:14:04 PM
Its tough to watch, but excellent none the less
Post by: orangeman on December 07, 2010, 11:16:52 PM
Inspirational.
Post by: Tubberman on December 07, 2010, 11:21:58 PM
Very brave guy, but very sad to watch him as he appears to be going downhill
Post by: gerrykeegan on December 07, 2010, 11:32:01 PM
Excellent, pity about the tears..........mine
Post by: orangeman on December 07, 2010, 11:32:42 PM
Seriously powerful television.

Stynes is an incredible man.
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on December 07, 2010, 11:33:41 PM
excellent programme. as said terrible to see such a great guy struggle.
Post by: Harold Disgracey on December 07, 2010, 11:36:59 PM
Excellent show. Having lost a very close friend to something similar I hope he pulls through. Legend.
Post by: wavesofTORRES on December 07, 2010, 11:54:40 PM
Watched that with the door locked so wife and kids wouldnt see their father crying his eyes out. What an inspiration that guy is he made me feel embarrassed at how I have sometimes faced the minor hurdles life has put in front of me. Beautiful family and werent those two lads great mates to have at a time like this. Loved the quip when they wer sparring in the ring when the young lad (cant recall his name) said "I'LL hit you in the bollocks,its the only place you dont have a tumour". Amazing viewing, never realised he was so revered down under. God bless you Jim and your beautiful family guys like you restore ones  faith in mankind.Life is so cruel sometimes. Tears still in eyes.
Post by: donelli on December 08, 2010, 12:23:37 AM
Very inspitational show and really puts todays budget in context.
really powerful. huge respect for him after watching that, hadnt really read too much beforehand. A show everyone should watch.

i assume that show was made last year up until around march '10??? would i be right in sayng that??  Any progress on his battle since??
Post by: Celt_Man on December 08, 2010, 01:55:16 AM
Well fook it anyway - missed the programme earlier and I'm absolutely sickened...

Any man know where I could watch it again - it ain't on RTÉ Player
Post by: muppet on December 08, 2010, 01:56:51 AM
Quote from: Celt_Man on December 08, 2010, 01:55:16 AM
Well fook it anyway - missed the programme earlier and I'm absolutely sickened...

Any man know where I could watch it again - it ain't on RTÉ Player

Missed it as well. Give it a day and it should come up on the RTE player. I'll post the link tomorrow if it's there.
Post by: mick999 on December 08, 2010, 09:46:06 AM
Inspirational Stuff ... Amazing documentary ..

I hope he wins the fight ..

It's up on the RTE Player now for anyone who missed it :

http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1086561 (http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1086561)
Post by: magpie seanie on December 08, 2010, 09:49:02 AM
It was an incredibly powerful programme. What a man.
Post by: Doogie Browser on December 08, 2010, 10:04:23 AM
His strength is incredible at a time like this for him, great show.  Was great to see the impact he has had on so many young people over there through his foundation.
Post by: Banana Man on December 08, 2010, 10:05:40 AM
my electric quit half way through ffs. Just at the moment when big Jim was drinking his own urine as it would build up his immune system. Poor lad. Would bring tears to a stone but they way they all handled it was absolutley brilliant, can't say i would have the balls to do that.

I thought a real nice touch was when he was away into theatre his mate got his laptop and printed out all his photos to cover the bedroom so he would see them when he came back out. Who actually was that guy? was he a former AFL player?

He said at the start ''the bastard is still out bench pressing me'' priceless
Post by: mick999 on December 08, 2010, 10:29:53 AM
Quote from: Banana Man on December 08, 2010, 10:05:40 AM
I thought a real nice touch was when he was away into theatre his mate got his laptop and printed out all his photos to cover the bedroom so he would see them when he came back out. Who actually was that guy? was he a former AFL player?

His named is Jules Lund and he's a tv reporter on "GetAway", an aussie travel show ...

He met Jim at one of his Reach foundation courses, and became best mates:

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/victoria/jim-stynes-and-jules-lunds-bond-for-life/story-e6frf7kx-1225926011580 (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/victoria/jim-stynes-and-jules-lunds-bond-for-life/story-e6frf7kx-1225926011580)
Post by: ross matt on December 08, 2010, 11:46:58 AM
It was very powerful. Very raw also. Funny and moving but never overly sentimental. Having family myself in Melbourne and being fortunate to have spent some time in that great city I was always aware of how much he is revered over there. But that being said he went up in my estimation again last night. He simply defines the term "mental strength"... from winning a minor football AI medal in '84 to making it over there on that side of the world to such a high standard in what is  an incredibly competitive sport..... to setting up a really innovative and inspiring youth foundation (his get together at the end with them was the most moving part in the whole programme...).... and then after all that to have to face this battle for his life. The odds are against him but if any man can overturn them then this man can. My heart goes out to him and his family. I would urge anyone to watch it because if this doesnt give you perspective then nothing will.....
Post by: J OGorman on December 08, 2010, 12:22:47 PM
just watched it on the rte player...ah man, heart breaking yet uplifting at the same time. To see a man go through this ordeal and front up to it the way Jim Stynes has is so so inspirational. Really makes you think
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on December 08, 2010, 12:58:03 PM
Powerful stuff is right, love that quote "It's not the size of the man in the fight, it's the size of the fight in the man" and Stynes is one big fella as well, hope he pulls through.
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 08, 2010, 01:12:26 PM
Brilliant programme last night. Best of luck Jim Stynes and hope you win your battle !
(or at least stall it for another 20 years)
Post by: Jinxy on December 08, 2010, 02:16:57 PM
Quote from: Banana Man on December 08, 2010, 10:05:40 AM
my electric quit half way through ffs. Just at the moment when big Jim was drinking his own urine as it would build up his immune system. Poor lad. Would bring tears to a stone but they way they all handled it was absolutley brilliant, can't say i would have the balls to do that.

He said at the start ''the b**tard is still out bench pressing me'' priceless

It got weirder than that.  :D
Post by: muppet on December 08, 2010, 02:51:11 PM
Great programme. Tough to watch at times but showed us scenes most of will hopefully never personally witness.

For example when he is told that a number of new tumors have been found in his brain. We probably tend to expect the happy ending but that made me think there will be no happy ending here. That is probably what made it so tough to watch.
Post by: gerrykeegan on December 08, 2010, 03:28:35 PM
 His most recent tweet, you just have to hope for him

@jimstynes
Jim Stynes
away overseas having radicle treatment, great results so far.couldn't be in better hands. thanx 2everyone who supported doco
14 Oct via web
Post by: dublinfella on December 08, 2010, 04:23:03 PM
Grew up near the Stynes family, knew Jim as an awestruck kid. This is the first I heard of it.

Fingers crossed all goes well, but the man hasn't been beaten by anything yet.
Post by: anglocelt39 on December 08, 2010, 07:09:09 PM
Was gut wrenchingly hard to watch by times. Jim has been defying the odds since he went to Oz in 1987, long before it was fashionable to throw some shapes at cracking in in Rules down there. What a superb player he turned into however one of my highlights was when he declared for Ireland in the 1990 compromise rules series and took on a one man role in evening up the physical odds against the Aussies on a freezing winters day down in Canberra. Never shied away from togging out for some Round Ball stuff on a Sunday in Melbourne, often to the horror of his AFL club/employers. Former All Black Number 8 Zinzan Brooke had some great anecdotes about running into him on a GAA pitch during the Australasian GAA games.

Truly one of our greatest ever sporting exports and I hope to jasus he has some sort of success in this fight.
Post by: The Worker on December 08, 2010, 07:13:31 PM
Anywhere you can watch this show in the north?

will it be repeated?
Post by: Pat Mustard on December 08, 2010, 09:07:29 PM
Quote from: anglocelt39 on December 08, 2010, 07:09:09 PM
Was gut wrenchingly hard to watch by times. Jim has been defying the odds since he went to Oz in 1987, long before it was fashionable to throw some shapes at cracking in in Rules down there. What a superb player he turned into however one of my highlights was when he declared for Ireland in the 1990 compromise rules series and took on a one man role in evening up the physical odds against the Aussies on a freezing winters day down in Canberra. Never shied away from togging out for some Round Ball stuff on a Sunday in Melbourne, often to the horror of his AFL club/employers. Former All Black Number 8 Zinzan Brooke had some great anecdotes about running into him on a GAA pitch during the Australasian GAA games.

Truly one of our greatest ever sporting exports and I hope to jasus he has some sort of success in this fight.
Was Jim a Pearses man? I know his brother David played for them quite recently.

