GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: BallyhaiseMan on June 14, 2009, 07:43:51 PM

Title: USFC Semi Final, Cavan V Antrim, Clones,Saturday 27th June at 7pm
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on June 14, 2009, 07:43:51 PM
Beat you to it Hardstation  :-*

Delighted for Antrim,today,Only seen parts of their game,due to our own club championship.
I know ye havent been there in about 50 years, so any of you Antrim lads who want directions for Clones,pm me,  ;D
Title: Re: USFC Semi Final, Cavan V Antrim, Clones,Saturday 27th June at 7pm
Post by: jimbo on June 14, 2009, 07:47:39 PM
Is it confirmed for Clones?
Post by: ziggysego on June 14, 2009, 07:54:02 PM
It was confirmed last week for Clones.
Post by: milltown row on June 14, 2009, 08:14:10 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on June 14, 2009, 07:43:51 PM

Delighted for Antrim,today,Only seen parts of their game,due to our own club championship.
I know ye havent been there in about 50 years, so any of you Antrim lads who want directions for Clones,pm me,  ;D

aye turn right and shite pitch at the top off the hill ;)

lads we have been past the first round before
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 14, 2009, 08:27:09 PM
Quote from: milltown row on June 14, 2009, 08:14:10 PM

We know, ye beat us the last time ye got through. I am going to stick my neck out and call a Cavan win. While Antrim really shocked me today I think that Donegal just took it for granted they would win and showed no fight and hunger. They had no respect for the Antrim challenge and they paid the price. Cavan will show respect to Antrim. My reasoning is based in the fact that Cavan met the "workaholics" Fermanagh, matched their work and the fact we had better forwards got us over the line. Today Donegal did not work, lost by a point but still kicked 17 wides. I think as long as Cavan Put in the work they'll out score Antrim. Of course in 70 minutes of football anything can happen and Antrim did beat Cavan in a challenge a few weeks ago in Lacken.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on June 14, 2009, 08:34:02 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on June 14, 2009, 08:27:09 PM
Quote from: milltown row on June 14, 2009, 08:14:10 PM

We know, ye beat us the last time ye got through. I am going to stick my neck out and call a Cavan win. While Antrim really shocked me today I think that Donegal just took it for granted they would win and showed no fight and hunger. They had no respect for the Antrim challenge and they paid the price. Cavan will show respect to Antrim. My reasoning is based in the fact that Cavan met the "workaholics" Fermanagh, matched their work and the fact we had better forwards got us over the line. Today Donegal did not work, lost by a point but still kicked 17 wides. I think as long as Cavan Put in the work they'll out score Antrim. Of course in 70 minutes of football anything can happen and Antrim did beat Cavan in a challenge a few weeks ago in Lacken.

Agree with most of your post Myles,
But the Antrim forwards are streets ahead of the Fermanagh forward line.
I see our Full back line,if its left unchanged having problems with the Saffrons speed and movement.
We are one of the few  Ulster counties which before today would never underestimate Antrim,because we have played them so much in recent years,and have always known what great footballers they had,and also of their abilities to self destruct.
Bradley seems to have given them some bottle,Ive seen Antrim play Cavan off the field,but still manage to either come out of it with a loss or a draw.
This team doesnt look like it will do that,which is what worries me most.
Post by: saffron sam2 on June 15, 2009, 08:46:47 AM
This is a crap thread. I'm waiting until hardstation starts his.

Last time Antrim senior footballers played in Clones, by the way. April 1996. Antrim 3-6, Fermanagh 0-6.

Team: B Devlin, M Mulholland, L McCurdy, A Donnelly, D McPeake, T McCrudden (0-1), G Adams, C O'Neill, E Quinn (0-1), J Wilson, A Craig, C McCabe (1-3), A Hannon, J McAleese (1-0), J McManus (1-0). Subs: C Murphy for J Wilson (25 mins).

Post by: Orior on June 15, 2009, 09:02:29 AM
Nial McKeever might have to delay his trip to Australia. His dad, big Eddie, was going to accompany him, but he cant get a visa for his moustache. Its true!
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on June 15, 2009, 09:46:18 AM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on June 15, 2009, 08:46:47 AM

Last time Antrim senior footballers played in Clones, by the way. April 1996. Antrim 3-6, Fermanagh 0-6.

Team: B Devlin, M Mulholland, L McCurdy, A Donnelly, D McPeake, T McCrudden (0-1), G Adams, C O'Neill, E Quinn (0-1), J Wilson, A Craig, C McCabe (1-3), A Hannon, J McAleese (1-0), J McManus (1-0). Subs: C Murphy for J Wilson (25 mins).

What competiton was this in SS?
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on June 15, 2009, 09:53:28 AM
Any word on Sean McGreevy's injury??  Anyone predict any changes to the team...maybe Kevin O'Boyle in for Dermot McCann??  I think this would be a good game for Kevin Niblock, good at winning dirty ball, can hold possession and is up for the physical stuff but who would make way??
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 15, 2009, 10:03:11 AM
Would Omagh not have been a better venue?
Post by: saffron sam2 on June 15, 2009, 10:11:26 AM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on June 15, 2009, 09:46:18 AM

What competiton was this in SS?

Division 3 relegation play-off.

Changed times for the Erne men.

Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 15, 2009, 10:03:11 AM
Would Omagh not have been a better venue?

Anywhere would have been better.
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 15, 2009, 10:56:35 AM
Fcuk ye. Manys a time Cavan have had to travel the length of the province to play in Casement, its about time ye had to do it yourselves :P. Can't believe it is 96 since ye played in Clones.
Post by: CC1 on June 15, 2009, 11:04:54 AM
I've got a feeling this game will be a classic. Two equally matched teams, both fighting for an unpredicted place in an Ulster final. The result will depend on how either team will play on the day but I think if both teams are playing to the best of their abilities, Cavan will just shade it.

We have a few more players to come in yet with Gunner, Lyng and Pierson all in line for a come back. I would give Gunner the nod to replace Sean Brady at half forward, his work rate and ability will be key.

Really looking forward to it!
Post by: Gold on June 15, 2009, 12:11:43 PM
http://www.cavanpost.ie/2009/06/11/flanagan-we-need-to-improve/

I hope Cavan improve for Donegal  :P

I hope Flannagan gets booted up and down the park
Post by: liihb on June 15, 2009, 12:20:24 PM
In fairness to Flanagan, I think it was the writer of the piece and not him that mentioned Donegal.....
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 15, 2009, 12:25:52 PM
Quote from: liihb on June 15, 2009, 12:20:24 PM
In fairness to Flanagan, I think it was the writer of the piece and not him that mentioned Donegal.....

Flanagan was interviewed after the match against Fermanagh on BBC and made sure he said "Donegal or Antrim" when talking about the next game. Unfair criticism of the lad their Gold.
Post by: boojangles on June 15, 2009, 12:26:36 PM
Quote from: liihb on June 15, 2009, 12:20:24 PM

If your looking for motivation from that piece your clutching at straws Gold,there is no quote from Flanagan mentioning Donegal.Flanagan aint that stupid.The Post on the other hand make a common occurance of such mistakes.
Post by: cavan4ever on June 16, 2009, 02:18:17 PM
Will many from Antrim travel down for this ?
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on June 16, 2009, 03:38:20 PM
Quote from: cavan4ever on June 16, 2009, 02:18:17 PM
Will many from Antrim travel down for this ?

I think you'll see a fair crowd of Saffron fans for this.  Luckily for me, living in Fermanagh, I know where Clones is...other Antrim fans can pick up maps at Casement on Tues evening ;)
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on June 16, 2009, 03:43:01 PM
Apparently Sean McGreevy pulled a muscle in the warm up on Sunday but hopes to be fit for the Cavan game.
Post by: stiffler on June 16, 2009, 06:15:13 PM

Many of them players still playing club football?
Post by: milltown row on June 16, 2009, 08:44:44 PM
A donnelly for st pauls (played against him this season!!! and G Adams is still running up and and down the pitch like a wee lad for the seniors
Post by: Drung on June 17, 2009, 11:57:02 AM
I think Cavan will win this by six or seven points.
Post by: longball on June 17, 2009, 12:03:21 PM
Can we rule out a suprise return to the panel for CJ McGourty?

Who will Antrim put to man mark Seanie Johnson?

Should be a good game this.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on June 17, 2009, 12:17:33 PM
Quote from: longball on June 17, 2009, 12:03:21 PM
Can we rule out a suprise return to the panel for CJ McGourty?

Who will Antrim put to man mark Seanie Johnson?

Should be a good game this.

There was a rumour doing the rounds (maybe some of the St Gall's members can confirm/deny this) that McGourty had been asked back onto the panel after the league and had declined.  A very talented player but I think we're better off without him.

As for Seanie Johnston...Antrim did very well doubling up on McFadden and in the second half Murphy.  A possibility would be Kevin O'Boyle to come in for Dermot McCann, O'Boyle has the reputation of being a very good man marker.

I agree this should be a good open game.  Despite what Drung says I make Cavan slight favourites but too close to call at the moment.
Post by: cavan4ever on June 17, 2009, 12:22:59 PM
Any word on the fitness of Mickey Lyng? 

Will the Gunner come back in ?
Post by: Homer on June 17, 2009, 01:30:16 PM
Quote from: cavan4ever on June 17, 2009, 12:22:59 PM
Any word on the fitness of Mickey Lyng? 

Will the Gunner come back in ?

Brady switches attention to football
14 June 2009

Paul Brady will be available for Cavan's Ulster SFC semi-final against either Donegal or Antrim after returning from his latest handball success in California.

Brady confirmed his number one status on the world handball stage when he defeated legendary American player David Chapman on Friday night to claim his fifth consecutive US Men's Open title. The Mullahoran man will return to the US for the World Championships in October but, in the meantime, will be concentrating all his efforts on football.

"I'm finished with handball until the World Championships in October, so I will be able to concentrate fully on football with Mullahoran and whatever Cavan are involved in," said Brady, who had trained with Tommy Carr's squad before he flew out to the US Nationals.

Not sure about Lyng but I don't think he's far away from fitness either.
Post by: cavan4ever on June 17, 2009, 01:40:40 PM
Yeah but do you think that Gunner will start?
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 17, 2009, 01:51:27 PM
Contrary to what many people say I didn't think Keating had a great game against Fermanagh. He was free the whole time but he kicked some terrible passes. I don't want to slag the lad as he is only 19 but I'd prefer to see Brady going in there instead of him. I'd also like to see Pierson start instead of Sean Brady who didn't do a lot last day apart from tapping over two easy scores. Maybe move Martin Reilly out to half forward and move Cullivan out too leaving the pair of lads inside on their own.
Post by: liihb on June 17, 2009, 02:09:41 PM
what about mackey, is he fit?
Post by: handballer09 on June 17, 2009, 02:59:35 PM
Piece with Tom Carr here lads.

http://www.anglocelt.ie/sport/localgaa/articles/2009/06/17/40684-cavan-panellists-suffer-injury-blows/
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on June 17, 2009, 03:19:29 PM
Early Prediction
Cavan 2-21 Antrim 0-13.  ;)
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 17, 2009, 04:05:03 PM
Quote from: liihb on June 17, 2009, 02:09:41 PM
what about mackey, is he fit?

I think so - played for his club at the weekend.
Post by: Homer on June 17, 2009, 04:40:21 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on June 17, 2009, 01:51:27 PM
Contrary to what many people say I didn't think Keating had a great game against Fermanagh. He was free the whole time but he kicked some terrible passes. I don't want to slag the lad as he is only 19 but I'd prefer to see Brady going in there instead of him. I'd also like to see Pierson start instead of Sean Brady who didn't do a lot last day apart from tapping over two easy scores. Maybe move Martin Reilly out to half forward and move Cullivan out too leaving the pair of lads inside on their own.

My sentiments exactly Myles. I think Keating is a nice footballer but I think he's a bit young/raw yet and I also don't believe he's a CHB.

From the whispers I've heard TC & Co were very impressed with Gunners performances at CHB and he was always going straight back in when finished with the handball.
Post by: boojangles on June 17, 2009, 04:45:20 PM
Paul the Gunner has to start IMO at Centre Half.Also if Pierson is fit I would start him also.At this stage of the year you play your best team. Pierson and Gunner would make any team in Ulster.
Post by: cavanmaniac on June 17, 2009, 05:10:50 PM
Did someone not mention elsewhere in another thread that Pierson picked up another minor injury in a Gowna match recently, albeit that he was able to play until the finish? He hasn't been really that switched on about county football in recent times despite good enough club form, I hope he pins the ears back and shows us what he can do if he gets a start against Antrim. Something of the same vintage he displayed against Armagh a few years ago when his long term mentor Eamon Coleman was in charge would do us nicely. Antrim will naturally be obsessing about Johnston/doubling up etc. and if Pierson is left free and in any sort of space, he can do a lot of damage.
Post by: Glensman on June 17, 2009, 05:54:04 PM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on June 15, 2009, 09:53:28 AM
Any word on Sean McGreevy's injury??  Anyone predict any changes to the team...maybe Kevin O'Boyle in for Dermot McCann??  I think this would be a good game for Kevin Niblock, good at winning dirty ball, can hold possession and is up for the physical stuff but who would make way??

Hope McGreevey is fit to play. Top notch shot stopper.
O'Boyle on for Dermot McCann. O'Boyle on Lyng/Pierson, Brady on Johnston, with 'sweeper(s)' in round.
Would throw Niblock on for Burke. Niblock and M McCann target men with fast, scoring forwards running off them...T McCann, Close, Edwards. Close to take frees instead of Cunnigham. O'Neill (my new hero) in the hole!
Hope that's ok Pebble Dasher, sir - I got told off when making a stab at the tactics last week!
Post by: boojangles on June 17, 2009, 06:25:12 PM
Quote from: cavanmaniac on June 17, 2009, 05:10:50 PM
Did someone not mention elsewhere in another thread that Pierson picked up another minor injury in a Gowna match recently, albeit that he was able to play until the finish? He hasn't been really that switched on about county football in recent times despite good enough club form, I hope he pins the ears back and shows us what he can do if he gets a start against Antrim. Something of the same vintage he displayed against Armagh a few years ago when his long term mentor Eamon Coleman was in charge would do us nicely. Antrim will naturally be obsessing about Johnston/doubling up etc. and if Pierson is left free and in any sort of space, he can do a lot of damage.

Ye that was me,it was the CuCus game at the wkend.He played to the end but I wouldnt be suprised if it kept him out of training for a nite or 2.he was limping about for alot of the 1st half. It all depends what mood he is in.When he wants,theres not too many can touch him.Hopefully thats the way he is Saturday week.
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 17, 2009, 08:04:43 PM
A lot of Antrim boys talking about Lyng making a come back. Highly unlikely in my honest opinion. For one his hamstring is seriously dodgy and for seconds he has not played a really good game for Cavan in a long while. Now that could be because of injury but the fact is I don't think he'd make the team if it were picked on form.
Post by: Lawrence of Knockbride on June 17, 2009, 08:40:09 PM
Quote from: boojangles on June 17, 2009, 04:45:20 PM
Paul the Gunner has to start IMO at Centre Half.Also if Pierson is fit I would start him also.At this stage of the year you play your best team. Pierson and Gunner would make any team in Ulster.
Steady on Boojangles. I'm not sure Pierson would be knocking any of Mulligan, Kavanagh or O'Neill out of a certain inside forward line or the two Bradleys either. Pierson, IMO, is fast becoming the old Cavan chestnut of being a player of great potential all his inter-county career-same goes for Sean Brady & Michael Lyng. It may be harsh, and injuries play a part, but I'd say some counties laugh their arse off at us when we talk up these players as being as good as this or better than such a fella.
The only one with any consistency behind him is Jelly, despite my other issues with him.
Also, your line about "playing your best team at this time of the year" goes a bit too close to the view that we play our most talented players regardless of fitness and form which I completely disagree with. Not having a go at ya but I think that has to become a thing of the past.
Post by: imtommygunn on June 17, 2009, 08:44:18 PM
What age is Lyng?
Post by: Lawrence of Knockbride on June 17, 2009, 08:57:46 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 17, 2009, 08:44:18 PM
What age is Lyng?
24 I think.
Post by: anglocelt39 on June 17, 2009, 09:13:18 PM
Ger Pierson has been around a LONG time now and for all the stupendous games he has turned out in the past he has been next to anonymous in a few as well. When he's on song though....................eamon Coleman seemed to know how to get him fired up all right, take a look at clips of that game against Armagh back in 04, he was up for it big time that day. I'd tend to Agree with Lawrence, apart from Johnston, we don't have anybody, YET, that would be pushing too hard for an Ulster All Stars place, all that might change, I hope, over the next few weeks.
Post by: DennistheMenace on June 17, 2009, 09:19:48 PM
Would love to see Antrim win this and I actually think they have a really good chance.

