GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: hows she cutting on November 10, 2006, 02:57:14 PM

Title: Ulster Club Championships
Post by: hows she cutting on November 10, 2006, 02:57:14 PM
What you all reckon for this weekend?

Cargin v Clontibret (Casement Park, 1230 GMT, A McAlynn)
Errigal Ciaran v Enniskillen Gaels (Omagh, 1430, G Walsh)
Ballinderry v Mayobridge (Maghera, 1430, P Hughes)
Crossmaglen v Mullahoran (Crossmaglen, 1430, M Sludden)

For me it's:
Clontibret
Draw
Ballinderry
Crossmaglen
Title: Re: Ulster Club SFC
Post by: SlimShady on November 10, 2006, 03:17:00 PM
Cargin
Errigal
Mayobridge
Crossmaglen
Post by: The Meadow on November 10, 2006, 03:23:14 PM
Sludden down to referee the Cross Mulahoran game!!!! :o Is the Ulster council for real?? He,s the worst ref in Tyrone,this is a receipe for disaster!!!! Croke Park last week will look like garden party after this one!! ::)
Post by: SlimShady on November 10, 2006, 03:24:57 PM
Errigal are in for a treat in their game with Gregory 'i need to be noticed' Walsh in charge!
Post by: The Meadow on November 10, 2006, 03:27:09 PM
True enough hes a bad one!! :D
Post by: Over the Bar on November 10, 2006, 03:30:52 PM
Which game(s) are on TG$ on Sunday anyone??
Post by: Flirtyflan on November 10, 2006, 03:38:34 PM
Coverage on TG4 is as follows

GAA Beo
AIB Ulster Club Football Championship Quarter-Final between Errigal Ciarain (Tyrone) and Enniskillen Gaels (Fermanagh) live from Omagh. Full deferred coverage of the AIB Leinster Club Hurling Championship Semi-Final between Rathnure (Wexford) and Ballyhale Shamrocks (Kilkenny) from Wexford Park.
Post by: hows she cutting on November 10, 2006, 04:48:48 PM
I see on the bbc website that big Enda might be out for Ballinderry.
Would be a big loss if it were true.

He has a great record in the Ulster Club
Title: Ulster Results - A Test Challenge
Post by: ITOB on November 10, 2006, 11:08:56 PM
How quick can we (the new Board) deliver this weekend's results??

12th November: Football Championship – Quarter Finals
SFC
Cargin v Clontibrit
Errigal Ciaran v Enniskillen Gaels
Ballinderry v Mayobridge
Mullahoran v Cross

IFC
Fanad Gaels v Coleraine
Belcoo v Drumgrath
Ballymacnabb v Drumalee
Monaghan v Stewartstown

JFC
Coa v N. Brid
Bredagh v Drum
Greencastle v Ardoyne
Drumhowen v Port Mor
Title: Predictions
Post by: Redhandfan on November 11, 2006, 12:14:17 AM
Before the results come in, how about offering some predictions for this weekend's games.  Here are mine:

SFC
Cargin v Clontibret
Errigal Ciaran v Enniskillen Gaels
Ballinderry v Mayobridge
Mullahoran v Crossmaglen

IFC
Fanad Gaels v Coleraine
Belcoo v Drumgath
Ballymacnab v Drumalee
Carrickmacross v Stewartstown

JFC
Coa v N. Brid
Bredagh v Drum
Greencastle v Ardoyne
Drumhowen v An Port Mor
Title: Re: Ulster Results - A Test Challenge
Post by: Flat Hedgehog on November 11, 2006, 05:24:04 PM
Good luck to Naomh Brid in their match with Coa.
Post by: Lecale2 on November 11, 2006, 08:53:16 PM
These games are impossible to predict. There aren't many posters on here who would have a knowledge of club football outside their own County.
Title: TARGETS - Right. Now to the test
Post by: ITOB on November 12, 2006, 11:27:59 AM
The latest matches begin at 2:30.  Most results should be known by 3:45 (unless extra time is needed) so I have erected the following targets for fun.
These may have to be revised for next week in light of this weeks performance.  Maybe those attending matched can us etheir mobile phones to report reults to Boarders not attending.

Speed Targets.

4:00-  A*   (but perhaps too much to hope for)
4:30-  A     (perhaps more realistic but challenging target to aim for)
5:00-  A-    (I think we can do this one)
5:30-  B     
6:00-  C
6:30-  D    (Fail)
7:00-  E    (Fail)

I'm off to Newcastle now.
Post by: SouthArmaghBandit on November 12, 2006, 11:38:51 AM
ITOB - Buy yourself a radio!
Title: First Result In
Post by: gallsman on November 12, 2006, 02:22:02 PM
Cargin 1-09 Clontibret 0-12

Anyone at it?
Title: Gregory Walsh
Post by: Over the Bar on November 12, 2006, 03:11:40 PM
I can't say I've ever witnessed a worse refereeing performace than this man's first half of Errigal v Gaels.  To call it pathetic would be flattering him.
Post by: Owenmoresider on November 12, 2006, 03:13:50 PM
How come? Didn't see most of the half, bar Errigal lads surrounding him at the end.

It's 0-3 each btw.
Title: Latest
Post by: Orior on November 12, 2006, 03:20:29 PM
CARGIN 0-12 1-9 CLONTIBRET - result

BALLINDERRY 0-4 0-1 MAYOBRIDGE

ERRIGAL CIARAN 0-3 0-3 ENNISKILLEN

CROSSMAGLEN 1-8 0-2 MULLAHORAN
Post by: Owenmoresider on November 12, 2006, 04:07:59 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on November 12, 2006, 04:02:36 PM
AIB Ulster club football quarter-finals
BALLINDERRY 0-15 0-1 MAYOBRIDGE
Misprint, surely? Feckin hell wouldn't imagine Bridge getting a beating like that.
Post by: Over the Bar on November 12, 2006, 04:17:39 PM
Errigal play Ballinderry and Cross play the winners of the Cargin/Clontibret replay
Title: Ulster Club SFC errigal v enniskillen
Post by: 4everGAA on November 12, 2006, 04:32:17 PM
 ??? Could someone remind me of the basic rules...
in omagh today was there not 2 yellow cards given to 1 player therefore should that player not have been sent off :o
(damien mcdermott) first card shortly before half time and the second just after the start of the second half
Post by: Fionntamhnach on November 12, 2006, 04:58:17 PM
Back from a freezing Healy Park...

Was Graeme Poll referring this match? 13 yellow cards, and I suspect two were given out to one Errigal player without him being sent off! Enniskillen might put in an appeal if this turns out to be the case, though if they concentrated on playing football and putting a more direct ball in rather than trying to out psyche Errigal (particularly D.Harte and P.Quinn) they may have pulled off a win against an out-of-sorts Errigal Ciaran. With Ballinderry waiting in the wings, Errigal need to improve from today although the game showed that Canavan still has a touch of class in him.

In Junior game before it, Ardoyne were no match whatsoever against Greencastle who were a much superior outfit (0-21 to 0-3). What might be their undoing further on is the greediness of the forwards who play very much as individuals, if they come up against a defence that marks up well, closes down quickly and breaks forward they are in trouble.

Also congratulations to Stewartstown who came from three points behind at half time to beat Carrickmacross in Clones by a point, 2-9 to 2-8.
Post by: ITOB on November 12, 2006, 05:30:27 PM
SFC
Cargin v Clontibret
Errigal Ciaran bt Enniskillen Gaels by 1 pt
Ballinderry hammered Mayobridge 0.15 - 0.1
Mullahoran lost to Crossmaglen 

IFC
Fanad Gaels v Coleraine
Belcoo bt Drumgath
Ballymacnab v Drumalee
Carrickmacross v Stewartstown

JFC
Coa v N. Brid
Bredagh 5.13 v Drum  0.4
Greencastle bt Ardoyne easy
Drumhowen v An Port Mor
Post by: Owenmoresider on November 12, 2006, 05:40:34 PM
Coleraine beat Cloughaneely 2-9 to 2-8 in the IFC. Naomh Brid beat Coa in JFC.
Post by: Cloc Mor on November 12, 2006, 05:56:29 PM
Ballinderry hammered Mayobridge 0.15 - 0.1

This result shows just how far Mayobridge are off the mark in Ulster Club football terms.  It is virtually unheard of a team to be beaten by some much at this level never mind a team that 'supposedly' had their sights set on an Ulster title.  They are a spent team at this level and will never win it.
Another scary thought is the fact that Mayobridge are the strongest team in Down at the minute (even though Burren won the league) so where does leave Down football - obviously a big task for DJ and Ross.
Post by: ziggysego on November 12, 2006, 06:16:07 PM
Anyone know how the Drumhowen v An Port Mor game went? Greencastle has been drawn against the winners of this game, but we haven't heard any results from this game yet.
Post by: Redhandfan on November 12, 2006, 06:57:48 PM
Clones hosted an excellent double bill of games today in the Ulster Club Championships.  Two terrific games...even though the An Port Mor result was very disappointing.

Junior Quarter-Final
Drumhowan (Muineachán) 1-12  An Port Mór (Ard Mhacha) 1-8
Very little went right for An Port Mor in this match.  Wasted opportunites in front of goal combined with some dreadful refereeing did not help their cause.  Short a couple of key players, the team showed plenty of heart and determination throughout but they simply did not get any breaks.  Drumhowan deserved to win, if only for their excellent discipline and ability to make every scoring chance count.  Towering full forward James McElroy played a real captain's part for the Monaghan champions and proved a thorn in An Port Mor's side over the hour.  An Port Mor trailed by eight points approaching half-time (0-3 to 1-8) but their huge support were given a glimmer of hope when Gary Traynor scored a goal just before the break.  The Blackwater men came out with all guns blazing in the second half and were the better team for much of this period.  Drumhowan had their goalkeeper to thank shortly after the restart for making two point blank saves which proved crucial to the final outcome.  An Port Mor got to within three points of their opponents in an exciting second period but Drumhowan, who were aided by a number of decisions from the Down referee, did enough to hold out for the win.

Intermediate Quarter-Final
Carrickmacross (Muineachán) 2-8  Stewartstown (Tir Eoghain) 2-9
The second match at Clones was a very entertaining affair with both teams producing some wonderful attacking football.  The game was a superb advertisement for Ulster club football.  Carrickmacross really put it up to the Tyrone champions early on with two fine goals but Stewartstown looked the better team for long periods of the first half and deserved to be ahead on a scoreline of 1-7 to 2-2 at the interval.  Owen Coyle fisted a real opportunist goal for the winners during that first half.  Stewartstown succeeded in holding on to their lead until the remainder of the match but it was a real struggle towards the end as Carrickmacross edged ever closer to their opponents and had a couple of last gasp efforts for an equaliser that went narrowly wide.  Right corner forward Andrew Callan was Carrickmacross's best player on the day and had a part to play in most of their scores.  Stewartstown had a number of good performers but those who really caught the eye were corner back Paul Gahan, centre half forward Peter Armour and full forward Gareth Devlin.  Devlin was my man of the match and looks to be the real deal.  I would love to see this guy get his chance soon to impress at senior inter-county level for Tyrone.
Post by: ziggysego on November 12, 2006, 07:01:16 PM
Quote from: Redhandfan on November 12, 2006, 06:57:48 PM
Clones hosted an excellent double bill of games today in the Ulster Club Championships.  Two terrific games...even though the An Port Mor result was very disappointing.

Junior Quarter-Final

Thanks Redhandfan. Anyword where the game will be next Sunday?
Post by: ziggysego on November 12, 2006, 07:05:08 PM
Oh, I never posted the results did I!

Greencastle 0-21
Ardoyne 0-03

Working on the website at the moment, so hopefully the pictures will be up tonight.
Post by: ONeill on November 12, 2006, 07:14:27 PM
Another typical Autumn Errigal/Enniskillen game. Low scoring (3-3 at HT) with the introduction of Canavan at half time the deciding factor. I think he swung over 4 (3 from frees) and created enough panic in the Gaels' defence to force them into conceding scorable frees - something they weren't doing in the first.

To be honest, I cannot see an Ulster title in Errigal. Their brand of possession football doesn't really suit the heavy conditions and up front they still seem to be too reliant on God being on the field.
Title: Hedgehog
Post by: ITOB on November 12, 2006, 07:15:18 PM
Quote from: Flat Hedgehog on November 11, 2006, 05:24:04 PM
Good luck to Naomh Brid in their match with Coa.

Where in Donegal do St Brid come from?
Post by: Lecale2 on November 12, 2006, 07:23:19 PM
AIB Ulster club football quarter-finals

CARGIN 0-12 1-9 CLONTIBRET

BALLINDERRY 0-15 0-1 MAYOBRIDGE

ERRIGAL CIARAN 0-7 0-6 ENNISKILLEN

CROSSMAGLEN 2-13 1-7 MULLAHORAN

Cushendall beat KevinLynhchs. In the hurling replay.
Post by: davincicode on November 12, 2006, 07:23:25 PM
Watched Ballinderry v Mayobridge, seriously very poor game, Hard to see any team beating ballinderry, Big, physical and very fit my Tip for Ulster Ballinderry!
Title: Re: Ulster Club Championships
Post by: Cloc Mor on November 12, 2006, 07:30:21 PM
Do we need a third thread on the same subject?
Title: Ulster Junior Championship
Post by: Redhandfan on November 12, 2006, 07:35:04 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 12, 2006, 07:01:16 PM
Quote from: Redhandfan on November 12, 2006, 06:57:48 PM

Junior Quarter-Final

Thanks Redhandfan. Anyword where the game will be next Sunday?

ziggysego, I am not sure where your game will be next weekend but watch out for the big Drumhowan full forward James McElroy...he is their dangerman.  It is hard to judge just how good this Drumhowan side is.  Everything they kicked today went over for them but, with a little bit of luck, An Port Mor could have come out on top.  They have a sound midfield and very lively attack but can be vulnerable in defence when run at.  Check out my match report above!

That was some win for Greencastle today.  I reckon you can get the better of those Monaghan boys in the semi-finals.  Good luck.  It is great to see the three Tyrone teams still alive and kicking in the Ulster Championship!
Post by: Blacksheep on November 12, 2006, 07:44:43 PM
What happened to Mayobridge ? 1 point from play, thats bad.
Post by: Redhandfan on November 12, 2006, 07:47:05 PM
Can anyone fill in the blanks from today?  Any of the Armagh posters know how the Nab got on today in Crossmaglen?

SFC
Cargin 0-12  Clontibret 1-9
Errigal Ciaran 0-7 Enniskillen Gaels 0-6
Ballinderry 0-15  Mayobridge 0-1
Crossmaglen 2-13 Mullahoran 1-7

IFC
Fanad Gaels 2-8 Coleraine 2-9
Belcoo beat Drumgath
Ballymacnab v Drumalee
Carrickmacross 2-8 Stewartstown 2-9

JFC
Coa lost to N. Brid
Bredagh 5-13 Drum 0-4
Greencastle 0-21 Ardoyne 0-3
Drumhowen 1-12  An Port Mor 1-8
Title: Teat
Post by: Scooby Doo on November 12, 2006, 07:59:50 PM
Test
Title: Re: Hedgehog
Post by: Owenmoresider on November 12, 2006, 08:02:08 PM
Quote from: ITOB on November 12, 2006, 07:15:18 PM
Where in Donegal do St Brid come from?
Ballintra and Laghey ITOB, between Ballyshannon and Donegal town.
Post by: Smokin Joe on November 12, 2006, 08:10:34 PM
Ballymacnab won.  The score was something like 0-7 to 0-4.
Post by: Redhandfan on November 12, 2006, 08:27:02 PM
So, there we have it....the outcome of all twelve games in the Ulster Club Championships today are now known.  By my reckoning, Tyrone are the only county to have their Senior, Intermediate and Junior Champions through to the semi-final stages.

SFC
Cargin 0-12  Clontibret 1-9
Errigal Ciaran 0-7 Enniskillen Gaels 0-6
Ballinderry 0-15  Mayobridge 0-1
Crossmaglen 2-13 Mullahoran 1-7

IFC
Fanad Gaels 2-8 Coleraine 2-9
Belcoo beat Drumgath
Ballymacnab beat Drumalee
Carrickmacross 2-8 Stewartstown 2-9

JFC
Coa lost to N. Brid
Bredagh 5-13 Drum 0-4
Greencastle 0-21 Ardoyne 0-3
Drumhowen 1-12  An Port Mor 1-8
Post by: Orior on November 12, 2006, 08:42:24 PM
Time for Admin to road test his new "Merge Thread" functionality.
Title: Mayobridge ?????
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on November 12, 2006, 09:11:12 PM
Whats the story with Mayobridge ?  I thought they were a decent side.  Is Down club football that poor or was todays game just a freak result ??
Title: mayobridge didn't listen to the gael
Post by: thegael on November 12, 2006, 09:11:29 PM
the gael has arrived.i must add the gael is in  a very bad mood.i had encouraged and advised the bridge all along in what they had to do to achieve success they didn't listen.

i was there and i tell you all it was grim.

i hope the new county management learn from the failings and reasons for  this failure!

i encouraged mickey to enforce a drinks ban and for the players to sign up to the code of no drinking.

did they listen to the gael?no

i am disgusted with the showing today!any cooments on this disaster!

the gael takes no prisoners!
Title: Re: mayobridge didn't listen to the gael
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on November 12, 2006, 09:41:46 PM
I'm a Ballinderry man, and I am disgusted by your gloating! What great club do you hail from? Surely not one from Down, as yours must be infinitely superior to the Bridge, and they have dominated Down football for 7 years now!

Ulster club games are full of back biters, wanting their countys reps to get beat.  You have taken it a step further.  What a tit you seem to be!
Post by: turkey+ham on November 12, 2006, 09:56:35 PM
Here, here dyjl >:(//
Title: Redhandfan
Post by: ITOB on November 12, 2006, 10:31:39 PM
Well done RHF.  All results in by 8.27pm.

I thought the Board could have done better but my targets were obviously set to high. Maybe will try it again next weekend with lower targets.

ArmaghBan: 
What time did your super duper radio deliver the complete set of results?  If before the Board's time of 8.27 then why did you not post them?  I really want one of them thar radios.  Did you get it Jonesboro Market?  Is it one of them thar wind-up ones?
Title: Re: Ulster Junior Championship
Post by: ziggysego on November 12, 2006, 10:34:21 PM
Quote from: Redhandfan on November 12, 2006, 07:35:04 PM
ziggysego, I am not sure where your game will be next weekend but watch out for the big Drumhowan full forward James McElroy...he is their dangerman.  It is hard to judge just how good this Drumhowan side is.  Everything they kicked today went over for them but, with a little bit of luck, An Port Mor could have come out on top.  They have a sound midfield and very lively attack but can be vulnerable in defence when run at.  Check out my match report above!