Had heard Brooke played a bit of GAA, thought it was a tall tale. Who for?
Post by: irunthev on December 08, 2010, 09:36:46 PM
Quote from: Pat Mustard on December 08, 2010, 09:07:29 PM

Zinzan played gaelic in Auckland for Marist Rangers (formerly Roskill Rangers) as did another All Black Bernie McCahill. McCahill father is from Donegal and Zinny and Bernie have been great mates since they were kids, that's how Bernie got Zinny involved. Zinny and Bernie both played for Auckland in the Australasian Games too. When Zinny and Bernie were coaching Harlequins in London they both played for St Brendans in London, Bernie won a league title with them in 2001 and played 2 seasons while Zinny only played once. Total legend though and in his autobiography he talks about the GAA in Auckland and attributes his drop goal ability to his time playing GAA. St Brendans are the only senior GAA clubs who have had two World Cup winning All Balcks on their team at the same time. I think that Zinny's brother Robin also played for Roskill Rangers but not 100% sure on that.
Post by: 5 Sams on December 08, 2010, 10:01:56 PM
Amazing programme...makes you count your blessings...I remember Jim goin to Oz and it was a big deal at the time...I think he won a minor All Ireland in the mid 80's with the Jacks...I think Dermot McNicholl went out around the same time...but Jim led the way....The saddest part for me was watching this monster of a man with his wee skinny legs in rehab doing his exercises....if anyone can beat this cnut of a disease he can....he's leavin no stone unturned..good luck Jim
Post by: mattockranger on December 08, 2010, 10:13:25 PM
Quote from: Pat Mustard on December 08, 2010, 09:07:29 PM

Jim was a ballyboden st enda's player before he left and his brother Brian also played for them think he's based in Oz now also.....terrific dublin player highly under-rated

gut wrenching show but great example of the power of Attitude

this man has the right one and may we all take inspriation from it
Post by: CompulsoryTillager on December 08, 2010, 10:21:47 PM
Shameful to think some of the crowd in Croke Park spat at him when he was playing for Australia against Ireland in 1987.
Post by: snoopdog on December 08, 2010, 10:51:14 PM
What an inspiiration that man is. Make you proud to be an Irish man unlike those idiots in the Dail.
It was a heart wrenching programme, the young blonde haired lad idolises big jim and why wouldnt he.
Hope he can somehow beat that horrible disease. Best of luck big Jim, you never got the credit you deserved in your own land.
Post by: Qwerty28 on December 08, 2010, 11:10:08 PM
Any updates on his condition? Very moving yet powerful programme, an inspiration to anyone, especially if they are battling that disease
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on December 08, 2010, 11:11:02 PM
I had huge respect for Jim Stynes from when I was in Australia and the man is a legend there, like plenty have been saying. He has gone even further up in my estimation after watching this. I hope and pray Jim pulls through. Best of luck champ'.

As an aside isn't the documentary incredibly frank? I found that's the way Aussie sports people are. Very to the point and not one bit reticent.
Post by: CompulsoryTillager on December 08, 2010, 11:21:23 PM
Seems to be an Aussie trait in general
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on December 08, 2010, 11:35:06 PM
any chance us nordies can get a look, just missed it the other nite
Post by: nrico2006 on December 09, 2010, 09:59:30 AM
Good article at the below link:

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/gentleman-jim-stynes-a-fighter-with-the-pluck-of-the-irish-20100917-15gcz.html (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/gentleman-jim-stynes-a-fighter-with-the-pluck-of-the-irish-20100917-15gcz.html)

Came across this picture of him in his Dublin Minor days too:

http://sportsfile.com/id/363763/ (http://sportsfile.com/id/363763/)
Post by: Doogie Browser on December 09, 2010, 11:15:17 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on December 09, 2010, 09:59:30 AM
Good article at the below link:

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/gentleman-jim-stynes-a-fighter-with-the-pluck-of-the-irish-20100917-15gcz.html (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/gentleman-jim-stynes-a-fighter-with-the-pluck-of-the-irish-20100917-15gcz.html)

Came across this picture of him in his Dublin Minor days too:

http://sportsfile.com/id/363763/ (http://sportsfile.com/id/363763/)

Great article by Garry Lyons there nrico, cheers.
Post by: anglocelt39 on December 09, 2010, 12:42:09 PM
Only have it second hand but Zinzan Brooke wrote about togging out against Victoria in the Australasian games and makes reference to a bloke "the Victorians had kept in a cage and fed raw meat to for a few weeks" tangling with him, the bold Jim. Brooke decided to swat him off with a few slaps but Jimmy just laughed at him and came back for more. When he was making the breakthrough with Melbourne in the late 80's he had a team mate called Sean Wight who, if anything looked even better than Jim, amazingly. Wight was born in Glasgow, spent some time growing up in London and played a bit of minor footy with Kerry (could be open to correction on some of this). Injuries buggered him and he disappeared off the scene unfortunately.

Brian Stynes joined up with Melbourne in the early 90's and actually played in a reserve grade grand final for them (curtain raiser to the big one). Only lasted two  or three years and didn't quite make it. Seem to recall a lot of AFL clubs trimming their numbers at the time and he lost out. Not sure if he was involved with the Dubs panel in 95.

All the above slightly through the mists of time, apologies for any unintended errors or omissions
Post by: ross matt on December 09, 2010, 01:21:44 PM
Quote from: anglocelt39 on December 09, 2010, 12:42:09 PM
Only have it second hand but Zinzan Brooke wrote about togging out against Victoria in the Australasian games and makes reference to a bloke "the Victorians had kept in a cage and fed raw meat to for a few weeks" tangling with him, the bold Jim. Brooke decided to swat him off with a few slaps but Jimmy just laughed at him and came back for more. When he was making the breakthrough with Melbourne in the late 80's he had a team mate called Sean Wight who, if anything looked even better than Jim, amazingly. Wight was born in Glasgow, spent some time growing up in London and played a bit of minor footy with Kerry (could be open to correction on some of this). Injuries buggered him and he disappeared off the scene unfortunately.

Brian Stynes joined up with Melbourne in the early 90's and actually played in a reserve grade grand final for them (curtain raiser to the big one). Only lasted two  or three years and didn't quite make it. Seem to recall a lot of AFL clubs trimming their numbers at the time and he lost out. Not sure if he was involved with the Dubs panel in 95.

All the above slightly through the mists of time, apologies for any unintended errors or omissions
I remember Wight. He did play minor for Kerry. Had a massive fetch. I often wondered what became of him.
Post by: Denn Forever on December 09, 2010, 02:40:10 PM
Quote from: RealSpiritof98 on December 08, 2010, 11:35:06 PM
Quote from: The Worker on December 08, 2010, 07:13:31 PM

will it be repeated?

Can you get the RTE player?

Try this

http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1086561
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on December 09, 2010, 03:32:59 PM
wont play, this usually happens when its due to be on british telly later, so i'll have to look out for it.
Post by: FL/MAYO on December 09, 2010, 03:33:31 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on December 09, 2010, 02:40:10 PM
Quote from: RealSpiritof98 on December 08, 2010, 11:35:06 PM
Quote from: The Worker on December 08, 2010, 07:13:31 PM

will it be repeated?

Can you get the RTE player?

Try this

http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1086561

Geo blocked in the States also :(
Post by: Hound on December 09, 2010, 03:38:24 PM

Brian played midfield for the Dubs when they won the All Ireland in 1995.

I dare say Jim would have made some difference to the Dublin team of the late 80s / early 90s had he stayed! Even apart from football Dublin/Ireland's loss was certainly Melbourne/Australia's gain.
Post by: Declan on December 10, 2010, 10:10:57 AM
Been away for a few days and only got to watch this last night. Unbelievable programme and as has been said would bring tears to a stone. Very strong willed and inspirational character. Brian junior is the image of his Dad as well I thought. Best of luck to him and his family in his ongoing battle
Post by: The Biff on December 10, 2010, 01:09:33 PM
I dont consider myself an emotional man. I probably have a rather cynical outlook to many things.  My own life and family has seen quite a few tragedies, so I dont take well to some "Ah poor me" documentaries on TV.

Bear that in mind when I conclude that this documentary on Jim Stynes is .... Inspiriational.

Whether you know anything or nothing about the man, his background, his sporting career, make sure you watch this program if you can.  If you are in Ireland and have never tried the RTE iPlayer links, let this be your first time.  That version of the program lasts just over 40 minutes (with all the ad breaks taken out) so that's all the time you need to borrow from your day.

When he spoke near the end to the Reach Group, I was waiting for them to break out into forced applause and raucous cheering like you normally see on most Self-Help talk-groups.  But No.  It was mostly Silence.  Respect.  Empathy.  Admiration.  Inspiration.

Watch it.
Post by: muppet on December 10, 2010, 03:39:37 PM
Quote from: Hound on December 09, 2010, 03:38:24 PM

Brian played midfield for the Dubs when they won the All Ireland in 1995.

I dare say Jim would have made some difference to the Dublin team of the late 80s / early 90s had he stayed! Even apart from football Dublin/Ireland's loss was certainly Melbourne/Australia's gain.

He won an All-Star and certainly had a good year that year. Good player I thought.
Post by: FL/MAYO on December 10, 2010, 07:52:26 PM
I download the program through Bittorrent, it is in MP4 format, does MP4 play in Real Player? It will not play for some reason >:(
Post by: Archie Mitchell on December 10, 2010, 09:03:24 PM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on December 10, 2010, 07:52:26 PM
I download the program through Bittorrent, it is in MP4 format, does MP4 play in Real Player? It will not play for some reason >:(

Download VLC or DivX. They play all formats.