Baker will certainly not let the win against Donegal go to their head and with a few changes to their team they have a real shout at an Ulster final.
Post by: cavan4ever on June 17, 2009, 09:31:55 PM
Quote from: anglocelt39 on June 17, 2009, 09:13:18 PM
Ger Pierson has been around a LONG time now and for all the stupendous games he has turned out in the past he has been next to anonymous in a few as well. When he's on song though....................eamon Coleman seemed to know how to get him fired up all right, take a look at clips of that game against Armagh back in 04, he was up for it big time that day. I'd tend to Agree with Lawrence, apart from Johnston, we don't have anybody, YET, that would be pushing too hard for an Ulster All Stars place, all that might change, I hope, over the next few weeks.

i wouldnt be worried about all-stars a good team performance and we should get to ulster final.
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 17, 2009, 09:38:16 PM
I don't think Tommy Carr would have  anyone who isn't putting it in on the panel at this time of the year. So I can only presume that Pierson is putting in the work and being ommitted coming back from injury. Any games in the past he's not been great in are normally when he is playing with an injury. If he is fit he will do the business.
Post by: pebble-dasher on June 17, 2009, 09:57:11 PM
Quote from: Glensman on June 17, 2009, 05:54:04 PM

O'Boyle on for Dermot McCann. O'Boyle on Lyng/Pierson, Brady on Johnston, with 'sweeper(s)' in round.
Would throw Niblock on for Burke. Niblock and M McCann target men with fast, scoring forwards running off them...T McCann, Close, Edwards. Close to take frees instead of Cunnigham. O'Neill (my new hero) in the hole!
Hope that's ok Pebble Dasher, sir - I got told off when making a stab at the tactics last week!

Thats 100 big lad,  lol
who you dropping for close to come in?
Really hope mc greevey is ok for this game, although young graham done everything right the last day he wasnt tested once and is a shock to be number 2.  Where did finucane go?
I think mick mc cann will play in the middle this time.  Burke wont start and kevin o boyle is a great man marker.  Would niblock have the fitness for a start? 

Massive game for antrim but i dont think the scoring will be as high as BHman predicted.  It will be something more like Antrim 1.13 Cavan 0.14 with ciaran close getting the goal!
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on June 17, 2009, 10:34:49 PM
i dont for one minute think that will be anything like the score.
Eugene Keating is a definite no-no for Centre Half Back if Kevin Brady is Centre Forward,Brady when at himself was one of the most underrated forwards in Ulster.
In 2002/2003(whichever year it was that Antrim beat us at Casement) He roasted Peter Reily who was a good deal quicker and more agile than Keating is.
Gunner has to start.

Martin Cahill on Tomas McCann
Michael Hannon on Paddy Cunningham.
is how i believe the full back line should line up.
Post by: Glensman on June 18, 2009, 09:23:30 AM
Quote from: pebble-dasher on June 17, 2009, 09:57:11 PM
Quote from: Glensman on June 17, 2009, 05:54:04 PM

Thats 100 big lad,  lol
who you dropping for close to come in?
Really hope mc greevey is ok for this game, although young graham done everything right the last day he wasnt tested once and is a shock to be number 2.  Where did finucane go?
I think mick mc cann will play in the middle this time.  Burke wont start and kevin o boyle is a great man marker.  Would niblock have the fitness for a start? 

Massive game for antrim but i dont think the scoring will be as high as BHman predicted.  It will be something more like Antrim 1.13 Cavan 0.14 with ciaran close getting the goal!

I'd be dropping Cunningham for Close/ANother to come in. Maybe not a popular choice (and he's captain) but there you go. We'd miss his frees but there are others who could hit them and Close with the close-in left footed frees. Need hard working forward to not let the ball out and capitalise on all mistakes (as I said previously it must have been pretty tough for full backs/half backs/midfield when looking up and not seeing too many runners...and then the turnovers coming quickly and the ball coming right back at them).
Saw Finucane on the bench in 'plain clothes', must be injured.
Interesting to see what he does with Mick McCann.
Niblock's fitness for full game might indeed be a question but his game is generally based on positional sense and smart running anyway so they could get the best out of him for 40 mins.

Antrim don't do massive scoring but if they can limit Cavan to 10-12 points they are in with a good shout. And no goals...!
Post by: Hollow Man on June 18, 2009, 12:31:10 PM
QuoteGer Pierson has been around a LONG time now and for all the stupendous games he has turned out in the past he has been next to anonymous in a few as well

Think about what you're saying here. When it matters, in championship, the man is usually either not fit or anonymous.
You should have said "for all the anonymous games he has turned out in the past he has been stupendous in a few as well".

Boojangles, Pierson on his very top form would make most teams. However, we very, very rarely see that form. This year, he had a great game against Armagh in the McKenna Cup and was reasonably good in the second half against Longford in the league. That's it, and that's the usual run of things.
No point talking about 2004 - this is 2009.
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 18, 2009, 12:42:46 PM
Quote from: Hollow Man on June 18, 2009, 12:31:10 PM
QuoteGer Pierson has been around a LONG time now and for all the stupendous games he has turned out in the past he has been next to anonymous in a few as well

Think about what you're saying here. When it matters, in championship, the man is usually either not fit or anonymous.
You should have said "for all the anonymous games he has turned out in the past he has been stupendous in a few as well".

Boojangles, Pierson on his very top form would make most teams. However, we very, very rarely see that form. This year, he had a great game against Armagh in the McKenna Cup and was reasonably good in the second half against Longford in the league. That's it, and that's the usual run of things.
No point talking about 2004 - this is 2009.

I suppose the thing is we don't know how well he is going in training. Larry came on before him the last day so maybe he is down the pecking order. To be honest I only expect 1 change from last week and thats Brady for Keating.
Post by: Hollow Man on June 18, 2009, 12:50:25 PM
I think Larry would play havoc if he got on against Antrim.
Post by: Fluffysocks on June 18, 2009, 12:52:49 PM
does niblocks head get bigger literally every year? is it really as big in real life as opposed to tv?
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on June 18, 2009, 01:42:15 PM
Quote from: Fluffysocks on June 18, 2009, 12:52:49 PM
does niblocks head get bigger literally every year? is it really as big in real life as opposed to tv?

Nah, that's CJ McGourty you're thinking of!
Post by: saffron sam2 on June 18, 2009, 02:18:34 PM
Red dog def. out.

Finucane long term injured.

Grabber to start.
Post by: Homer on June 18, 2009, 02:21:07 PM
Quote from: Hollow Man on June 18, 2009, 12:50:25 PM
I think Larry would play havoc if he got on against Antrim.

Post by: pebble-dasher on June 18, 2009, 02:22:43 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on June 18, 2009, 02:18:34 PM
Red dog def. out.

Finucane long term injured.

Grabber to start.

Any other keepers in the county?  Cant think of any descent ones. 

Post by: boojangles on June 18, 2009, 02:23:32 PM
Quote from: Lawrence of Knockbride on June 17, 2009, 08:40:09 PM
Steady on Boojangles. I'm not sure Pierson would be knocking any of Mulligan, Kavanagh or O'Neill out of a certain inside forward line or the two Bradleys either. Pierson, IMO, is fast becoming the old Cavan chestnut of being a player of great potential all his inter-county career-same goes for Sean Brady & Michael Lyng. It may be harsh, and injuries play a part, but I'd say some counties laugh their arse off at us when we talk up these players as being as good as this or better than such a fella.
The only one with any consistency behind him is Jelly, despite my other issues with him.
Also, your line about "playing your best team at this time of the year" goes a bit too close to the view that we play our most talented players regardless of fitness and form which I completely disagree with. Not having a go at ya but I think that has to become a thing of the past.

For the record-
--Boojangles does not think form or fitness should be overlooked when picking a team- nor did Boojangles ever indicate that
--Boojangles thinks that commitment,attitude and determination are the most vital attributes in a footballer
--Boojangles does NOT think that talent alone should guarantee you a place on ANY team
--Boojangles thinks that Micky Lyng is vital to Cavans chances of success as our only natural CHF and that Micky Lyng is doing his utmost to get to the level that he knows he should be at
--Boojangles does not think Micky Lyng is 'trading on his name' and thinks that we will see the best of him shortly
--Boojangles would prefer to see Micky Lyng playing ahead of Sean Brady if only for his work rate and tackling
--Boojangles knows that Cavan has not seen near the best of Gerald Pierson in a while but feels that the time is getting close
--Boojangles thinks that the opinion that Gerald Pierson and Sean Johnston not being able to play together is horse shit
Post by: Hollow Man on June 18, 2009, 04:46:30 PM
Quote--Boojangles thinks that the opinion that Gerald Pierson and Sean Johnston not being able to play together is horse shit

Sure name a couple of big matches where they played well together.
Go on. Actually, you can throw in small matches.
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 18, 2009, 05:40:41 PM
Quote from: Hollow Man on June 18, 2009, 04:46:30 PM
Quote--Boojangles thinks that the opinion that Gerald Pierson and Sean Johnston not being able to play together is horse shit

I can barely remember them playing together at all, good or bad. Agree with boojangles though that as someone  that spent a fair part of my playing time as a corner forward, that I don't see how 2 corner forwards could not play with each other unless there was a serious clash of personalities. Thats more a feature of soccer if you ask me.
Post by: Lawrence of Knockbride on June 18, 2009, 06:03:05 PM
Quote from: boojangles on June 18, 2009, 02:23:32 PM
Quote from: Lawrence of Knockbride on June 17, 2009, 08:40:09 PM
Nicely cleared up and neatly arranged with the bullet points and the third person ;)

For the record-
--Boojangles does not think form or fitness should be overlooked when picking a team- nor did Boojangles ever indicate that
--Boojangles thinks that commitment,attitude and determination are the most vital attributes in a footballer
--Boojangles does NOT think that talent alone should guarantee you a place on ANY team
--Boojangles thinks that Micky Lyng is vital to Cavans chances of success as our only natural CHF and that Micky Lyng is doing his utmost to get to the level that he knows he should be at
--Boojangles does not think Micky Lyng is 'trading on his name' and thinks that we will see the best of him shortly
--Boojangles would prefer to see Micky Lyng playing ahead of Sean Brady if only for his work rate and tackling
--Boojangles knows that Cavan has not seen near the best of Gerald Pierson in a while but feels that the time is getting close
--Boojangles thinks that the opinion that Gerald Pierson and Sean Johnston not being able to play together is horse shit
Post by: cavan4ever on June 18, 2009, 06:04:51 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on June 18, 2009, 05:40:41 PM

I can barely remember them playing together at all, good or bad
. Agree with boojangles though that as someone  that spent a fair part of my playing time as a corner forward, that I don't see how 2 corner forwards could not play with each other unless there was a serious clash of personalities. Thats more a feature of soccer if you ask me.
Cant remember myself.
Post by: cavan4ever on June 18, 2009, 06:08:14 PM

Gerry Arthur Stand tickets are available for O.A.P.(Priced 15euro) in Section B (30 Tickets available only)

The Ulster Council think alot of O.A.P's.
Post by: Orior on June 18, 2009, 08:47:10 PM
Will there be tickets available on Ticketmaster?
Post by: RednBlack on June 18, 2009, 10:49:39 PM
Quote from: cavan4ever on June 18, 2009, 06:08:14 PM

Gerry Arthur Stand tickets are available for O.A.P.(Priced 15euro) in Section B (30 Tickets available only)

ask for a family ticket and see where they throw you with the kids. below pitch level in the corner out in the open. great way to encourage families to go to games.
Post by: cavan4ever on June 19, 2009, 08:01:10 AM
Quote from: RednBlack on June 18, 2009, 10:49:39 PM
Quote from: cavan4ever on June 18, 2009, 06:08:14 PM

ask for a family ticket and see where they throw you with the kids. below pitch level in the corner out in the open. great way to encourage families to go to games.

FFS im not a O.A.P yet i was just making the point that 30 tickets wasnt very generous  :D
Post by: milltown row on June 19, 2009, 01:36:52 PM
don't mind paying the extra money for Croke park, facilities are great and second to none, but Clones in all fairness is a shite hole. Omagh is a better ground.

punters should be charged accordingly. so it should be a fiver into Clones
Post by: boojangles on June 19, 2009, 06:02:17 PM

You could look at it and say that you mite have a point but over the years we have not seen near enough of Pierson and Jelly in the same line-ups.For instance in 2007 Cavan played 14 Competitive matches including McKenna Cup.Johnston and Pierson played together for 4 of them matches.Pierson kicking 10 points,Jelly kicking 5. The 2 of them have simply not spent enough time playing on the same team together.2008 was a write off for Pierson.In fact there have been a few years where Pierson has been plagued by injuries or whatever not giving him the chance to nail down a regular starting spot.
Everybody is entitled to their opinion but my opinion is that it is up to Tommy Carr to get the 2 best forwards in Cavan working together.Whether that means playing a 2-man FF line or playing a big target man,it doesnt matter to me.But I cannot accept that they simply cannot play together.Both of them have 2 very good feet so its not like they are competing for the one corner.
What are your opinions there Hollow Man?
Post by: Hollow Man on June 19, 2009, 06:52:10 PM
On top form, which unfortunately is maybe once or twice a year, Pierson is class.
However, he's too inconsistent, and nine times out of ten Mackey, Jelly, Flanagan, Cullivan and Larry are more effective then him.
Post by: cavan4ever on June 19, 2009, 07:12:56 PM
Quote from: Hollow Man on June 19, 2009, 06:52:10 PM
On top form, which unfortunately is maybe once or twice a year, Pierson is class.
However, he's too inconsistent, and nine times out of ten Mackey, Jelly, Flanagan, Cullivan and Larry are more effective then him.

I wouldnt say Cullivan is consistant and who knows what Larrys going to do.
Post by: trim blue on June 19, 2009, 11:10:31 PM
On his day Pierson can play as good as any forward in Ireland, his display in Navan against Meath in the league a couple of years back (07?) was the best I've seen from any Cavan forward in the last 5 years, unfortunately he can also be very ordinary, lacking poise, kicking wildly. I'm a great fan of the lad and certainly at the moment injuries seem to have taken their toll leaving him lack that sharpness needed in the corner, think we just have to trust Carr and the selectors on this one that they know best and hope that he puts himself in the frame by getting fully fit and impressing at training.
Post by: Antrim lad on June 20, 2009, 04:18:20 PM
Is the game all ticket? Or can you pay in?  :o
Post by: pebble-dasher on June 20, 2009, 06:27:34 PM
yes lad

Ulster Senior Football Championship Semi Final - Antrim v Cavan
Saturday 27th June 7pm - Clones
Tickets on sale in Casement Park:
Tuesday 23rd June: 7pm - 8pm
Wednesday 24th June: 7pm - 8pm

Gerry Arthurs Stand - All Ticket
Pat McGrane, Eastern Stand - Open Seating - Pay at Turnstile
Hill - Standing - Pay at Turnstile
Post by: cavan4ever on June 22, 2009, 12:57:52 PM
Any updates on Injuries? (lyng, Gunner)
Post by: imtommygunn on June 22, 2009, 10:46:20 PM
what's the best way from belfast to clones?
Post by: fred the red on June 22, 2009, 10:50:01 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 22, 2009, 10:46:20 PM
what's the best way from belfast to clones?

by road if you have a car.
Post by: slow corner back on June 22, 2009, 10:54:43 PM
Is that quicker than going via enniskillen hs?
Post by: boojangles on June 22, 2009, 10:58:53 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 22, 2009, 10:54:14 PM
Also, this is a shit thread.