That was some win for Greencastle today.  I reckon you can get the better of those Monaghan boys in the semi-finals.  Good luck.  It is great to see the three Tyrone teams still alive and kicking in the Ulster Championship!

I've heard the game will be in Lisanskea (sp?)

Thanks for the warning of McElroy. I'll let the management know and hopefully we'll be ready for them.

It was a great win for Greencastle today. My wee brother has taken great delight in knowing he is the first person for Greencastle, to score in a Ulster Championship match ever! ;)

However, the results may have flattered us too much. Ardoyne, from what I hear, is primarily a hurling club, so there wasn't much competition for us today. Sorry if anyone from Ardoyne uses this board. I fear that this could in turn, turn out to be a bad start for Greencastle. That said, I'm sure Teague will keep their feets firmly on the ground.
Post by: gallsman on November 13, 2006, 12:17:55 AM
QuoteArdoyne, from what I hear, is primarily a hurling club

If hurling means throwing bricks and bottles, then yes, you'd be 100% correct! I remember playing them in an U14 football match and their subs were smoking pot on the sideline!
Post by: full back on November 13, 2006, 08:11:42 AM
Catch a grip Gael.Are you saying the bridge got hammered because they drank after they county final?
And as for listening to you-the biggest tube around
Post by: Over the Bar on November 13, 2006, 08:26:02 AM
Quotemy Tip for Ulster Ballinderry!

After yesterday's result your really putting your neck on the block there ;)
Post by: Guillem2 on November 13, 2006, 08:36:38 AM
AIB ULSTER CLUB HURLING FINAL REPLAY   
Cushendall   1-15 1-07 Kevin Lynches, Dungiven

A very one-sided game with big Geoffery's late goal taking the bad look off the score line. Lynches started well and went 5 -2 up and I was thinking we were going to get a good game. But Cushendall got into their stride and blew them away all over the pitch for an easy win in the end. I can't see this Dall team troubling anyone coming out of Connaght.   
Post by: bridgegael on November 13, 2006, 08:47:28 AM
bridge beat by better team yesterday.  we were second all over the field. good luck and best wishes to ballinderry for ulster it'll take some team to beat them.  as for that other p***k on another thread, he doesn't even play football. f**king w**ker!
Post by: johnneycool on November 13, 2006, 09:10:32 AM
Quote from: Guillem2 on November 13, 2006, 08:36:38 AM
AIB ULSTER CLUB HURLING FINAL REPLAY   
Cushendall   1-15 1-07 Kevin Lynches, Dungiven

A very one-sided game with big Geoffery's late goal taking the bad look off the score line. Lynches started well and went 5 -2 up and I was thinking we were going to get a good game. But Cushendall got into their stride and blew them away all over the pitch for an easy win in the end. I can't see this Dall team troubling anyone coming out of Connaght.   

The Dall upped the ante yesterday and the Lynches weren't able to live with them and once Liam Hinphey went off near the end of the first half the war was all put over for the Lynches. The tidier quick and direct hurling of the Dall allowed them the more time on the ball to pick out their forwards and it was there where they improved greatly from the last day. Shane McNaughton started to hurl like he can for once. Aidan Delargy though still frustrates with the amount of good opportunities he wastes. Against better opposition he'd need to cut that out. McManus although starting in the forwards played all his best hurling when he came back down the field to sweep up in his own half back line

Dungiven were too laboured in their hurling, rising the ball was a slow exercise for some of their players and were easily blocked or hooked by their opponents. Big Geoffrey was unlucky with his kicked effort in the first half then berated poor Deccy for not giving him a free. He may of had a point but Deccy would of been the worst in the world if he'd of blown a free for Dungiven with the bold Geoffry goal bound. A no win situation for Deccy.

Where to now for Dungiven: A spell in a competitive Antrim ACHL would tidy their hurling up no end, the will seems to be there but I doubt if the structures in Derry are conducive to allow the likes of Banagher and the Lynches compete in Antrim and football fixtures not be affected.
Post by: amallon on November 13, 2006, 09:26:04 AM
Well done to Ballinderry yesterday, they were truly asesome all over the park.  Did anyone see what Brendan Grant was sent off for? I was following play and missed it.  Even with 15 men we still wouldn't have won.
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 13, 2006, 09:33:40 AM
Cushendall 1-15 Kevin Lynch's 1-7

Cushendall deserving winners in a somewhat flattering scoreline, but they were obviously the better side.
KL started brightly and went 4 points to 1 up.
After that though they seemed to get stage fright and Cushendall came roaring back.
Losing Liam Hinphey before half time ruined any chances KL had.

Have to say that there were 5 points that I would think are disputable - frees gifted to Cushendall - who didnt need the help!
Ref was poor, and he was lucky that there were no flashpoints and it was a free flowing enough game.

I can imagine if he was in charge the previous week, both sides would have ended up with just the keepers playing.

More interested in booking guys for questioning his decisions than knoing the actual rules.
This guy cannot be high in the Down refereeing charts ?
Post by: bridgegael on November 13, 2006, 09:37:51 AM
mallon.. grant was rightly sent off. punched big enda.  as you say wouldnt have mattered anyway. wat club team can afford to have a six foot plus county player playing at corner back??  great team!
Post by: amallon on November 13, 2006, 09:55:08 AM
Just got a text from a Burren woman.  The Bridge are to take part in the new series of 15-1! You have to have see the funny side.
Post by: SlimShady on November 13, 2006, 09:56:47 AM
Did ye get a good steak at least? Where at?

Unlucky yesterday, thats a real kick in the stones for that team and it'll take a lot to come back from it but I'm sure ye will.
Post by: amallon on November 13, 2006, 09:57:52 AM
DoYerJob Linesman: Fair play to you.  Hope Ballinderry go on and win the All-Ireland.
Post by: glens73 on November 13, 2006, 10:25:28 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on November 13, 2006, 09:33:40 AM

Cushendall deserving winners in a somewhat flattering scoreline, but they were obviously the better side.

Not flattering at all according to this Lynchboy and from the reports I heard on the game. Dungiven obviously blew their chance the first day.

From independent.ie
Cushendall crush Lynch's to take Ulster club crown

Cushendall 1-15

Kevin Lynch's 1-7

Ulster Club SHC Final Replay

ANTRIM champions Cushendall celebrated their centenary year as they cruised to victory over Derry counterparts Kevin Lynch's in the Ulster Club SHC Final Replay at Casement Park yesterday.

Kevin Lynch's raced into a two-point lead inside two minutes through Kieran and Kevin Hinphey. Aidan Delargy pointed a Cushendall free but immediately Geoffrey McGonigle hit back with two pointed frees for the Dungiven side.

The tables turned in Cushendall's favour in the 19th minute when Emmett McNaughton raced in for a goal, to which the Antrim champions added four unanswered points to lead by 1-6 to 0-5 at the break.

It was all Cushendall in the second half, and though Kevin Lynch's managed a goal from Geoffrey McGonigle two minutes from time, the score flattered the Derry champions.

Post by: 6th sam on November 13, 2006, 10:26:06 AM
Though It is a scientific fact that alcohol has a detrimental effect on performance,I find the behaviour of "the gael" on this site reprehensible.To comment on the drinking habits of individuals/teams on this forum is scandalous.Drink has for a long time been the excuse wheeled out for any defeat by Hurlers on the ditch like "the Gael",in the absence of any  meaningful and mature analysis.
If Ross and the lads get beaten next year,at any stage,I eagerly await "the gael's" intelligent and rational  comments on the reason for defeat.
It would serve us better to explore why Down team's have consistently failed to perform at Senior county and Ulster club SFC,IFC,JFC levels.Personally,I feel the Down club league structure and playoff system may be one reason for our lack of success.Another,is that over the past 10 years we in Down,in general,have not embraced a committment to coaching at all levels with the same vigour as Tyrone,Armagh,Derry.Finally,I feel the constant living in the past,and misplaced arrogance has not served us well in recent years.
I have confidence Ross and the lads will do their bit,but county board need to realise that the management of the county senior team is only one piece of the jigsaw.There needs to be a root and branch analysis of why we are currently enduring the most barren time in recent Down history.
Post by: SlimShady on November 13, 2006, 10:28:21 AM
f**k sake lads, can you not see that this burk is a wind up merchant?!  ::)
Post by: maxpower on November 13, 2006, 10:29:51 AM
i wouldn't be too surprised guillem2 if the dall do put one over loughrea (i take it they beat athleague yesterday).  Loughrea have never been to a all ireland semi final before, training through the winter and preparing for a match in february isn't as easy as preparing for summer hurling.  Most of this cushedendall team have done it before and ran St josephs doora barefield very close. 

Loughrea don't look to be the best team ever to come out of connaught, certainly if reports they had to bully portumna out of it are to be believed.  cushendall will have more experience and should match them for fire in the belly.  I think it'll be a tight game with possibly a small shock

Post by: johnneycool on November 13, 2006, 10:31:35 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on November 13, 2006, 09:33:40 AM

Ref was poor, and he was lucky that there were no flashpoints and it was a free flowing enough game.

I can imagine if he was in charge the previous week, both sides would have ended up with just the keepers playing.

More interested in booking guys for questioning his decisions than knoing the actual rules.
This guy cannot be high in the Down refereeing charts ?

I did warn you Lynchboy, he's a picky bollocks and to frighten you even more, I thought he had one of his better days yesterday.
I always get the feeling he's never in control of a game and as you say, just as well it was a more freeflowing game. At one point yesterday he blew the whistle for a bit of a robust challenge between two lads and he didn't initially signal who the free was for until he made his way over to the incident then he pointed and somewhat to the surprise of a lot of people. This lack of decisiveness really riles players and spectators alike and it's something he's really bad at. He's also inclined to make the odd rule of his own up as well, one handed swinging is not a free as he seems to think it is.

He gets a lot of big games based the sheer volume of games he does in any given year, he must be out nearly every night refereeing hurling in Down, the UHL and in Antrim as well as a load of camogie games as well.
Title: Re: mayobridge didn't listen to the gael,Reply to Slim Shady
Post by: 6th sam on November 13, 2006, 10:35:47 AM
I know he's a wind up merchant,but I never miss an opportunity for a rant!
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 13, 2006, 11:05:22 AM
Cant blame the ref though
he wasnt great but Cushendall were worthy winners yesterday.
I just take exception to the margin of victory (though it could have been more)
and as you say - some of those decisions were mind boggling !

Thanks for the info - you will have noticed that KL team didnt fight or get involved nearly as much as the previous day -
they were warned from someone about the ref and then checked him out !

I actually met the ref on his way out of the park , driving his car with a few other Ulster tracksuited 'officials' I'd say they were.
I said hello and rather than abuse him (which gets no one nowhere- esp as this guy is a volunteer like the rest of us), I asked him how did he think Down would do next season.
Think his muttered answer was ' dont know'.

Best of luck to the Cushendall side in the AI semi
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 13, 2006, 11:12:11 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on November 13, 2006, 09:10:32 AM
Dungiven were too laboured in their hurling, rising the ball was a slow exercise for some of their players and were easily blocked or hooked by their opponents. Big Geoffrey was unlucky with his kicked effort in the first half then berated poor Deccy for not giving him a free. He may of had a point but Deccy would of been the worst in the world if he'd of blown a free for Dungiven with the bold Geoffry goal bound. A no win situation for Deccy.

Where to now for Dungiven: A spell in a competitive Antrim ACHL would tidy their hurling up no end, the will seems to be there but I doubt if the structures in Derry are conducive to allow the likes of Banagher and the Lynches compete in Antrim and football fixtures not be affected.

Completely agree with you JC
KL seem to be way behind the likes of Cushendall in terms of getting the ball lifted and control of it .

Also , playing in the Antrim league would hugely benefit KL & Banagher.

I dont think the football fixtures would prove to be too much of a problem for KL as most of their dual players have more or less given up the big ball game now to concentrate on Hurling.
Only Liam Hinphey and Cathal McKeever will be looking like they might be on the footbal panel, and I am not sure whether Hinphey wants to stay on it.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 13, 2006, 11:26:16 AM
I didn't get to see th Cross game but on all the reports that I have read they seemed to be a cut above Mullahorn.  What was very interesting from my point of view was that of the staring 15 and the subs that came on, only 4 have been involved in all the AI, with only Donaldson and Clarke being the only additions who are near or over the 30 mark.  9 of the team are under 25 and 2 of the subs that came on are 22-23.    They might find it harder against the more established teams like Errigal or Ballinderry but I hope they can keep the run going.
Post by: bennydorano on November 13, 2006, 11:34:13 AM
I hear Aaron Kernan's arm is broken after yesterday.
Post by: full back on November 13, 2006, 11:37:35 AM
Was at the game bc.Correct in saying Cross were better, but Mullahorn didnt look that good to be honest-just a very average Ulster club side.Cross will again be hard to beat esp at this time of year and with Oisin looking good you lot will give Ballinderry or Errigal a brave run for their money
Post by: hows she cutting on November 13, 2006, 12:14:17 PM
Quote from: SlimShady on November 10, 2006, 03:24:57 PM
Errigal are in for a treat in their game with Gregory 'i need to be noticed' Walsh in charge!

Never a truer word spoken Slim.
Was at the game, awful performance from the man "in charge"

Some of his decisions were unbelievable.
1st half -
Errigal centre half back is pushed to the ground after releasing the ball, he is then kneed on by Gaels half back No.7 (Keenen I think could be wrong). Result of this, yellow cards for both players
Errigal CHB caught with a very late elbow by Gaels FF after releasing ball, ref waves play on but then when called back by umpires he only issues a yellow card.
Errigal sub Daisy Mc Dermott booked for rash challenge (i will come back to this)
EC full back C Mc Ginley yellow card for a straight forward tussle with Gaels forward rushing onto ball, neither player fouled or ending up on ground.
EC corner forward Mc Cann wins free, Gaels MF T Brewster then floors him with shoulder after whistle has gone, no action by ref. Mc Cann had to be replaced a few mins later with what looked like shoulder or collar bone trouble.

2nd Half
Daisy Mc Dermott yellow card, all in crowd realised it was his second. Mr Walsh didn't.
Very handy free awarded to EC half back when right in front of posts and ran out of steam, looked like he fell in to Gaels defender.
Tom Brewster after reappearing at corner forward catches a mighty ball in last 5 mins right in front of Errigal posts. Result - free out

I thought it was a typical Ulster club championship game, hard football without much quality. God again the difference, 1 point from play was fantastic.

Will be interesting to see how his brother Joe approaches the semi-final, he is training Ballinderry since the start of the year i believe.
Post by: Guillem2 on November 13, 2006, 12:20:35 PM
Congratulaions to Clooney Gaels who made it a clean sweep for Antrim Clubs in the Ulster hurling championships with a win in the replayed final yesterday. Clooney Gaels 014 1-08 Strabane Shamrocks.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on November 13, 2006, 12:21:32 PM
Surely Enniskillen will put in an objection over the result seeing as Daisy McDermott should have been sent off....  ???
Post by: bingobus on November 13, 2006, 12:27:32 PM
Anyone at the Cargin/Clontibret game?

Heard it got real nasty near the end and was held up for 9 minutes following a slapping match which saw the Cargin keeper get a red and two clontibret players taken to Hospital.

And not an Aussie in sight! Should be an interesting replay next week.
Post by: SlimShady on November 13, 2006, 12:38:45 PM
I was there, it was more of a handbag swinging session. The lads that got taken to hospital weren't hurt in the melee, one of them just went down with nobody near him and seemed in a bad way-rushed to hospital. The Clontibret manager ran onto the field and wrestled a Cargin player, he got a couple of digs for his troubles and ran back to the line.

The 9 minutes came from the injury to Niall Malone (I think), the paramedics had to be careful moving him as it was his back/neck he hurt. Hope he's ok.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on November 13, 2006, 12:42:49 PM
every team in Ireland that wins a county championship goes on a session afterwards.......I guarantee you Ballinderry went on one aswell...so the celebrations probably have very little to do with Mayobridges defeat,as Balljnderry were probably in the same boat.
Post by: Lecale2 on November 13, 2006, 12:47:00 PM
Junior Football Semi Finals
Sunday 19th November

Naomh Brid v Bredagh 12.30pm Clones
Greencastle v Drumhowan 2.15pm Lisnaskea
Post by: SouthArmaghBandit on November 13, 2006, 12:59:08 PM
Any other fixtures Lecale? What about the senior & intermediate football?
Post by: dubnut on November 13, 2006, 01:03:21 PM
Lads the Gael has been on an anti drinking rampage for months now.
All Mayobridge and Downs problems in recent years are down to the drink apparantly.  ::)
He even suggested at one point that the non playing locals went off the drink to encourage them!
Post by: BenDover on November 13, 2006, 01:10:19 PM
if the gael did take up the post of managing mayobridge how many of their players would like to play for such a dictator?
Post by: bingobus on November 13, 2006, 01:10:59 PM
Quote from: SlimShady on November 13, 2006, 12:38:45 PM
I was there, it was more of a handbag swinging session. The lads that got taken to hospital weren't hurt in the melee, one of them just went down with nobody near him and seemed in a bad way-rushed to hospital. The Clontibret manager ran onto the field and wrestled a Cargin player, he got a couple of digs for his troubles and ran back to the line.

The 9 minutes came from the injury to Niall Malone (I think), the paramedics had to be careful moving him as it was his back/neck he hurt. Hope he's ok.

Cheers Slim. Typical overhype of incidents from word of mouth and Hoganstand message board reporting.

Will prob get the details from the In-laws. All Clontibret folk. Will let ye know.
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on November 13, 2006, 01:24:55 PM
or listen to such a windbag?
Post by: milltown row on November 13, 2006, 01:29:49 PM
Don't want to get into a slagging match but what was in the handbags? Rocks!!!!!! Goalkeeper had no reason to run down there and "sort things out" it's not a coincidence that Cargin seem to be involved in handbags. If the incident had not have happened Cargin would be getting ready to play Cross this week instead of now having two first team players sitting on the sideline.

would it be fair to say that Cargin would have won the game, if the fight had not have broken out?
Title: Semi Venues
Post by: ITOB on November 13, 2006, 01:30:36 PM
Early word on venues is:  (anybody got any others?)