The show is available to download on www.irishtorrents.com for those who can't view on RTE Player
Post by: FL/MAYO on December 10, 2010, 09:27:06 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on December 10, 2010, 09:03:24 PM

The show is available to download on www.irishtorrents.com for those who can't view on RTE Player

Thanks Archie got it working, I also used irishtorrents.com to download.
Post by: HeaveHo on December 11, 2010, 05:47:34 AM
Quote from: ross matt on December 09, 2010, 01:21:44 PM

I remember Wight. He did play minor for Kerry. Had a massive fetch. I often wondered what became of him.

Sean Wight played 150 AFL games for Melbourne. More than handy backman and pretty hard nut. Wasn't quite big enough to be key position player but often got jobs on much bigger and heavier opponents and did a reasonable job. Looks like he is still living in Melbourne and has forged a career in IT.   
Post by: Pat Mustard on December 11, 2010, 10:38:34 AM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on December 10, 2010, 09:27:06 PM

??? Where do you sign up n that site?
Post by: FL/MAYO on December 11, 2010, 04:40:28 PM
Quote from: Pat Mustard on December 11, 2010, 10:38:34 AM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on December 10, 2010, 09:27:06 PM

??? Where do you sign up n that site?

Welcome to Irish Torrents, the only place on the internetz to get Irish related TV and Movies.

If you're having problems signing up shoot an email to irishtorrents dot com At gmail dot com. State the nature of the problem, and include as much detail as you can, including exact error messages if there are any.

irishtorrents.com@gmail.com   

Post by: mick999 on December 12, 2010, 12:08:13 AM

Sean Wight played 150 AFL games for Melbourne. More than handy backman and pretty hard nut. Wasn't quite big enough to be key position player but often got jobs on much bigger and heavier opponents and did a reasonable job. Looks like he is still living in Melbourne and has forged a career in IT.

Wight also tried his hand at soccer in Oz, after the AFL :

http://www.fourdiegos.com/other-sport/flashback-1998-sean-wight.html?page=2 (http://www.fourdiegos.com/other-sport/flashback-1998-sean-wight.html?page=2)
Post by: Don Johnson on December 12, 2010, 01:26:32 PM
What was the name of the show so I can search it on that site?

The Jim Stynes story? It says it was uploaded two months ago, that's too long surely?
Post by: FL/MAYO on December 12, 2010, 02:39:04 PM
Quote from: Don Johnson on December 12, 2010, 01:26:32 PM

The Jim Stynes story? It says it was uploaded two months ago, that's too long surely?
I put in a search for Jim Stynes the upload that I watched was 2 months old.
Post by: ardal on December 12, 2010, 04:33:11 PM
Tried it on youtube. Some interesting clips
Post by: The Biff on December 13, 2010, 04:21:24 PM

The program title is "Every Heart Beats True: The Jim Stynes Story".

It was made by some Australian production company, so there might be links available from that side of things too.
Post by: Don Johnson on December 15, 2010, 05:43:51 PM
Quote from: The Biff on December 13, 2010, 04:21:24 PM

The program title is "Every Heart Beats True: The Jim Stynes Story".

It was made by some Australian production company, so there might be links available from that side of things too.

Got it watched there. Very frank and honest show. Dunno what else to say. Was close to tears most of the second half of it.
Post by: Declan on December 18, 2010, 01:37:29 PM
Melbourne keen for match in Dublin to honour Stynes
GAELIC GAMES NEWS: AFL CLUB Melbourne want to stage a special International Rules match with Dublin in Croke Park or Parnell Park next year to honour the sporting achievements of Jim Stynes.

The Demons' president joined the club in 1984 just a matter of weeks after featuring on the last Dublin team to win an All-Ireland minor football title and went on to become a legend, not just of the club, but in Aussie Rules football.

Stynes, who is battling cancer, became the only non-Australian to win the Brownlow Medal as AFL player of the year in 1991 and still holds the record for most consecutive games played in the league.

He was named on the Demons' best ever team and subsequently helped to wipe out the club's €3.7 million debt when taking over as president.

Melbourne chief executive Cameron Schwab plans to approach the AFL with his proposal for the game early in the New Year before putting the idea to the GAA.

"It's a seed of an idea at the moment that basically, if it all came together, would go back to where it all started for Jimmy," Schwab said.

"Dublin was where he grew up. His brother Brian played for Dublin in the 1995 All-Ireland final, as well as a few games for Melbourne, and, of course, the latter half of Jim's life has been here (in Australia).

"His story is Irish and Australian and significant in both countries. His documentary, which aired here a few months ago, was shown in Ireland last week to a tremendous response. If we could take our team to Dublin, to share Jim's achievements with the Irish, it would be a wonderful thing."

Stynes' 264-game AFL career with Melbourne, which included a club-record four best and fairest awards, ended in 1998 but he returned to the club as president in 2008, a position he has continued to hold throughout his near 18-month struggle with an aggressive form of cancer that was first found in his back and has spread to his brain.

Stynes has also been awarded a Medal of the Order of Australia for his work with the Reach youth charity he co-founded, while he has also been voted Melburnian and Victorian of the Year in the past.
Post by: magpie seanie on December 20, 2010, 11:51:20 AM
I hope that takes place and its a great success.

I've wondered myself since seeing the documentary what would have become of Jim if he stayed in Ireland. Would that fine Dublin team of the early 90's won more? I think they would have.

I also wonder would even someone with as great a presence, as much determination and compassion as Jim Stynes have managed to achieve something similar off the field in Ireland to what he has done in Oz with his foundation etc. I'm not as sure he would have been able to and by that I mean no insult to the man himself. We are a very closed country outside of a small wealthy elite who control everything and you need to play their game or you hit a lot of roadblocks.
Post by: muppet on December 20, 2010, 12:49:22 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on December 20, 2010, 11:51:20 AM
I hope that takes place and its a great success.

I've wondered myself since seeing the documentary what would have become of Jim if he stayed in Ireland. Would that fine Dublin team of the early 90's won more? I think they would have.

I also wonder would even someone with as great a presence, as much determination and compassion as Jim Stynes have managed to achieve something similar off the field in Ireland to what he has done in Oz with his foundation etc. I'm not as sure he would have been able to and by that I mean no insult to the man himself. We are a very closed country outside of a small wealthy elite who control everything and you need to play their game or you hit a lot of roadblocks.

This is true but also we are very cynical anyway and would give out about him being an 'attention seeker' if he gave his time like that here.
Post by: gerrykeegan on January 14, 2011, 11:56:23 AM
 jimstynes Jim Stynes
Took a trip today w Jules 2Adelaide 4 great chat w Lance Armstrong, what an inspirational being. http://twitpic.com/3pvoxn

Don't know if the link will work but Jim is looking good.
Post by: Declan on January 14, 2011, 12:01:47 PM
QuoteDon't know if the link will work but Jim is looking good.

In fact he looks better than Armstrong in that pic
Post by: FL/MAYO on January 14, 2011, 07:23:07 PM

Quote from: Declan on January 14, 2011, 12:01:47 PM
QuoteDon't know if the link will work but Jim is looking good.

In fact he looks better than Armstrong in that pic

He does look a lot better, hope he pulls true.
Post by: Declan on February 03, 2011, 03:03:58 PM
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/packing-a-punch-20110203-1afhd.html (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/packing-a-punch-20110203-1afhd.html)

Still fighting. Good man Jim
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 03, 2011, 03:46:25 PM
That's great news.

Keep fighting Jim.
Post by: magpie seanie on February 06, 2011, 03:05:37 PM
Legend. Keep her lit.
Post by: ardal on February 06, 2011, 08:26:55 PM
Just had a quick look some  of the Aus stuff.

Jim Stynes broke my heart as a kid (in gaa), but I won't hold against him, the fecker.
Kick her lit.
Post by: ardal on February 06, 2011, 08:30:28 PM
Sorry if this may be my old age ramblings, but...........

Wasn't it JS who was penalised at a free in the cup which resulted in a score, which lost them the title, for simply walking to a defensive position but the ref decided he was  too close to the free taker? Was that ref ever assasinated?
Post by: Declan on February 06, 2011, 09:37:51 PM
QuoteWasn't it JS who was penalised at a free in the cup which resulted in a score, which lost them the title, for simply walking to a defensive position but the ref decided he was  too close to the free taker?

Correct  - its mentioned in the documentary. Not too sure what happenend to the ref but didn't seem to hold Jim back!!
Title: Re: Jimmy Stynes & now Sean Wight
Post by: stephenite on March 15, 2011, 12:51:02 AM
Hope he can fight his way to a full recovery too

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/demon-great-sean-wight-in-cancer-fight/story-e6frf9jf-1226019890149 (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/demon-great-sean-wight-in-cancer-fight/story-e6frf9jf-1226019890149)

MELBOURNE has been rocked by the news that another of its greats has cancer.
Sean Wight, closely linked to president Jim Stynes as part of the club's Irish experiment, is undergoing treatment in hospital.

Wight, 46, who played 150 games for the Demons, received news last week that he had several malignant tumours.

He is undergoing chemotherapy with the strong support of former teammate Stynes, who himself is going through a public battle with cancer.