Which is suprising considering it is one of the most eagerly awaited games in years!!
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 22, 2009, 11:10:26 PM
Was looking forward to an Antrim Tyrone thread from Hardstation after the great Antrim Donegal one, but i see someone has already started one.  Of course thats if Antrim win :)
Post by: Rois on June 22, 2009, 11:55:41 PM
Looking forward to driving to this with little or no traffic on my route down.

Belfast - Fivemiletown and over the mountain to Clones. 

Don't think I've ever been to Clones unless either Tyrone or Armagh were playing, it'll be interesting to see how other fans behave themselves. 

C'mon Antrim!!! 

Post by: Rois on June 23, 2009, 07:25:44 AM
Ah it got me down super-quick for Tyrone-Armagh. Should be virtually empty.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on June 23, 2009, 09:21:44 AM
Google suggests going via Aughnacloy...not sure that's the way I'd go.  You could go all the way to Maguiresbridge to Skea and in that way...about 12 mile longer but better roads??  Shouldn't be much traffic since as far as I can make out I will be the only Fermanagh resident going that way!
Post by: aontroim on June 23, 2009, 12:39:55 PM
Would normally head down through Donaghmore / C'caulfield / Aughnacloy / Tydavnet / Scotstown and onto the main rd again about smithboro - never really had bother with traffic until hitting outskirts of clones.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on June 23, 2009, 12:57:21 PM
How about changing the title of the thread to the directions thread? Then start a new match thread?
Post by: aontroim on June 23, 2009, 01:17:24 PM
We are waiting on Hardstation to start the new match thread with a proper title.
Post by: Gold on June 23, 2009, 01:25:43 PM
abso brutal road to Roslea--up and down hills--brutal road--no signposts, nathin
Post by: Gold on June 23, 2009, 01:26:36 PM
Quote from: Gold on June 23, 2009, 01:25:43 PM
abso brutal road to Roslea--up and down hills--brutal road--no signposts, nathin

the road from 5miletown i mean
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on June 23, 2009, 01:39:42 PM
From the BBC

Antrim are likely to be without goalkeeper Sean McGreevy for Saturday's Ulster SFC semi-final against Cavan.

McGreevy was forced to retire to the sidelines in the early stages of the Saffrons' quarter-final win over Donegal with a groin injury.

Under-21 goalkeeper Peter Graham replaced McGreevy and is standing by to deputise again at St Tiernach's Park.

Cavan manager Tommy Carr will announce his side on Tuesday night, with the team expected to be unchanged.

Micheal Lyng and Paul Brady, who were unavailable for the win over Donegal, are likely to be named among the substitutes.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/the_championship/7840395.stm
Post by: imtommygunn on June 23, 2009, 01:46:04 PM
Not much talk on this thread about football...

Best opportunity in many a year for both teams to get to a final.

I'd like to see Close come in for Cunningham for Antrim. If they play a 2 man ball winning FF line I think Close is much better equipped to play a third man out the field and he can hit the frees. Pity about McGreevy - big loss really.

How's Johnston's hamstring? He was really only half fit for Fermanagh which is a worry.

Also Antrim will need to mind that Reilly in corner forward is a very good free taker. Can't give away too many from his side.

I've went through fivemiletown years ago.

Over the mountain to Clones - is it well signposted or any mroe descriptive directions??
Post by: glens abu on June 23, 2009, 01:55:40 PM
would like to see niblock and O'Boyle start.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on June 23, 2009, 02:08:27 PM
Quote from: glens abu on June 23, 2009, 01:55:40 PM

Bradley says in Irish News today he isn't sure he is up for a full match yet, one second and I will post the article:

Last 12 the Antrim target says Bradley

By Paddy Heaney

23/06/09

Antrim manager Liam Bradley says he isn't daunted by the prospect of meeting a Cavan side that beat the Saffrons by five points in last year's Ulster Championship.

Neither is he worried at the idea of playing against the reigning All-Ireland champions in the provincial final.

For Bradley, the main ambition is for Antrim to reach "the last 12". He said: "If we beat Cavan, then we are down to the last 12 teams in the country. We would be happy to take it from there."

A place among the last dozen teams would be a huge achievement for this remarkably youthful Antrim side.

"The average age of the team that finished against Donegal was 21q years old," said Bradley.

The absence of 35-year-old 'keeper Sean McGreevy significantly reduced the average age of the Antrim team. The St Paul's man was forced to retire with a groin injury and it appears that he has not recovered in time for Saturday's semi-final clash in Clones.

U21 Peter Graham replaced McGreevy and the Creggan 'keeper is set to wear the number one jersey in St Tiernach's Park.

"He will be starting on Saturday for definite," said Bradley.

Graham is just one of a number of changes that Bradley might make to the side that lined out in Ballybofey.

Kevin Niblock, Kevin O'Boyle and Benny Hasson all made significant contributions when they came off the bench. Niblock probably made the biggest impact. He won a stack of possession after being introduced to the full-forward line. However, the Antrim manager hinted that Niblock could once again be held in reserve.

"We had to get the timing of the substitutions right against Donegal. We felt we played Kevin Niblock's to perfection.

"Kevin has done very little training because he is waiting on an operation. Whether he is fit enough to play a full game at this stage, we are not 100 per cent sure. We will have to monitor that."

The midfield sector will also cause Bradley some concern. Donegal won 61 per cent of the kick-outs and the Glenullin man clearly feels Benny Hasson could make a contribution in this area.

"With Benny you are talking about a man that is six-feet-six and 15-and-a-half-stone. Physically, he's hard to work with. He is an option for us as well."

While Niblock and Hasson will probably start on the bench, there is a strong chance Kevin O'Boyle has forced his way into the first 15. Apart from performing his defensive duties well, O'Boyle also kicked the winning point against Donegal and he will probably be rewarded for that display.

But it's unlikely that O'Boyle will be asked to mark Cavan's best player, Sean Johnston. That job will most likely fall to Colin Brady.

The Antrim defence will need no reminding of Johnston's potency as a forward. He scored six points from play when these sides met in last year's preliminary round.

On that occasion, Antrim opted not to play with a seventh defender, but the current management team can be expected to adopt a more cautious approach.

Wing-forward Terry O'Neill was deployed as a sweeper against Donegal and it would be a surprise if he didn't reprise that role against Cavan.

Meanwhile, Cavan manager Tommy Carr will announce his team tonight. It's believed Carr will keep faith with the side that lined out against Fermanagh, while Micheal Lyng and Paul Brady will be named among the substitutes. Lyng (injured) and Brady (playing handball) were unavailable for the win at Breffni Park.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on June 23, 2009, 02:16:41 PM
Agree that a fully fit Niblock would be an asset to the Antrim side but if he's not 100% then he is a great option to come off the bench for the last 20/25mins.  Good at winning, holding on to and using posession and can cope with the physical side of the modern game.
Post by: glens abu on June 23, 2009, 02:27:37 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on June 23, 2009, 02:08:27 PM
Quote from: glens abu on June 23, 2009, 01:55:40 PM

Bradley says in Irish News today he isn't sure he is up for a full match yet, one second and I will post the article:

Last 12 the Antrim target says Bradley

By Paddy Heaney

23/06/09

Antrim manager Liam Bradley says he isn't daunted by the prospect of meeting a Cavan side that beat the Saffrons by five points in last year's Ulster Championship.

Neither is he worried at the idea of playing against the reigning All-Ireland champions in the provincial final.

For Bradley, the main ambition is for Antrim to reach "the last 12". He said: "If we beat Cavan, then we are down to the last 12 teams in the country. We would be happy to take it from there."

A place among the last dozen teams would be a huge achievement for this remarkably youthful Antrim side.

"The average age of the team that finished against Donegal was 21q years old," said Bradley.

The absence of 35-year-old 'keeper Sean McGreevy significantly reduced the average age of the Antrim team. The St Paul's man was forced to retire with a groin injury and it appears that he has not recovered in time for Saturday's semi-final clash in Clones.

U21 Peter Graham replaced McGreevy and the Creggan 'keeper is set to wear the number one jersey in St Tiernach's Park.

"He will be starting on Saturday for definite," said Bradley.

Graham is just one of a number of changes that Bradley might make to the side that lined out in Ballybofey.

Kevin Niblock, Kevin O'Boyle and Benny Hasson all made significant contributions when they came off the bench. Niblock probably made the biggest impact. He won a stack of possession after being introduced to the full-forward line. However, the Antrim manager hinted that Niblock could once again be held in reserve.

"We had to get the timing of the substitutions right against Donegal. We felt we played Kevin Niblock's to perfection.

"Kevin has done very little training because he is waiting on an operation. Whether he is fit enough to play a full game at this stage, we are not 100 per cent sure. We will have to monitor that."

The midfield sector will also cause Bradley some concern. Donegal won 61 per cent of the kick-outs and the Glenullin man clearly feels Benny Hasson could make a contribution in this area.

"With Benny you are talking about a man that is six-feet-six and 15-and-a-half-stone. Physically, he's hard to work with. He is an option for us as well."

While Niblock and Hasson will probably start on the bench, there is a strong chance Kevin O'Boyle has forced his way into the first 15. Apart from performing his defensive duties well, O'Boyle also kicked the winning point against Donegal and he will probably be rewarded for that display.

But it's unlikely that O'Boyle will be asked to mark Cavan's best player, Sean Johnston. That job will most likely fall to Colin Brady.

The Antrim defence will need no reminding of Johnston's potency as a forward. He scored six points from play when these sides met in last year's preliminary round.

On that occasion, Antrim opted not to play with a seventh defender, but the current management team can be expected to adopt a more cautious approach.

Wing-forward Terry O'Neill was deployed as a sweeper against Donegal and it would be a surprise if he didn't reprise that role against Cavan.

Meanwhile, Cavan manager Tommy Carr will announce his team tonight. It's believed Carr will keep faith with the side that lined out against Fermanagh, while Micheal Lyng and Paul Brady will be named among the substitutes. Lyng (injured) and Brady (playing handball) were unavailable for the win at Breffni Park.

thanks Nail
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on June 23, 2009, 03:29:27 PM
There's an interview with Tony Scullion in the IN today.  Good to see that it appears the players haven't got carried away with the win over Donegal.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on June 23, 2009, 07:06:07 PM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on June 23, 2009, 03:29:27 PM
There's an interview with Tony Scullion in the IN today.  Good to see that it appears the players haven't got carried away with the win over Donegal.

Tony's interview  ;D :

Putting the work in

23/06/09

ANOTHER Monday morning. Half six comes early. The morning chill probably sharpened Tony Scullion's senses as he rolled out of bed. There would have been pain when his legs touched the floor.

Stiff and sore, but he'd been through it all before, it's an inter-county footballer's lot. Tough training, tough games. It's tough.

But something was different about this Monday morning. What was it? It was victory – the ointment that cures all aches and pains.

The previous day Antrim had beaten Donegal in Ballybofey in the first round of the Ulster Championship. It was the county's first Championship win in six years, Scullion's first in five years on the senior panel. The Saffrons stumbled over the line by a point, they rode their luck, but deserved their victory.

Tony must have had a contented smile on his face as he straightened up and hobbled off to prepare for his work as a building contractor and make the long drive from Cargin to a site in Ballynahinch. Life's not so bad.

"It was a long time coming, but worth waiting for," he said after a tough training session at the superb Creggan Kickham's club grounds last Wednesday evening.

"It was my first Ulster Championship win and it would be the highlight so far."

Antrim's great leap forward this year has come under the guidance of Liam Bradley and Niall Conway. First they won promotion from Division Four, now the team can look forward to Saturday's Ulster SFC semi-final against Cavan. Still in the Championship after the longest day of the year – heady days in the Saffron shirt.

"Everything seems to be going well at the minute," said Scullion.

"The training is good and Liam and Niall are fantastic, not to run down our past managers. Liam and Niall are gelling with the players very well and they've made a big contribution to the difference this year."

Scullion, the team's right half-back, played a massive part in the victory over Tir Chonaill. With an hour gone, things were nip-and-tuck. It was time for men to be men.

Donegal threatened to break down their right, Ciaran Bonner took possession near the touchline, Scullion moved across, dipped his shoulder and drove man and ball out of play. In its way, the challenge was as thrilling as any catch or score.

He took the sideline ball himself and it led to Tomas McCann's match-winning goal.

"I was more delighted with the win than the shoulder. Sure, you give a shoulder and sometimes you have to take them big shoulders," he said.

Antrim had been written off by the media, practically ignored, before the game. The spotlight is on them now, but Scullion is far too level-headed to get carried away by microphones and cameras.

"It fired us up to a certain extent, but you're not going to go out and lift your game because reporters don't come to your training sessions. I'm here to play football and enjoy myself. I'm not there to get my name in any paper."

Anyway, he's used to Antrim being written off. Long barren spells have led the faithful to lose heart.

"Playing for Antrim this last four or five years, any Championship match you go into you're always written off," he said.

"You know people are gonna be writing you off all the time, even people around your own doorstep.

"It makes it that wee bit harder to come and play for your county. People recognise you as a county player, but they don't think you're going to get any recognition for success – they're gonna say you're wasting your time.

"Usually, when we play a Championship match, it's a pat on the shoulder and a laugh behind your back, but this week it's the players who are laughing because 95 per cent of the population had Antrim written off."

The win has served only to whet his appetite, not satisfy it. Antrim's first appearance in an Ulster final since 1970 is only a game away. But Scullion knows Tommy Carr's Cavan will back themselves to do what Donegal could not.

"The job's not done yet. We've had a winning roll going all year and when you're winning football you enjoy it more," he said.

"Cavan are there, but Antrim didn't play great football against Donegal.

"It's alright saying we won, but we only beat Donegal by a point and they kicked 18 wides. We're not sitting on a high pedestal waiting to be knocked off it because the players know, and the management team knows, that there's still a lot of work to be done.

"There has to be a lot of defensive issues that have to be addressed. Nobody here will be going into the Cavan game thinking they're world-beaters because everybody knows that they're not."

Scullion says it as he sees it. Looking at things from an uncomplicated viewpoint allows him to see the bigger picture.

"I'm sure Cavan would rather face us than face Donegal, but we'll enjoy going into the game," he said.

"Once you get a bit of success, you want more – it's like money, once you get a bit you want to keep it coming in.

"You can only take one game at a time. We've crossed the Donegal hurdle, so we'll go on to the Cavan one now.

"The 25 or 30 players here and the mentors know that it's 15 against 15 – 30 hands and 30 feet. So what's the difference between us and Tyrone? Workrate has a lot to do with it – whatever you put into your players is what you'll get out."

Workrate won't be a problem for Scullion. He's a grafter. His attitude to life mirrors his attitude to football – head down, keep going, do what you need to do. All business.

"You have to pay the bills, you have to get up, there's no lying in bed to 12 o'clock like the students!

"When you've hire purchase bills to pay you get up out of your bed and put football to the back of your mind."

If Antrim beat Cavan on Saturday, Tony will probably be up for his work the following morning as usual. Maybe he'll take the Monday after the Ulster final off.
Post by: ONeill on June 23, 2009, 07:51:32 PM
I suppose the natural tendency is to worry about Seanie. However, Antrim need to focus on themselves - if they run at Cavan whilst exercising a degree of shrewdness when it comes to dealing with Johnstone then a final berth is theirs. I'd like to see Niblock nab a starting position. He's a ball winner, strong and intelligent. He's the sort of boyo who'll feed hunk-of-the-week Cunningham who isn't the speediest forward in the business.

100 years ago Antrim bate Cavan in the final during the middle of a six-in-a-row sequence. In 1918 Cavan returned the favour, keeping Antrim scoreless. Hopefully neither result will have a bearing on Saturday night.

Wonder what SS2 thinks.
Post by: imtommygunn on June 23, 2009, 08:37:07 PM
Niblock would be a good ball winning option. I'd like to see McCann further out the field too. .Only thing is he maybe wouldn't trouble the scoreboard

I think this Cavan CHB can be troubled greatly if we play a conventional CHF and go at them. Based on what I hear from Cavan people on here anyway... That being said I think the Cavan FF will trouble us.