Clones
12:30. St Brid v Bredgagh
14:30. Clontib v Cargin (replay)

Lisnaskea
14:30 Drumhowan v Greencastle
Post by: cville on November 13, 2006, 01:35:06 PM
The game at Casement was certainly exciting. The fisticuffs - extended handbags -  put Cargin off their game and the sight of their keeper running out to get involved was, well, a sight to behold. The row started over a heavy tackle which left the player in hospital ... the other guy? open to explanations???? ... Cargin left it behind but they will keep their composure next week ....
Post by: SouthArmaghBandit on November 13, 2006, 01:39:53 PM
Those fixtures were posted on the Ulster Club Championships thread 2 hours ago you clown! Now stop posting shite and clogging up the Board. Better still; go and report yourself to Admin!  ;D
Title: Errigal v Gaels Game
Post by: phpearse on November 13, 2006, 01:40:23 PM
Poor game of football between the sides yesterday but still very interesting. Surprised no-one lined. Enniskillen were extremely negative and wouldn't have deserved to win the game. Davy Harte and Paul Quinn coming in for special treatment throughout the game. With two forwards 'marking' Davy Harte, not interested in getting involved in the play themselves just trying to stop davy Harte from getting involved in the game. Credit to Harte for keeping the head when manys another would have struck out in frustration. Moving Eoin Gormley and Hugh Quinn to wing forward positions making the difference for Errigal in the second half. The best laugh was to see Paul Brewster making a charge for Canavan in the last few minutes only for Canavan to spin away leaving Brewster looking stupid. It actually wasn't Tom Brewster that caught the high ball in front of the Errigal posts, think it was the number 11. However the referee rightly awarded a free out as Tom Brewster was holding Cormac McGinley to prevent him from challanging for the ball. McGinley was immense throughout, and as someone already pointed out was curiously booked when him and his man with both running out to challenge for the ball. Neither player ending up on the ground or any obvious fouls. Errigal will have to improve for the next game if they are to stand a chance against an inform Ballinderry team. They'll also need Peter starting and McDermot to improve.
Post by: pearses on November 13, 2006, 01:56:56 PM
Bredagh's match is in Clones V Donegal Champions Naomh Brid.  Drum were seriously understrength and hadn't been taking the Ulster seriously by all accounts. 
Post by: Guillem2 on November 13, 2006, 01:58:50 PM
Sent you PM Preases
Post by: The Meadow on November 13, 2006, 02:39:43 PM
Ph i was surprised no one was lined aswell seeing that a certain player got two yellows!!!!!! :o
Post by: charlie stubbs on November 13, 2006, 03:19:13 PM
the bridge went in after a crushing defeat against longstone i was at the game and they didnt wana be there possibly beating there big rivals burren so convincingly backfired
Title: the bridge didn't score from play- (1pt from a free )- it is a disgrace
Post by: thegael on November 13, 2006, 03:38:01 PM
i am unconsolable at minute our county champions represent us all in the ulster club series and don't score at all from play and score a solitary free!

there is something wrong here and other posters don't blame me for that.

our arrogance as a county must be confronted we are in the doldrums. what happened against sligo wasn't one off it is happening time and time again.

where do we go from here?

who is responsible for coaching? i hope it is not jobs for the boys!

someone must answer for this-

fail to prepare and prepare to fail.

this whole thing runs deeper like we get a new management team without absolutely zero intercounty management experience.

the inner circle sets up to get a new manager and this is best we get. wicklow get micko we get managerial unknowns backed up by what - people you never see at club games.

we need to confront our arrongance.

the gael takes no prisoners.
Title: Re: the bridge didn't score from play- (1pt from a free )- it is a disgrace
Post by: SlimShady on November 13, 2006, 03:39:36 PM

i suggest you go to fluck, you silly old cnut. you're as welcome as a fart in a spacesuit.
Title: Re: the bridge didn't score from play- (1pt from a free )- it is a disgrace
Post by: dubnut on November 13, 2006, 03:41:16 PM
The Gael, you are a weirdo, go away.  ::)
Post by: SlimShady on November 13, 2006, 03:45:47 PM
admin, ban this imbecile.
Post by: amallon on November 13, 2006, 03:49:30 PM
TheGael you are pissing off people that probably haven't even heard of Mayobridge by starting multiple threads on the same topic.  I have heard of Mayobridge and you are pissing me off.
Post by: thegael on November 13, 2006, 03:50:12 PM
i have been watching football for years and this is what we get from the down senior football champions not scoring from play and getting 1pt free and i'm the stirrer.

no sir down football is in dire straits due to an ineffective arrongant mindset all throughout the county.we need change.

it is a mortal disgrace mayobridge's performance yesterday and to be truthful i'm not at all surprised.

Post by: thegael on November 13, 2006, 03:52:39 PM
admin the language and tone of the poster slimshady doesn't belong here .look at his posts and clarify please bringing the game into sisrepute.
Post by: SlimShady on November 13, 2006, 03:53:31 PM
what club are you from then thegael? i bet its one of those high flying Down Clubs like Saul  ;)
Post by: hitzelsperger on November 13, 2006, 03:54:11 PM
gael you are a waste of post space!
Post by: dubnut on November 13, 2006, 03:54:56 PM
"it is a mortal disgrace mayobridge's performance yesterday and to be truthful i'm not at all surprised"

For someone who isnt surprised you are taking it very badly  :o

But please explain why you feel the need to start 2 threads on the same issue?
Post by: The Meadow on November 13, 2006, 03:55:21 PM
The Geal your dead right for any team to go out and score a single point in an Ulster Club game is nothing short of a disgrace!!! :)
Post by: charlie stubbs on November 13, 2006, 04:02:59 PM
think the winner will come from cross/ballinderry.cross never seem to play well anytime i see them but still do the business.ballinderry had a great win over loup,sneil and the bridge yersterday and still have devlin to come back and he is always worth a few points.apparentl;y the loup roughed them up a few years ago, i woiuld imagine they will do the same this, though not sure if they have the physical presence they used to as i see a number of younger players starting yday,tony and paul kernan,mckeown and hanratty
Post by: charlie stubbs on November 13, 2006, 04:05:10 PM
apparantly drumgeth kicked it away.heard they were 5 up in first half and packy downey missed from six yards.also hit the bar in the last minute when clean through
Title: The Gael
Post by: full back on November 13, 2006, 04:09:13 PM
Any chance of this idiot being stopped from introducing new threads?
Post by: thegael on November 13, 2006, 04:10:33 PM
maybe after yesterday's game it could be an idea to enter the down senior football champions into the ulster intermediate club championship in future .
Post by: johnneycool on November 13, 2006, 04:13:13 PM
Quote from: thegael on November 13, 2006, 03:38:01 PM
i am unconsolable at minute our county champions represent us all in the ulster club series and don't score at all from play and score a solitary free!

there is something wrong here and other posters don't blame me for that.

our arrogance as a county must be confronted we are in the doldrums. what happened against sligo wasn't one off it is happening time and time again.

who is responsible for coaching? i hope it is not jobs for the boys!

someone must answer for this-

fail to prepare and prepare to fail.

this whole thing runs deeper like we get a new management team without absolutely zero intercounty management experience.

the inner circle sets up to get a new manager and this is best we get. wicklow get micko we get managerial unknowns backed up by what - people you never see at club games.

we need to confront our arrongance.

Ok, the gael how about a few answers to some of these questions that you keep posing?

What would you do the address these failings barring stop drinking of course?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 13, 2006, 04:15:49 PM
the gael would you ever fcuk off and crawl back into that hovel that you call home and stop polluting this board.  You may be genuine you may be a wind up merchant but one way or the other your nonsensical jabberings bring a disjointedness to this board.  If you ever played football, or managed a team, or were more than just a f**king gobshite you may be listened too but your silly, skitter inducing bullshit is turning an already crowded board into a f**king mess.  Go have a good yank on yer chain or punch your heifer, just go away!
Post by: thegael on November 13, 2006, 04:21:13 PM
i am so bemused at moment the only thing that springs to mind is change.

our leaders at the moment are not guiding us in the right direction - our coaching system is incoherent and my understanding is that we need people who have the credentials not people who are friends or supporters of the inner circle guiding us.

we have to agitate for change we need more involvement from the clubs at co board level i am not familar with the workings of the hurling board but i'm told it is dominated by one club- that shouldn't be the case. on the general front we need more involvement from our clubs not an inner circle domination with a game of musical chairs every so often- throw him from general co board to hurling board move this one here and there.etcc

in a nutshell jonny we need new faces change.power needs to be shared not controlled by inner circle types!
Post by: Guillem2 on November 13, 2006, 04:22:01 PM
Ignore the w@nker. Let this be the last post on this thread. Anyt hread he starts don't post on it. He'll get tried and go away eventually.
Post by: Lecale2 on November 13, 2006, 04:26:31 PM
Sorry I only had the JFC fixtures txt to me. I suspose the others will be in the Irish News in the morning.
Post by: dubnut on November 13, 2006, 04:34:02 PM
No actual answers but .........
"i am so bemused at moment the only thing that springs to mind is change.
our leaders at the moment are not guiding us in the right direction"

Gael, are you Enda Kenny by any chance?
Post by: thegael on November 13, 2006, 04:35:28 PM
now dubnut i am not a great fan of blueshirts apart from the dubs in full flow!
Post by: johnneycool on November 13, 2006, 04:37:32 PM
Quote from: thegael on November 13, 2006, 04:35:28 PM
now dubnut i am not a great fan of blueshirts apart from the dubs in full flow!

Thegael,

name names, who would you like to see in the hotseats of Down, committee and management?
Post by: thegael on November 13, 2006, 04:39:40 PM
jonny you as chairman and i'll trust you to pick your cabinet.

so pick it jonny name names.
Post by: johnneycool on November 13, 2006, 04:41:34 PM
Quote from: thegael on November 13, 2006, 04:39:40 PM
jonny you as chairman and i'll trust you to pick your cabinet.

so pick it jonny name names.

As I thought thegeal, you're like the tinkers cat, full of wind and pish.
Post by: dubnut on November 13, 2006, 04:42:21 PM
Dont be a coward Gael, give the better options!
Post by: thegael on November 13, 2006, 04:43:56 PM
dubnut one minute you want me banned the next you want my opinion i'm flattered!
Post by: ziggysego on November 13, 2006, 05:03:43 PM
Pictures of Greencastle's win over Ardoyne yesterday in the Ulster Junior Championship are now posted on the Greencastle website.
Post by: dubnut on November 13, 2006, 05:06:58 PM
"dubnut one minute you want me banned the next you want my opinion i'm flattered!"

Gael, the problem is we will get neither  ::)
Post by: amallon on November 13, 2006, 05:13:40 PM
Slim - We didn't get up in time for food, just time for a pint in Walsh's then into the match.  Got a feed in the Gables outside Dungannon which was good.  I heard a lot of Bridge ones said they ate in the elk which is out your way, bad reports I'm afraid.  Service was too slow.  A bit like the ball into our forwards!  ;)
Post by: thegael on November 13, 2006, 05:18:30 PM
the down champions in future would be better off for a few years in the ulster intermediate championship.

yesterday was an absolute disgrace.

they were an insult to all down people with that performance!

the gael takes no prisoners!
Post by: pearses on November 13, 2006, 05:28:49 PM
Anyone hear any other fixtures and venues?  All Ive heard so far are:

Bredagh V Naomh Brid (Clones)

Ballinderry V Errigal (Casement)

Title: the gael
Post by: bridgegael on November 13, 2006, 06:15:58 PM
wat a fuckin p***k!!!  you haven't even played football at this level!  you have only played div 2 football in down,  so don't be coming on here like you know it all you fcuk head!!!!!!!!
Post by: bridgegael on November 13, 2006, 07:04:30 PM
did ya hear thon p***k on bbc this evening.' on another day of shame for the gaa'. wat a w**ker!!!!!!
Post by: Orior on November 13, 2006, 07:09:25 PM
Agree totally. The BBC focussed too much on the fisticuffs.

However, judging from the limited bit that was shown, Cargan should booted out of the championship?
Post by: ziggysego on November 13, 2006, 07:10:02 PM
Quote from: bridgegael on November 13, 2006, 07:04:30 PM
did ya hear thon p***k on bbc this evening.' on another day of shame for the gaa'. wat a w**ker!!!!!!

Same quote on UTV as well.
Post by: BottleOfStout on November 13, 2006, 07:12:27 PM
Typical local media focus on the negative.  That was the only incident throughout that match and was all over in less than a minute.
Post by: Lecale2 on November 14, 2006, 10:22:26 AM
Weekend fixtures.

- SUNDAY 19th NOVEMBER -

AIB Ulster Club Senior Football Championship Quarter Final Replay
(Extra Time if necessary):

Cargin v Clontibret at Clones at 2.15pm
Ref: Michael Hughes (Tyrone)

AIB Ulster Club Senior Football Championship Semi Final:
Errigal Ciaran v Ballinderry at Casement Park at 2.15pm
Ref: Seamus McGonigle (Donegal)

Ulster Club Intermediate Football Championship Semi Finals:
Coleraine v Belcoo at Dungannon at 2.15pm
Ref: Gerry McCarron (Monaghan)

Ballymacnab v Stewartstown at Casement Park at 12.30pm
Ref: Martin Higgins (Fermanagh)

Ulster Club Junior Football Championship Semi Finals:
Naomh Brid v Bredagh at Clones at 12.30pm
Ref: Eugene McConnell (Tyrone)

Greencastle v Drumhowan at Lisnaskea at 2.15pm
Ref: Gavin Corrigan (Down)

Post by: FermPundit on November 14, 2006, 10:31:13 AM
I see Enniskillen are set to appeal to the Ulster Council over the failure of the referee to send off Daisy McDermott even though he was shown two yellow cards on Sunday

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/6144960.stm

Although it looks like they have a good case the appeal will probably be rejected
Post by: hows she cutting on November 14, 2006, 11:50:01 AM
can't see that appeal being successful, if Mc Dermott had scored 1-6 or something after the second yellow that would be different

past cases of this have never won their appeal

Rules need to be clearer on this.
Post by: FermPundit on November 14, 2006, 12:01:30 PM
yeah, i agree the appeal will probably fail but the Gaels have every right to be annoyed. Taking into consideration that it was such a tight game an extra man may have helped the Gaels sneak a win or draw. The Ulster council want the Ulster club over as soon as possible and they probably won't entertain a replay!
Post by: missy#1 on November 14, 2006, 01:53:52 PM
Has anyone got an idea on what date the senior Ulster Final is scheduled to be played?
Post by: SlimShady on November 14, 2006, 01:55:08 PM
its put back a week, so Sunday fortnight will now be the date-unless of course there is any more drawn games.

Orior, Cargin should be kicked out? What in under god are you talking about? It was nothing-not even a talking point post match You need to find another sport my friend if that warrants an expulsion in your book, perhaps start supporting your native Armagh playing the oul soccer.

'From what I seen'...what a tit you are Orior!
Title: Enniskillen Appeal
Post by: Over the Bar on November 14, 2006, 02:18:53 PM
Enniskillen really are clutching at straws now.  I think they should accept they were beaten by the better team on the day regardless of the 1 point win on the scoreboard.  Secondly that complete p***k of a referee Walsh disfavoured both teams, booking men for nothing and then turned a blind eye at violent conduct.  Just because the Ulster council nominated a horse's ass to referee the game shouldn't mean Errigal lose out as a consequence.
Title: Re: Enniskillen appeal
Post by: FermPundit on November 14, 2006, 02:44:22 PM
I agree that the referee was a disaster for both teams but the Gaels do have a point here. I don't think its a case of sour grapes. McDermott should have been sent off and wasn't therefore Errigal had an unfair advantage for the rest of the game. I think most people did think Daisy had been booked in the first half but there were that many bookings in the game it was difficult to keep track on who was booked and who wasn't. We'll await the decison from the Ulster Council.
Post by: EC Unique on November 14, 2006, 02:47:18 PM
Dasiy is not the only player who should have been sent off but remained on the pitch ::)
Post by: Erne Man1 on November 14, 2006, 02:57:38 PM
Enniskillen are certainly well entitled to appeal to the Ulster Council - the fact remains that Errigal Ciaran played around 20minutes of the second half with 15players, when there should only have been 14players on the field. I spoke to one of the Enniskillen players on monday and asked him why nobody had kicked up a fuss when McDermott was booked for the second time - he siad because there had been so many cards dished out at that stage the players had no idea who was or was not booked.
I think the Gaels have a reasonable case here - others on here might know the details, but I was nearly sure that Enniskillen were leading 4-3 when McDermott received his second yellow card. The fact that the game was extremely close should mitigate in their favour.
However precedant has been set in this case re the Derry/Cork minor match - so if the Ulster council wish to, they can rule it out of order on this basis. I assume there is no possibility of Errigal Ciaran offering Enniskillen a reply - I seem to remember Derry appealing to Cork's better nature after the minor fiasco?
On a side issue Ballinderry would probably beat  a combination of both teams anyway
Post by: The Meadow on November 14, 2006, 03:06:58 PM
It would have made no difference, Enniskillen gained any possesion they had from him in the second half !! Any ball he got he overcarried or got dispossesed!! 
Why has the Final been put back a week???
Post by: blasmere on November 14, 2006, 03:12:49 PM
Delayed beacuse Crossmaglen can't meet the winners of Cargin v Clontibret until Sunday week
Post by: The Meadow on November 14, 2006, 03:29:54 PM
As it should!! :-[
Post by: hows she cutting on November 14, 2006, 04:00:44 PM
from what i've heard, barring any more replays it is due to be played on Sunday 3rd December.

The extra weeks break could be a huge advantage to either Errigal or Ballinderry.
Post by: Over the Bar on November 14, 2006, 04:08:45 PM
Quotethe fact remains that Errigal Ciaran played around 20minutes of the second half with 15players, when there should only have been 14players on the field.

And had any decent referee been officiating, Enniskillen would NOT have finished with 14 men.  Accept facts as they are - Enniskillen set out to play negative football and target Errigal's key men rather than play the ball, it backfired and they got beaten.  God forbid that style of play should represent Ulster!
Title: Re: Over the Bar
Post by: FermPundit on November 14, 2006, 04:22:56 PM
How can you criticise the Gaels for their perceived negative tactics?? Errigal were just as bad for all the off the ball stuff that went on. The referee didn't allow the game to flow with his constant bookings. Anyone one think it was a dirty game when it really wasn't. It was just a typically hard fought ulster club game between two evenly matched sides.
Post by: Erne Man1 on November 14, 2006, 05:07:22 PM
"And had any decent referee been officiating, Enniskillen would NOT have finished with 14 men.  Accept facts as they are - Enniskillen set out to play negative football and target Errigal's key men rather than play the ball, it backfired and they got beaten.  God forbid that style of play should represent Ulster!"