Stynes was shocked to learn of the news.

"Who would have thought he'd end up basically like me," he said.

"I was shocked. I just couldn't believe it. I thought to myself, 'This just can't be happening'."
Post by: saffron sam2 on March 15, 2011, 08:42:11 AM
Quote from: ardal on February 06, 2011, 08:30:28 PM
Sorry if this may be my old age ramblings, but...........

Wasn't it JS who was penalised at a free in the cup which resulted in a score, which lost them the title, for simply walking to a defensive position but the ref decided he was  too close to the free taker? Was that ref ever assasinated?

He ran across Gary Buckenara's mark, a clear offence. No-one in the Melbourne camp disagreed with the umpire's decision and Stynes got a lot of grief for conceding the penalty, which made an extremely difficult kick eminently scoreable. Cost Melbourne the 1987 Preliminary Final.
Post by: Kerry Mike on March 15, 2011, 09:04:42 AM
Hope Sean Wight make a full recovery too, the former Kerry minor from Listowel, thought he spelt his name Sean Wright, he was a great minor in his day if its the same lad.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Irish_experiment (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Irish_experiment)
Post by: ross matt on March 15, 2011, 07:01:00 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on March 15, 2011, 09:04:42 AM
Hope Sean Wight make a full recovery too, the former Kerry minor from Listowel, thought he spelt his name Sean Wright, he was a great minor in his day if its the same lad.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Irish_experiment (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Irish_experiment)

The same lad Mike. He was a brilliant fielder of a high ball. I hope he gets though this. Horrible coincidence him and Stynes suffering from the same disease and they such brilliant athletes.
Post by: gerrykeegan on March 22, 2011, 08:15:28 AM
Update fromJim on his Twitter account

jimstynes Jim Stynes
A big thank u 4all ur prayers &pos energy. Not to get ahead of myself, recent scans showed no new tumours &existing 2tumours stopped growing
Post by: Declan on March 22, 2011, 08:44:09 AM
Great news alright

Borrowed this from Res Dubs -Jim and the rest of the Dublin minors from 84
http://img121.imageshack.us/i/img006gw.jpg/ (http://img121.imageshack.us/i/img006gw.jpg/)
Post by: Doogie Browser on December 09, 2011, 12:42:28 PM
Jim still batting the big C in the only way he knows how.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/more-news/jim-stynes-has-another-operation-to-remove-tumour-from-his-brain/story-fn7x8me2-1226217055462
Post by: Declan on December 09, 2011, 04:28:37 PM
He's some man alright
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 09, 2011, 09:49:04 PM
Watched that documentary a while back and thought he had the beating of this. Had a rough time this past few years.
Post by: Aaron Boone on December 11, 2011, 03:05:38 AM
One of Boden's finest.

Even Prof Rosenfeld was overwhelmed by Jim this time.

The Big C.

Post by: Orangemac on December 13, 2011, 12:00:39 AM
Hopefully Big Jimmy can beat this.

The documentary on him was inspirational stuff, when you see some of the clowns running this country North and South he would make you proud to be Irish.
Post by: Minder on January 12, 2012, 09:02:15 PM
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/jimmys-journey-20111209-1ont8.html

ON MONDAY I went to Melbourne training and spoke to Jimmy Stynes. "How are you?" I asked. "Not too bad," he replied. "How are you?" Relative to Jimmy, I'm fighting fit but I didn't state the obvious. Two weeks ago, Jimmy was told it was over, that he had, at most, three weeks to live.

His wife Sam, a dynamic woman, organised one last party. Jimmy's 80 closest friends were invited. Caterers were hired, as was a guitarist, but the day before the party his specialist rang to say they had found something unexpected on one of his scans — his duodenal cancer had halved in size. Two days ago, Jimmy had another operation and the early reports are that it has gone well. It was the 23rd time they had cut a tumor from his body, the sixth time they had cut one from his brain.
On Monday, I found Jimmy slightly distant but calm. Amazingly calm. This last operation has come with no promises, what it might do is buy him some extra time, a few months, and how was he spending that time? He was watching Melbourne train. When I asked Sam Stynes what the Melbourne Football Club means to her husband, she replied, "I've never thought about that — it's so ingrained in him. I've never thought of it as a separate entity to him."

Jimmy's the migrant kid whose footy club became part of him. When the club — one of the world's oldest and formerly a by-word for the establishment — was on its knees, he came back as president. There have been some rocky moments since, but Jimmy's got the Dees debt-free and back on the map. No one's talking them up for next season but no one's writing them off either.
In his speech at the club best-and-fairest night two months ago, Jimmy told the players to toughen up. Coming from a former player of Jimmy's stature and in his condition, it was a strong message. On Monday, when I reminded him of what he said that night, he looked surprised. "Did I say that?" Then he shrugged, accepting that he did.

But it's true — Jimmy wants the Melbourne players to harden up. "In today's footy you need to be tough in the clinches. You have to be able to play footy that way. You can't hide." Jimmy says Melbourne's new coach Mark Neeld is "tough" and that's how he wants it. Jimmy's still the president. He's still liable to turn up at a function an hour before it starts and say the seating's all wrong, he wants it another way.
In the final of this year's AFL International Cup, Jimmy's brother David, who was playing for Ireland, was injured right in front of me. He cried out in pain and fell to the ground holding his chest, having punctured his lung. He played with his club that afternoon then went to the hospital. When I asked the Irish team manager why he didn't go to the hospital earlier, he replied, "Because he's a Stynes."

Jimmy's grandfather was a great Gaelic footballer, as were his grandfather's brothers, one of whom fought in the IRA alongside Michael Collins against the British during the Irish war of independence. Jimmy's father, Brian, was not a great player but he was a grimly determined one. Jimmy once said to me of his father's opponents: "The bigger they were, the harder he hit them." Brian Stynes was Jimmy's early coach. I've sat near Brian at AFL matches and heard his commentary. He would have been a hard coach. One of nine kids, he grew up in inner-city Dublin.
Jimmy's mother Tess, from Tipperary, was a country girl. She had her own remedies for her six kids' ailments and was always wanting to help people. Mother Theresa, her kids call her. Jimmy recalls her having her own ideas about health and diet. Jimmy's company, Nonfiction Foods, has just released its own muesli. It's called Jimbo — his wife's pet name for him. I've seen Jimbo Stynes — a big man with a big smile, not that he looked like that on Monday. He was pensive. Sam Stynes says Jimbo Muesli is "a happy product".

Sam Stynes is as strong as Jimmy and very much her own person. She has said, "It's no secret that I never bought into the gender side of marriage." She resisted some of the alternative treatments he's tried like the smoke treatment in Jakarta and drinking urine. But she could embrace the radical changes he made to his diet — hence Jimbo Muesli.
On Monday, Jimmy described his condition to me by saying, "I've had a bit of a reprieve. I might get another Christmas." For some reason, I never feel sorry for Jim Stynes when I'm talking to him. I think it's because he doesn't feel sorry for himself. He told me things had been "pretty tough" and said, "You just do what you can." I asked him what he'd enjoyed lately. "The beach house at Rye. It's good with the kids down the beach. Just hanging out and having plenty of sleep."

And he enjoyed watching Melbourne train. He told me he got joy out of watching them running 1500s, urging one another on. "Pushing one another brings the best out of the best. They have to have that inner desire to be better." The training seemed particularly brisk for early December — in fact, it was damn near perfect. The players knew Jimmy was watching.
Monday's training session was well attended. Club officials were there, as were a couple of directors and acting president Don McLardy. McLardy's wife and daughter are in the African nation of Mali assisting Elise Klein in a hospital program she is running. Klein is a graduate of Reach, the charitable foundation co-founded by Stynes in 1994. The significant factor to note in McLardy's relationship with Jim Stynes is that they met through Reach, not the Melbourne Football Club.

McLardy was present when the news came through that Jimmy's duodenal tumor had shrunk. Immediately before, Jimmy and a group of his friends had been sitting at a table in a crowded restaurant. They had been talking about death. Jimmy was looking at death like we're looking at Christmas as something that's going to happen in a few weeks.
Then Jimmy got called away to speak to the specialist. The group at the table were still conversing in grave terms when Jimmy reappeared at the end of the table and roared: "I'm fooking Lazarus!!!" McLardy says, "I think even Jimmy had given up. Then he was given this one last chance."

Jimmy immediately got back into being president. He says being president of Melbourne has been "a great experience, a tremendous experience. I just happened to be in the place to take over the responsibility of being president and then slowly develop a competitive spirit and make sure our team does well and has every opportunity other clubs have. I know I've made a difference, that I've contributed to the history of the club at a time when people had to stand up."
I asked him who his favourite Melbourne player is. "I don't have just one. I love seeing what Liam [Jurrah] can do, but he can be frustrating too. He doesn't realise how good he really is and how hard you have to work just to stay at this level." He added as an afterthought, "It can all be taken away from you in a moment."