I'd give McCann at corner back  deserves another chance.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on June 24, 2009, 10:03:43 AM
Cavan name unchanged side...Brady and Lyng on the bench
Post by: cavan4ever on June 24, 2009, 04:32:26 PM
There are the same amount of pages on the Down V London thread as this one,  is there any interest in this game atall. 

Whats the story up in Antrim is there many travelling down?
Post by: pebble-dasher on June 24, 2009, 04:50:52 PM
Have heard of a few s.w. clubs running buses, hope to see a big crowd of saffron in clones.

My team on sunday would be

Graham (if there was any other keeper in the county on the panel they would be on instead.)

Brady, Mc Lean, K OB
Scullion, Crozier, Loughrey

Mick, Gallagher

Tomas Niblock Mckeever
O'neill Cunningham Close

With o'neill playing that sweeper role.

Very very tight game, head says cavan by 3, heart says antrim by 2. 

Post by: Mr. Nakata on June 24, 2009, 04:54:53 PM
My Antrim buddies at work are in a frenzy, never seen them so excited. They're talking about their clubs running buses and organizing nights out afterwards. I'd say there will be a massive saffron posse. Great time for throw-in 7pm as well, perfect for the neutral and creamy pint consumption.
Post by: cavan4ever on June 24, 2009, 04:56:51 PM
I think if Antrim play with a sweeper it will suit Cavan.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on June 24, 2009, 04:58:52 PM
From talking to people back home I think there'll be a good crowd of Antrim supporters
Post by: cavanmaniac on June 24, 2009, 06:10:12 PM
I'm really looking forward to the match.

Cavan need to be wary of a very peppy Antrim making a storming start with a good crowd behind them and their players all bouyed up and free from expectation. If Cavan aren't fully switched on about their business early in the match with enough possession to take the sting out of Antrim in the opening quarter, it would be a very uphill battle trying to claw back a lead against their massed and extremely hard working defence.

That said, Donegal only really started playing for the last quarter hour, could have kicked 15 wides and still won by one against them, so chances will come Cavan's way in the game for sure. For me it all boils down to Cavan's attitude, we have to play from the off like we're underdogs and not favourites, the favourites tag doesn't sit well with us at all and the attitude we take into the game will have a vital bearing. Overall, I think we have relatively more experience, enough quality passers, pace and scorers to unlock Antrim and outpoint them over the distance, with the bonus of serious quality and experience on the bench in Gunner, Larry, Pierson and Lyng. (Is Jayo still crocked as well?) I'd respectfully suggest that if these players were in Antrim, they'd be starting and it bodes well for us that we can hold them in reserve. It's crucial for Carr's long term plans that we don't lose this, it'd be extremely undermining after getting over the perceived tougher hurdle v Fermanagh. If we could just win this, I wouldn't give a shite about the Ulster final it'd be just brilliant to get there in year one under a new manager with such a young side.

Only a loony would suggest Cavan will win this easy because there's little enough between the sides, but I think we'll narrowly avoid the banana skin and scrape home by about 2-3 points, and might even score a goal too.

Cavan 1-14 Antrim 1-12  
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 24, 2009, 06:23:27 PM
Agree with a lot of what maniac says. Haven't been home since the Fermanagh game, is there much hype about the game? My feeling is that there is not. In fact I did read last weeks celt and there wasn't a word written about it. There seems to be a lot of hype in Antrim judging by the couple of articles pasted on this thread. I like the idea of Cavan having a low profile build up to the game and all the media swarming around antrim. Antrim, no more than cavan, will have little of experience in dealing with all the attention and that might make their preparitions more difficult as they try to keep their feet on the ground. However, most games are won on the pitch. I hope that we can win midfield. If we can we will no doubt be facing a mass defence and Seanie being double marked. It'll be an energetic running game from Cavan I'd imagine. In defence, while we are not great, I expect us to get men around the antrim attack and make them shoot under pressure. I'm not sure they have the quality there to score under pressure. Cavan will again need to match the antrim work rate to win this. I think Tommy Carrs preperation has been very good so far and I see no reason he won't have the lads ready for this so for me it is Cavan by 3. 0-15 to 0-12 Hopefully!
Post by: Lawrence of Knockbride on June 24, 2009, 07:13:25 PM
Cavan people don't do hype. They'd be the opposite of Mayo fans IMO. The latter reckon they're going to win the AI every year while regardless of what our lot do they get negative reactions. I work in the area and all you hear is "sure who have the beaten", "now if they don't beat antrim....." and "it'd be worse to win cos tyrone will batter them". This is typical of Cavan and I just bite my tongue and away I go.
I think the game is relatively easy to assess and has been done so by Maniac & Myles. This game will be won and lost by Cavan's mindset. They have a better team, not world beaters, but a better team. If they approach it properly and do the simple things right, they should win. But you can't legislate for Miller falling asleep up against the post, for Mackey getting injured or for Johnston thinking he's above all of this. I think Johnston will be double-marked and I think Cavan will exploit this with the 3 Catlerathan boys and Martin Reilly dropping deep to create chances.
I'd be fearful of our FB line. Let's face it, nothing has changed just because we beat Fermanagh (now I'm sounding like the rest of them) and Hannon has looked sluggish in all games bar the Limerick one. They could get a run-around if we lose it at midfield and they're fed enough possession. I'd also be fearful of our lack of ability to find the net. We don't score many and Podge was the man who walked one in against Louth.
But ulimatelyl I'll go for a Cavan win by 0-16 to 0-12. COME ON THE BREFFNI. (excuse me). ;)
Post by: imtommygunn on June 24, 2009, 10:43:04 PM
Interesting reading the cavan opinions there.

The school of thought here seems to be Johnston will be double marked and he probably will be but I hope that won't be exploited. Fermanagh played the spare man back and look where that got them. However he does need some watching...

To be honest I think looking at it you have two very porous FB lines so there's potential o be a few goals in this one. Who Antrim play in the FF line is anyone's guess. Last day they went for ball winning and I hope they do the same though I hope Mick McCann goes further out.

I wouldn't agree Cavan have the better players. Johnston aside there are some decentones but gone are the teams with the top drawer players like Forde, McCabe, Peter Reilly, Jason O/Reily,even McKeever had ability wherever he is and a few other ones.

That being said a few do have good ability. Mackey against Scullion should be interesting. I think 13 and 14 whatever their names will trouble us. Both seem like boys who can run about like headless chickens with Mackey looking to have improved a lot the last day. Midfield should be about even -Mulvey lorded last year but there are some big fellas for antrim this year-but I think Antrim have better forwards and a half decent half back line which I'm not convinced Cavan have. Also Fermanagh would have won by 5 or 6 with a free taker. From either side.

All that being said a lot of it is optimism and cavan should be favourites. They've won the last few.

I expect a shoot out...
Antrim 2-19 Cavan 1-17...

Ok more realistically
Antrim 1-12 Cavan 1-10
Post by: trim blue on June 24, 2009, 11:41:31 PM
Cavan will have an advantage in that Antrim will play a similar game to Fermanagh while Cavan will play a faster game than Donegal and pose them a different set of problems. Having said that Antrim have better forwards than Fermanagh so a lot depends on who gets the most possession in midfield, both midfields have improved since last year but I still see Cavan shading it here. Cavan 1-14 Antrim 1-11.
Post by: ONeill on June 25, 2009, 12:17:45 AM
Antrim team to play Cavan in the Ulster SFC semi-final at Clones on Sunday, 28 June:

P Graham; C Brady, A McClean, K O'Boyle; T Scullion, J Crozier, J Loughrey; M McCann, A Gallagher; T O'Neill, K Brady, N McKeever; P Cunningham, S Burke, T McCann.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on June 25, 2009, 09:23:54 AM
Quote from: ONeill on June 25, 2009, 12:17:45 AM
Antrim team to play Cavan in the Ulster SFC semi-final at Clones on Sunday, 28 June:

P Graham; C Brady, A McClean, K O'Boyle; T Scullion, J Crozier, J Loughrey; M McCann, A Gallagher; T O'Neill, K Brady, N McKeever; P Cunningham, S Burke, T McCann.

More or less as you were from the last day...O'Boyle in for D McCann...same tactics as the last day?...keep it very tight for the first 50 mins and then push on a bit more in the last 20?? :-\

myles and Lawrence...I've heard plenty of the "it'd be worse to win, for Tyrone will slaughter ye..." from Antrim people as well!!  I don't detect much hype from Antrim fans.  This game is winnable from an Antrim point of view but it's by no means certain.  At the moment I'd call it 55/45 to Cavan.  You beat us by 5 last year and probably could've been more.  But I thnk we're a bit better than last year and I think Bradley has added something to this squad.  We've an inexperienced goalie, and our FB line has been known to let in the odd goal here and there in the past.  I like our HB line...getting better as time goes on and I think James Loughrey has the makings of a fine footballer.  At MF we rarely dominate but you'll probably see McKeever in there and both he and Gallagher are reasonable in the air but they have a tendency to lose possession on the ground.  We've decent forwards but traditionally Antrim don't post big scores.  Both teams got over the finish line in the first games but either could have lost.  Could we see a draw??

Antrim 1-11  Cavan 0-14

BTW The bookies have us at 2/1.  I might have a sniff at that!!

Post by: GrandMasterFlash on June 25, 2009, 09:46:04 AM
Has Sean Kelly (St Galls) retired from inter-county? Always rated him as a good half-back..
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on June 25, 2009, 10:00:00 AM
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on June 25, 2009, 09:46:04 AM
Has Sean Kelly (St Galls) retired from inter-county? Always rated him as a good half-back..

Great footballer esp. with the ball in hand...opted out last year due to studying in England...don't think he made himself availalble this year...maybe some of the Gallsmen on the board will know better.
Post by: Antrim lad on June 25, 2009, 05:28:53 PM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on June 25, 2009, 10:00:00 AM

Great footballer esp. with the ball in hand...opted out last year due to studying in England...don't think he made himself availalble this year...maybe some of the Gallsmen on the board will know better.

Think I seen him and CJ down at the Donegal game and was wondering why he wasnt playing myself??

Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on June 26, 2009, 12:42:05 PM
Travel Advice From Antrim County Board

Antrim Football Fans, travelling to Clones, especially by Mini Bus, Coach or Bus, are strongly advised to take the MI to Ballygawley on Saturday night and from there to Aughnacloy and then on to Monaghan.

The road, whilst slightly longer, is good and there is little chance of being caught up or delayed in either Portadown or Armagh in consequence of Band Parades, which are now taking place as part of the 'marching season'.
Post by: OverThePostsAWide on June 26, 2009, 12:49:47 PM
Quote from: Antrim lad on June 25, 2009, 05:28:53 PM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on June 25, 2009, 10:00:00 AM

Think I seen him and CJ down at the Donegal game and was wondering why he wasnt playing myself??

Big loss (Sean Kelly, I mean)
Post by: Maguire01 on June 26, 2009, 01:21:18 PM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on June 26, 2009, 12:42:05 PM

Antrim Football Fans, travelling to Clones, especially by Mini Bus, Coach or Bus, are strongly advised to take the MI to Ballygawley on Saturday night and from there to Aughnacloy and then on to Monaghan.

The road, whilst slightly longer, is good and there is little chance of being caught up or delayed in either Portadown or Armagh in consequence of Band Parades, which are now taking place as part of the 'marching season'.
That should have read "caught up, or delayed, or your car stoned..."
Post by: boojangles on June 26, 2009, 05:06:18 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 26, 2009, 01:21:18 PM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on June 26, 2009, 12:42:05 PM

That should have read "caught up, or delayed, or your car stoned..."

Well unless Antrim fams decide to take a detour through Navan and Kells that is unlikely to happen.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on June 26, 2009, 05:30:00 PM
Will be off line for the next few days (no I haven't been banned over the Wacko Jacko thread) so best of luck to Antrim.  Promotion from Div 4 and an Ulster final appearance would be nose bleed stuff!  Hope to see some posters down at Clones...I'll be in an Antrim baseball cap and look like my playing days are well well behind me!
Post by: boojangles on June 27, 2009, 10:41:52 AM
Cavan 1-12
Antrim 0-13

He's always good for a goal he is Jayo Jayo He's always good for a goal he is Jayo Jayo
C-o-m-e O-n Y-o-u Boys in Blue Come on you boys in blue come on you boys Come on you boys in blue
If you'v won FIVE All-Irelands clap your hands If you'v won FIVE All-Irelands clap your hands
Jellys gonna get ya Jellys gonna get ya
Post by: pebble-dasher on June 27, 2009, 11:53:50 AM
Quote from: boojangles on June 27, 2009, 10:41:52 AM
Cavan 1-12
Antrim 0-13

He's always good for a goal he is Jayo Jayo He's always good for a goal he is Jayo Jayo
C-o-m-e O-n Y-o-u Boys in Blue Come on you boys in blue come on you boys Come on you boys in blue
If you'v won FIVE All-Irelands clap your hands If you'v won FIVE All-Irelands clap your hands
Jellys gonna get ya Jellys gonna get ya

Thats all the singing you'll be doing today son!  Always best to get it over and done with early!
Post by: ONeill on June 27, 2009, 12:53:06 PM
Cmon Antrim. Pastie baps all round.
Post by: Mid Down Gael on June 27, 2009, 01:20:01 PM
It would be great for football if Antrim could win tonight. best of luck to them.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on June 27, 2009, 02:06:50 PM
Good luck to Antrim. Would like to see them progress. If they win tonight, they will be in the last 12 teams in the All-Ireland. No one would have thought that at start of the year.
Post by: DennistheMenace on June 27, 2009, 02:50:46 PM
Fancy Antrim to win, might be having some of that 2/1 bookies odds.
Post by: ifa fan on June 27, 2009, 03:49:08 PM
hope antrim win, would be good to see them in an all northern ireland ulster final.
Post by: Gaffer on June 27, 2009, 04:01:27 PM
C'mon the Baker!!

Loved the Arsenal link to him on the news last night
Post by: JMohan on June 27, 2009, 04:04:39 PM
Quote from: Gaffer on June 27, 2009, 04:01:27 PM
C'mon the Baker!!

What was that?
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 27, 2009, 04:08:32 PM
To hell with all of ye.

Come on the Breffni.[/size]

I'm off to Clones to watch some of the minor.
Post by: Gaffer on June 27, 2009, 04:31:57 PM
Quote from: JMohan on June 27, 2009, 04:04:39 PM
C'mon the Baker!!

What was that?

He explained that he was called Baker because when he was a lad he supported Arsenal and once when he bought chewing gum there was a picture card of Joe Baker who  played for Arsenal in it.  So while everyone else was calling themselves after the top players of the day while they had a kick around,  Bradley was running around calling himself Baker, a name which has stuck with him to this day!
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 27, 2009, 05:19:39 PM
Good Luck to Antrim this evening.  Would be great for their county if they could make it to an Ulster final to play the All Ireland Champions.
Post by: JMohan on June 27, 2009, 05:22:08 PM
Quote from: Gaffer on June 27, 2009, 04:31:57 PM
Quote from: JMohan on June 27, 2009, 04:04:39 PM
C'mon the Baker!!

What was that?

He explained that he was called Baker because when he was a lad he supported Arsenal and once when he bought chewing gum there was a picture card of Joe Baker who  played for Arsenal in it.  So while everyone else was calling themselves after the top players of the day while they had a kick around,  Bradley was running around calling himself Baker, a name which has stuck with him to this day!
Was it not because years ago he used turn up to the dances in a white jacket/suit and the boys sued say 'Here comes the baker' when they'd see him coming?
Post by: Tyrones own on June 27, 2009, 06:41:16 PM
Any viewing links this side lads?
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 27, 2009, 06:45:54 PM
http://www.justin.tv/sportstime#mychat (http://www.justin.tv/sportstime#mychat)
Post by: Tyrones own on June 27, 2009, 06:47:47 PM
Mighty job Carmen... Thanks ;D
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 27, 2009, 06:51:57 PM
No problem. enjoy.
Come on Antrim!
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on June 27, 2009, 06:59:29 PM
Minor point of order for the lads on Auntie Beeb. Antrim have indeed played Championship football in Clones since 1971 - they played Armagh in an Ulster semi-final in Clones in 1982.