Overthebar - I think you have missed the "facts as they are" - Errigal Ciaran played for the majority of the second half with 15players, when they should only have had 14. That is the only fact that is relevant to any Enniskillen appeal.
Post by: Hereiam on November 14, 2006, 05:16:45 PM
McDerrott should not have been named in the squad for fu*ks sake, he has the wrong attitude for the game and errigal will suffer because off him. He was lucky not to have cost errigal the game on sunday with his stupid fouling. I hope the Errigal management see this now and that it is not worth the risk of playing him in big games especially when he can't stay off the drink for a couple of weeks.
Post by: Hungry Exile on November 14, 2006, 09:23:57 PM
I was at Maghera game & was there to support the Shamrocks. The first 25 minutes was like the best Derry & Down had ever served up in the early 90's. Total end to end stuff. Three incidents in the final 5/10 minutes of the first half turned the game in the Shamrock's favour.

1. 50/50 challenge on the Ballinderry half back line went to Ballinderry & could have easily gone to Mayobridge. Instead of the Bridge bringing the score back to 3-2 Ballinderry went up the field to score & leave it 4-1.

2. Coulter broke free & was in on goal - just as he was about to let loose he was half tackled half fouled & the chance was spurned. Could have been a penalty instead it was a kick out! That would have brought them back into it.

3. Sending off: Just before half time Muldoon fielded well in midfield & drove a long ball up field. A moment of madness by Grant was spotted by the linesmen & the ref had no option but to show red. Up until that point Grant had the better of Muldoon & had no need to do what he did.

Mayobridge do not deserve the abuse they have received & Ballinderry are not as good as they are being made out to be.  Had Mayobridge brought the game back to 3-2 then the whole game would have taken on a different perspective
Post by: the green man on November 14, 2006, 09:44:50 PM
Have to agree with HungryExile. Mayobridge are not as bad as Sunday's game, anything that could have went wrong, went wrong for them. On the other hand everything went for Ballinderry, if they had of been standing at the top of Glenshane they would have fired them over. Just one of those days you get from time to time
Title: Ballinderry V Errigal
Post by: Hungry Exile on November 14, 2006, 11:32:11 PM
Anyone who thinks the Shamrocks are going to cruise into an Ulster final is in planet cuckoo!! 

Malachy O'Rouke / Peter the Great will not allow them the opportunity to play free flowing fast football like they were allowed to do on Sunday. With Loup, O'Rourke put the Shamrocks to the sword twice in the Derry Championship in 2003 & 2005 (and with a worse bunch of players that he currently has at his disposal) - it was the latter defeat that still sits sore in the minds of many Shamrock supporters & players alike.   Canavan & co stripped Ballinderry from their chance of back to back Ulster titles in 2002.

I believe it is interesting that a certain Canavan brother is one of the backroom staff at Ballinderry.  Is he in a no win situation or what!!!!

Slim hope you and the Toome lads learn from last week
:-X
Post by: ziggysego on November 14, 2006, 11:48:21 PM
What are the grounds like at Lisnaskea? I am going to the Greencastle game on Sunday and was wondering if the grounds are suitable for a wheelchair.

Anyone been? Anyone know?
Title: Ulster Club Championships - Eastwoods odds
Post by: Hungry Exile on November 14, 2006, 11:51:31 PM
Barney rarely gets it wrong!!

ULSTER GAELIC FOOTBALL CLUB CHAMPIONSHIP

Crossmaglen Evs
Ballinderry 11/4
Errigal Ciaran 3
Cargin 12
Clontibret 20

Post by: snappiered on November 15, 2006, 08:46:18 AM
Did the Enniskillen no. 17 Matthew Keenan not get two yellow cards as well. I think you will find out that he did.
Title: Re: ziggysego
Post by: FermPundit on November 15, 2006, 09:18:48 AM
Most of the big games in Fermanagh are currently being played at Lisnaskea as Brewster Park is being redeveloped. I'm not really sure if there is provision for wheelchairs at the ground but there is plenty of open space beside the covered stand. Access in and out of the ground would be ok I think. If in doubt I suggest you contact someone at Lisnaskea Emmetts and they should be able to help you out.
Post by: hows she cutting on November 15, 2006, 10:20:57 AM
Quote from: snappiered on November 15, 2006, 08:46:18 AM
Did the Enniskillen no. 17 Matthew Keenan not get two yellow cards as well. I think you will find out that he did.

heard this earlier in the week as well, should render the Enniskillen appeal pointless.

Was there ever an official appeal lodged anyway?
Post by: EC Unique on November 15, 2006, 05:41:22 PM
Eniskillen have launched an official appeal to the Ulster board. :-\  Have they any chance or will they just look like bad loosers?
Post by: FermPundit on November 15, 2006, 06:16:19 PM
the appeal will probably fail but they have a point and it's not a case of bad losers!!
Post by: ONeill on November 16, 2006, 09:20:09 PM
They have to prove that it affected the outcome. They'll do well to achieve that.
Post by: ExiledGael on November 16, 2006, 09:55:03 PM
Lisnaskea pitch has a reputation of being a bit of a mudbath if the weather is really bad, particularly along one side under the small stand. Theres a few hundred covered seats for spectators and the parking shouldn't be a problem beside the pitch.
Enniskillen are just right to be appealing last week's game. I'm not a fan of the Gaels at all but it's a joke the influence some bad refereeing is having on major games in the GAA, let alone club games. The appeals process is an even bigger joke though, this whole system is going to seriously blow up on the GAA soon
Post by: hows she cutting on November 17, 2006, 10:33:12 AM
From Hogan Stand.....

Enniskillen threaten legal action
17 November 2006

Enniskillen Gaels are considering taking legal action if the Ulster Council doesn't agree to bring their appeal hearing forward.

The provincial body is due to meet on Saturday at 2pm to discuss the appeal amid claims that Errigal Ciaran player Damien McDermott should have been sent off after receiving two yellow cards in last Sunday's Ulster club quarter-final against the Fermanagh champions. Errigal won the game by 0-7 to 0-6.

But the Gaels want the hearing brought forward to allow for them to appeal to the Disputes Resolution Authority if their appeal to the Ulster Council fails.

"We have asked the Ulster Council to bring their appeal meeting forward so that the club has an opportunity to appeal to the DRA," said a club spokesman.

"If this is not successful the club will go to the High Court to get an injunction to stop Sunday's Ulster semi-final between Errigal Ciaran and Ballinderry going ahead."

Enniskillen are hoping the meeting will be rearranged for Friday. However, the Ulster Council may have difficulty in bringing all members of their GAC together before then
Post by: snappiered on November 17, 2006, 03:12:21 PM
Looks like the Errigal Ballinderry game is not going to go ahead now. Was looking forward to it. What will be the outcome of Enniskillens appeal? Its sad that football has come to this. The Tyrone Championship final was threatened by a High Court Injunction, then the Tyrone League final was subject to appeals and now this. Are we going to end up playing our Football in the Court rooms
Post by: Maximus Marillius on November 17, 2006, 03:22:34 PM
Is this true re the game with b'dery v errigal

Thats what you get with shity rules and refs.
Post by: hows she cutting on November 17, 2006, 03:51:10 PM
nothing decided on this yet

i would be very surprised if the game doesn't go ahead on Sunday

Should be a cracker as well
Title: Re: Ulster Club Championships -Fixture Changes
Post by: ITOB on November 18, 2006, 01:47:37 PM
Anyone heard if the Cargin Clontib replay have been moved to Brefne Park?  The JFC game scheduled for Clones has been.
Title: Re: Ulster Club Championships Ballinderry v An other
Post by: oneillcup2007 on November 18, 2006, 02:22:10 PM
Will it get worse before it gets better.  Who knows?  Extra interesting facts about this game is that Canavans brother manages Balinderry.  Because of Errigals unwillingness to faclitate a date with Balinderry in the Ulster Club league Errigal are now banned form the competition after 'initially' being awarded the title in some circles, Theres bound to be a bit of bad blood there from an Errigal perspective.  Will the inners beat Cross because at this stage I think the Ulster club c'ship will come down to these 3 teams and  :'( possibly even Enniskillen.   
Post by: Square Ball on November 18, 2006, 02:45:56 PM
The JFC game is the only one affected, Clones is only fit to take one match so Its an even earlier start!! Pity I might have stayed to watch a bit of the replay
Post by: EC Unique on November 18, 2006, 04:00:06 PM
Eniskillen's appeal thrown out by Ulster board and Errigal will play B-derry tomorrow as planned ;D
Post by: DuperDee on November 18, 2006, 04:05:16 PM
Good to see the game will go ahead. If Enniskillen really wanted to win the game that much why did they not go out and attempt to play. They spent too much time trying to mark the E C half forward line. D Harte  is a county player but he hardly needs marking like a forward
Post by: Aristotle Flynn on November 18, 2006, 04:46:05 PM
Game off again. Put back to next Sunday. I've just heard that Enniskillen just got an injunction in the High Court. Is there something about Fermanagh people? wasn't it the Enniskillen school that threatened to go to court last year over a schools cup game or something?
Post by: snappiered on November 18, 2006, 05:40:10 PM
Is this 100% true that tommorrows match is off Aristotle Flynn? U get it from a good source?
Post by: 4everGAA on November 18, 2006, 06:00:06 PM
just heard on the wireless that live reports of the errigal ciaran match are being broadcasted from Q101 thanks to the "great" Paddy Hunter.
so obviously game is definitely going ahead!
Post by: ziggysego on November 18, 2006, 06:01:23 PM
Quote from: 4everGAA on November 18, 2006, 06:00:06 PM
just heard on the wireless that live reports of the errigal ciaran match are being broadcasted from Q101 thanks to the "great" Paddy Hunter.
so obviously game is definitely going ahead!

I wouldn't take what Q101 says as gospel truth. That said, I haven't heard anywhere else that the game has been called off.
Post by: 4everGAA on November 18, 2006, 06:05:28 PM
QuotePosted by: Aristotle Flynn 
Insert Quote
Game off again. Put back to next Sunday. I've just heard that Enniskillen just got an injunction in the High Court.
thats where i heard of it :-\
Post by: Hereiam on November 18, 2006, 07:01:35 PM
Enniskillen Gaels' appeal relating to an Errigal Ciaran player who was booked twice but allowed to stay on was rejected on Saturday.
Damien McDermott was shown a yellow card on two occasions in last Sunday's Ulster club quarter-final but referee Gregory Walsh did not send him off.

The Fermanagh side have decided not to take the matter any further.

Errigal won the game by a single point and will now play Ballinderry on Sunday at Casement Park in Belfast.
Post by: Redhandfan on November 18, 2006, 10:45:35 PM
I am glad that the whole controversy surrounding the Errigal v Enniskillen quarter-final would now appear to be over and that the Ulster Senior Club Championship can go ahead as normal.  No one can really blame Enniskillen or Errigal for the recent mess.  Having watched a recording of the game during the week, it was clear that referee Gregory Walsh had a lot to answer for.  The guy was completely out of his depth and the number of yellow cards he issued during the course of the match was a joke.  He made a mockery of the entire game and I hope never to see this individual take charge of another match of this importance ever again.  Tyrone referees often come in for a lot of flak but there are none of them worse than Mr Walsh.

Now that I have got all that off my chest, I am really looking forward to the double bill in Casement tomorrow.  The weather will certainly be doing its best to spoil things but it should be an interesting afternoon all the same. 

Errigal actually go into the senior clash against Ballinderry in a nice position.  They may not have impressed too many in the opening round at Omagh last week, but they did win a close and hard fought affair without playing well.  Ballinderry, on the other hand, were hardly tested against Mayobridge and the tag of firm favourites may not rest that easily with them.  I expect Errigal to be all fired up for what should be another gruelling encounter, although the fact that The Great One may not be 100% fit is a worry for the Tyrone champions.  To date, no one on the Errigal team has taken any great responsibility when he has been absent.  Players like Eoin Gormley must really step up to the mark tomorrow if Errigal are to cause an upset. 

Meanwhile, the Intermediate tie between Stewartstown and Ballymacnab is a tasty little curtain-raiser to the main event.  Both teams play a very attractive brand of football and would appear to evenly matched.  I certainly wouldn't rule out a Tyrone double victory at Casement tomorrow, and how sweet that would be against Derry and Armagh opposition!     
Post by: the green man on November 18, 2006, 10:52:34 PM
What time is the first game at?
Post by: Redhandfan on November 18, 2006, 10:54:28 PM
12.30pm
Post by: the green man on November 18, 2006, 11:01:23 PM
thanks
Post by: Lecale2 on November 19, 2006, 01:13:30 PM
Ulster JFC SEMI-FINALS   (Half time)                      
Naomh Brid (Donegal) 2-07 0-05 Bredagh  (Down) 

12.30 Breffni Park
Post by: ziggysego on November 19, 2006, 01:38:28 PM
Anyone know how to tune into Q101.2 on the internet? Unfortunately I've been down with the cold all weekend and I am unable to make it to the Greencastle v Drumhowan JFC Semi-final. I've tried listening to Q101.2 on the internet before, but it never connects. Does everyone have this problem or am I doing something wrong?
Post by: hows she cutting on November 19, 2006, 02:00:58 PM
same as me, i can't get it to play either
Post by: ziggysego on November 19, 2006, 02:08:45 PM
Greencastle -v- Drumhowan JFC Semi-Final game has been called off due to weather conditions.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on November 19, 2006, 02:33:33 PM
Admit it Zig, you've friends in high places  ;)
Post by: Hereiam on November 19, 2006, 02:35:00 PM
Errigal 0-4 Ballinderry 0-4 18min gone

Errigal 0-5 Ballinderry 0-5 25min gone

One minute of extra time left, Canavan has yet to score with him hitting two wides from play

Half Time 0-5 to 0-5....... not an exciting game so far lets hope for better in the second half

Errigal 0-6 Ballinderry 0-6 41min gone

Errigal 0-6 Ballinderry 0-7 43min gone

Errigal 0-6 Ballinderry 0-8 44min gone

Errigal 0-7 Ballinderry 0-8 46min gone

Errigal 0-8 Ballinderry 0-9 49min gone Canavan gets his first point from a free

Errigal 0-9 Ballinderry 0-9 59min gone 1min additional time

Errigal 0-9 Ballinderry 0-10 time nearly up

Errigal 0-10 Ballinderry 0-10 its a draw Thank god

Post by: ziggysego on November 19, 2006, 02:36:55 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on November 19, 2006, 02:33:33 PM
Admit it Zig, you've friends in high places  ;)

I'll assume you meant that the powers that be saw that I was sick Norf ;)
Post by: ziggysego on November 19, 2006, 03:37:46 PM
Errigal Ciaran -v Ballinderry replay next Sunday in Casement Park. Hopefully the Greencastle -v- Drumhowan will be part of a double header.
Post by: hows she cutting on November 19, 2006, 03:38:17 PM
10 - 10 at Casement

Ballinderry should have had them dead and buried from what my mate told me
Canavan free to level it
Eoin Gormley very impressive with 4 points from play

Clontibret had a very impressive win over Cargin
Title: Stewartstown Harps Semi-Final Results?
Post by: ziggysego on November 19, 2006, 03:54:29 PM
Anyword on how Stewartstown did today?
Post by: ziggysego on November 19, 2006, 04:42:18 PM
I've since heard that the Stewartstown game was a draw as well.
Post by: DownFanatic on November 19, 2006, 04:47:38 PM
 SUNDAY 19 NOVEMBER AIB                 
SFC QUARTER-FINAL REPLAY               
Cargin       0-10 3-08 Clontibret     

AIB SFC SEMI-FINAL                     
Errigal Ciaran 0-10 0-10 Ballinderry *   
* Replay next Sunday                   
IFC SEMI-FINALS                       
Coleraine    0-11 0-08 Belcoo         

Ballymacnab  0-11 0-11 Stewartstn     

JFC SEMI-FINALS                       
Naomh Brid   1-12 0-09 Bredagh         

Greencastle  postponed Drumhowan     
Post by: Over the Bar on November 19, 2006, 05:05:15 PM
Just back from Casement.  Didnt see the opener but came in at the final whistle and Stewartstown fans celebrated like they'd won and were talking about a get out of jail that Houdini would have been proud of.

Very strong wind in the Errigal v Ballinderry game and Errigal did not make the most of the breeze in the first half going in 5 -5.   Referee Seamus McGonigle gave some very dubious decisions all favouring Ballinderry.  On three occasions frees to Errigal were met with the Ballinderry players ruffing it up and on each occasion a throw ball resulted.  How Enda Muldoon stayed on the field is beyond me as he was the first man into every altercation.  Ballinderry had much the better of the first half and spurned a couple of goal chances.  The outfielded Errigal in every department, although Errigal should have undeservedly led at half-time given the number of wides they registered.   A Caolin Teirney point also looked suspiciously wide.

Second half Errigal came out of the blocks like men possessed however their complete dominance of the first 10 minutes only yeilded 1 point and kept them level.    Just like Errigal in the first half, Ballinderry did not use the wind to their advantage and registered a number of long range wides. 

When Ballinderry went 2 up with 10 mins to go its looked like the writing on the wall however a Canavan free and an eventual Eoin Gormly long-range point, following several spurned chances, levelled the game again.   A draw looked like the outcome but when Conleth Gilligan kicked a monster last-minute point from beyond the 45 mtr line it looked like the end for Errigal.   

The referee then on 2 occasions within a minute incensed the Errigal supporters by waving away what looked like legitimate frees within shooting distance.   Then at the death he gave a free from about 40 meters and the incessant protests of the Balinderry players meant he moved it forward twice to about 20 meters out.  PTG doesnt miss these and McGonigle  spared his own blushes following a poor refereeing performance by blowing up as soon as the ball went over the bar.  Severla incidents of striking by both sides resulted in yellows where a red looked the obvious outcome.  Overall a fair result and a great hard-fought game.  Should be a good replay!!
Post by: Mourne Rover on November 19, 2006, 06:09:27 PM
Bredagh eventually lost to St Bride's of Donegal by 2-12 to 0-9. It was a really terrible day at Breffni and St Bride's got two early goals when they had a very strong wind behind them. The first was a flick from a free which could not have been prevented but the second was caused by an unfortunate defensive slip. That left Bredagh chasing the game, with St Bride's, who were a fine side, hitting some super points on the break. Enda Gormley did not have a great day from frees, although he was unlucky not to get a goal before halftime. When the St Bride's keeper made a fanastic save from Conor Owens with ten minutes to go, the game was as good as over. It was all a great adventure for Bredagh, and, with the younger players coming through, back to back promotions and a rattle at the Down intermediate championship is certainly not impossible next year. Overall, they are probably the most improved side in the county and they are not finished yet.
Post by: Lecale2 on November 19, 2006, 06:15:28 PM
Mac Eoghain is right. If this happened it was wrong. Nobody really minds if they disagree with the ref on interpretation, but if the ref doesn't know the rules, there is no excuse.
Post by: ONeill on November 19, 2006, 06:30:12 PM
Ach lads, wee Peter would never have scored from 40m agin the whine with his wee legs.
Post by: ziggysego on November 19, 2006, 06:37:09 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on November 19, 2006, 06:20:32 PM
Surely, there should be an appeal! :D

Spoken like a true Ulsterman ;)
Post by: dodo on November 19, 2006, 06:49:20 PM
Stewartstown match ended up in a big melee. RTE news showed one lad lacing pucs into another bucks side. Looks like there's going to be suspensions etc. Cameras got good bit of it clearly.