When Jimmy took over the Melbourne presidency, I was meant to interview him but it kept not happening. I had nothing to ask him. What he was doing was so obvious. He was remaking Melbourne, not as a "franchise", but as an old-fashioned football club, one that had his beliefs at its core. On Monday, I had a question for him. I asked him if he enjoyed life. He seemed to enjoy the question.
"I love life. There's always something to do, something to be achieved, something to overcome, new people to meet." Two weeks ago, he went to the Eminem concert. "I nearly lost my hearing. It gave me the worst headache — but .?.?. I admire other people's greatness. Here's this guy who didn't have much going for him and he fills Etihad Stadium with 30,000 people because he's passionate about what he does."
Then he added, "You've just gotta find your bliss and go after it. That's where the drive is, that's how you find your special place." When we parted, he presented me with a box of Jimbo Muesli. I patted him on the back and felt his spine.
On Wednesday, the day before his operation, I rang Sam Stynes. She and Jimmy were on their way to a Reach fund-raiser organised by McLardy's insurance firm. I asked how she would describe the journey of Jim's illness. She said, "Gruelling." In the background, I heard him say, "Exhausting".
She is clear in her thinking, unsentimental, brave. She said there had been a lot of learning in their experience and friendships which had previously been close were now "close beyond what is humanly possible". At the moment when we spoke, the sun was out. She commented on that. "It's a new day," she said. "You just get on with it."

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/jimmys-journey-20111209-1ont8.html#ixzz1jHQ3TWHs
Post by: snoopdog on January 13, 2012, 10:46:49 AM
Its been said before, but this man is a real inspiration to anyone. He is a true sporting legend.
he never gives up. Belief is his weapon.
Post by: ross matt on January 13, 2012, 02:41:58 PM
Quote from: Minder on January 12, 2012, 09:02:15 PM
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/jimmys-journey-20111209-1ont8.html

ON MONDAY I went to Melbourne training and spoke to Jimmy Stynes. "How are you?" I asked. "Not too bad," he replied. "How are you?" Relative to Jimmy, I'm fighting fit but I didn't state the obvious. Two weeks ago, Jimmy was told it was over, that he had, at most, three weeks to live.

His wife Sam, a dynamic woman, organised one last party. Jimmy's 80 closest friends were invited. Caterers were hired, as was a guitarist, but the day before the party his specialist rang to say they had found something unexpected on one of his scans — his duodenal cancer had halved in size. Two days ago, Jimmy had another operation and the early reports are that it has gone well. It was the 23rd time they had cut a tumor from his body, the sixth time they had cut one from his brain.
On Monday, I found Jimmy slightly distant but calm. Amazingly calm. This last operation has come with no promises, what it might do is buy him some extra time, a few months, and how was he spending that time? He was watching Melbourne train. When I asked Sam Stynes what the Melbourne Football Club means to her husband, she replied, "I've never thought about that — it's so ingrained in him. I've never thought of it as a separate entity to him."

Jimmy's the migrant kid whose footy club became part of him. When the club — one of the world's oldest and formerly a by-word for the establishment — was on its knees, he came back as president. There have been some rocky moments since, but Jimmy's got the Dees debt-free and back on the map. No one's talking them up for next season but no one's writing them off either.
In his speech at the club best-and-fairest night two months ago, Jimmy told the players to toughen up. Coming from a former player of Jimmy's stature and in his condition, it was a strong message. On Monday, when I reminded him of what he said that night, he looked surprised. "Did I say that?" Then he shrugged, accepting that he did.

But it's true — Jimmy wants the Melbourne players to harden up. "In today's footy you need to be tough in the clinches. You have to be able to play footy that way. You can't hide." Jimmy says Melbourne's new coach Mark Neeld is "tough" and that's how he wants it. Jimmy's still the president. He's still liable to turn up at a function an hour before it starts and say the seating's all wrong, he wants it another way.
In the final of this year's AFL International Cup, Jimmy's brother David, who was playing for Ireland, was injured right in front of me. He cried out in pain and fell to the ground holding his chest, having punctured his lung. He played with his club that afternoon then went to the hospital. When I asked the Irish team manager why he didn't go to the hospital earlier, he replied, "Because he's a Stynes."

Jimmy's grandfather was a great Gaelic footballer, as were his grandfather's brothers, one of whom fought in the IRA alongside Michael Collins against the British during the Irish war of independence. Jimmy's father, Brian, was not a great player but he was a grimly determined one. Jimmy once said to me of his father's opponents: "The bigger they were, the harder he hit them." Brian Stynes was Jimmy's early coach. I've sat near Brian at AFL matches and heard his commentary. He would have been a hard coach. One of nine kids, he grew up in inner-city Dublin.
Jimmy's mother Tess, from Tipperary, was a country girl. She had her own remedies for her six kids' ailments and was always wanting to help people. Mother Theresa, her kids call her. Jimmy recalls her having her own ideas about health and diet. Jimmy's company, Nonfiction Foods, has just released its own muesli. It's called Jimbo — his wife's pet name for him. I've seen Jimbo Stynes — a big man with a big smile, not that he looked like that on Monday. He was pensive. Sam Stynes says Jimbo Muesli is "a happy product".

Sam Stynes is as strong as Jimmy and very much her own person. She has said, "It's no secret that I never bought into the gender side of marriage." She resisted some of the alternative treatments he's tried like the smoke treatment in Jakarta and drinking urine. But she could embrace the radical changes he made to his diet — hence Jimbo Muesli.
On Monday, Jimmy described his condition to me by saying, "I've had a bit of a reprieve. I might get another Christmas." For some reason, I never feel sorry for Jim Stynes when I'm talking to him. I think it's because he doesn't feel sorry for himself. He told me things had been "pretty tough" and said, "You just do what you can." I asked him what he'd enjoyed lately. "The beach house at Rye. It's good with the kids down the beach. Just hanging out and having plenty of sleep."

And he enjoyed watching Melbourne train. He told me he got joy out of watching them running 1500s, urging one another on. "Pushing one another brings the best out of the best. They have to have that inner desire to be better." The training seemed particularly brisk for early December — in fact, it was damn near perfect. The players knew Jimmy was watching.
Monday's training session was well attended. Club officials were there, as were a couple of directors and acting president Don McLardy. McLardy's wife and daughter are in the African nation of Mali assisting Elise Klein in a hospital program she is running. Klein is a graduate of Reach, the charitable foundation co-founded by Stynes in 1994. The significant factor to note in McLardy's relationship with Jim Stynes is that they met through Reach, not the Melbourne Football Club.

McLardy was present when the news came through that Jimmy's duodenal tumor had shrunk. Immediately before, Jimmy and a group of his friends had been sitting at a table in a crowded restaurant. They had been talking about death. Jimmy was looking at death like we're looking at Christmas as something that's going to happen in a few weeks.
Then Jimmy got called away to speak to the specialist. The group at the table were still conversing in grave terms when Jimmy reappeared at the end of the table and roared: "I'm fooking Lazarus!!!" McLardy says, "I think even Jimmy had given up. Then he was given this one last chance."

Jimmy immediately got back into being president. He says being president of Melbourne has been "a great experience, a tremendous experience. I just happened to be in the place to take over the responsibility of being president and then slowly develop a competitive spirit and make sure our team does well and has every opportunity other clubs have. I know I've made a difference, that I've contributed to the history of the club at a time when people had to stand up."
I asked him who his favourite Melbourne player is. "I don't have just one. I love seeing what Liam [Jurrah] can do, but he can be frustrating too. He doesn't realise how good he really is and how hard you have to work just to stay at this level." He added as an afterthought, "It can all be taken away from you in a moment."

When Jimmy took over the Melbourne presidency, I was meant to interview him but it kept not happening. I had nothing to ask him. What he was doing was so obvious. He was remaking Melbourne, not as a "franchise", but as an old-fashioned football club, one that had his beliefs at its core. On Monday, I had a question for him. I asked him if he enjoyed life. He seemed to enjoy the question.
"I love life. There's always something to do, something to be achieved, something to overcome, new people to meet." Two weeks ago, he went to the Eminem concert. "I nearly lost my hearing. It gave me the worst headache — but .?.?. I admire other people's greatness. Here's this guy who didn't have much going for him and he fills Etihad Stadium with 30,000 people because he's passionate about what he does."
Then he added, "You've just gotta find your bliss and go after it. That's where the drive is, that's how you find your special place." When we parted, he presented me with a box of Jimbo Muesli. I patted him on the back and felt his spine.
On Wednesday, the day before his operation, I rang Sam Stynes. She and Jimmy were on their way to a Reach fund-raiser organised by McLardy's insurance firm. I asked how she would describe the journey of Jim's illness. She said, "Gruelling." In the background, I heard him say, "Exhausting".
She is clear in her thinking, unsentimental, brave. She said there had been a lot of learning in their experience and friendships which had previously been close were now "close beyond what is humanly possible". At the moment when we spoke, the sun was out. She commented on that. "It's a new day," she said. "You just get on with it."