Good luck to Antrim!!   :)
Post by: tyronefan on June 27, 2009, 07:00:28 PM
would be great to see Antrim make an Ulster final

come on Antrim
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 27, 2009, 07:10:21 PM
Lovely point.
Post by: Caid on June 27, 2009, 07:11:16 PM
This has to be the worst attendance at an USFC semi-final in a long time.  How many are there?

The game itself is pretty decent though

Come on the Saffrons
Post by: milltown row on June 27, 2009, 07:13:37 PM
Antrim might just do it. keep it tight and it can happen, what a miss
Post by: Gaffer on June 27, 2009, 07:14:47 PM
Decent sized crowd in McGrane and The Hill so wonder why the so many seats empty in Gerry Arthurs?
Post by: milltown row on June 27, 2009, 07:16:35 PM
great score from terry
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 27, 2009, 07:18:08 PM
Quote from: Caid on June 27, 2009, 07:11:16 PM
This has to be the worst attendance at an USFC semi-final in a long time.  How many are there?

The game itself is pretty decent though

Come on the Saffrons
Antrim are getting right up in their grill. Shocked at the attendance. Stands were all ticket - did people just buy on the day? Any word on attendance - bound to be short of 15k.
Post by: Caid on June 27, 2009, 07:18:26 PM
Yeah actually - just showed a view from behind the goals and there is a big crowd in McGrane and the Hill.

Surprised there aren't more behind the goals (with Cavan fans opting for the cheapest spot) but the decent weather, prximity to the pubs etc prob mean few in the Gerry Arthur.

Antrim look dangerous every time they go forward
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 27, 2009, 07:19:24 PM
Cavan have little answer for the Antrim work ethic, so far.
Post by: milltown row on June 27, 2009, 07:20:27 PM
majority of the fans are in the other stand, great score
Post by: milltown row on June 27, 2009, 07:25:29 PM
great game, come on Antrim
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 27, 2009, 07:28:35 PM
Great stuff from Antrim.  Cavans full back line is being tore a new one!
Post by: Tyrones own on June 27, 2009, 07:29:20 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 27, 2009, 07:19:24 PM
Cavan have little answer for the Antrim work ethic, so far.

Not to take anything away from Antrim and they do look good but Cavan are very loose in fairness :-\
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 27, 2009, 07:32:27 PM
The hurling team could take note of the fitness on display by their saffron counterparts. Harrying after everything. I'd say Cavan will come out firing in the second half as Antrim haven't stretched away too much despite their apparent dominance.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 27, 2009, 07:33:23 PM
Cavan creeping back into it!
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 27, 2009, 07:34:37 PM
Game on. The break might suit Antrim now.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 27, 2009, 07:35:16 PM
Hope Breheny's watching  ;)
Post by: Caid on June 27, 2009, 07:36:07 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 27, 2009, 07:34:37 PM
Game on. The break might suit Antrim now.
I think Antrim thought it was 30 minutes a side....clinging on for HT now
Post by: Archie Mitchell on June 27, 2009, 07:49:46 PM
Antrim going well, should have been ahead by more though. Great work ethic and fitness for Antrim. Break came at right time for Antrim. Hopefully they don't slack off in 2nd half.
Post by: milltown row on June 27, 2009, 07:56:03 PM
paddy's little dance before kicking his frees is strange, but hope he keeps her up
Post by: milltown row on June 27, 2009, 07:59:28 PM
must not be any Cavan supporters at the match
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 27, 2009, 08:01:34 PM
Cavan look as though they'd prefer to give the Ulster Final a miss?  ???
Post by: milltown row on June 27, 2009, 08:06:02 PM
well this match is in the bag, think we'll beat Tyrone. should be a tight game
Post by: Gnevin on June 27, 2009, 08:06:29 PM
Am shocked by this was expecting a dire game . Very entertaining .
Post by: Tyrones own on June 27, 2009, 08:11:37 PM
Cavan will need to find the net here and soon to have any chance....Antrim in Complete control
all over the field!
Post by: Jinxy on June 27, 2009, 08:12:00 PM
Two very good open games this evening.
Post by: Tim Buzaglo on June 27, 2009, 08:13:40 PM
"There goes the TS Express"

Excellent work Sidebottom!
Post by: Minder on June 27, 2009, 08:15:40 PM
2/1 was a steal :-)
Post by: Tyrones own on June 27, 2009, 08:15:47 PM
Game on...................Maybe?
Post by: ardmhachaabu on June 27, 2009, 08:16:16 PM
Don't count your chickens minder.

Great game so far I have to say
Post by: Caid on June 27, 2009, 08:16:33 PM
square ball?
Post by: Jinxy on June 27, 2009, 08:17:44 PM
Are Cavan a bit fat?
Post by: milltown row on June 27, 2009, 08:18:06 PM
Larry reilly making a huge difference now
Post by: Tyrones own on June 27, 2009, 08:18:44 PM
2 point game ...who'd a thunk 10 minutes ago?
Post by: milltown row on June 27, 2009, 08:20:31 PM
full back lucky to stay on, antrim choking a bit here
Post by: Caid on June 27, 2009, 08:21:13 PM
Cavan are 16-1 to win Ulster on betfair

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 27, 2009, 08:23:16 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 27, 2009, 08:17:44 PM
Are Cavan a bit fat?

AKA 'work-ethic' or, rather, lack thereof  ;)
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 27, 2009, 08:23:59 PM
Quote from: Caid on June 27, 2009, 08:21:13 PM
Cavan are 16-1 to win Ulster on betfair

Keep your money in your pocket!
Post by: milltown row on June 27, 2009, 08:24:43 PM
paddy sticks this over the game will be over
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 27, 2009, 08:31:01 PM
f**king hell, well done antrim.  deserved
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 27, 2009, 08:31:20 PM
Well done Antrim!   ;D

Bring yez on, ye bastids!  ;D
Post by: Tyrones own on June 27, 2009, 08:31:56 PM
Very impressed with that Antrim team especially Thomas McCann....he really showed when it mattered.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 27, 2009, 08:33:27 PM
Well done Antrim, worked fierce hard, and deserved it, far the better team, need to be way more clincal nxt day but have a great energy. Hope our lads follow yer lead. Best of luck in the final.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 27, 2009, 08:33:42 PM
Cavan were brutal to be fair but the fitness and harrying of the ball carrier really paid dividends. Where have we seen that before? ;)
Post by: ardmhachaabu on June 27, 2009, 08:34:06 PM
Well done Antrim.  Hope they go on to beat Tyrone now
Post by: Archie Mitchell on June 27, 2009, 08:34:21 PM
Well done Antrim. Thoroughly deserved. They won't fear Tyrone going into the final.
Post by: Main Street on June 27, 2009, 08:35:22 PM
Deserved by Antrim, made it harder for themselves rather than the impact of a Cavan fightback.

I thought for a few moments we would be revisiting the Larry Reilly thread.
You know Cavan were that poor when not even Larry Reilly could save them
Post by: Tyrones own on June 27, 2009, 08:35:25 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on June 27, 2009, 08:34:06 PM
Well done Antrim.  Hope they go on to beat Tyrone now

Ah now that's knot in the stomach material there...let them enjoy their moment :)
Post by: Caid on June 27, 2009, 08:35:46 PM
Antrim hammered Cavan.  More than 3 points the better team

So there you have it.  The team that plays the sexiest brand of football in Ulster against a team of thugs who will try to drag them down to their level.  All neutrals and purists will be hoping for an Antrim win (except of course Pat Spillane and Joe Brolly who love Tyrone to pieces these days)
Post by: FL/MAYO on June 27, 2009, 08:37:34 PM
Congrats to Antrim, a well deserved win. Cavan were lucky they were not beaten by more than 3 points, they looked very bad, only for the legendary Larry Reilly they would have being hammered!

Post by: Gnevin on June 27, 2009, 08:39:08 PM
Well done Antrim!  Always nice to see .
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 27, 2009, 08:42:21 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on June 27, 2009, 04:08:32 PM
To hell with all of ye.

I've taken your sound advice to heart Myles, and haven't looked back since with this 'positivity' lark:

Date             Stake/Line         Bet Type         Source         Lines      Event             Details               Price         Result     Returns         Refund

26/06/2009     €10.00       To Win - Single       Internet       1       Cavan v Antrim Antrim 1-3 pts    7/2       Win       €45.00       €0.00

Post by: Gaffer on June 27, 2009, 08:43:43 PM
Brillant result.
Bet Nelson McCausland, being a good staunch Antrim man. will be looking forward to his complimentary seats in the Gerry Arthur for the Final.
Post by: downgirl on June 27, 2009, 08:45:57 PM
Brilliant for Antrim, amazing scenes in Clones, looks like they Antrim fans will never leave the ground!  Will be rooting for them in the final!
Post by: Main Street on June 27, 2009, 08:46:13 PM
If you went to shake hands with Larry you'd be advised to keep one hand on your wallet.

You know Larry's time is coming soon, when it only took 10 Antrim players to keep him down.
Post by: JMohan on June 27, 2009, 08:54:15 PM
If someone told you there'd be a Bradley in the Ulster Final this year you'd never have thought it would be the Baker!
Post by: Square Ball on June 27, 2009, 08:57:20 PM
absolutly brilliant,  :) :) :) :) :) :) :)
Post by: fred the red on June 27, 2009, 08:59:55 PM
There will be no cows milked for a week in aghagallon now
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 27, 2009, 09:02:29 PM
Looking forward to Saffron Sam2's repudiation of his denunciation of Bradley once again, and ONeill's subsequent refutation of SS2's rejection of his enunciation!
Post by: Jinxy on June 27, 2009, 09:02:57 PM
Can you hear me Francis Sheehy Skeffington!  ;D
Post by: Lecale2 on June 27, 2009, 09:06:12 PM
Great win for Antrim. They were the better team and fully deserved the win. It's all the better when you consider they only arrived at Clones 20 minutes before the game.
Post by: Main Street on June 27, 2009, 09:11:47 PM
Not used to the altitude of the semis?
Post by: JMohan on June 27, 2009, 09:14:15 PM
Bloody hell - hang on a second - how low are Cavan now in Ulster?!
??? ??? ???

Where do they go from that?
>:(

Post by: glens73 on June 27, 2009, 09:15:39 PM
Quote from: JMohan on June 27, 2009, 09:14:15 PM
??? ??? ???

Antrim played really well tonight, give them some credit. Cavan were out-thought, out-fought and out-played by a good side
Post by: JMohan on June 27, 2009, 09:18:13 PM
Quote from: glens73 on June 27, 2009, 09:15:39 PM
Quote from: JMohan on June 27, 2009, 09:14:15 PM
??? ??? ???

Antrim played really well tonight, give them some credit. Cavan were out-thought, out-fought and out-played by a good side
Not taking away from them - just talking about their current ranking in Ulster ....

Post by: Square Ball on June 27, 2009, 09:19:47 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 27, 2009, 09:02:29 PM
Looking forward to Saffron Sam2's repudiation of his denunciation of Bradley once again, and ONeill's subsequent refutation of SS2's rejection of his enunciation!

yeah me too!!!  ;)
Post by: milltown row on June 27, 2009, 09:21:23 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on June 27, 2009, 09:19:47 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 27, 2009, 09:02:29 PM

yeah me too!!!  ;)

they will be fighting again at School this week. though they will be off soon  so Saff might not be on as much
Post by: Zulu on June 27, 2009, 09:24:56 PM
Well done Antrim on a fully deserved win tonight, hopefully your lads can keep the feet on the ground because you have the possiblity of a great year.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 27, 2009, 09:26:42 PM
The first half of the Ulster double will be completed tomorrow afternoon in Casement. When's the last time an Ulster team won the province in both football and hurling in the same year?

There will be some swallying in west Belfast tonight!
Post by: milltown row on June 27, 2009, 09:33:18 PM
Derry??
Post by: JMohan on June 27, 2009, 09:35:33 PM
Cork I'd say - oh duh - sorry ... you meant Ulster !!! he he!
Post by: magickingdom on June 27, 2009, 09:39:14 PM
great win for antrim, fully deserved...
Post by: JMohan on June 27, 2009, 09:40:25 PM
"Hey Damien, hey Kevin .... did you hear the news? Baker's in the Final!"

(http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/45954000/jpg/_45954888_derry_bench.jpg)

;D ;D ;D ;D

Post by: Mid Down Gael on June 27, 2009, 09:42:38 PM
Fair play to the saffrons. and down minors too. Michael McCann, his bro tomas, Crozier, Scullion, Loughery, ONeill and hands where superb.
Post by: milltown row on June 27, 2009, 09:45:12 PM
Quote from: Mid Down Gael on June 27, 2009, 09:42:38 PM
Fair play to the saffrons. and down minors too. Michael McCann, his bro tomas, Crozier, Scullion, Loughery, ONeill and hands where superb.

you a Cargin man ;)
Post by: donelli on June 27, 2009, 09:48:47 PM
Great to see Antrim win.
They deserved their victory and i hope they cause a huge upset by claiming the anglo celt.

at least we'll see a different colour of bunting in belfast this July  ;D
Post by: loughshore lad on June 27, 2009, 10:03:30 PM
Congratulations to Antrim on a thoroughly deserved victory, they were a more superior team than the scoreline suggests but the ability to translate dominance into scores will come as this young team matures and becomes a bit more confident - the key for them is to build on it unlike the Brian White era.  They have a number of excellent players who would be capable of gracing any county panel in Loughrey, Crozier and the McCanns. 

Post by: Square Ball on June 27, 2009, 10:06:22 PM
still buzzing after the game, hope this starts a lot of new kids playing and plants the seeds for future success
Post by: stiffler on June 27, 2009, 10:08:06 PM
best game in ulster this year

fair play Baker & co

Lawrence Smyth was right all along :D
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 27, 2009, 10:10:15 PM
What price for the headline The Fabulous Baker Boys in a newspaper tomorrow?!
Post by: milltown row on June 27, 2009, 10:14:50 PM
paddy heaney will be watching this thread, looking for headlines and 'antrim quotes' and you have given him a title Tony ;)
Post by: JMohan on June 27, 2009, 10:15:36 PM
Good one!! he he!!
Post by: Denn Forever on June 27, 2009, 10:16:04 PM
Out Thought, Out Fought, Out Scored

OUTSTANDING!!!

Well done, the better team by a mile.  We had to raise our game, Antrim had to raise their game and they did.

Must be feeling confident for the final seeing as how you play in the Papal colours
Post by: Square Ball on June 27, 2009, 10:17:44 PM
Quote from: milltown row on June 27, 2009, 10:14:50 PM
paddy heaney will be watching this thread, looking for headlines and 'antrim quotes' and you have given him a title Tony ;)

The IN doesnt publish tomorrow
Post by: behind the wire on June 27, 2009, 10:26:53 PM
best game of football this year. enjoyable to watch.

antrim played good football, excellent kick passing which is unusual these days. seemed that they had a game plan and stuck to it.
Post by: orangeman on June 27, 2009, 10:57:27 PM
Hats off to Baker and co and the players. Delighted to see them in an Ulster final. Ok Tyrone will be favourites and will in all likelihood win, but that remains to be seen.

What a massive boost for Antrim football.

Fair play Baker.
Post by: Trevor Hill on June 27, 2009, 11:09:50 PM
Congratulations to Antrim. Great performance and a thoroughly deserved win. We`ll be there to support you in the final. Also well done to the Antrim fans who created a great atmosphere, even though they were outnumbered. I know you will be rank outsiders for the final but I really hope you do it.
Post by: Minder on June 27, 2009, 11:12:59 PM
That one was for you Jacko
Post by: Hollow Man on June 27, 2009, 11:15:17 PM
Well done Antrim and congrats, thoroughly deserved to win and should have been out of sight. On the balance of play Antrim should have won by about 12-15 points - we got a fluke of a goal and Antrim must have kicked 15 wides or more.
Plus, Antrim won I'd say 90% at midfield.
This truly was embarrassing and a few Cavan players would want to take a long hard look at themselves. Shapers.
Post by: INDIANA on June 27, 2009, 11:19:01 PM
Thought Antrim were excellent and fully deserved to win. Looks like they just needed organsiation- some terrific players on that team. Any county would be glad to have them.