Disgraceful stuff.
Post by: Dubh driocht on November 19, 2006, 07:11:19 PM
The Stewartstown Ballymacnab game  had an unfortune ending but it was intermediate stuff in more ways than one. Draws in both games were fair results. I thought Enda Muldoon was known as the Big Easy ?He didn't look like a man who took her easy to me!
Post by: Redhandfan on November 19, 2006, 07:53:36 PM
Despite the very poor weather conditions, there was some very entertaining fare at Casement Park today.  If ever two games deserved to end in a draw, it was these two! 

Ballinderry 0-10 Errigal Ciaran 0-10
There was never any chance of Ballinderry running away with this semi-final and it soon became clear that this clash had all the hallmarks of a draw.  There was never too much between them and, even when underdogs Errigal fell two points behind in the final quarter and were facing into a very strong wind, I always got the impression that they would get back into it.  The first half was a real cat and mouse affair.  It was score for score during those opening thirty minutes, although Ballinderry did look a slightly better team going forward.  The referee certainly didn't do Errigal too many favours during those opening thirty minutes, giving many of the 50/50 decisions Ballinderry's way.  For me, Errigal actually played better against the wind in the second half and their work rate was excellent.  Both teams squandered a number of good chances during this period but Errigal showed great resolve and spirit to come from behind in the closing stages and deservedly earned a replay.  Contrary to previous posts on this game, this was not an overly physical or dirty contest.  In fact, I expected it to be much more keenly contested.  It was still a good game and it is difficult to know which side has more room for improvement.  Another close contest should be on the cards next week.  Best for Errigal were full back Cormac McGinley, wing backs Davy Harte and Brian Mullin, and the enigmatic Eoin Gormley who must have been reading my match preview last night and really stood up to the mark in midfield and attack!  Meanwhile, captain Conleth Gilligan had an immense match for Ballinderry at centre half forward.

Ballymacnab 0-11 Stewartstown 0-11
Tyrone Intermediate champions Stewartstown don't do dull!  They were involved in another classic confrontation today against a very lively Ballymacnab side in the Casement Park curtain-raiser.  Just how Stewartstown managed to pull this one out of the fire I will never know!  They played second fiddle to a fast moving and economical Ballymacnab outfit for most of the first half but things appeared to turn in their favour just before the break when the Armagh champions had a defender sent off.  However, a number of missed opportunities, including a couple of simple frees and a penalty miss by Peter Armour, saw Stewartstown trail by three points at the interval (0-5 to 0-8).  Although Stewartstown still had the advantage of a strong wind on their backs for the second half, they were dealt a major blow with the dismissal (two yellow cards) of their star forward Gareth Devlin.  A Brian McCone inspired Ballymacnab raced into a five point lead in the third quarter and, with Stewartstown continuing to misfire in attack and waste several more good scoring chances, there looked to be no way back for them.  Amazingly, though, the Tyrone men somehow managed to stage a remarkable late comeback to earn a second bite of the cherry.  Armour made up for his earlier misses to instigate the Stewartstown revival and, given the circumstances, it was no wonder their players and supporters celebrated big time at the final whistle.  They had come back from the dead and fully deserved their late equaliser.  Unfortunately, there were some nasty scenes at the final whistle as the Ballymacnab players became embroiled with a number of Stewartstown subs as they made their way into the dressing room area.  It was probably just as well the Stewartstown team itself had stayed on the field to do a 'cool-down' and were prevented from joining the mayhem by the Casement Park stewards.  Had they been able to gain access to the subs enclosure as the fighting was taking place, it could have been a disaster.  The replay next weekend should be very interesting!

Post by: sam03/05 on November 19, 2006, 08:12:41 PM
have to say the stewards at casement did an excellent job today in preventing the stewartstown team from getting into the stand and thus joining the brawl. There was only about 5 or 6 of them (at the gate) but they really did an excellent job. well done
Post by: ONeill on November 19, 2006, 09:55:49 PM
Excellent reporting again RHF. Radio Ulster also hinted at some dubious frees given against Glencull in the second half. Glad to say Errigal proved me wrong. I thought  Ballinderry by at least 4.
Post by: Forgot me Boots on November 19, 2006, 09:59:53 PM
What happened in the stands in Casement? was there a mass brawl between the fans. and i use that term loosely, or just a few idiots ruining the day for both clubs? I didn't hear any mention of it  on the UTV news
Post by: ziggysego on November 19, 2006, 10:40:35 PM
Any word when the Greencastle -v- Drumhowan will be played and where yet?
Title: Ulster Council to probe Casement brawl
Post by: ziggysego on November 19, 2006, 10:53:37 PM
Ulster Council to probe Casement brawl
Sunday, 19 November 2006 7:49  

The Ulster Council is set to launch a probe into the ugly scenes which followed today's provincial Club IFC semi-final between Ballymacnab of Armagh and Tyrone champions Stewartstown at Casement Park.

Supporters became involved in and around the tunnel area after players had traded blows following the final whistle.

The Tyrone side had battled their way back from five points behind to draw level at 0-11 each and earn a replay, but a thrilling game was marred by the incidents which followed.

Ulster Council Secretary Danny Murphy said a special meeting is likely to be called this week.

'We'll have to await the referee's report, but the scenes were a disgrace,' said Murphy.

'The Ulster Council will take a very dim view of it, and I believe that we probably will cause a special meeting.

'And there could be some very serious decisions made,' he added.

Sourced RTÉ.ie: http://www.rte.ie/sport/2006/1119/casement.html
Post by: Over the Bar on November 19, 2006, 11:54:04 PM
QuoteRadio Ulster also hinted at some dubious frees given against Glencull in the second half

::) sad anti-Errigal posting! lol
Post by: EC Unique on November 20, 2006, 11:28:40 AM
ONeill You are showing yourself up as an ignorant jealous fool.  :-\
Post by: hows she cutting on November 20, 2006, 11:45:39 AM
i would imagine he is only having a bit a craic lads

take a chill pill
Post by: ONeill on November 20, 2006, 03:56:23 PM
Holy Moses! I'm a big fan of EC and have followed them around the country. Some sensitive patrons around. On the plus side, now that I've found a weakness....
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 20, 2006, 06:32:37 PM
Did I miss the coverage on the  UTV News?

At least I know what the Belfast Giants are at  >:(
Post by: Orior on November 20, 2006, 07:32:42 PM
Lucky you missed the BBC coverage. They gave pride and place to the punch up after the Stewartstown v Ballymcnab match.

I'm interest though, were there any Stewarts or McNabbs playing for either team? Is Stewartstown an Irish village renamed by the planters ala Londonderry or Draperstown?

Sounds like a classic Englishtown v Irishtown  ;)
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 20, 2006, 07:35:16 PM
Quote from: Orior on November 20, 2006, 07:32:42 PM
Lucky you missed the BBC coverage. They gave pride and place to the punch up after the Stewartstown v Ballymcnab match.

I seen it.  I didn't think it was that big of a "disgrace"  :-\
Post by: slow corner back on November 20, 2006, 09:37:44 PM
Fair play to Coleraine for making their way unnoticed into the intermediate final. As someone who works in the area it is not difficult to see what they are up against in starting a club and keeping it going. They also won the intermediate hurling in Derry this year, going really well as an advancing club. Off the field they have started building a pitch despite the best efforts of Gregory Campbell MP, well done to all involved.
Post by: Hungry Exile on November 20, 2006, 09:46:27 PM
I think to BBC is a joke the way they rant about "the brawl" at Casement

In the Ireland V Australia rugby match there were as many handbags thrown by the players during the game & resulted in 3 players getting a 10 minute rest & it was never mentioned.  

In saying that "Tin town" was always famous for handbags!!

>:(

I went to the Errigal V Ballinderry game.  I thought Errigal looked the hungrier team with the Shamrock forwards working more of scraps for most of the game.  They only got it going for about 5/10 minutes in the second half, scoring 3 relatively quick points without reply.  They did the same against Mayobridge at the start of the second half & Mayobridge folded - Errigal didn't.  Harte at half back was my man of the match.  He kept pushing forward with the ball & delivered good ball into the danger zone.  Errigal deserved the draw, but I think the ref wanted the Ulster Council to get an extra gate as I thought dissent only merited 14 metres - it looked more like he gave Peter the Great 25 metres at least.  In saying that the ref handled it well considering the conditions.  The body language from both sets of players appeared to suggest they were more relieved at not having lost as opposed to not having won.  

It was a game that any neutral would have enjoyed & will stand both teams well whoever gets to the final.  Maybe Ballinderry read too many post match reports after the Mayobridge match!  

I'm lookin forward to the replay.

Post by: SlimShady on November 21, 2006, 09:09:00 AM
No complaints from Cargin on Sunday, beaten by a better team on the day. Clontibret adapted to the horrid conditions much better than we did and moved the ball well at times. The scoreline flatters them a little as we dominated for parts of the game but failed to score.

They're a young and fit team who could cause Cross problems though I personally reckon Cross will be a wee bit too cute for them.
Post by: Bensars on November 21, 2006, 11:51:46 AM
Quote from: Orior on November 20, 2006, 07:32:42 PM
Hardly suprising given that their head of sport  ( Sherlock Holmes sidekick !! ;) ) wanted to remove from the schedule   the televised  mac rory cup finals as well on St paddys day. To say theres obsession with promoting soccer and denegrading gaelic games, would be something of an understatement. They should introduce the sports bulletin with " Black is the clolour"
Post by: Hank Everlast on November 21, 2006, 01:36:06 PM
Jeepers there definetly making an awful fuss about that skirmish at the nab match?! I believe it started as one of the nab boys hit one of the stewartstown men a wee slap on the ass as he was leaving the pitch and wat resulted was handbags.... sure im near positive not one player has a mark on them!
Title: Slim
Post by: Maximus Marillius on November 21, 2006, 01:40:04 PM
Certainly to cute for ye. Ur a bad case...saw u on Sunday ;D
Post by: SlimShady on November 21, 2006, 01:42:24 PM
good for you Max!! why didnt you wait about and introduce yourself?!

are you blaming me for the goals???
Post by: Maximus Marillius on November 21, 2006, 01:50:54 PM
I was that disappointed that you had lost, I couldnt face anyone ;) :D
Post by: SlimShady on November 21, 2006, 01:55:54 PM
travelled the whole cut to Clones on that dreary day to see us get beat? more fool you!!  ;D

Post by: bingobus on November 21, 2006, 01:56:59 PM
Quote from: SlimShady on November 21, 2006, 09:09:00 AM
No complaints from Cargin on Sunday, beaten by a better team on the day. Clontibret adapted to the horrid conditions much better than we did and moved the ball well at times. The scoreline flatters them a little as we dominated for parts of the game but failed to score.

They're a young and fit team who could cause Cross problems though I personally reckon Cross will be a wee bit too cute for them.

Would agree with that. They never missed in front of goal and got scores at the right times. Ye had a good ten minute spell at start of second half but couldn't get a score. They broke from their full back line and scored a goal as good as you'd see anywhere. Thing you got something on the shot but it made its way over the line. Game was over after that. They looked good and were actually missing 5 regulars. Don't think they'd have the strenght in depth to go any further.
Post by: SlimShady on November 21, 2006, 02:07:35 PM
yeah, but if they are injury free after that game they could cause a few problems- a young fit team as i said and they move the ball well even in those conditions!

I thought i could have had the 3rd one, just couldnt get enough on it and watched it trickle over. sick!!
Post by: hows she cutting on November 21, 2006, 02:29:18 PM
who d'yall fancy for the senior now, Cross sitting watching the remaining 3 last weekend

A Kernan will be a big loss for them though
think Errigal might just pip Ballinderry this weekend, but thats just my opinion
Post by: SlimShady on November 21, 2006, 02:31:10 PM
i fancy the shamrocks to win it and go all the way. Cross may give them most problems.
Post by: milltown row on November 21, 2006, 02:41:32 PM
Found it strange that you were beaten by so much, thought you would have won that game at least. Talking to some of the lads in the club on Sunday after your result and some were happy some never said anything but, what they did say is that they want to get back into the Championship next year, some names being banded about for our management team at the minute nothing solid though, but the lads are hungry. Should be a good championship next year. Is the current Cargin management staying?
Post by: SlimShady on November 21, 2006, 02:48:54 PM
I'd imagine the management will stay, why wouldnt they? Remember we're a team who were beaten by a shite Portglenone team last year and to win the County Championship this year was excellent coming from that.

no complaints about Sunday, as i said-they deserved to win though the scoreline flattered them.

Not really bothered about whether or not St Galls were glad to hear about us losing either.

AK has a broken wrist as far as I know and I also heard Francie is carrying a knock. And your right about them being the team to beat, any team with a history like Cross have in that Chamionship have to be seen as the main threat. I still fancy Ballinderry.
Post by: Over the Bar on November 21, 2006, 03:53:08 PM
History shows that Cross go weak at the knees at the sight of the mighy men from Errigal!  ;D
Post by: full back on November 21, 2006, 04:04:47 PM
Yeah Cross go weak.
The thing is when Cross decide to go the whole hog-they go the whole hog. (3 times I believe)
Post by: EC Unique on November 21, 2006, 04:21:38 PM
I believe Errigal have played cross 5 times in ulster club and lost none! :o ;)
Post by: full back on November 21, 2006, 04:38:29 PM
And after beating Cross, how many times have Errigal went on to win the big one ::) ;D
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 21, 2006, 04:48:24 PM
EC should worry about Ballinderry before even thinking about Cross.  I would say that is they do play only 7-8 of the Cross team will have played against EC before so it will have no bearing on it.
Post by: hows she cutting on November 21, 2006, 04:53:23 PM
is the final due to be played on the 3rd December?
Post by: uselessfootballer on November 22, 2006, 09:41:05 AM
Any word yet from the Ulster Council meeting last night on the wee bit of trouble at Casement on Sunday?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 22, 2006, 10:41:38 AM
Ulster Council halt Intermediate Championship
Wednesday, 22 November 2006 9:07 

Casement Park was the scene for a mass brawl between Stewartstown and Ballymacnab 

The Ulster IFC championship is on hold for the present as a result of the incidents in Casement Park last Sunday.

At a meeting of the Activities Committee of the Ulster Council in Belfast on Tuesday night it was decided to set up an investigation into the incidents that happened at the end of the game.

It was further decided that the re-fixing of the semi-final between Stewartstown and Ballymacnab would be adjourned until the investigation committee has completed its deliberations and all matters relating to the incidents that occurred have been dealt with.

Both clubs have been informed of this.
Post by: Spiritof98 on November 22, 2006, 11:06:51 AM
Why has this comp been halted, if this was a senior game it would have been dealt with already and the games could go ahead. No doubt Greennan and Murphy will hand out massive bans. Always seems the the lesser the grade the more hasty the the punishments are.
Title: Intermediate Halted
Post by: full back on November 22, 2006, 11:23:33 AM
Yet another mess from the Ulster Council.So the remaining team (think Coleraine) have to sit & wait for a decision to be made!!
It is hardly their fault, yet now we are almost at the end of November and they have to continue to train not knowing who or indeed when they will next play.Farce
Post by: bingobus on November 22, 2006, 01:23:14 PM
Greenan is some idiot.

At the Clontibret/Cargin replay on Sunday the Cragin subs went out on the field at half time to warm up. After a few minutes, Greenan landed pitchside and shouted ordering the players off. As the arrived at the sideline he could be seen counting the number of subs on the pitch. Apparently this will result in a fine for cargin for each player on the field.

Is this correct? Slim?
Post by: SlimShady on November 22, 2006, 01:40:47 PM
I have no idea, normally I would  :P but I was in the changing rooms at half time. The subs were just coming off when we went back out anyhow, never heard any chat of it afterwards-never heard much chat in fact  :-[

The pitch was a fecking bog anyhow, total parcel of shite. Though I dont think we'd have won if we'd even played on Croker on Sunday! :-\
Post by: Hank Everlast on November 22, 2006, 01:48:53 PM
Wat times the throw in for the cross v Clontiberet game on sunday?? is it being televised?!
Post by: bingobus on November 22, 2006, 01:51:54 PM
Quote from: SlimShady on November 22, 2006, 01:40:47 PM
I have no idea, normally I would  :P but I was in the changing rooms at half time. The subs were just coming off when we went back out anyhow, never heard any chat of it afterwards-never heard much chat in fact  :-[

The pitch was a fecking bog anyhow, total parcel of shite. Though I dont think we'd have won if we'd even played on Croker on Sunday! :-\

The subs continued to warm up with ball but had to use the sideline (stand side of the white line).

Pitch did look bad and this is after it was closed over last winter/spring to get the drainage fixed.
Post by: SlimShady on November 22, 2006, 01:55:54 PM
we were told to warm up 5 mins before throw in BEHIND the goals! WTF?! Its a brutal bad pitch, terrible. Makes our old field look good.

The training pitch down the road had a better surface. The goalmouths were a foot deep in sand as well. (no fly comments please!!!)  :P
Post by: milltown row on November 22, 2006, 01:58:27 PM
we had no problems with it last year ;D
Post by: SlimShady on November 22, 2006, 02:00:05 PM
We had no problems with you this year either  ;)
Post by: milltown row on November 22, 2006, 02:07:03 PM
couldn't resist ;) anyway best pitch in Ulster is Casement, the best playing surface and maybe used the most. Omaghs not bad either
Post by: SlimShady on November 22, 2006, 02:11:10 PM
Definitely, Casement is as close to a perfect surface as you'll get in November!

though the stewards up there are tossers too  :-\
Post by: EC Unique on November 23, 2006, 12:53:44 PM
Pat Mc Aneney to ref Errigal B-derry Replay on Sunday
Post by: snappiered on November 23, 2006, 02:09:42 PM
When is the Ulster club Senior final scheduled for?
Post by: Mid Mon on November 23, 2006, 02:24:54 PM
13:45

GAA Beo
Live - AIB Connacht Club Football Final between St. Brigid's (Roscommon) and Corofin (Galway). Deferred showing of the AIB Leinster Club Hurling Final between Birr (Offaly) and Ballyhale Shamrocks (Kilkenny. Followed by the deferred showing of the VHI All-Ireland Ladies Senior Club Football Championship Final between Donaghmoyne (Monaghan) and Carnacon (Mayo).
[
Post by: Hereiam on November 24, 2006, 09:09:42 AM
Well guys call it. who is going to win the replay between Errigal & B' Derry. I think B' Derry will end up teaching Errigal a lesson in football, they will be two strong for them.
Post by: EC Unique on November 24, 2006, 09:26:57 AM
Looking at Errigal's team sheet, I doubt if anyone could 'teach them a lesson in football'    ::) ::) :D :D
Post by: Hank Everlast on November 24, 2006, 10:18:33 AM
have to agree, i can see b'derry wining by 4 or 5 next time.....
Post by: Hungry Exile on November 24, 2006, 03:37:22 PM
Bookies rarely get it wrong - From Eastwoods

Ulster Club Championship           
                         Draw         
4/5 Ballinderry      6/1       Errigal Ciaran 5/4 Sun 13.45
2/9 Crossmaglen   7/1       Clontibret 4/1 Sun 14.00
Post by: SlimShady on November 24, 2006, 03:42:38 PM
Do they not? They had us installed at 2/9 to win our County Final. We drew. They also had us installed as odds on favs to beat Clontibret, we drew. We were odds on again last week, we were stuffed.