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/jimmys-journey-20111209-1ont8.html#ixzz1jHQ3TWHs

Thanks for posting Minder. As Snoopdog says its inspirational stuff but at the same time it makes you aware of how exhausting it must be for him and his family. What a man.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 13, 2012, 08:58:53 PM
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/more-news/smiling-stynes-sets-sail-in-paradise/story-fn7x8me2-1226243992509 (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/more-news/smiling-stynes-sets-sail-in-paradise/story-fn7x8me2-1226243992509)
Post by: JimStynes on January 15, 2012, 11:11:51 AM
He's some man alright! A complete hero in austalia as well.
Post by: blast05 on March 19, 2012, 09:56:47 PM
RIP Jim.
Post by: The Worker on March 19, 2012, 10:09:55 PM
RIP. Legend.
Post by: All of a Sludden on March 19, 2012, 10:13:47 PM
Sad news. RIP Jim Stynes.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on March 19, 2012, 10:15:24 PM
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/jim-stynes-loses-brave-cancer-battle/story-e6frf7jo-1226304796968 (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/jim-stynes-loses-brave-cancer-battle/story-e6frf7jo-1226304796968)

Terribly saddened to hear of Jim's passing this morning. A true hero and a fighter to the end. An inspiration to all.

RIP Jim
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on March 19, 2012, 10:18:24 PM
Rest in Peace
Post by: thejuice on March 19, 2012, 10:19:34 PM
just got word of this. thoughts and prayers with the family.

I'll be honest I never saw him play in either code but by all accounts a great man.
Post by: Orangemac on March 19, 2012, 10:21:05 PM
Sad News. RIP Jim. For the week that's in it, he made you proud to be Irish.
Post by: moysider on March 19, 2012, 10:31:27 PM

Brave, brave man. God be good to him.
Post by: orangeman on March 19, 2012, 10:35:56 PM
Jim was a great example of how to deal with adversity, how to stand up and fight back, go to the end and never lie down.

A shining light for all of us. A great Irish man in a foreign land who wasn't prepared to come 2nd.

RIP.

Sympathy to Jim's family and friends.
Post by: the green man on March 19, 2012, 10:38:36 PM
Rest in peace jim. You fought the good fight. An inspiration to many, both within and without his generation. A humble man and a leader of men. A legend in both sides of the world. We'll not see many like him again.
Post by: Farneylawd2011 on March 19, 2012, 10:38:55 PM
RIP a true legend both in GAA and AFL.A great ambassador for both spots.
Post by: imtommygunn on March 19, 2012, 10:39:15 PM
So sad. RIP Jim.
Post by: Minder on March 19, 2012, 10:40:09 PM
Very sad alright.
Post by: saffron sam2 on March 19, 2012, 10:44:01 PM
Very sad indeed. You always thought he'd beat it.

RIP
Post by: NP 76 on March 19, 2012, 10:45:16 PM
RIP Jim a true sporting and real life legend
Post by: FL/MAYO on March 19, 2012, 10:46:10 PM
I watched that documentary about him last year, you could only admire his courage, it is a shame Ireland has to lose men of his caliber. RIP Jim.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on March 19, 2012, 10:47:44 PM
RIP Condolescenes to his family and friends and anyone who was lucky enough to know him.

Watched the documentary last yr and boy did this man have courage, huge loss to the world.
Post by: INDIANA on March 19, 2012, 10:49:46 PM
RIP. An incredible man.
Post by: oakleafgael on March 19, 2012, 10:53:02 PM
RIP Jim Stynes. He put more into the last 2.5 years than the rest of us will manage in a lifetime.
Post by: MK on March 19, 2012, 10:57:16 PM
Quote from: oakleafgael on March 19, 2012, 10:53:02 PM
RIP Jim Stynes. He put more into the last 2.5 years than the rest of us will manage in a lifetime.

Post by: T Toatler on March 19, 2012, 10:58:50 PM
God bless Jim a true hero to many here at home and in his adopted home. The Aussie papers have nothing bar Jim on their front pages showing the regard in which he was held. RIP Big Lad
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 19, 2012, 11:11:52 PM
RIP. To see a hero of a man like Jim Stybes laid low makes everyone feel very mortal, no matter what our age.
Post by: armaghniac on March 19, 2012, 11:24:10 PM
A courageous map.

RIP.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on March 19, 2012, 11:33:50 PM
Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam uasal.
Post by: wheres he takin er from on March 19, 2012, 11:36:58 PM
RIP Jim. A legend, an inspiration to all!!

http://m.theage.com.au/afl/melbourne-demons/more-than-a-great-sportsman-20120320-1vgjg.html
Post by: whiskeysteve on March 19, 2012, 11:51:05 PM
A Legend. After following his story for the last few years all I can say is that this is the passing of an almost mythical figure. A giant of a man who started out with nothing and no one in an alien sport, thousands of miles from home. A man who fought onto the team only to blow the chance of a grand final appearance for the games most historic club - yet showed the character to go on and win player of the year 4 years later. Even greater than that the resiliance and sheer might of will to fight through 10 years of hard physical contests without missing a game. The all time AFL record of 244 consecutive matches - where not even broken ribs could stop him lining out - is the stuff of legend in Aussie Rules.

To have a career like that and yet his subsequent contribution to AFL, Melbourne and Australian society overshadows his football career is a measure of this mans greatness. He founded the Reach Foundation to help struggling children throughout Australia, became chairman of the club he played for, the oldest in AFL and brought it from the brink of bankruptcy to totally clear its debts. He became heavily involved in fighting racism in Aussie Rules. And to cap it all he shows superhuman resiliance in a very public battle with cancer. He is given a few months to live yet fights through multiple tumours and 2 and a half years of almost continuous operations and experimental treatment, all the while maintaining a public profile for his club and charity.

He is universally loved and revered throughout Australia, and a measure of the esteem he is held in by the Melbourne fans can be seen in the 2010 video below. "Inspirational".

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LF-I7rGY9RQ

RIP Jim Stynes - One of the greatest heroes of Irish sport
Post by: Tubberman on March 20, 2012, 12:01:38 AM
RIP Jim Stynes. Never saw him play but had huge admiration for him after watching the documentary. Not only for the bravery and determination fighting cancer, but also for all the great work he did for disadvantaged children through his charity.
A very sad time for his family, especially his wife and kids. But they can also be very proud.
Post by: ross matt on March 20, 2012, 12:20:29 AM
RIP Jim. Inspirational figure on and off the field and particularly in how he defiantly fought this horrible disease. I hope his wife and kids get some solace from how respected and admired he was but its tragic that they and he are so young at this time of his passing.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on March 20, 2012, 02:05:57 AM
Quote from: ross matt on March 20, 2012, 12:20:29 AM
RIP Jim. Inspirational figure on and off the field and particularly in how he defiantly fought this horrible disease. I hope his wife and kids get some solace from how respected and admired he was but its tragic that they and he are so young at this time of his passing.

Jim fought long and hard and with great courage. His wife Sam seems to be drawing from this courage herself with an equally courageous statement.

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport/afl/jim-stynes-death-full-statement-from-wife-sam/story-e6freck3-1226304802142 (http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport/afl/jim-stynes-death-full-statement-from-wife-sam/story-e6freck3-1226304802142)
Post by: Aerlik on March 20, 2012, 03:10:36 AM
The great man has just received the opening ovation by the PM and Opposition in Parliament.

Sad day for us Irish in Australia.

RIP Jim.
Post by: Declan on March 20, 2012, 06:50:44 AM
A brave and inspirational man in a world where the word hero is given out too easily. RIP Jim
Post by: Billys Boots on March 20, 2012, 08:51:58 AM
A great sportsman, and a sad loss, not just for sport.  RIP.
Post by: mick999 on March 20, 2012, 09:29:26 AM
RIP .. 

Good tribute here :  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C54LgEsCwAM
Post by: Harold Disgracey on March 20, 2012, 09:54:34 AM
RIP Jim Stynes, a truly brave and inspirational man.
Post by: orangeman on March 20, 2012, 10:11:18 AM
Quote from: mick999 on March 20, 2012, 09:29:26 AM
RIP .. 

Good tribute here :  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C54LgEsCwAM

Nice tribute alright.

Shocking how such a strong man can be laid low by this horrible illness.

Sean Wight died last year - another strong, tough, uncompromising player who suffered the same fate.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on March 20, 2012, 11:08:36 AM
A true gent and beautiful human being....................terrible loss to his family and friends
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on March 20, 2012, 11:28:53 AM
I see he's getting a state funeral
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on March 20, 2012, 11:49:14 AM
Only heard the news there, sorry to hear he lost his brave fight

Quote from: Declan on March 20, 2012, 06:50:44 AM
A brave and inspirational man in a world where the word hero is given out too easily. RIP Jim

Post by: BennyCake on March 20, 2012, 11:57:17 AM
We never seen the best of Stynes in the GAA. He must have been an inspirational man in Aussie Rules, more than I thought. I doubt if any Irish player will have the same impact down under as he's had. 45 years old, that's such a young age.

RIP Jim.

PS. I missed his documentary. Is it available online anywhere?
Post by: blewuporstuffed on March 20, 2012, 12:25:40 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 20, 2012, 11:57:17 AM
We never seen the best of Stynes in the GAA. He must have been an inspirational man in Aussie Rules, more than I thought. I doubt if any Irish player will have the same impact down under as he's had. 45 years old, that's such a young age.