Cavan were a disaster. Where they go from that today is anybody's guess.
Post by: Orior on June 27, 2009, 11:21:51 PM
Just back home. Great result, and thoroughly enjoyable to watch.

I like the fast flowing but patient football from Antrim. And they did get the rub of the green regarding fouls on the Cavan forward line.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on June 27, 2009, 11:35:24 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 27, 2009, 11:27:22 PM
That was f**king fantastic. Take a bow Mr N. McKeever. Great performance.

To a certain few Cavan men (and we know who you are), did you just overlook us?
Well suck it up you arrogant shower of b**tards.

That was f**king fantastic!
Antrim played well and fully deserved to win, I am delighted for Antrim football and supporters.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 27, 2009, 11:40:36 PM

Drunk sir?
Post by: Jinxy on June 27, 2009, 11:44:32 PM
Congratulations HS.
Sow it into them Tyrone biys in the final. ;)
Post by: Square Ball on June 27, 2009, 11:53:11 PM

so you wernt at mass then!!!!!!!!
Post by: imtommygunn on June 27, 2009, 11:58:52 PM
Brilliant win. How we only won by three points I'll never know. I thought we were 8 / 9 points the better team.

Great tactics again from Baker and a very well motivated, drilled and dihsciplined team.

McKeever won some ball there and whoever was marking Mick McCann got the roasting of their life.

I wouldn't be too happy with that performance were I a Cavan person.

Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 28, 2009, 12:00:17 AM
as a derry man wile close to the border, congrats to the antrim boys; few observations;

thats a seriously young team ye's have; if they keep together oer next few years they could be well worth a watchin;
dont implode like yous usually do; build on it ffs;
thon scullions some engine; hugely impressed;
mccanns, loughrey, mckeever and oneill all played v well;

finally, and i knwo ye's wont have heard this before ( :P); but it took a derry man tae finally get ye's sorted; like a crowd o sheep that finally got a good farmer&sheepdog to sort them out, if ye will;

gd nite;
Post by: Pangurban on June 28, 2009, 12:27:17 AM
Congragulations Antrim, well deserved, the Worm has finally turned, you have the makings of a serious team over next few years,  keep your heads and keep developing and major success is possible, no one will begrudge you it
Post by: Maguire01 on June 28, 2009, 12:30:48 AM
Congratulations Antrim. Great performance and great result - it would have been a total injustice if Cavan had managed to steal even a draw at the end of that game. Antrim were better in every area and totally dominated midfield.

Small crowd at the game alright - although a decent crowd on the hill. I'd say the crowd was 2/3 Cavan to 1/3 Antrim - any chance of many more Antrim fans at the final or will it be 30% Antrim to 70% Tyrone fans?
Post by: Lawrence of Knockbride on June 28, 2009, 12:34:35 AM
Well done to Antrim. They played well and totally deserved their win. Now that we're all back to reality, as a Cavan follower for many a year that is the worst championship performance I've witnessed in the blue jersey, and I've thought about it for a few hours. To analyse what was wrong would take me several hours and this maybe should have been posted on our local thread.
Disgraceful attitude, baffling tactics and just plain bad performances by players we probably thought were better than they are. Embaressing. Them boys would want to keep out of sight til the qualifiers in shame. I'd nearly expect to see an apology for us fools that followed them around the country this year. If I was good enough to be a in a position to train for 6 months with these games being the ultimate focus and I turned out a performance like that you'd wonder was there any point.
Good night.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 28, 2009, 12:38:35 AM
A lot of teams would be happy enough to draw Cavan in the second round of the qualifiers, going on this evening's performance.
Post by: cavanmaniac on June 28, 2009, 12:59:58 AM

Enjoy the win but wind your neck in a bit maybe? Not many Cavan folk here or elsewhere for that matter were arrogant or over confident, we thought we'd squeak it and would have been more than delighted to. Bottom line is we were a million miles behind Antrim today and should have been beaten by more. Be proud, and rightly so, but don't be a bad winner.

Bradley really has done a fantastic job with that side and Antrim are so young, vibrant and hungry for work that as long as they don't shit on their own doorstep like they did when Brian White was in charge, they can become a force in years to come. It's amazing what an astute appointment can do, and the massive improvement in Antrim fortunes under the hand of Bradley has me asking questions of our own manager for the first time. Carr was badly exposed today to a degree, but the main problems were with the players committing absolutely, hideously laughable errors on the ball and playing like a disparate rabble. How much of the blame for that is at TC's door remains to be seen but there's cracks appearing already.

Cavan were just dreadful today. First half we never put in a tackle and were still leaking scores when we belatedly tightened up in the second half, but at the expense of our attacking 'gameplan' because with the numbers back the field plugging numerous holes we had nobody supporting in attack. In short, we were woefully lacking in basic fitness to stay with Antrim and play any sort of fast-paced counter-attacking game. McKeever destroyed us, we had nothing around the middle and some of the error-strewn efforts at using the ball in attack were ones you wouldn't see in a minor match. Lamentable. We're a very soft touch in the qualifiers now for sure and itll be a short year.

Anyway, today is all about Antrim and I take my hat off and say well done, it was a magnificent performance and if you raise your game again especially in front of the posts, then you can give Tyrone a rattling good test in the final. A real breath of fresh air in this year's championship and best of luck for the rest of the year, I for one will be cheering Antrim on.
Post by: gerry on June 28, 2009, 01:11:52 AM
well done to antrim on getting to a ulster final, you will have 31counties cheering for you.  i bet you CJ a sad man tonight.
Post by: bigpaul on June 28, 2009, 01:20:33 AM
Jaysus Hard go easy,enjoy the win for it's own worth.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on June 28, 2009, 01:25:17 AM
Quote from: hardstation on June 28, 2009, 01:22:52 AM
I am enjoying it. I am also enjoying pulling people up on bullshit.
Bring back Donal Keogan, I say.
Jaysus HS you can be a spiteful ballix  :D

Can't say I blame you though
Post by: clootfromthe21 on June 28, 2009, 01:27:03 AM
Quote from: hardstation on June 28, 2009, 01:22:52 AM
I am enjoying it. I am also enjoying pulling people up on bullshit.
Bring back Donal Keogan, I say.

Steady on the oul beers there Hardstation - throw in at half one tomorrow!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: bigpaul on June 28, 2009, 01:28:52 AM
Thats another story,always thought he was just another in a line of scapegoats since Mc Hugh,what price Carr? Cavan people have to realise that they have had a pretty poor group of footballers this last ten years.
Post by: cavanmaniac on June 28, 2009, 01:35:08 AM
Quote from: hardstation on June 28, 2009, 01:13:00 AM
There were a number of posts on this board saying that Donegal overlooked us and that Cavan wouldn't do the same so Cavan should win. A total disregard for our ability.
Then this from Drung:
Cavan have beaten Antrim five or six times in the last few years in McKenna Cup and championship and drew a couple of times. That's a better record than we have against anyone.
Plus, Antrim were the only Division Four team in Ulster.
If we're being honest, Cavan usually beat Antrim most of the time and if both sides play to their best, Cavan will beat them again.
However, if we underperform - as we often do - they should beat us.

Some Cavan posters on this board really had a high opinion of themselves and never gave us any credit.
Suck it up.

My ears are hurting from that barrel scraping. Clearly all factual statements by anyone's reckoning, and a spot-on prediction of what eventually happened to boot. But if you're determined to be a tad belligerent and suddenly all 'new money' about it, and if the win can't be sweet enough without fabricating someone to kick as well, then knock yourself out.

Genuine best wishes in the final all the same.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 28, 2009, 01:49:36 AM
Quote from: gerry on June 28, 2009, 01:11:52 AM
well done to antrim on getting to a ulster final, you will have 31counties cheering for you.  i bet you CJ a sad man tonight.
Was thinking that myself - he must be sick as a parrot.
I wonder would he ever rejoin the squad under Bradley - or would Bradley accept an apology? I'm sure he wouldn't bring him back in now anyway - it would probably rock the boat. But would Antrim have a better chance with him as an option for the final - even on the bench?
Post by: Maguire01 on June 28, 2009, 02:02:06 AM
Quote from: hardstation on June 28, 2009, 01:57:50 AM
Nothing personal towards CJ (and the same came up about Sean Kelly) but bringing them in now would be a bad move. A group of players have just made the biggest achievement for Antrim football that I have seen in my lifetime (and 16 years before that). No need to go shitting in the nest. These players have got us to an Ulster final, these are the players who will play in it.
But you could say the same about Tyrone and O'Neill last year. Fair enough, it's different in that he didn't leave the squad the way CJ did, but Tyrone had reached the AI Final without him. But when it was put to the squad that O'Neill could be available to help them over the line, they thought of the bigger picture.

I'm not saying that he should be brought back - just weighing it up.
Post by: Bogball XV on June 28, 2009, 02:11:10 AM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on June 27, 2009, 09:43:28 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 27, 2009, 09:26:42 PM
The first half of the Ulster double will be completed tomorrow afternoon in Casement. When's the last time an Ulster team won the province in both football and hurling in the same year?

There will be some swallying in west Belfast tonight!

SFC Final: Antrim 2-8 Cavan 1-7
SHC Final: Antrim 6-3 Armagh 2-1

Before that, Monaghan in 1914, Antrim for five consecutive years 1909-1913 and also 1900 & 1901.
Aye, but 2001 Derry lost an AIF semi to Galway and an AIH quarter to Galway, so fairly close ;)
Post by: Minder on June 28, 2009, 02:15:12 AM
CJ probably had a few quid on the match tonight anyway...............
Post by: ludermor on June 28, 2009, 02:22:28 AM
Quote from: Minder on June 27, 2009, 11:12:59 PM
That one was for you Jacko
Boys against men in the last quarter
Post by: Bogball XV on June 28, 2009, 02:29:13 AM
Just wondering where all the posters of a year or so ago are, you know, the ones who were harping on about how div 4 teams were uncompetitive etc and shouldn't be allowed a crack at the qualifiers....
There's Wicklow, Sligo and Antrim at the least who might trouble a few higher division sides.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 28, 2009, 02:31:37 AM
Quote from: Bogball XV on June 28, 2009, 02:29:13 AM
Just wondering where all the posters of a year or so ago are, you know, the ones who were harping on about how div 4 teams were uncompetitive etc and shouldn't be allowed a crack at the qualifiers....
There's Wicklow, Sligo and Antrim at the least who might trouble a few higher division sides.
Well Antrim and Sligo are both Division 3 teams now.  :P
Post by: Bogball XV on June 28, 2009, 02:32:38 AM
Quote from: hardstation on June 28, 2009, 02:27:41 AM
Just thinking about this (and I feckin shouldn't be!) but who would he replace on the 15? The only one I think he has a chance of getting a place from is Cunningham, the captain, only because he is a similar type of player. Michael McCann and Burkey are in there to do a job that CJ wouldn't have the physical stature to do. Burkey didn't have a great day against Donegal but was in the running for man of the match today. He was outstanding. The only other is Tomas McCann, who is playing very well.

Sean Kelly would be replacing Loughrey, Crozier or Scullion. All of whom are having blinders.

No. No chance.
unfortunate, would love to see him there, but possibly getting rid of him showed the rest that the baker was serious?
Post by: Bogball XV on June 28, 2009, 02:34:47 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 28, 2009, 02:31:37 AM
very true, but the arguments were last year, plus, i think this year's munster finalists are now div 4 ;)
Post by: Maguire01 on June 28, 2009, 02:59:48 AM
Quote from: Bogball XV on June 28, 2009, 02:34:47 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 28, 2009, 02:31:37 AM
very true, but the arguments were last year, plus, i think this year's munster finalists are now div 4 ;)
Yes, and what did Sligo or Antrim do last year? Cavan beat Antrim by 5 points (granted, Antrim won the TM Cup, but that was only against other Div4 teams), Mayo beat Sligo by 13 (before London knocked them out of the TM Cup!)

And Limerick got to this year's Munster final beating Clare and Tipp. That hardly makes them worldbeaters, despite Tipp's apparent progress.
Post by: pebble-dasher on June 28, 2009, 03:15:31 AM
airlocking match...............................................

:D :D
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 28, 2009, 03:23:19 AM
Good man hardstation still at it! :D
Great stuff today!
Therell be no hurling for you tomorrow.
:)
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 28, 2009, 03:31:02 AM
 :D :D
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 28, 2009, 03:33:58 AM
Keep playing like that and there could be a fair few more miles on the clock before the summer ends, be it as Ulster champs or through the back door,  more likely Ulster champs  ;)
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 28, 2009, 07:43:21 AM
70 minutes, Tyrone will be complacent, you never know. Jees be some craic if ye pull it off. On the NFL argument, Sligo and Antrim coasted the Div4, both teams are better than that standard, both will do well next yr in DIv3  and 1 will get promoted again like tipp IMO.
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 28, 2009, 10:00:41 AM
Quote from: hardstation on June 28, 2009, 01:13:00 AM
Quote from: cavanmaniac on June 28, 2009, 12:59:58 AM

Enjoy the win but wind your neck in a bit maybe? Not many Cavan folk here or elsewhere for that matter were arrogant or over confident, we thought we'd squeak it and would have been more than delighted to. Bottom line is we were a million miles behind Antrim today and should have been beaten by more. Be proud, and rightly so, but don't be a bad winner.
There were a number of posts on this board saying that Donegal overlooked us and that Cavan wouldn't do the same so Cavan should win. A total disregard for our ability.
Then this from Drung:
Cavan have beaten Antrim five or six times in the last few years in McKenna Cup and championship and drew a couple of times. That's a better record than we have against anyone.
Plus, Antrim were the only Division Four team in Ulster.
If we're being honest, Cavan usually beat Antrim most of the time and if both sides play to their best, Cavan will beat them again.
However, if we underperform - as we often do - they should beat us.

Some Cavan posters on this board really had a high opinion of themselves and never gave us any credit.
Suck it up.

If there is one thing worse than a bad loser its a bad winner. Cop your self on to f**k. So one cavan poster expresses a little too much confidence and we get this shite from you. I suppose you were part of that gang of pricks from Antrim on the town side 45 on the hill booing every Cavan free? And whats all this shite about you having a few drinks, do you bring your laptop to the pub so you can post rubbish while you drink or are you just at home in your bedroom, wishing you were Shane McGowan?

Well done to Antrim and I hope ye go on and beat Tyrone. Got your tactics spot on and were just more focused and confident in what your were going to do. I actually believe the game you play can run Tyrone close, but ye'll need to take more of the chances ye create. I am hoping Cavans atrocious display was down to nerves but that may be wishful thinking. We were so bad that I couldn't give 1 player more than 4/10. Walsh dire in the middle. Cullivan woeful. Mackey marked out of it. Only Martin Reilly tried to make it difficult for Antrim to break. The back 6 roasted. Carr made some very bad mistakes. Leaving Flanagan sweeping was a waste of time. McCUtcheon at corner back just stupid, as was leaving brides on the pitch. LArry did more in 3 mins of the 2nd half than a disinterest Johnstone did in the whole half - what is the story with the superstar attitude he has - disgusting. I agree we will be a handy draw for anyone in the backdoor cos that performance has wiped out any hard earned confidence developed since the start of the yr. Very depressing for true Cavan fans today.
Post by: cavan4ever on June 28, 2009, 10:43:40 AM
What a shit midfiield, thats where the problems start and end.   Galligan ans Walsh are not up to it.

P.S Myles noboby called Johnstone plays for Cavan
Post by: imtommygunn on June 28, 2009, 11:07:48 AM
Cavan4ever ,not to want to kick you while you're down, but your FB line would be a much bigger problem than your midfield IMO. Two of the three took awful roastings yeterday.
Post by: cavan4ever on June 28, 2009, 11:15:19 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 28, 2009, 11:07:48 AM
Cavan4ever ,not to want to kick you while you're down, but your FB line would be a much bigger problem than your midfield IMO. Two of the three took awful roastings yeterday.

The best full back line in Ireland would have had problems yesterday due to the amount of ball won by the Antrim around the middle.
Post by: INDIANA on June 28, 2009, 11:34:45 AM
Quote from: cavan4ever on June 28, 2009, 11:15:19 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 28, 2009, 11:07:48 AM

The best full back line in Ireland would have had problems yesterday due to the amount of ball won by the Antrim around the middle.