So to say they rarely get it wrong is...well, bollocks. 3 weeks in a row they got it wrong.
Post by: snappiered on November 24, 2006, 04:14:57 PM
When is the Ulster Club Final (Senior) set for anyone know?
Post by: Hungry Exile on November 24, 2006, 09:42:33 PM
Quote from: SlimShady on November 24, 2006, 03:42:38 PM
Do they not? They had us installed at 2/9 to win our County Final. We drew. They also had us installed as odds on favs to beat Clontibret, we drew. We were odds on again last week, we were stuffed.

Slim,
I had hoped Toome would go further this year - but the feedback I heard from back home "you beat yourselves."  The county final you went to it assuming it was a fashion parade & only had to turn up - then after winning that by a whisker you didn't learn - rumour has it some of the team went on a 3 day bender before the first Clontibret match during which your goalie thought he was in Highlander & had to slay all around him.  By the time the second Clontibret team came about the law of averages had not taken account of the mentality of the lough shore!!

Post by: ziggysego on November 26, 2006, 12:35:07 PM
Ulster Junior Championship Semi - Final.

Greencastle (Tyrone) 1-02 1-04 Drumhowan (Monaghan)
Half Time

Second Half

Greencastle have levelled with Drumhowan. Do not have the score.
Post by: ziggysego on November 26, 2006, 01:17:14 PM
Greencastle are into the Ulster Junior Final after beating Drumhowan on scoreline of 1-07 to 1-08.
Post by: Flat Hedgehog on November 26, 2006, 01:19:10 PM
Congrats to Greencastle.
Post by: ziggysego on November 26, 2006, 01:21:14 PM
Buggering lingering cold has kept me away from the game. Bugger it all!!
Post by: Carmen Stateside on November 26, 2006, 01:25:36 PM
Well done Greencastle! Going all the way Zigs! ;)
Post by: ziggysego on November 26, 2006, 01:26:52 PM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on November 26, 2006, 01:25:36 PM
Well done Greencastle! Going all the way Zigs! ;)

Hopefully we can emulate our Parishian neighbours ;)
Post by: Carmen Stateside on November 26, 2006, 01:39:15 PM
Nice way to do it to!!!! Just listening to Q!  :)
Post by: ziggysego on November 26, 2006, 01:53:32 PM
Errigal: 1-01
Ballinderry: 0-00

----------------------------------

Ballinderry: 0-03
Post by: never kickt a ball on November 26, 2006, 01:59:07 PM
Canavan strikes again!
Try following link for intermittent commentary

http://www.q101west.fm/q101/new/player/audio.php
Post by: Carmen Stateside on November 26, 2006, 02:00:46 PM
Gilligan seems to be giving bother! Good player!
Post by: Carmen Stateside on November 26, 2006, 02:04:25 PM
Get back to the bloody game!!! >:( uninterupted my ass!!
Post by: Lecale2 on November 26, 2006, 02:05:25 PM
Ulster Club re-play latest

Ballinderry: 0-05
Post by: never kickt a ball on November 26, 2006, 02:07:13 PM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on November 26, 2006, 02:04:25 PM
Get back to the bloody game!!! >:( uninterupted my ass!!

I said intermittent big rock.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on November 26, 2006, 02:08:09 PM
No Paddy Hunter had said uninterupted at the start og game!!  Relax!! :-\
Post by: never kickt a ball on November 26, 2006, 02:10:01 PM
apologies  Carmen I thought that but only after I posted
Post by: Carmen Stateside on November 26, 2006, 02:17:09 PM
Ach never worry :) this Paddy mans hard to listen too!! :'(
Post by: ziggysego on November 26, 2006, 02:21:38 PM
Errigal: 2-02
Ballinderry: 0-07
Post by: Carmen Stateside on November 26, 2006, 02:23:21 PM
Any word on the Cross game??
Post by: ziggysego on November 26, 2006, 02:27:14 PM
Errigal: 2-03
Ballinderry: 0-09
Half-Time

Crossmaglen: 1-04
Clontibret: 0-02
Post by: keadygal on November 26, 2006, 03:17:29 PM
Whats the latest on Cross-clontibret now ziggy
Post by: never kickt a ball on November 26, 2006, 03:22:21 PM
1-8 to 0-8 for cross keady gal
Post by: Bogball XV on November 26, 2006, 03:23:10 PM
Ballinderry 1.15 EC 3.7 result
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 26, 2006, 03:32:12 PM
Crossmaglen 1-09 0-11 Clontibret (result)
Post by: keadygal on November 26, 2006, 03:32:35 PM
Any sign of a clontibret goal yet???
Post by: SouthArmaghBandit on November 26, 2006, 06:15:50 PM
Well done Cross but Ballinderry will be big favorites in the final.
Post by: Redhandfan on November 26, 2006, 06:44:37 PM
More excellent entertainment at Casement Park today with another two very close and exciting ties.  Thankfully, conditions were also much better than last week and there was a big crowd in place by the time the senior clash got underway.

Ballinderry 1-15 Errigal Ciaran 3-7
No arguments here....the best team won.  I was hoping for an Errigal victory but have to say that Ballinderry deserved their two point win.  The Tyrone men failed to capitalise on an excellent start, leading 1-1 to 0-0, and it was Ballinderry who controlled the midfield sector for much of the first half and kicked some superb long range points to seize the initiative during this period.  Peter (The Great One) and Daisy McDermott were by far and away Errigal's two most threatening forwards and their goals in the first half helped keep the Ballygawley side in contention.  Although Errigal were level at half-time, they were in trouble in a lot of places.  Ballinderry captain Conleth Gilligan had another outstanding match and gave the normally reliable Cormac McGinley a torrid time during the opening thirty minutes.  The decision to play Gilligan at full forward proved a masterstroke as he exposed Cormac's lack of pace.  The Errigal management were at fault in not making a switch early on...a more tenacious and tighter marking defender was needed for Gilligan.  That said, Ballinderry was winning the lion's share of possession at midfield and were more capable of landing long range points than their opponents.  Ultimately, this game was won and lost midway through the second half when some very slack marking allowed Ballinderry wing forward Darren Conway through for an easy goal and, moments later, Errigal's Pascal Canavan was shown a straight red card for stupidly striking out at one of the Ballinderry players who had provoked the attack with an off the ball shoulder into Pascal's chest.  The same Ballinderry player then fell like a sack of spuds when given a clip by Pascal and stayed on the ground for several minutes.  Unfortunately, a very good Ballinderry display was soured somewhat by the constant play-acting of several of their players.  It was only when they were six points down and one man down that Errigal actually started to win the midfield battle and they staged a spirited revival towards the end, culminating in Mark Harte's penalty kick which left just one point the difference with still a minute left to play.  Moments earlier, Davy Harte (who had a poor game today) could have had a goal but his shot was brilliantly saved by the Ballinderry keeper.  Having awarded Errigal that late penalty, referee Pat McEneaney then turned in Ballinderry's favour by awrding them two very handy frees at the end.  However, Ballinderry were the more balanced team throughout and fully merited their win.  They should give Crossmaglen their fill of it next Sunday in what should be a cracking decider back at Casement.

Greencastle 1-8 Drumhowan 1-7
What a finish to this very enjoyable Junior Semi-Final....it might be one of the most worn out cliches in sport but if ever a team 'snatched victory from the jaws of defeat' it was Tyrone champions Greencastle today!  Sean Teague's men had trailed for most of this Casement curtain-raiser and, for long periods, it looked as if their wayward shooting would result in an undeserved defeat.  However, they came good at precisely the right time in front of goal to grab a famous one point win.  Their winning score, deep into injury-time at the end of the match, caused the stand at Casement Park to shudder!  It was a long range effort which slipped through the fingers of the poor Drumhowan goalkeeper and bobbled over the crossbar.....dramatic stuff indeed.  It was tough on Drumhowan who had led for most of the contest but, in truth, Greencastle were the slightly better side.  The green and whites enjoyed the bulk of possession all through but couldn't put the finishing touches to their good play and squandered many good scoring opportunities, including two clear-cut goal chances in the first half.  Drumhowan, on the other hand, made most of their scoring chances count - in much the same way as they did in the quarter-final when they defeated Armagh champions An Port Mor.  Drumhowan led 1-4 to 0-2 towards the end of the first half but a powerful goal by big Greencastle midfielder Enda Clarke right on the stroke of half-time helped keep his side in the hunt.  Clarke proved to be one of the major driving forces behind Greencastle's challenge.  He is a big guy whose high fielding and powerful runs were a feature of the match.  I believe he is still quite young and Sean Teague reckons he should be drafted on to the County squad in the near future.  On this showing, Clarke should certainly be given his chance to impress at Tyrone trials.  Although the Monaghan men continued to stay ahead for much of the second half and looked to have done enough to secure victory, Greencastle somehow found their range in front of goal late in the game to win the day and give our renowned poster ziggysego something to celebrate!  Greencastle will now meet Naomh Brid of Donegal in the Final.  

Post by: Orior on November 26, 2006, 07:01:02 PM
Congrats ziggyego!
Post by: cville on November 26, 2006, 09:01:22 PM
Is Casement a defo next Sunday?
Post by: armaghniac on November 26, 2006, 09:18:31 PM
The Casement venue was announced at the end of the game in Breffni. Ballinderry will fancy their chances if Cross' ease off the gas as they did in the second half today.
Post by: cville on November 26, 2006, 09:23:49 PM
Thanks for that - if they get a day like today there shoule be a good 10,000 at it...
Post by: never kickt a ball on November 26, 2006, 09:28:25 PM
Once again RHF great reports. I could almost feel the casement stand shaking. PS Carmen Paddy Hunter is a legend around Tyrone. A civil lad who's very approachable.  :)
Post by: Square Ball on November 26, 2006, 09:42:27 PM
Yip

great reports on both games, i wonder where Ziggy is?

Will Casement be hosting the SFC and the JFC next Sunday?
Post by: Tyrones own on November 26, 2006, 10:30:52 PM

Ziggy is Probably on a well deserved session, Well done Greencastle..
Post by: Fionntamhnach on November 26, 2006, 10:35:27 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on November 26, 2006, 09:42:27 PM
Yip

Probably pissed as a skunk in Eddies right now...
Post by: Hungry Exile on November 27, 2006, 12:02:53 AM
Quote from: Redhandfan on November 26, 2006, 06:44:37 PM
More excellent entertainment at Casement Park today with another two very close and exciting ties.  Thankfully, conditions were also much better than last week and there was a big crowd in place by the time the senior clash got underway.

Ballinderry 1-15 Errigal Ciaran 3-7
 ... The same Ballinderry player then fell like a sack of spuds ...

Redhandfan,
In think you are a bit hard on the Ballinderry lads going down.  I should say that I don't condone the behaviour & should warrant a straight red card if caught, giving the culprit a month on the bench to dwell on their actions.  However I don't think a bit if theatricals is isolated to Derry footballers .  If memory serves me right I remember in the late 90's a certain TV clip that got played again & again of Peter the Great smiling & giving a cheeky wink to one of his collleagues just after getting a man sent for an early shower - if I'm not mistaken it was a Derry man!!!

Was at the game today & it was as good an exhibition of football that has seen this year at either club or county level.  There were many positives - the sun was shining, no wind to talk of & the best playing surface in Ulster at this time of year.  Overall it was played at a county tempo & the ref allowed it to flow well - he couldn't do anything about the sending off as he was working on the direction of an umpire.

Canavan scored the first goal, passed for the second & it was his quick mind that got the penalty for the third.  Add to that his usual run of points from play (both feet) and a few frees and you could see why he is without doubt the greatest footballer ever to play in Ulster & possibly Ireland.  The problem for Errigal was they couldn't get enough of ball in to him.  With the exception of the first 5 minutes Ballinderry controlled the midfield battle with an exhibition of high fielding.  Muldoon was a persistent problem in the first half & was then assisted well by Harney, McGuckin & Conway in the second.  Gilligan gave McGinley a roasting in the first half.  When Pascal got the line it seemed to get Errigal going but they appeared to panic wanting to go for goals towards the end when points would have been the safer option.  Canavan however knew to take the points (first from the left & then from the right) & the chance of goal would come.  I had my doubts on the penalty at the time & looking at it on the TV tonite it appeared that the  Errigal forward might just have been stooping down to pick up an Amateur Dramatics membership card of his own.

I enjoyed the game - too good teams that gave their best.  While it will have helped Ballinderry to get 2 good matches I don't think they will have the power or depth in panel to match Cross next Sunday.

Post by: charlie stubbs on November 27, 2006, 10:26:57 AM
would hardly say ballinderry "will be big favourites" saying cross have been favourites the whole way through,though i like the look of ballinderry myself esp if  a kernan doesnt make the game
Post by: ziggysego on November 27, 2006, 06:41:43 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on November 26, 2006, 09:42:27 PM

I've heard the game will probably be in Clones. Hope so and not Casement Park. Hate that place. There's also a whisper of Celtic Park as well.

Quote from: Tyrones own on November 26, 2006, 10:30:52 PM
Ziggy is Probably on a well deserved session, Well done Greencastle..

Quote from: Fionntamhnach on November 26, 2006, 10:35:27 PM
Probably pissed as a skunk in Eddies right now...

Afraid not lads. Greencastle's Annual Christmas Bazaar was on last night and I was working at that. No time for celebrations. Hopefully there'll be calls for celebrations next Sunday.

An added sweetener is, Sunday is also my birthday!! ;)
Post by: ExiledGael on November 27, 2006, 06:48:04 PM
Afraid it's back to Casement this Sunday, seen the fixtures press release and both games set for Casement on Sunday. First game 12.15pm, ref JJ Cleary (Derry), and senior final 2pm, ref J McQuillan (Cavan)
Post by: ziggysego on November 27, 2006, 06:51:49 PM
Quote from: ExiledGael on November 27, 2006, 06:48:04 PM
Afraid it's back to Casement this Sunday

Frick!

Thanks for letting me know Exiled.
Post by: slow corner back on November 27, 2006, 10:00:58 PM
Given the weather recently would you not be better off in casement than the swimming pool which is Clones. Ask slim shady about the game they had in clones three weeks ago.
Post by: armaghniac on November 27, 2006, 10:40:00 PM
QuoteAfraid it's back to Casement this Sunday, seen the fixtures press release and both games set for Casement on Sunday. First game 12.15pm, ref JJ Cleary (Derry), and senior final 2pm, ref J McQuillan (Cavan)

With all this fancy floodlighting, why don't they turn it on and just play the games at a traditional 2pm and 3.30?
Post by: SlimShady on November 28, 2006, 09:04:41 AM
Quote from: slow corner back on November 27, 2006, 10:00:58 PM
Given the weather recently would you not be better off in casement than the swimming pool which is Clones. Ask slim shady about the game they had in clones three weeks ago.

shithole, marshy bog. Casements yer only spot-quality arena.
Post by: ONeill on November 28, 2006, 07:10:43 PM
Congratulations to Ballinderry. Errigal stretched them further than I imagined and if they'd won that last kick-out God (no pun) knows what would've happened. I see the Glencull contingent are fearing the worse regarding a double Canavan retirement. That'd be a sad day altogether.

Anyway, best of luck to Ballinderry in the final. Do Tyrone proud.
Post by: Orior on November 28, 2006, 10:30:02 PM
Right. I'm going along to the final and I want to see some rules observed:

Follow these simple guidelines and everyone will have a good day out.

PS. Will yis all drive carefully to and from the match.
Post by: ONeill on November 28, 2006, 10:32:58 PM
Expect to see Noel Thompson castigating Orior live on Newsline at roughly 6.50 next Monday.
Post by: Orior on November 28, 2006, 10:34:51 PM
Carefull O'Neill, I have special powers.
Post by: ziggysego on November 28, 2006, 10:45:26 PM
Quote from: Orior on November 28, 2006, 10:34:51 PM
Carefull O'Neill, I have special powers.

special needs :p
Post by: screenexile on November 28, 2006, 10:50:34 PM
QuoteDo Tyrone proud.

I'm so tempted to lower myself to respond to this ... but I wont!
Post by: ziggysego on November 29, 2006, 12:32:10 AM
Picture's of Greencastle's win over Drumhowan (Monaghan) in the Ulster Junior Championship Semi Final at Casement Park, Belfast on Sunday 26th November 2006 are now available to see on the Greencastle website.
Post by: hows she cutting on December 01, 2006, 02:00:27 PM
surprised there ain't been a bit of chat about the Ballinderry V Cross game

I'm expecting a great game, looks like Bellew is not fit to start, wonder will Gilligan start at FF again?
Will Muldoon have the same influence that he had against Errigal.

Would be some effort if Cross could win this one with the injuries they have

Paddy Power have
Crossmaglen 11 - 10 v Ballinderry 21 - 20       
with the draw at 5 - 1   
almost inseperable, fancy Ballinderry myself but would not be surprised in the slightest to see land another Ulster title, would it be there 5th in 10 years?
Post by: Hungry Exile on December 01, 2006, 10:32:53 PM
Eastwood bookies odds             
Evs Crossmaglen 6/1 Ballinderry Evs Sun 14.00

This game appears to be just too close to call!!