RIP Jim.

the documenatry is one of the most moving things ive seen on Tv, a true inspiration and hero.
not sure if its online anywhere, but here is the trailer

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mwOV6CJmrlE (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mwOV6CJmrlE)
Post by: bigfrank on March 20, 2012, 12:34:56 PM
I have spent an hour looking for the documentary online and cant seem to get it anywhere..available to buy in many places. the trailer on youtube is so moving..u just seem to forget about any worries or problems u have for them few mins and ur heart just beats harder for jim and his family..u hang on every word..i love people like that..they are few and far between which makes them that bit more special i guess
Post by: magpie seanie on March 20, 2012, 01:06:22 PM
A true legend and a giant of a man in all senses. RIP Jim, you will continue to inspire many.
Post by: johnneycool on March 20, 2012, 01:13:57 PM
RIP Jim Stynes.

The heart of a lion and one we can be proud to call Irish.
Post by: bailestil on March 20, 2012, 01:27:13 PM
I Downloaded a copy of the documentary back when it was first mentioned on here.
Have it on the PC at home, but its probably much to big and illegal i assume  ::) to share.

It gives a great insight into an extraordinary man's life.

I imgine RTE will be showing it at some stage this week.
Post by: Jinxy on March 20, 2012, 01:52:39 PM
Yeah they'll show it again I'd imagine.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 20, 2012, 01:54:27 PM
RIP Jim, ni bheidh do leithéid arís ann.
Post by: The Biff on March 20, 2012, 02:02:54 PM
Having watched that documentary, I gained a respect for Jim Stynes that I did not really think I would ever feel for a professional sportsman.  The way he and his family fought this terrible remorseless illness, the tortures he put himself through, and yet he managed to find strength to use his illness to inspire others and keep his Reach Foundation going.

I was privileged to see him play football, for both Ireland and Australia.  There wont be too many more who will ever manage that, but it's probably still do-able for some keen young man.  But I doubt anybody will ever emulate the life and achievements of Jim Stynes.

That does not mean we should not try.  We should, even if only just one small part of what he represented.

That is the best way to pay our respects.

Rest now, Jim, and Thank You.
Post by: muppet on March 20, 2012, 02:32:30 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 20, 2012, 11:57:17 AM

RIP Jim.

I suspect RTE will show it again shortly.

The documentary is very hard to watch and after today's news it will be even worse. But it should be mandatory viewing for all teenagers to show how, despite everything, you can make a difference.

RIP Jim. A true modern day legend.
Post by: Sportacus on March 20, 2012, 02:47:36 PM
RIP - too young.  Sympathy to his family.
Post by: gerrykeegan on March 20, 2012, 02:58:30 PM
That documentary (as hard as it was to watch) was one of the best programmes that Rte have shown in a long time. I follow Jim on twitter and always smile when I see a tweet from him, you knew he was still hanging on, alas no more . RIP Jim
Post by: muppet on March 20, 2012, 02:59:44 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on March 20, 2012, 02:58:30 PM
That documentary (as hard as it was to watch) was one of the best programmes that Rte have shown in a long time. I follow Jim on twitter and always smile when I see a tweet from him, you knew he was still hanging on, alas no more . RIP Jim

As hard as it was to watch, you actually believed if anyone would beat Cancer, it would be Jim Stynes.
Post by: gerrykeegan on March 20, 2012, 03:13:58 PM
100% agreed muppet, felt upset this morning, like f**k me that thing managed to beat Jim f**king Stynes
Post by: Declan on March 20, 2012, 03:26:27 PM
QuoteAs hard as it was to watch, you actually believed if anyone would beat Cancer, it would be Jim Stynes

Absolutely - My thoughts exactly
Post by: ross4life on March 20, 2012, 04:36:36 PM
Sad to hear this the big C has claimed another so young. Well liked well respected guy hopefully his young family can pull through this difficult time.

RIP
Post by: All of a Sludden on March 20, 2012, 05:27:21 PM
Hopefully RTE will show the documentary again soon. It is as moving as it is inspirational. 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mwOV6CJmrlE
Post by: The Hill is Blue on March 20, 2012, 06:50:12 PM
Your struggles are over Jim and the world is a poorer place.
Rest in peace.

Moving video from Melbourne Age below:

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/a-giant-of-the-game-and-a-true-inspiration-20120320-1vhz9.html (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/a-giant-of-the-game-and-a-true-inspiration-20120320-1vhz9.html)
Post by: Hill16 Blues on March 20, 2012, 08:08:47 PM
He was a giant of a man on and off the pitch!

Have always wondered what he would have added to Dublin team in late 80s and early 90s. Am pretty sure we would have won more all Ireland's if he'd been in our midfield. As he was in the AFL he would have been one of the greats of Gaelic football!

RIP
Post by: bucko on March 20, 2012, 08:44:17 PM
Was in Melbourne last December, on a tour of the MCG and the tour guide was telling me how Jim was supposed to have a goodbye bbq the previous weekend which he cancelled to go for a last chance surgery. It was poignant to hear at the time, even more so to be reminded of it by last nights news. RIP Jim.
Post by: cadence on March 20, 2012, 10:08:44 PM
RIP. this doc has just been posted on youtube...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i-RZmBYqrRM&feature=endscreen

Post by: Never beat the deeler on March 21, 2012, 03:26:29 AM
Moving tribute from Garry Lyon
http://m.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/i-loved-the-nature-of-our-friendship-it-wasnt-demanding-it-wasnt-complicated-it-was-strong-and-loyal-and-comforting-20120320-1vi2x.html (http://m.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/i-loved-the-nature-of-our-friendship-it-wasnt-demanding-it-wasnt-complicated-it-was-strong-and-loyal-and-comforting-20120320-1vi2x.html)
Post by: FL/MAYO on March 21, 2012, 02:22:50 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HUy7F1eBez4&feature=youtube_gdata_player
The documentary
Post by: Rossfan on March 21, 2012, 02:46:59 PM
R.I.P.
Post by: stephenite on March 22, 2012, 09:39:19 AM
I see that the man we all love to hate has had his say on this tragedy

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/sport/jason-akermanis-attacks-late-jim-stynes/story-e6frg7mf-1226307365211 (http://www.theaustralian.com.au/sport/jason-akermanis-attacks-late-jim-stynes/story-e6frg7mf-1226307365211)
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 22, 2012, 04:34:07 PM
Didn't we used to call him Knackermanis.

Ignorant cur  >:(
Post by: muppet on March 22, 2012, 08:02:33 PM
Gary Lyon's eulogy: http://www.triplem.com.au/melbourne/sport/afl/news/blog/garry-lyons-jim-stynes-eulogy/20120322-fxk1.html (http://www.triplem.com.au/melbourne/sport/afl/news/blog/garry-lyons-jim-stynes-eulogy/20120322-fxk1.html)
Post by: orangeman on March 22, 2012, 10:04:41 PM
Quote from: muppet on March 22, 2012, 08:02:33 PM
Gary Lyon's eulogy: http://www.triplem.com.au/melbourne/sport/afl/news/blog/garry-lyons-jim-stynes-eulogy/20120322-fxk1.html (http://www.triplem.com.au/melbourne/sport/afl/news/blog/garry-lyons-jim-stynes-eulogy/20120322-fxk1.html)

Tributes like this clearly and vividly demonstrate the esteem in which the big fella was held and the huge impact he made in a foreign land.

In modern day times, have there been any or many who have made similar impacts on nations in other parts of the world ?.
Post by: 5 Sams on March 23, 2012, 12:22:37 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on March 22, 2012, 04:34:07 PM
Didn't we used to call him Knackermanis.

Ignorant cur  >:(

We did...and it was an insult to knackers.
Post by: Aerlik on March 23, 2012, 07:56:39 AM
 :)
Nice touch from Gary Lyon on the Footy Show last night.  Also, the NRL Footy Show paid tribute to Jim, too, last night.  There is an Indigenous Footy Show on ABC2 and he was lauded by the indigenous players especially Aaron Davey who highlighted Jim's particular connection to the aboriginal players through, what Davey suggested, was an affinity with their plight down the centuries.
The funeral is being shown live on Channel 9 next Tuesday morning.

And that gabshite Akermanis has been sacked from that particular radio show for his santerings.

The round 4 game Melbourne v. Western Bulldogs will be played in Jim's honour.  Wish I was in Melbourne.  I'd definitely have gone.
Post by: rrhf on March 23, 2012, 09:17:24 AM
Canavan did just right to break that mans nose...
Post by: ziggysego on March 27, 2012, 12:58:01 AM
RTE is showing Jim's funeral live, on their website.

http://www.rte.ie/news/player_live.html#schedule (http://www.rte.ie/news/player_live.html#schedule)
Post by: harpsman on March 27, 2012, 10:10:00 PM
Rest In Peace.
Post by: DuffleKing on March 27, 2012, 10:12:01 PM

Are rte planning to reshow the documentary on jimmy?
Post by: Tubberman on March 27, 2012, 10:31:03 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on March 27, 2012, 10:12:01 PM

Yeah, they mentioned earlier that they'd be showing it again. Can't remember when though!
Post by: BennyCake on March 27, 2012, 11:24:30 PM
The funeral service would've taken a tear from a stone. Jim was obviously a hugely popular and inspirational man. I'm sure he would have been an equally respected figure in the GAA had he stayed in Ireland.