Spot on. Believe me I've been there. Try playing corner back when you can't get the ball past halfway. Thankless task.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 28, 2009, 12:19:42 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on June 28, 2009, 10:00:41 AM
I suppose you were part of that gang of pricks from Antrim on the town side 45 on the hill booing every Cavan free?
Noticed that myself - Antrim fans booing Cavan frees and Cavan points. Uncalled for, especially given that Antrim had a lot more to cheer about than Cavan.
Post by: imtommygunn on June 28, 2009, 12:55:27 PM
There may have been a load of ball going in the antrim full forward line but whether the antrim man was in front or behind he still won it. That's any of them too. It's not your midfield's fault if you've a man out in front and he can't stay there.

There were definitely a few soccer supporters there alright but to be expected...
Post by: cavan4ever on June 28, 2009, 01:00:05 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 28, 2009, 12:55:27 PM
There may have been a load of ball going in the antrim full forward line but whether the antrim man was in front or behind he still won it. That's any of them too. It's not your midfield's fault if you've a man out in front and he can't stay there.

There were definitely a few soccer supporters there alright but to be expected...

I like to blame them anyway  :D.

Post by: INDIANA on June 28, 2009, 01:02:02 PM

He did but you can be the best corner back in the world and the dam will burst regardless of the ability of the corner forward.
Post by: imtommygunn on June 28, 2009, 01:16:02 PM
Don't get me wrong I know they were under a lot of pressure and I've played many's a game in that position and know how tough it is.

They were very very poor from the off though. Two players can not be scapegoated for that cavan performance. It runs much deeper than that.

I said this before and I would still say it. There are no players there of the quality of the 97/98(or whatever year it was) bar Johnston and it's obvious Cavan have struggled to replace this team. Cavan minor teams are usually very good but just fall short - usually it ends up against whoever wins it.

It's hard to believe that some of the underage teams of the last ten years couldn't have provided more quality than was on view yesterday.

Post by: Orior on June 28, 2009, 01:22:01 PM

Antrim fans (?) singing "are you rangers in disguise?". I suppose its good to give these soccer heads a taste of real football. I had to laugh at some of the not so young Antrim supporters outside the Rooster bar asking where the pitch was.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 28, 2009, 01:24:58 PM
Quote from: Orior on June 28, 2009, 01:22:01 PM

Antrim fans (?) singing "are you rangers in disguise?". I suppose its good to give these soccer heads a taste of real football. I had to laugh at some of the not so young Antrim supporters outside the Rooster bar asking where the pitch was.
The odd Celtic jersey as well - one of those 'grinds my gears' things. If you don't have a GAA top, don't wear a soccer jersey to GAA matches.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on June 28, 2009, 03:57:34 PM
Sore head...very sore head 8)

Antrim were by far the better team and a 10-12 point victory would have been about right.  Great performances all round the pitch but having watched the match again this morning James Loughrey was simply outstanding.  I'm away to throw up again.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 28, 2009, 04:05:23 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 28, 2009, 03:11:55 AM
Thankfully they have done away with that snobbery. Everyone deserves a fair crack. I don't know what the trouble was that saw Div 4 teams fcuked out, or how it was going to help them.
Do you not think it helped Antrim at all, getting to two TM Cup finals and winning last year's? At least Antrim got silverware last year - it wouldn't have happened in the qualifiers.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on June 28, 2009, 04:19:00 PM
Playing in the Tommy Murphy Cup has benefited Antrim I think. Playing in Croke Park and winning a final is a big boost to an up and coming team like Antrim. It wasn't fair that they weren't allowed in the qualifiers, but sure they wont have to worry about that now. Onwards and upwards for Antrim now. There will be some gear sold in the O'Neill's shop in the next 3 weeks.
Post by: DennistheMenace on June 28, 2009, 04:21:46 PM
Quote from: DennistheMenace on June 27, 2009, 02:50:46 PM
Fancy Antrim to win, might be having some of that 2/1 bookies odds.

Post by: aontroim on June 28, 2009, 05:10:53 PM
What a day yesterday proved to be - never as proud to wear the Antrim colours at a football game.  Sore head today (out of practice on the auld sessions) - but just after watching the game again on Sky+ to make sure i didnt dream - they really did play as well as I thought - and there were criminal wides on both sides - not just Cavan this time. 

Just at the start i did hear the 'are you Rangers in disguise' chant - could do without the soccer style chants though i have a fair idea who was singing / leading them and they are all good gaa lads who have little or no interest in soccer but a liking for a beer on a day like that! 

No matter how the final goes I am glad the lads and Baker & co have restored a bit of fight and pride in the county.  Job done for 2009 - anything from here on is a bonus.
Post by: donelli on June 28, 2009, 05:57:56 PM
Quote from: Orior on June 28, 2009, 01:22:01 PM

in fairness antrim have rarely played in clones recentlt. Wouldnt hold that against the man.
Post by: cavanmaniac on June 29, 2009, 12:02:59 AM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on June 28, 2009, 03:57:34 PM

Antrim were by far the better team and a 10-12 point victory would have been about right.  I'm away to throw up again.

Ha ha, but well got...enjoy it. I know it was my own county that was beaten and there's depressing times ahead by the looks of it, but Antrim are the breath of fresh air that the championship needs so well done. You could have beaten us out the door and gave us a kick up the hole on our way out too, and nobody could have complained.

A lot of people saying ye'll be hammered by Tyrone and although I expect a Red Hand win, I think ye'll give them a proper rattle. If you're tough to play against it's half the battle. Best of luck. What a landmark day it'd be if ye won!
Post by: Hollow Man on June 29, 2009, 07:33:45 AM
QuoteCavan have beaten Antrim five or six times in the last few years in McKenna Cup and championship and drew a couple of times. That's a better record than we have against anyone. FACT.
Plus, Antrim were the only Division Four team in Ulster. FACT.
However, if we underperform - as we often do - they should beat us. IN HINDSIGHT, THIS IS SHITE.

In fairness to Drung, he was right in a lot of what he said. However, Antrim are much better than anyone thought and proved that the Donegal win was no fluke.
We underperformed big style and got beat, which Drune also warned against.
In my opinion a 12-15 point winning margin wouldn't have flattered Antrim to be honest, they were that much better on the day.
Post by: full back on June 29, 2009, 07:48:04 AM
I thought Niall Mc Keever was immense
Not many pundits after the game gave him the praise I thought he deserved
Was very suprised to see him called ashore. Was he injured?
Post by: imtommygunn on June 29, 2009, 09:47:48 AM
He tires a lot in games. Not sure he's fit for the full game.
Post by: full back on June 29, 2009, 09:49:40 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 29, 2009, 09:47:48 AM
He tires a lot in games. Not sure he's fit for the full game.

And he has been signed up for Aussie Rules ???
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on June 29, 2009, 09:54:17 AM
Quote from: cavanmaniac on June 29, 2009, 12:02:59 AM

Antrim were by far the better team and a 10-12 point victory would have been about right.  I'm away to throw up again.

Ha ha, but well got...enjoy it. I know it was my own county that was beaten and there's depressing times ahead by the looks of it, but Antrim are the breath of fresh air that the championship needs so well done. You could have beaten us out the door and gave us a kick up the hole on our way out too, and nobody could have complained.

A lot of people saying ye'll be hammered by Tyrone and although I expect a Red Hand win, I think ye'll give them a proper rattle. If you're tough to play against it's half the battle. Best of luck. What a landmark day it'd be if ye won!

A sporting spake Maniac, after what must have been a bitterly disappointing day for Cavanmen. Fair play to you.
Post by: glens abu on June 29, 2009, 11:45:29 AM
Quote from: JMohan on June 27, 2009, 09:40:25 PM

(http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/45954000/jpg/_45954888_derry_bench.jpg)

;D ;D ;D ;D

:o why would Cassidy and Madden have their head in their hands over this great day for Antrim,I cant speak for Cassidy but watched Kevin Madden give his all for his county for 10 years and seen him along with other ex-Antrim footballers at Clones on Sat and he was totally elated.So please on this great time for Antrim football please keep your petty Derry squabbles to yourself.Thanks.
Post by: JMohan on June 29, 2009, 01:29:50 PM
Quote from: glens abu on June 29, 2009, 11:45:29 AM

;D ;D ;D ;D

:o why would Cassidy and Madden have their head in their hands over this great day for Antrim,I cant speak for Cassidy but watched Kevin Madden give his all for his county for 10 years and seen him along with other ex-Antrim footballers at Clones on Sat and he was totally elated.So please on this great time for Antrim football please keep your petty Derry squabbles to yourself.Thanks.
Get off yer high horse ....
Post by: Gold on June 29, 2009, 01:50:10 PM
Just thinking about this (and I feckin shouldn't be!) but who would he replace on the 15? The only one I think he has a chance of getting a place from is Cunningham, the captain, only because he is a similar type of player. Michael McCann and Burkey are in there to do a job that CJ wouldn't have the physical stature to do. Burkey didn't have a great day against Donegal but was in the running for man of the match today. He was outstanding. The only other is Tomas McCann, who is playing very well.

Sean Kelly would be replacing Loughrey, Crozier or Scullion. All of whom are having blinders.

No. No chance.

CJ cant win his own ball--i wouldnt have him near that team--he'd crucify us

Kel is great but those 3 half backs are flyin and could not be bettered--even by kel
Post by: glens abu on June 29, 2009, 01:53:36 PM
Quote from: JMohan on June 29, 2009, 01:29:50 PM
Quote from: glens abu on June 29, 2009, 11:45:29 AM

;D ;D ;D ;D

Get off yer high horse ....

Hi Ho Silver away ;D
Post by: Gold on June 29, 2009, 01:55:13 PM

Antrim were by far the better team and a 10-12 point victory would have been about right.  Great performances all round the pitch but having watched the match again this morning James Loughrey was simply outstanding.  I'm away to throw up again.

did you see Locky looking one way and then running the other just before his point--it was like Ronaldinho (and i hate soccer but thats the only comparison)

the man never stops, theres something not right about him --how will Dooher keep up with him
Post by: Gold on June 29, 2009, 01:56:51 PM
i actually have lost my voice for the 1st time in my life--we never once stopped singing--when cavan got the goal--we were the ones who sang

best day of my life bar none
Post by: glens abu on June 29, 2009, 02:05:44 PM
Quote from: Gold on June 29, 2009, 01:50:10 PM

No. No chance.

agree 100% would love Kelly back on the panel but wouldnt change the hb line,as for the McGourty clan think we are much better without them,fine footballers but up their own arses and I think bringing CJ or Kevin back in would distroy that great team spirt that seems to be in the camp.

CJ cant win his own ball--i wouldnt have him near that team--he'd crucify us

Kel is great but those 3 half backs are flyin and could not be bettered--even by kel
Post by: Hollow Man on June 29, 2009, 02:16:13 PM
Quotebest day of my life bar none
Good man!
Might I respectfully suggest that beating Cavan (are we now the worst team in Ireland on that performance?) being the best day of your life is pretty sad.
Post by: glens abu on June 29, 2009, 02:18:52 PM
Quote from: Hollow Man on June 29, 2009, 02:16:13 PM
Good man!
Might I respectfully suggest that beating Cavan (are we now the worst team in Ireland on that performance?) being the best day of your life is pretty sad.

dont think he meant it was beating Cavan,think he meant it was getting to an Ulster final after 39 years ::)
Post by: magpie seanie on June 29, 2009, 02:32:06 PM
Absolutely delighted for Antrim. Didn't see a lot of the game but the scenes at the end were magic. I think they'll give a good account of themsleves in the final too. Antrim GAA has huge potential and finally looks to be moving in the right direction.
Post by: nifan on June 29, 2009, 02:57:43 PM
Very happy for antrim.
A former housemate of mine was playing and im particularly delighted for him .
Post by: ifa fan on June 29, 2009, 03:37:46 PM
Great win for antrim.

Even though im not a big GAA person, Im all for sport in belfast, keeps the kids off the streets.
Post by: Hollow Man on June 29, 2009, 04:23:52 PM
Quotedont think he meant it was beating Cavan,think he meant it was getting to an Ulster final after 39 years

And how did they manage that?  ::)
Post by: Archie Mitchell on June 29, 2009, 11:39:58 PM
I wouldn't worry about them Hardstation. Just because they have won All-Ireland's in the past doesn't give them the right to look down their noses at the likes of Antrim. They should be thanking their lucky stars that Antrim didn't bate them out the gate on Saturday. I don't know how anyone, even a Cavan person, could begrudge Antrim their win on Saturday and their first Ulster final appearance for 39 years.
Post by: RednBlack on June 29, 2009, 11:51:24 PM
Ìn fairness I haven't met one Cavan supporter who begrudged Antrim their win. All the way through the Antrim boys wanted it more and were willing to work their arses off to get it. I firmly believe Antrim will have 7 counties cheering them in Clones in a few weeks time. The atmosphere at the end reminded me a lot of 97 and you couldn't but be happy for the Antrim players and supporters. Good luck in the final.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on June 29, 2009, 11:52:50 PM
Hardstation what the f**k is wrong with you?
There has been nothing but messages of support and congratulations from the Cavan posters on different threads including the Antrim football one.
We are disgusted with how poorly we played, and our lack of fitness and lack of a game plan.
But everyone of the Cavan posters on here have stated clearly Antrim were much the better team on Saturday and should have won by far more.
Ive also seen multiple message from Cavan posters including myself wishing Antrim the very best in the Ulster Final.
We may live in cuckoo land in regards of our football prowess,but one thing the Bunch of Cavan posters on this board,are not are Bad losers.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on June 30, 2009, 12:04:28 AM
Quote from: hardstation on June 29, 2009, 11:56:55 PM
Indeed. You do need to note my use of "some". Hollow Man has really taken the biscuit here though. Pathetic.

You havent read much of the Cavan GAA Thread HS  :D , if you had  you wouldnt be taking much notice of Hollow Man and his rants and wind ups,
i certainly dont and theres a fair few of the Cavan lads who would be the same.  ;D
Post by: ziggysego on June 30, 2009, 12:05:20 AM
Pay no heed to Hollow Man Hardstation.

Everyone I know are delighted that Antrim have may it to the final, myself included. People have asked is there any merit in winning a Provincial title anymore, well just look at Antrim on Saturday evening. Means the world to them and the rest of the 31 counties.

I wish Antrim all the best in the final.... but I hope youse fall at the final hurdle ;)
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 30, 2009, 08:28:17 AM
Quote from: hardstation on June 29, 2009, 11:22:19 PM
Quote from: Hollow Man on June 29, 2009, 02:16:13 PM
Good man!
Might I respectfully suggest that you don't let the back door hit you on the way out. ::)
People wonder why I have issues with some Cavan posters on this board. It is because they are right hateful b**tards.

Just watched the game on BBC iplayer. Great stuff. Amazing scenes at the end. Sidebottom is some craic. Jarleth looked like he wanted to jump into the middle of the Antrim supporters and go buck mad. He couldn't take the smile off his bake. Thought the interviews with the players, Cunningham, O'Boyle, Crozier and Gallagher were very good. Aidso asked to give a message to Tyrone - "We'll be there". Brilliant stuff. Baker has some accent too. When saying the word 'so', he fluxuates between 'sow' as of pig and 'saw'. A great man.

May I repectfully suggest you go f**k yourself you complete internet warrior idiot. You take all the good out of your victory with your bitter and pathetic comments. Playing the victim and your not even any good at it. I'd nearly cheer for Tyrone only I know you are a tiny minority of Antrim fan. I hope Antrim win for the rest of them.
Post by: imtommygunn on June 30, 2009, 09:48:21 AM
HS you bracket everyone because of the comments of one.

Myles those are not the views of the "common" antrim fan.

So what if you have one idiot of a cavan supporter on here- we all have them. Doesn't mean we'll tar you all with the same brush.

Post by: boojangles on June 30, 2009, 11:13:59 AM
Well Done Antrim,better team by a country mile.Would love to see you's do it and a repeat performance like Saturdays might just bring yous close,but Tyrone will be a different animal.All in all,brilliant for Antrim GAA and the GAA in general.Hopefully Belfast can become more and more of a GAA heartland after so many tough years.
All bar one Cavan man has shown nothing but respect and admiration for Antrims win on here so I don't know what your problem is Hardstation. Its a bad reflection on yourself more than anything else.
Post by: Denn Forever on June 30, 2009, 11:27:52 AM
We were schooled.