The weather will have a big bearing on the game.  Current forecast is strong winds so it could be grinding display of attrition as opposed to a spectacle

I'm not familiar with the ref.  Does anyone have any comments on his approach?
Post by: DrinkingHarp on December 02, 2006, 05:29:23 AM
Is the cross game going to be live on the radio or net?
Post by: Armagh Exile on December 02, 2006, 09:09:13 PM
The game is broadcast "live" on Radio Ulster Medium Wave 1341.
Post by: ziggysego on December 02, 2006, 09:18:12 PM
Will the Junior game also be carried on any radio stations? Even Q101 or Highland Radio?
Post by: ONeill on December 02, 2006, 09:35:48 PM
Good luck to Greencastle tomorrow. They'll be blazing a trail the Hill will follow next year. Let's hope Ballinderry also make it a Red Hand day in Casement.
Post by: ITOB on December 03, 2006, 12:51:51 AM
Wishing Ballinderry St Brid and St Brid best for today.
Hope the weather dosn't spoil it too much.
Post by: Redhandfan on December 03, 2006, 12:58:25 PM
Junior Final
It is looking good so far for Greencastle.  They are leading 1-4 to 0-3 at half-time and they have just played against a very strong wind.  Sean Teague's men were helped in that first half by a rather fortunate Terry McDermott goal.  ziggysego has one hand on the cup.....
Post by: burnsybhoy1985 on December 03, 2006, 12:59:08 PM
Does anyone know if the Cross V Shamrocks game on tg4 today????
Post by: never kickt a ball on December 03, 2006, 01:03:19 PM
Quoteziggysego has one hand on the cup.....
It's not over til it's over red hand.
Heard last night it was on burnsy but I can't confiirm it. Radio Ulster has it def and Q101 west
Post by: burnsybhoy1985 on December 03, 2006, 01:06:20 PM
Should be a good game, but Casement will just be too god damn cold today, so it would be great if it was on tv.  ;D  Its a hard game to call, but i fancy the shamrrocks.
Post by: never kickt a ball on December 03, 2006, 01:12:19 PM
Yes it's similar conditions to the errigal v ballin draw. The wind does tend to ruin the game though they scored 11 pts each in that game. Do fancy Balinderry but to be fair to Cross I haven't watched them this year so I don't know what they are like.
Post by: Redhandfan on December 03, 2006, 01:17:14 PM
Quote from: burnsybhoy1985 on December 03, 2006, 12:59:08 PM
Does anyone know if the Cross V Shamrocks game on tg4 today????

Unless there has been a very late change to their schedule, the answer is no.  The Ulster Final was originally to be played last Sunday so TG4 had two other games scheduled for today.
Post by: burnsybhoy1985 on December 03, 2006, 01:23:25 PM
Was on the TG4 website there, it seems your right the cross game isnt on
Post by: Redhandfan on December 03, 2006, 01:30:42 PM
Junior Final: Greencastle 1-6 Naomh Brid 0-8
Congratulations to Tyrone Junior champions Greencastle (and ziggysego) on being crowned Ulster champions at Casement Park today.  They got it tight in the second half as Donegal side Naomh Brid produced a very spirited performance into the wind.  It sounded like a really exciting tussle and had Q101 commentator Noel McGinn on the edge of his seat!  I am just sorry I wasn't there to see Sean Teague's men lift the trophy.  Good luck to them in the All-Ireland stage.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on December 03, 2006, 01:34:40 PM
Congratulations to neighbours Greencastle!!!! :) Very well done!! Guess ziggs will not be on here for a while celebrations may go on for a while ;D
Post by: Carmen Stateside on December 03, 2006, 02:01:01 PM
Anyone find coverage of the Cross game????? :-[
Post by: holylandsniper on December 03, 2006, 02:06:56 PM
All i can seem to get is Highland radio, though just regular updates not all of game
Post by: burnsybhoy1985 on December 03, 2006, 02:11:44 PM
its def on radio ulster mw.  im listening to it at the minute, still no score 1341 mw i think
Post by: Carmen Stateside on December 03, 2006, 02:14:12 PM
Cant get MW in america!! :'( unless you can get me a link :-\
Post by: never kickt a ball on December 03, 2006, 02:24:01 PM
six minutes to half time and only 1 point scored for Cross from a free. Cross dominating but not transfering this into scores.
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 03, 2006, 02:26:50 PM
And cross have the breeze.
Post by: missy#1 on December 03, 2006, 02:27:53 PM
can anyone get a link throu the net for the match
Post by: never kickt a ball on December 03, 2006, 02:30:31 PM
Oisin doubles his tally 0-2 with 1 min additional time.
Post by: bloody mary on December 03, 2006, 02:31:46 PM
only 2 scores in first-half and both from oisin frees

cross are dominating but need more scores with the wind behind them

Derry stopped Tyrone from scoring this year for 38 mins in Omagh, Ballinderry are heading for something similar
Post by: never kickt a ball on December 03, 2006, 02:34:33 PM
Took word out of my mouth Mary. (well done I see you're member number 700) Balinderry have done a Tyrone. Expect better from them in second half though. Both defences on top. Cross playing a short game in first half. Both defences on top. Comentator thinks there is no advantage to wind. What do you know Jerome quinn refers to Tyrone v Derry game also!
Post by: superblues on December 03, 2006, 02:44:24 PM
another draw could be on the cards here very low scoring
Post by: never kickt a ball on December 03, 2006, 02:47:11 PM
Jerome Quinn and famous people from Greencastle: "tyrone Tom from Big Brother and Sean Teague ex tyrone captain" Left you out Ziggy
Game coming to life ten into second half, Still 0-2 to 0-0. Now 0-3 to 0-0 Cross sub scores. Crozier and wilkinson subbed for ballinderry.
Post by: superblues on December 03, 2006, 03:00:34 PM
3 0 now 13 mins gone second half
Post by: never kickt a ball on December 03, 2006, 03:01:52 PM
goal dissallowed for Cross - Square ball
Post by: superblues on December 03, 2006, 03:02:33 PM
cross goal disallowed
Post by: never kickt a ball on December 03, 2006, 03:05:20 PM
Murtagh on for cross. Rain belting down and Gilligan has scored pt from play for Ballinderry. 10 mins to go. Bell on for ballin replacing nial mccusker
Post by: superblues on December 03, 2006, 03:06:13 PM
3 1 10 mins left
Post by: superblues on December 03, 2006, 03:09:27 PM
3   2
Post by: burnsybhoy1985 on December 03, 2006, 03:11:40 PM
3-2 4 mins normal time left
Post by: never kickt a ball on December 03, 2006, 03:14:49 PM
Bateson sent off. Two yellows. Bellew on for clarke (S) 4-2 for cross by mckeown. Bellew involved, 2 mins left

5-2 nearly over. Free for ballin went for goal and missed.  Got pt from free 5-3
Post by: superblues on December 03, 2006, 03:17:19 PM
5 2
Post by: superblues on December 03, 2006, 03:19:23 PM
cross win 5 3
Post by: Midman on December 03, 2006, 03:34:08 PM

Thats the lowers scoring game i can remember in a long time. Was the weather bad? Were both teams shit or was it "a day for defenders"?   

PS Congrats to Cross on a fifth Ulster title in 10years
Post by: never kickt a ball on December 03, 2006, 03:50:17 PM
QuoteWas the weather bad? Were both teams shit or was it "a day for defenders"? 
from the radio it sounded like all three Midman.
Post by: ziggysego on December 03, 2006, 04:09:19 PM
What a game!!!!! Was on the edge of the seat the whole way through. That goal!! That point!! It appeared Greencastle was destined to win the Ulster Championship. No other team, including Greencastle, would have gotten it any other day.

A great day to be a Greencastle man! And if anyone's wondering why I'm on here and not out. Well I have to update the website first and then I'm gone.... for the rest of the night! ;)

Also, it's my birthday today! What better present could I ask for! ;)

Post by: Fionntamhnach on December 03, 2006, 04:10:58 PM
Well done to Greencastle, will be interesting to see if they can do a similar run to Stewartstown a couple of years ago if not all the way.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on December 03, 2006, 04:49:57 PM
The poor shamrocks
Post by: Orior on December 03, 2006, 04:56:40 PM
Exciting enough game, played in awful conditions. Crossmaglen's quality showed through in the end.

I've been a critic of John Donaldson in a county shirt but I was very impressed by his display today. David McKenna is also coming through too, but he needs to learn to off-load the passes quicker. (He reminded me of a young Orior in that respect). Good to see Oisin working hard and getting involved. I noted the BBC said the ball was bundled over the line for a goal, but it looked like a rocket to me!

The ref spoilt things a bit in the first half as some foul  tackles were due to the conditions but overall there was no animosity and both teams concentrated on football.

Well done Ziggy. Dizzy heights eh?
Post by: J70 on December 03, 2006, 05:14:16 PM
What was the score in the Greencastle-Naomh Brid game?
Post by: ziggysego on December 03, 2006, 05:16:09 PM
J70, the score was

Greencastle 1-06 Naomh Brid 0-08

Sure is dizzy Orior, but hopefully we'll continue to climb higher ;)
Post by: Flirtyflan on December 03, 2006, 05:40:40 PM
Congrats to Ziggy and our Parish neighbours Greencastle.
There will be some craic around Eddies tonight, and tommorrow and the next night and infact probably for the remainder of 2006. Well deserved!!!! ;D
Post by: ziggysego on December 03, 2006, 06:11:54 PM
Picture of Greencastle Captain Martin Conway and Vice-Captain Collie Tuohey lifting the Ulster Junior Championship Cup for 2006 is now posted on the Greencastle website
Post by: seanaglis on December 03, 2006, 07:22:34 PM
Congrats to cross, imo the greatest club team ever. 11 Armagh titles in a row, 5 Ulsters from 5 final appearances, 3 All-Irelands from 3 final appearances! Stats speak for themselves!! Cullyhanna man gettin man of the match too!
Post by: Norf Tyrone on December 03, 2006, 07:32:44 PM
Well done Zig and the team.
Representing Tyrone with distinction.
Post by: Dubh driocht on December 03, 2006, 07:59:17 PM
Hats off to Cross. Jeez- praising a Tyrone man yesterday and an Armagh team today. This peace process really is something.
Title: Interesting developments in Ulster
Post by: dec on December 03, 2006, 08:00:40 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/2006/1203/crossmaglen.html

Armagh's Crossmaglen Rangers were the victors in a dull match in Casement Park where they claimed the Ulster title by defeating Antrim's Ballinderry by 0-5 to 0-2.
Post by: never kickt a ball on December 03, 2006, 08:52:48 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/6204224.stm

Cross edge past ballinderry

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sol/ukfs_sport/hi/av/bb_wm_fs.stm?news=1&bbram=1&bbwm=1&nbram=1&nbwm=1&nol_storyid=6204708

Owen McConnon Match report

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sol/ukfs_sport/hi/av/bb_wm_fs.stm?news=1&bbram=1&bbwm=1&nbram=1&nbwm=1&nol_storyid=6204746

Oisin interview
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on December 03, 2006, 09:26:47 PM
Congratulations to Rangers -another great achievement, despite the fact that the team continues to change from the start of this run (1996). Well done to all concerned! 
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 03, 2006, 11:04:15 PM
Congrats Cross
another great win from a great team and a brilliant club
Post by: ONeill on December 03, 2006, 11:16:03 PM
Savage achievement altogether. They don't set the games on fire in terms of panache but they know how to win a game or two. Serious repetitive hunger.
Post by: charlie linkbox on December 03, 2006, 11:58:42 PM
Is there any Cross player who has the whole haul of 11 county medals, 5 Ulster Club medals, 3 All Ireland Club medals, 6 Ulster County Medals, a National League medal and an All Ireland medal?

I'd say maybe Oisin McConville or the McEntees?

If so, that's a quare achievement.
Post by: never kickt a ball on December 04, 2006, 12:05:21 AM
What was shoes saying about humble club pros Slud?
Title: Match Report from Cross website
Post by: PatDaly on December 04, 2006, 12:08:22 AM
Congrats to Cross.

Report from the Cross website.

As far as I can tell Cross now play Moorefield (Kildare) in the All-Ireland semi-final which will take place in February. I'm sure by then all of the injured Cross players will be back to full fitness.

Cross today won their firth Ulster title with a hard fought game in Casement Park, Belfast. This game will be remembered more for the terrible weather and the very low scoreline rather than the quality of the game. Terrible wind and rain resulted in dire underfoot conditions which left both teams struggling to put together any form of quality football.

It took twelve minutes for Cross to get on the scoresheet, it came from the boot of captain Oisin McConville after he was fouled himself. Cross played with the wind in the first half but this was not so much of an advantage as it swirled for most of the game, and this was the main contributing factor for the low scoring game.

Cross were not to score for another eighteen minutes and this was also from Oisin, again converting a free kick. Strangely, this was all the scoring that would be registered in the first half from both teams.

Cross were very strong in defence, particularly Ryan Carragher who was extremely strong, Tony McEntee did a great marking job on Enda Muldoon at full back and Paul Kernan snuffed out the threat of Conleith Gilligan for the entire game. Brendan McKeown and Shaun McNamee were equally reliable and John Donaldson picked up the man of the match award which reflects his importance in the game.

David McKenna had been drafted into the starting line up and was excellent at midfield and picked up a point in the second half. At full forward Johnny Hanratty was always out in front and was a threat to Ballinderry throughout the game.

In the second half Ballinderry were unable to utilize the relatively small advantage of the blustery wind and had to wait until the 50th minute before registering their first score, coming from the boot of Conleith Gilligan as he stepped up to convert a free kick. This was after David McKenna had notched his point so Cross retained that two point cushion they had at half time.

Cross were unlucky to have a goal disallowed for a square ball infringement after Brendan Mckeown had rifled the ball to the net however he was not going to finish the game scoreless as he scored a great point with his left foot after being set up by recently introduced Francie Bellew.

Ballinderry went onto score twice more leaving the final minutes a real nail biter as Cross tried to defend their lead and Ballinderry strove to get that all important goal that would seal victory for the Derry Champs.

John Murtagh, who was introduced in the second half finished the scoring for Cross with a well taken point.

Oisin McConville lifted the Ulster trophy in front of a jubilant mix of players and supporters and clearly stated that this team were looking for another All-Ireland title and going by the determination of today's display and the contribution that the younger players in the team made that looks a strong possibility.

Team:
Paul Hearty, Ryan Carragher, Tony McEntee, Shaun McNamee, Paul Kernan, John Donaldson, Brendan McKeown, Stephen Kernan, David McKenna, Stephen Clarke, John McEntee, Oisin McConville, Michael McNamee, Johnny Hanratty, Tony Kernan.

Substitutes:
J Murtagh for Tony Kernan
Francie Bellew for Stephen Clarke.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 04, 2006, 08:59:22 AM
I have to say I am a very proud Cross man today after another great achievement by everyone involved.  I obviously would have loved to have been involved but I have no regrets about my career :)  It is fantastic to see all the new lads doing so well, and to win an Ulster without two of the teams best players for most of the run makes it even better.  It is great for Donal, Califf and all involved to have brought the club back to the top and who knows what they can achieve.  With none of the so called strong clubs left apart from Cross they have a serious chance of going all the way.

On the management, Donal Murtagh was one of the smartest, is not the smartest footballer, i ever played with.  If ever someone lives and breaths sport it is him and he has a great ability to read the game.  Also he has shown that he is not afraid to make important decisions.  With Aaron kernan out against Clontibret, many club managers would have been tempted to play one of either Francie or Stephen Kernan even though they were hurt.  It was a great show of faith in his squad that he didn't play them and he has to be commended very highly for that.

Rufus you comment on how well they have done with a greatly changed team.  There were only 4 of the starting team that played in 1996, and Hearty didn't even play in the Ulster due to injury.  There has been a continuous re-invention of the team over the last 11 years.  Under Joe in the first 5 years or so the team practically picked itself.  There were generally only 2-3 places up for grabs.  However, with our success filtering down through the underage structure, players who 15 years ago would have given up have stuck at it.  There was always the undergae talent but for quite some time it never broke on through to senior.  Now every year there are 3-4 county minors on the Armagh squad and they are gradually making it through to the senior team allowing the oldies(like me ;D) to move on. Once they are coming on to a successful team they have the self belief, based on the players around them, to make it to the top every time.  Also the competitive spirit that O'neill posted about is enhanced by the added competition.  Also the continuity of those involved has a huge bearing on it.  We may be a huge club but the team is based on families. McEntees, Kernans, McNamees, Murtaghs,  McKeowns(the sub goalie is Brendan McKeowns brother).  David McKenna is a son of Donal McKenna, Joe Kernans selector.  It is all very close knit and when I was there there were never too many wee clicks, we all stuck together.

Anyway enough grandstanding by me, Well done and all going well I will see everyone in Croke Park on the 17th.

Pat daly, I believe they play the Connacht champions, St Brigid's now, but I could be wrong.

Charlie linkbox, Oisin is the only one with them all.  I could be wrong but I wopuld reckon he is the most decorated footballer currently playing.
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 04, 2006, 10:05:05 AM
I thought I read in the papers yesterday that one/both of the McEntees have all 11 medals also?

What struck me in your first AI was the amount of kids wearing club regalia in croker. It seemed that there were hundreds of boys/girls and youths wearing their Corssmaglen tracksuits.
Self promotion, plus then the final drawing factor - success.

I rem Murtagh playing - wasnt he full back/centre half back in the early days of success?
A good hard player, prob more synonymous for being tough than Francie was at that stage !
Post by: Paddyofthehall on December 04, 2006, 10:10:17 AM
Quote from: Maximus Marillius on December 03, 2006, 04:49:57 PM
The poor shamrocks

Max I notice you get a slagging from other people on this site and I can see why now - pure bitterness.

We got beat, on the day by a better team, we couldn't handle the conditions and cross were very strong but hey thats life, we just have to move on and try and retain derry next year. All the best to Cross, they are a club who we admire and strive to be similar to.

But no need from a fellow county club to resort to vitrilolic comments....

Title: Lynchboy
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 04, 2006, 10:16:59 AM
A number of the lads have all 11 county medals, Francie, Oisin, Paul Hearty, one of the Macs, Cathal Short, Oisin though has 11 county medals, 5 Ulster Club medals, 3 All Ireland Club medals, 6 Ulster County Medals, a National League medal and an All Ireland medal as Charlie said.  No one else of the county players has that. 

All the kids in the area always wore Cross tracksuits, I had a few pairs of the old black ones with the straps around the bottoms and the groovy 3 yellow stripes down the side and that is 20ish years ago. Also seeing that Cathal Shorts da has the local sports shop and he played as well there is never any shortage of the stuff.