RIP Jim
Post by: Never beat the deeler on March 28, 2012, 02:05:27 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on March 27, 2012, 10:31:03 PM

Yeah, they mentioned earlier that they'd be showing it again. Can't remember when though!

The full doco is here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HUy7F1eBez4&feature=share (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HUy7F1eBez4&feature=share)

Post by: orangeman on March 28, 2012, 09:56:02 PM

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-17511368

Thousands of young people make the trip from Ireland to Australia every year.

Jim Stynes made his journey in 1984 as part of 'the Irish experiment' taking promising Gaelic footballers to the Australian Football League.

He had planned on staying for two years before returning to Dublin. Instead he went on become one of Australia's most iconic public figures.

It would be easy to call him an AFL legend, but he was much more than that.

Jim Stynes - the only foreign AFL player to win the Brownlow medal St Paul's Cathedral, in the heart of his adopted city hosted a state funeral in his honour. A tribute to a man who lived nearly half his life in Ireland before deciding to take a chance to try something new.

He did not have it easy. After three years of hard work Jim made the transformation from playing club 'footy' in Victoria to running out in a preliminary final against a Hawthorn team labelled as the "team of the decade".

Leading the game with seconds to go Stynes made what would be considered a schoolboy error. He had cost his team the game and the chance of a first grand final in 23 years.

The inexperienced Irishman with 13 senior games of AFL under his belt shouldered much of the blame. He travelled to Europe to clear his head and realised it would be impossible to escape the disappointment when he asked: "Aren't you that bloke who gave away that penalty?".

Four years after his grand final nightmare, he picked up the Australian Rules Football League's highest honour - the Brownlow Medal. He became the first, and remains the only man, born outside Australia to achieve the feat.

He went on to play a league record 244 consecutive games for Melbourne Football Club, a remarkable achievement considering the physical nature of the sport. His apparent inability to feel pain was perhaps best demonstrated when a freak training accident left him unable to breathe. The diagnosis was broken ribs and ripped cartilage in his sternum - he was due to miss six weeks of the season.

He turned up to training the following Friday and declared himself fit to play.

Thousands of people gathered at Federation Square in Melbourne during the funeral on Tuesday
Legacy

He applied the same determination and commitment once his playing career came to an end in 1998. Along with actor Peter Currie he set up the Reach Foundation, a charity focused on helping young people in Australia.

A tribute on their website reads: "Those of us who knew and loved Jim will honour his legacy by living our lives with passion, honesty, courage and purpose he inspired in us."

He built on the charity work he had done during his playing career and was recognised on numerous occasions for his selfless dedication to others less fortunate than he had been.

The state of Victoria twice marked his contribution to his adopted home. He was named Victorian of the year in 2001 and 2003, before being awarded the Order of Australia for his charity work and sporting achievements.

It says a lot about the man that once he decided to make Australia his home his family, his five siblings and parents Teresa and Brian moved to Melbourne to be closer to him.

They watched their son lose his battle with cancer. But they can be proud and privileged, not only to have produced such a special person but to be able to see the legacy he has left behind.

He was asked on the eve of his centenary game for Melbourne what inspired him both in sport and in life.

He said simply: "Utilise your God-given talents to the best of your ability; then you will have nothing to regret."
Post by: 5 Sams on April 01, 2012, 08:32:28 PM

RTE 1 11 40pm tomorrow night
Post by: Jinxy on April 01, 2012, 09:34:35 PM
Primetime viewing slot there.  ::)
Post by: muppet on April 01, 2012, 09:54:47 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 01, 2012, 09:34:35 PM
Primetime viewing slot there.  ::)

Pathetic, but at least it will be on the RTE player for a few weeks.
Post by: LilySavage on April 02, 2012, 05:19:13 PM
20 minutes to midnight on a Monday night, two weeks after his death, fair play to them for squeezing it in. I agree , that is pathetic, almost disrespectful.
Post by: Declan on June 08, 2012, 01:49:32 PM
Melbourne to honour football hero Jim Stynes and name a bridge in his memory

THE late Jim Stynes is to be honoured in his adopted town of Melbourne with a bridge dedicated to his memory.

The Aussie rules player lost his brave fight against cancer in March. He was given a state funeral in Melbourne where thousands of fans gathered outside the catherdral to mourn the sporting legend.

The former Dublin minor player died at the age of 45, leaving his wife Sam and two children Matisse (10) and Tiernan (7). The 6 ft 7 Dubliner is to have Melbourne's newest bridge over the Yarra river named in his memory.

Planning minister of Melbourne Matthew Guy said: "Jim's migrant story, his football career and his philanthropy are a wonderful legacy."

"The new bridge will be an interactive one with features along it recognising different aspects of Jim's life," Mr Guy said.

The cycling and pedestrian bridge will link Melbourne's docklands to the city and is part of an $18 million investment in the Northbank part of the city.

Jim's widow Sam said the bridge was a fitting tribute to her late husband:

"For us simplicity was the most important thing to us, so on one of those beautiful; crisp, sunny Melbourne days, to be able to grab an ice cream and stroll across that bridge and remember their dad and my husband will be pretty special," she said.

Jim's family are to bring his ashes back to Ireland and scatter them over the Dublin mountains.
Post by: orangeman on June 08, 2012, 02:14:09 PM
Nice touch - can anybody really take in the impact that a tall, gangly Irish man had on a country the sze of Australia ?.

It really is an incredible story that will be the subject I'm sure of a few books and a film.
Post by: gerrykeegan on September 11, 2012, 01:26:45 PM
Jim is home

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/jim-stynes-comes-home-as-wife-sam-recalls-battle-with-cancer-3226644.html

THE wife of Aussie Rules football legend Jim Stynes has told how they scattered his ashes in a beautiful ceremony in the mountains near his Dublin home.

Mr Stynes (45), who started out with the Dublin Minors in the 1980s, died after a public two-and-a-half year battle with cancer in Melbourne earlier this year.

His wife, Sam, and the couple's two children, Matisse and Tiernan, along with Mr Styne's family brought his ashes to the Sally Gap in the Wicklow Mountains at the weekend.

"They were scattered at Sally's Gap, every year when Jim would come home, he would run about 10km from where he lived in Rathfarnham up through there and then his mom Tess would pick him up," Mrs Stynes said.

"It probably sounds a bit crazy but when we got in the car to come to the airport and the ashes were taken into the car and the luggage. It almost felt him happily leave, it is like I felt him leave and to bring him back it just all felt right. It was really quite beautiful. I think he'd be quite thrilled. Set free over his home," she said in an interview on RTE's John Murray Show.

Mrs Stynes said the ceremony had felt "so right" but had a humour to it that her late husband would have loved. "We walked down the side of the hill in all the long grass the bog, I said to Jim's dad and his brother we'd need a screwdriver to open the ashes," she explained.

"Along came a Swiss army knife, and then Pops (Jim's Dad) within 30 seconds had cut his finger so there was blood everywhere and then Brian Jnr said I'll do it and took the knife and almost cut the top of his finger off.

"So by that stage there is blood all over the container. Eventually we get the lid off and the kids start scattering the ashes and a big gust of wind came and then the ashes blew back on everyone."

She added: "The sun was out, it was very beautiful."

Mrs Stynes said she had thanked everyone there "for helping shape the man that he was".

They then marked the occasion at Ballyboden Football Club surrounded by the footballer's close family and friends.

Mrs Stynes said it made her realise the youth foundation, Reach, her husband had set up in Australia was really an extension of the "human connection and support and enthusiasm" he had received in Ireland growing up.

Mr Stynes started out with an All-Ireland minor title with Dublin in 1984. After emigrating at the age of 18, he went on to play 264 games for Melbourne in a most impressive career in Australian Rules Football
Post by: J70 on September 11, 2012, 01:41:54 PM
Reminds me of The Big Lebowski!  ;D

Nice touch by the city of Melbourne!
Post by: Declan on September 12, 2012, 08:25:11 AM
Listened to the interviews with his widow Sam and his brother Brian yesterday. Very impressive people and obviously a very strong family. Best of luck to them
Post by: ballinaman on September 26, 2012, 01:20:56 PM
Well worth a watch if you have a few spare minutes today.

Inspirational man.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SeiMn_jaZgk&feature=player_embedded
Post by: The Biff on March 20, 2013, 04:36:43 PM
Jim Stynes died one year ago today.

Those tribute clips on YouTube are still worth watching.
Post by: BartSimpson on March 24, 2013, 12:27:11 AM
Just spent the last 1/2 hour browsing dis tread. What a man.

Makes ya proud to be Irish, and im sure the people of Ballyboden and dublin are even prouder. Top Irishman. Rip
Post by: gerrykeegan on March 20, 2015, 08:56:17 PM
Three years dead today.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C54LgEsCwAM