And HS, those pigs you sent down were a dirty trick. 

Biological warfare withstanding, as I said before, Antrim have the game to cause an upset against Tyrone.  It may not be a game for the purist i.e. backs and forwards, but hopes spring eternal.  Best of luck.
Post by: anglocelt39 on June 30, 2009, 12:54:00 PM
Congratulations to Antrim and I think they will give one more game a right rattle whether they take Tyrone or not. People taking the rise from Hardstation is a bit much, a kid with 12,000 posts, starting threads along the lines of Soap Stars he'd like to knob with his imaginary cyberspace penis probably needs to have a fair few of his posts taken with the proverbial pinch of salt
Post by: cavanmaniac on June 30, 2009, 01:01:01 PM
I nearly laughed up a lung reading that. ;D
Post by: cavanmaniac on June 30, 2009, 08:24:52 PM
Nah. Not biting.  ::)
Post by: Hollow Man on June 30, 2009, 08:30:03 PM
Holy f**k man I was messing.
Someone said it was the best day of their life. I stated that beating the worst team in Ireland, which we are by now I'd say, shouldn't be the best day of your life. What's wrong with that?
I'm as big a Cavan supporter as anyone and we are on a serious famine too but beating Antrim last Saturday wouldn't have been the best day of my life.
You have taken the good out of it a wee bit hardstation, don't get too smart because one of the best teams of all time are waiting in the long grass.
If you beat Tyrone, then that will be a real achievement, as in 'best day of my life' stuff. Until then, you have beaten a woeful Donegal by one point and totally destroyed a really, really shit Cavan. As they say on Oprah, that ain't all that sister.

PS: Anglocelt39, that was hilarious! ;D
Post by: Hollow Man on June 30, 2009, 09:05:31 PM
On the way we played on Saturday, we would beat no team in Ireland. That's my honest opinion.
I don't expect antrim to beat Tyrone, though Antrim have a great system and some absolutely smashing players. However, Antrim beat a Cavan side with no midfield, full-back line and one good forward with a stinking attitude. They also beat a side which showed no heart and no willingness to work.
I thought Cavan were a lot better than they showed against Antrim. Martin McHugh said in The Star that it was the worst performance ever by a Cavan team he has seen. I agree.
Post by: Hollow Man on June 30, 2009, 09:14:21 PM
I EDITED MY POST SINCE YOU REPLIED.
Honestly, the reason Cavan supporters were so confident is that the team was shaping well and played better than they were given credit for against Fermanagh, which gave cause for optimism.
I think you under-estimate how poorly Cavan played against Antrim. That display was absolutely shockingly bad. Antrim deserve credit and should have won by more, but Cavan were utterly hopeless.

The point I'm trying to make is that, while Antrim did play very well, any team worth their salt would have beaten Cavan. Literally any team!
Post by: cavan4ever on June 30, 2009, 09:27:20 PM
Quote from: Hollow Man on June 30, 2009, 09:14:21 PM
Honestly, the reason Cavan supporters were so confident is that the team was shaping well and played better than they were given credit for against Fermanagh, which gave cause for optimism.
I think you under-estimate how poorly Cavan played against Antrim. That display was absolutely shockingly bad. Antrim deserve credit and should have won by more, but Cavan were utterly hopeless.

The point I'm trying to make is that, while Antrim did play very well, any team worth their salt would have beaten Cavan. Literally any team!

Thats the way Cavan played most of league, i wasnt suprised to see them resort to type.  Pathetic and with Antrim, Sligo Fermanagh in Division 3 next season it wont be easy there either.
Post by: anglocelt39 on June 30, 2009, 10:10:08 PM
True and that was why I was taken aback by a Cavan poster's suggestion that one reason why Cavan should win was because "Antrim were the only Ulster team in Div 4".

Feckit boy you're easily taken aback. Kind of figures how you can run up such marathon posting statistics so. And it was the Poet Shane Macgowan (of Misty Morning Albert Bridge fame) who recenly suggested lads like yourself get away from the keyboard and do a bit of livin.
Post by: boojangles on June 30, 2009, 11:06:59 PM
Quote from: Hollow Man on June 30, 2009, 09:14:21 PM

Have to agree with the point in bold.Antrim really should have beaten us by 12 or more points. I really couldnt believe how bad we were,and TBH I knew after 15 minutes that the writing was on the wall. Antrim were so far ahead in every department.
Your point however Hollow that Cavan have one good forward is an insult to Cian Mackey and Ray Cullivan.Obviously they didnt show it on Saturday(although you must have a very short memory when both had fine games against Fermanagh) but in time both will prove you wrong.
Post by: imtommygunn on June 30, 2009, 11:14:44 PM
Hollow man would you not maybe say that while Cavan were bad they were made to look bad?

Cavan wouldn't/couldn't play that badly when playing a bad team. To be honest they were just beaten by a better team with better players all over the pitch.

(Don't get me wrong we are far from world beaters but the football in the last two games has been a marked improvement on anything I've seen from Antrim before ... ever. That, at times, would not be saying much...)

I think Cavan will be back but they are a few players short just yet(basically they've not been able to replace McCabe, Forde, Peter Reilly, Damian O'Reilly etc etc ) and they're not as bad as people make out and need a rebuilding period. Maybe some should actually give Antrim some credit though.
Post by: boojangles on June 30, 2009, 11:15:47 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 30, 2009, 11:09:12 PM
Martin Reilly too.
And dare I say Larry.

Martin Reilly really has alot to prove,he still doesnt offer enough from play.In time he may come good. Larry was our best player on Saturday and was the only man who took the game to Antrim.I was referring to the starting 6 as Im sure Hollow was. Larry was Cavans only forward for long enough.
Post by: imtommygunn on June 30, 2009, 11:17:09 PM
Martin Reilly could be good. Far too light though - needs to beef up.

Larry wasn't your best player. That guy Gibney was.
Post by: boojangles on June 30, 2009, 11:28:23 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 30, 2009, 11:14:44 PM
Hollow man would you not maybe say that while Cavan were bad they were made to look bad?

Cavan wouldn't/couldn't play that badly when playing a bad team. To be honest they were just beaten by a better team with better players all over the pitch.

(Don't get me wrong we are far from world beaters but the football in the last two games has been a marked improvement on anything I've seen from Antrim before ... ever. That, at times, would not be saying much...)

I think Cavan will be back but they are a few players short just yet(basically they've not been able to replace McCabe, Forde, Peter Reilly, Damian O'Reilly etc etc ) and they're not as bad as people make out and need a rebuilding period. Maybe some should actually give Antrim some credit though.

I couldnt give Antrim enough credit.Do ya hear that Hardstation?? :P :P
Attitude,Fitness,Work-rate,Tackling,Use of the ball,Running into space,Supporting men,Intensity,Reading of the game.I cant say much more and its no wonder Cavan couldnt live with it. Add in a manager who knew exactly his team plan and executed it superbly.
Its disappointing because its something I thought that Cavan may have finally brought to their game.How wrong I was.
Givney or Larry were the only bright spots,Jayo too caused problems.
Givney IMO proved that he is ready for the step up,maybe more so than Keating.
Post by: imtommygunn on June 30, 2009, 11:34:26 PM
You have a few things you need to do...

Brides hasn't been the same since his broken leg and doesn't cut it.

That no. 5 shouldn't be near the FB line ever again but by all accounts is not bad out the field.

You need a midfield who will at the very least be competitive.

You need to teach that fella Mackey that he's a half forward and he's not good in his own half.

Givney should be on.

A few of them forwards need a heavy dose of weight training this winter.

Keating probably isn't a CHB either.

Not much new in what I say though.

What do we need to do -We need to start putting teams away while we're on the subject. How that game was three points I dunno. We also need a miracle to beat Tyrone...
Post by: trim blue on June 30, 2009, 11:43:38 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 30, 2009, 11:14:44 PM

In saying Cavan played bad its relative to their performance against Fermanagh, while Antrim also made them 'look bad' by the standards of their play it doesn't explain the missed frees, the fumbles when not under immediate pressure, the 10 yard passes going astray etc., this was all of Cavan's making. There are numerous reasons for this, Cavan going in as slight favourites and not being able to handle this, the mental pressure of knowing on the day you are up against a superior team on the field and panicing, lack of belief or just plain lack of ability. All credit to Antrim though they were great on the day and had tactics, attitude spot on. Would worry about your finishing though, there should have been 10 points in it, a lot of bad wides. Still think you will put it up to Tyrone for most of the match.
Post by: cavanmaniac on July 01, 2009, 12:01:30 AM
Quote from: trim blue on June 30, 2009, 11:43:38 PM
In saying Cavan played bad its relative to their performance against Fermanagh, while Antrim also made them 'look bad' by the standards of their play it doesn't explain the missed frees, the fumbles when not under immediate pressure, the 10 yard passes going astray etc., this was all of Cavan's making. There are numerous reasons for this, Cavan going in as slight favourites and not being able to handle this, the mental pressure of knowing on the day you are up against a superior team on the field and panicing, lack of belief or just plain lack of ability. All credit to Antrim though they were great on the day and had tactics, attitude spot on. Would worry about your finishing though, there should have been 10 points in it, a lot of bad wides. Still think you will put it up to Tyrone for most of the match.

Correct, and right. Add basic fitness to the mix there and you have the whole shit cake, fully baked.
Post by: Hollow Man on July 01, 2009, 10:46:45 AM
QuoteYour point however Hollow that Cavan have one good forward is an insult to Cian Mackey and Ray Cullivan.Obviously they didnt show it on Saturday(although you must have a very short memory when both had fine games against Fermanagh) but in time both will prove you wrong.

I meant on what they showed Saturday night. I am a big fan of Mackey, Cullivan and Flanagan but on Saturday night's performance, we had only one starting forward worth a f**k, and even he didn't bother in the second half.
If Jelly sorted out his attitude, he could be another Canavan. He never will though I don't think.
Post by: cavan4ever on July 01, 2009, 11:13:44 AM
Quote from: Hollow Man on July 01, 2009, 10:46:45 AM
QuoteYour point however Hollow that Cavan have one good forward is an insult to Cian Mackey and Ray Cullivan.Obviously they didnt show it on Saturday(although you must have a very short memory when both had fine games against Fermanagh) but in time both will prove you wrong.

I meant on what they showed Saturday night. I am a big fan of Mackey, Cullivan and Flanagan but on Saturday night's performance, we had only one starting forward worth a f**k, and even he didn't bother in the second half.
If Jelly sorted out his attitude, he could be another Canavan. He never will though I don't think.

They have one thing in common they are poor for 3 games good for 1.
Post by: Gold on July 01, 2009, 11:17:39 AM
It was me who said it was the best day of my life and it was.

Im on this board every day for years--im obsessed with Antrim football--ive followed Antrim since i could walk and for years have watched us get tanked and lose games with no fight (a la the hurlers v Dublin this year--look at the 2nd hal--dead--no fight) (Waterfored and Tipp in the league last year, throwing away a win v Offaly at Casement last year--years of walking out of grounds in a hushed, depressed silence after games)

Suddenly we have a team who can play proper football, flying wing backs, fullforward line out in front, a real team, not individual dickheads running to the papers only thinking about themselves, Antrim supporters singing, antrim having supporters, Antrim reaching an Ulster Senior Football Final

for me its just brilliant

it wasnt just about beating Cavan, it's about much, much more than that as Hardstation said

We are living the dream at the moment --you gotta realise--we had won TWO GAMES IN TWENTY SEVEN YEARS --now we've won another 2 in TWO WEEKS--it doesnt matter who it was against or how the opposition played --its about us--The Saffron Army --and i cant stop smiling since Saturday and to Baker, to Kentucky Blue and the boys on the panel, i want to thank each and every one of you
Post by: full back on July 01, 2009, 11:21:16 AM
Good post Gold

Enjoy your time in the sun
Post by: cavan4ever on July 01, 2009, 11:34:27 AM
Quote from: Gold on July 01, 2009, 11:17:39 AM

Im on this board every day for years--im obsessed with Antrim football--ive followed Antrim since i could walk and for years have watched us get tanked and lose games with no fight (a la the hurlers v Dublin this year--look at the 2nd hal--dead--no fight) (Waterfored and Tipp in the league last year, throwing away a win v Offaly at Casement last year--years of walking out of grounds in a hushed, depressed silence after games)

Suddenly we have a team who can play proper football, flying wing backs, fullforward line out in front, a real team, not individual d**kheads running to the papers only thinking about themselves, Antrim supporters singing, antrim having supporters, Antrim reaching an Ulster Senior Football Final

it wasnt just about beating Cavan, it's about much, much more than that as Hardstation said

We are living the dream at the moment --you gotta realise--we had won TWO GAMES IN TWENTY SEVEN YEARS --now we've won another 2 in TWO WEEKS--it doesnt matter who it was against or how the opposition played --its about us--The Saffron Army --and i cant stop smiling since Saturday and to Baker, to Kentucky Blue and the boys on the panel, i want to thank each and every one of you

Thats why i am happy for Antrim to be in the Ulster Final and i hope you enjoy all the hype building up to it and make sure you take the monday after it off work just in case  ;)
Post by: tierworker blue on July 01, 2009, 04:30:42 PM

Suddenly we have a team who can play proper football, flying wing backs, fullforward line out in front, a real team, not individual d**kheads running to the papers only thinking about themselves, Antrim supporters singing, antrim having supporters, Antrim reaching an Ulster Senior Football Final

Fair play Gold...that's what it's all about! You have just described how every Cavan person felt in 1995 / 1997, so we know exactly what ye're feeling. There seemed to be a bit of bad winnersmanship (new word invention alert!) about for the past few days here and there, and although I did'nt bother taking the bait, I felt it was worth commenting on a decent post like yours. When we were on the road to Clones, we all agreed that apart from ourselves (and not at our expense, as it turned out!) we would love to see Antrim getting to an Ulster Final sometime, more so than any other county. Just because we are all disgusted at our performance, does'nt mean we begrudge ye the win, so enjoy the rest of the c'ship, and hopefully ye'll get a few more wins under the belt.
Ok, that's enough of the lovey dovey stuff for now...! Please God we'll hammer yis the next time we meet...sure is'nt that what it's all about?!  ;D
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 01, 2009, 05:06:58 PM
Quote from: tierworker blue on July 01, 2009, 04:30:42 PM

enough of the lovey dovey stuff for now...! Please God we'll hammer yis the next time we meet...sure is'nt that what it's all about?!  ;D

Have yis not hammered us enough times since 1951?
Post by: tierworker blue on July 01, 2009, 05:31:44 PM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on July 01, 2009, 05:06:58 PM
Quote from: tierworker blue on July 01, 2009, 04:30:42 PM

enough of the lovey dovey stuff for now...! Please God we'll hammer yis the next time we meet...sure is'nt that what it's all about?!  ;D

Have yis not hammered us enough times since 1951?

Well, I suppose we have, but it's always good to look forward to the next meeting and the possibility of revenge...nothing like a bit of healthy rivalry to make it interesting!  :D
Any comments regarding Cavan doling out hammerings must be taken with a pinch bucket of salt...it's been quite a while since we've sent anyone running with their tail between their legs, and I'd say we'll be waiting a long time before we see it again!
Post by: boojangles on July 01, 2009, 05:35:24 PM
Serious Love-In going on. But being serious You'r dead right Gold.Antrim have seen enough bad days for all of us.When you put it into context- 2 wins in 27 years followed by 2 wins in 2 weeks.Brilliant. I also think yas mite have at least another good one to celebrate.
Post by: tierworker blue on July 01, 2009, 06:02:15 PM
Quote from: boojangles on July 01, 2009, 05:35:24 PM
Serious Love-In going on. But being serious You'r dead right Gold.Antrim have seen enough bad days for all of us.When you put it into context- 2 wins in 27 years followed by 2 wins in 2 weeks.Brilliant. I also think yas mite have at least another good one to celebrate.

'All you need is love...ba da da da da...!'