Donal was full back throughout the success.  He is actually harder than Francie as he would hit you just as hard but rarely gave away frees and I thunk was only sent off once in his career.  I marked him every night at training for a good few years and I know what the corner of his elbow feels like as he comes down on the top of your head after catching the ball above you :-\
He actually dislocated his shoulde or elbow in the first half of the 2000 final against Na Fianna.  He played on and gave an exhibition cleaning Sherlock out of it.
Post by: ClosetotheHarte on December 04, 2006, 10:19:03 AM
BC1, good post. As a Tyrone man I have nothing but the highest admiration for Cross and what they have done. I had thought Ballinderry would win this one with Cross's injury problems - how foolish I was to underestimate the Armagh men.
The club's spirit is unbelievable. I make it 19 major finals that Cross have now won (11 Armagh, 5 Ulsters and 3 All-Irelands) inside the last dozen years and if I'm not mistaken they haven't lost a final in any of those three competitions. That record defies belief. It's incredible they have been able to keep that going for so long, with two/three different teams apart from the few constants. I'd say nobody in the game still playing can match what Oisin has achieved - I know Peter Canavan would give anything for one of those All-Ireland club medals he has.
Going by the last eleven years Cross just don't lose finals, so if they win the AI semi-final (against St Brigid's I think) then it's goodnight for whoever comes through the other half of the draw!
This Cross team will be talked about for decades as the greatest club team that Ulster has ever known - and as one of the best ever at national level.
Post by: SlimShady on December 04, 2006, 10:29:34 AM
Congrats to Cross, they are a wily old team and know how to grind out a result.

Commiserations to the Shamrocks, just wasn't to be! A young enough team to come back again though.
Post by: bennydorano on December 04, 2006, 11:13:52 AM
Congrats to Cross, must admit I didn't fancy them at all.   Does that put Cross top of the Ulster Roll of Honour?  Does anyone have a link or could maybe post the Roll.
Post by: maxpower on December 04, 2006, 11:21:39 AM
congrats to cross, unbelieveable achievements by the club.  terrible conditions for the match.

are cross the only team left with previous experience of the all-ireland club championships.  if they are i'd say that gives them a quare advantage.  best of luck to them
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 04, 2006, 11:24:07 AM
Don't have a link, but joint top with Burren.

I would say they are they are maxpower.  There is an advantage but a lot of the Cross team have never played at AI level either, ie P Kernan, Ryan Carragher, M Aherne, D McKenna, J Hanratty
Post by: Maximus Marillius on December 04, 2006, 11:27:37 AM
BC1 congrats from the Tones, were planning next season already ;), hope you go all the way. I new in my heart that Ballinderry wouldnt beat ye. Hoped they would, only cause they are from Derry.
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on December 04, 2006, 12:19:37 PM
Congratulations to cross.  Great Achievement
Post by: Hank Everlast on December 04, 2006, 12:25:11 PM
Regardless of the score i thought yesterdays match was enteraining from start to finish.... cross won every battle on the field and david mckenna who was drafted in at midfield is really some player... he was all over the pitch, winning nearly everything that came near midfield and showed some good skill to get a point!!
with the likes of aaron kernan, francie, martin ahern available in march they will be a very tuff team to stop.
Post by: Red Nose Red Hand on December 04, 2006, 01:46:29 PM
Quote from: Sludden on December 03, 2006, 11:54:31 PM
Report on the RTE website  has moved Ballinderry , to Antrim,  perhaps the guy in the Tyrone Times  who seems to have taken a dislike to humble club pros in his most recent column , can explain this journalistic mistake.

Wise up Sludden. I went and got the Tyrone Times specially to read the article about slagging off pros and was very disappointed. He simply offered advice about how to do their job better. Maybe it was abit condecending, but not even showing dislike. And what interest would a Tyone paper have in Ballinderry. Incidentally, there is a Ballinderry in Antrim - you go through Ballinderry Upper on the way to the airport from Moira.
Post by: Kerry Mike on December 04, 2006, 02:09:05 PM
Quoteare cross the only team left with previous experience of the all-ireland club championships

Dr Crokes have won the AI Club in 1992 but they are not out of Munster yet so no chickens being counted yet. Hopefully Gooch &  Brosnan and Co can give a good account of themselves and maybe get through to meet Crossmaglen in Croker on Paddy's day...
Post by: ziggysego on December 04, 2006, 08:44:12 PM
Pictures of Greencastle's (Tyrone) victory over Noamh Brid (Donegal) in yesterday's Ulster Junior Championship Final at Casement Park are now available to view on Greencastle's website. Almost 100 pictures to see!
Title: Re: Lynchboy
Post by: stephenite on December 04, 2006, 09:33:17 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on December 04, 2006, 10:16:59 AM
Oisin though has 11 county medals, 5 Ulster Club medals, 3 All Ireland Club medals, 6 Ulster County Medals, a National League medal and an All Ireland medal

:o

Awesome medal collection in fairness, even if one of the All Ireland club medals was handed to him on a plate ;)

Jokin BC1!!
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 05, 2006, 08:53:02 AM
I have an apology to make to John and Tony Mac.  Got a text from Tony last night and they both ahve all the same medals as Oisin.  I think I got mixed up a bit because Oisin is the only one of the three who has played in all the finals.  The Macs due to injury were not available from one or two.  So Tony, as you said my mind is playing up on me! I am getting old you know, I am on the other side of 30 now :'(

Stephenite, I am not disagreeing with you about the having one handed to us.  Thank you very much for such a lovely gift ;D
Post by: 5 Sams on December 05, 2006, 10:14:28 AM
I have to say that is some haul of gongs for the 3 boys and they can all add another AI Club by the looks of things.

Speaking of Burren I think P O'Rourke (remember him) had a similar number of medals with an All Ireland minor and U 21 as well.
Post by: Imposerous on December 05, 2006, 01:30:36 PM
Congratulations to Crossmaglen.  An inspiration to all clubs.  Very pleased for Martin Califf and Donal Murtagh - the best full back in Armagh during the 90s.  I always thought his reading of the game was second to none, and in Calliff he has a no-nonsence shrewd advisor.

Well done to all involved.
Post by: RP Macmurphy on December 05, 2006, 06:50:03 PM
Congrats to Crossmaglen on their win!

And with back to back minor titles it looks like the conveyor belt of talent continues.

Post by: never kickt a ball on December 05, 2006, 11:40:21 PM
Hi Ziggy. Why is the keeper wearing a jersey with a different sponsor at the presentation?
Post by: stephenite on December 05, 2006, 11:46:21 PM
BC - were any of these lads or yourself involved in the U-13 team from Crossmaglen that played in the Community games in Mosney in 1989? I think they'd be around the right age ???
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 06, 2006, 01:13:19 PM
Myself, Oisin, the two macs,Francie, paddy mckeown, paddy moley,michael mc shane paul mc shane, james hughes and Cormac Carragher were all involved in the Mosney Final and went on to win Al lIrelands. Here is the link to the photo gallery of the winning team

http://www.crossrangers.com/multimedia/gallery05.asp?offset=10. 

it is just coincidence that the pictures underneath are from our 1999 Final. :P
Post by: trueblue on December 06, 2006, 02:01:48 PM
broken crossbar wats ure real identity then???
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 06, 2006, 02:16:33 PM
Quote from: trueblue on December 06, 2006, 02:01:48 PM
broken crossbar wats ure real identity then???

I think I have worked it out...

I think he could have done with a haircut in the first all Ireland win
Title: Lynchboy
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 06, 2006, 02:22:15 PM
I have never really tried to hide who I am.  I was going through my student-couldn't-afford-a-haircuit days at the time.  Also like Alan Corke did for Sheffield United, only with his beard (obviously)  I deliberately didn't get it cut until we were out of a particular competition.  So I had two haircuts in the year, once after winning Armagh and once after Ulster ;D
Post by: trueblue on December 06, 2006, 02:26:56 PM
i know ritrely who ya are then,is ure initials gc?
Title: Re: Lynchboy
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 06, 2006, 02:31:00 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on December 06, 2006, 02:22:15 PM
I have never really tried to hide who I am.  I was going through my student-couldn't-afford-a-haircuit days at the time.  Also like Alan Corke did for Sheffield United, only with his beard (obviously)  I deliberately didn't get it cut until we were out of a particular competition.  So I had two haircuts in the year, once after winning Armagh and once after Ulster ;D

to be fair I always thought thats who you were
its when you mentioned FF a while back.
that was my preferred position, so I was watching your play that day.
You were used as more of a creator if I recall correctly - but you were involved in a load of those breakaway counter attacks, and think you scored eventually

Post by: Orior on December 06, 2006, 03:56:55 PM
Quote from: trueblue on December 06, 2006, 02:26:56 PM
i know ritrely who ya are then,is ure initials gc?

Cause he's been anglicised fool! lol
Post by: trueblue on December 06, 2006, 03:58:26 PM

ah me auld friend orior  ::) ::)
Post by: Orior on December 06, 2006, 04:21:27 PM
Quote from: trueblue on December 06, 2006, 03:58:26 PM

ah me auld friend orior  ::) ::)

And I ain't getting on no plane, fool.
Post by: stephenite on December 06, 2006, 10:08:18 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on December 06, 2006, 01:13:19 PM
Myself, Oisin, the two macs,Francie, paddy mckeown, paddy moley,michael mc shane paul mc shane, james hughes and Cormac Carragher were all involved in the Mosney Final and went on to win Al lIrelands.

We played in the other semi final, representing the Quay, beaten by a late point from Ayrfield. Think the parents still have the video of all the games that weeked.
The area we represented is a village just outside of Ballina ( 10 minute walk really ) but was always seperate from the town for community games. Unfortuante that the likes of Davy Brady was a year overage and the younger twins were too young.
Mad to think back on it now
Post by: DrinkingHarp on December 07, 2006, 05:05:22 AM
BC1....

I thought my cousin Gary McShane was on that team not his brother Paul ?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 07, 2006, 12:59:09 PM
Jeez, stephenite, the world is very small.  We played a Tralee representation in the other semi.  We were unusual as we were the only single club team in the competition.  I have great memories of those games and the commentary on the final was up there with the great Effin' Eddie of Aherlow fame ;D  I haven't seen it in years but I am sure there is one floating about the mudders.  The team I played with was unbeaten at any level from u-10 to minors until we lost a League final against Killeavey.

DrinkingHarp, both Gary and Paul, Gary palying and scoring against Knockmore, were on the AI squads at senior but Gary wasn't playing on the Mosney team.
Post by: stephenite on December 07, 2006, 09:48:18 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on December 07, 2006, 12:59:09 PM
Jeez, stephenite, the world is very small.  We played a Tralee representation in the other semi.  We were unusual as we were the only single club team in the competition.  I have great memories of those games and the commentary on the final was up there with the great Effin' Eddie of Aherlow fame ;D  I haven't seen it in years but I am sure there is one floating about the mudders.  The team I played with was unbeaten at any level from u-10 to minors until we lost a League final against Killeavey.

DrinkingHarp, both Gary and Paul, Gary palying and scoring against Knockmore, were on the AI squads at senior but Gary wasn't playing on the Mosney team.

Small indeed BC, we played the Tralee team before ye played the final in a 3rd/4th placed play off, we were devastated at the time but we had exactly 17 boys in our class in school, all from the Quay village, so that 17 represented the area all the way to the All Ireland series in Mosney so it wasn't a bad achievement really

The commentary was priceless, great memories also.
Post by: never kickt a ball on December 10, 2006, 03:20:02 PM
Quote from: never kickt a ball on December 05, 2006, 11:40:21 PM
Hi Ziggy. Why is the keeper wearing a jersey with a different sponsor at the presentation?

Hi Ziggy! How did last night go? By the way is there any chance of an answer to above?
Post by: ziggysego on December 10, 2006, 03:22:15 PM
Quote from: never kickt a ball on December 05, 2006, 11:40:21 PM

Sorry, didn't spot that question before.

That's the Reserve's kit. I think Noamh Brid and Greencastle's keeper kits were too similar.

As for last night, she stood me up! :(
Post by: never kickt a ball on December 10, 2006, 03:23:26 PM
Cheers Ziggy where did you go last night?
Post by: ziggysego on December 10, 2006, 03:24:00 PM
The Valut in Omagh
Post by: never kickt a ball on December 10, 2006, 03:24:49 PM
you mean The Vault
Post by: ziggysego on December 10, 2006, 03:27:15 PM
er.... yeah  :-\
Post by: never kickt a ball on December 10, 2006, 03:28:58 PM
Who do Greencastle play next?
Post by: ziggysego on December 10, 2006, 03:32:12 PM
Winners of Connacht and England.
Post by: ziggysego on December 10, 2006, 04:06:55 PM
Who won the Connacht Junior Final?
Post by: David McKeown on December 18, 2006, 07:04:33 PM
I see 12 Players have received suspensions from The Ballymacnab V Stewarstown incident.  Any one any ideas why some bans were for nine months whereas others were only a month.  How exactly did they come up with those numbers?
Post by: Maximus Marillius on December 18, 2006, 07:31:21 PM
Took this from the BBC sport web site

Twelve players banned after brawl 

Fighting broke out after the semi-final at Casement Park
Twelve players have been suspended following the fighting which marred November's Ulster Club IFC semi-final between Ballymacnab and Stewartstown.
Four players have been handed massive 36-week bans after an ugly brawl broke out after the match at Casement Park.

The Ulster Council has also fined the clubs £1,675 but they were allowed to stay in the competition and will replay the game which ended in a draw.

Seven Ballymacnab received suspensions along with five from Stewartstown.

Derry champions Coleraine have already qualified for the final.

The Ballymacnab players were - Philip McCone, Dwayne McParland 36 weeks; Stephen Kennedy 12 weeks; Christopher Kennedy, Paul Kennedy, Damien McGeown and Gary McKee eight weeks.

Stewartstown - Anton Coyle, Tony Donnelly 36 weeks; Barry Bleeks 24 weeks; Ryan Small eight weeks and Rory O'Neill four weeks.

Post by: Guillem2 on December 19, 2006, 08:16:02 AM
36 weeks is a big ban. It must have been bad.
Post by: never kickt a ball on December 19, 2006, 09:48:45 AM
Going by most rows it wasn't that bad. It just got caught on camera and was shown by BBC. That meant people were able to be identified etc and the next day "handbags" declaration was made unworkable.
Post by: clarshack on December 19, 2006, 10:01:39 AM
think we are better off than ballymacnab for the replay. we didnt lose any first team players (no's 18, 20, 23 & 24) while they lost their no's 3, 6, 8 & 11. nine months is a massive suspension though for any player.
Post by: thewobbler on December 19, 2006, 10:15:03 AM
I find it hard to believe that when a full-scale riot kicks off, all the major perpretators on one side could be players, and all the major perpetrators on the other side could be substitutes. I'd sense an objection coming in on those grounds.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on December 19, 2006, 10:26:31 AM
I think Wobbler that the altercation happened after the game entering the tunnel.
Stewartstown's 15 had remained on the pitch to warm down, hence why the differance.
Post by: umgolaarmagh on December 19, 2006, 10:30:22 AM
I wasnt at the game but the major issue for the Ulster Council is how easily the crowd became involved in the melee. The teams shouldnt have to worry about abuse and the threat of violence from the crowd when leaving the field of play.

Post by: realredhandfan on December 19, 2006, 10:38:38 AM
Boys it happens at Casement more than most.  There seems to be a problem there.
Post by: David McKeown on December 19, 2006, 10:44:01 AM
I was standing quite close to the incident when it happened and I have to say there are a few players on both sides who are lucky to escape suspensions.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on December 19, 2006, 10:46:55 AM
It must be something to do with the positioning of the subs. When a game is over the players have to go pass the subs.  If the game has been thorny or an incident has happened, well subs like ourselves get caught up in the emotion of it all and aggression is the flavour. You have one set of subs sitting with a few individuals going mental, on the other side with nothing seperating them is the other set of subs, and low and behold the teams have to walk in bewteen that festering boil to return to the changing room. On their journey bewteen the subs, lots of abuse could take place and it all depends on the emotional state of the player recieving the abuse on how he reacts. Casement need to relocate their subs to reduce this potential conflict
Post by: clarshack on December 19, 2006, 10:52:08 AM
the brawl started after the game. all of our players had remained on the pitch for a warm down whereas ballymacnab hadnt - that is why there is a difference in the suspensions. just glad that they didnt throw us out of the competition.
Post by: umgolaarmagh on December 19, 2006, 10:54:08 AM
They might as well threw the nab out ffs.

Too many main players missing for replay and it will take a massive team display to win it
Post by: supersarsfields on December 19, 2006, 12:53:59 PM
Too many main players missing for replay and it will take a massive team display to win it

Yeah but think of how easy it'll be to create a seige mentality, everyone against us etc.

It'll not be hard to get the Ballymacnab team up for this one!!

Stewartown will need to be equally up for this and fingers crossed they will be. 
Post by: ziggysego on December 19, 2006, 06:01:46 PM
Would the punishments have been the same if it teams were from the Senior Championship?
Post by: Spiritof98 on December 19, 2006, 06:16:50 PM
The answer to that Ziggy is NO! and for evidence you only have to look at the battle of Omagh, and that brawl was broadcast live on a national channel. The minnows always get the hammering.

The Ireland team although provoked threw quite a lot of punches in Croke park a few months back. I not saying they should be banned, far from it, but in essence is it not similar.
Post by: Sandy Hill on December 19, 2006, 10:38:07 PM
I agree with Ziggy and Spirit. To me it's a bit like the schoolyard bully; hammer the shit out of the smaller boys but don't rattle the big ones. I'm not condoning what happened but for f><ksake let's have consistency from the top to the bottom of the GAA!
Post by: Maximus Marillius on December 20, 2006, 09:36:26 AM
Have to agree completely. Perhaps Fergal Logan will get a call in the next week to help Greenan learn some rules. Until consistency is applied I hope they get their players off. Whats good for the goose..if you pardon the pun
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 20, 2006, 10:29:34 AM
QuoteHave to agree completely. Perhaps Fergal Logan will get a call in the next week to help Greenan learn some rules. Until consistency is applied I hope they get their players off. Whats good for the goose..if you pardon the pun

If he can do it for Tyrone I am sure he will look at something for his own club.

The disciplinary situation is a farce and needs to be completely overhauled.  It is time that the GAA head men got their heads out of their precious arses and stopped spewing the mantra that they will not follow other sports ie soccer in dealing with sanctions and punishment.  Until they have a logical, coherent, and consistent way of dealing with the disciplinary issues their will always be complaints and challenges.
Post by: umgolaarmagh on December 20, 2006, 10:35:28 AM
I dont think Logan would get involved as his club got away light as only 4 of there subs got suspensions.

There in the driving seat now.
Post by: never kickt a ball on January 02, 2007, 03:31:37 PM
Ulster IFC tie re-fixed for Saturday

Tuesday, January 2

The controversial Ulster Club IFC semi-final replay between Stewartstown and Ballymacnab has finally been re-fixed for Saturday, January 6th, by the Ulster Council.

Tyrone kingpins Stewartstown produced a fantastic comeback to gain parity at the death against Armagh champions Ballymacnab at Casement Park in the semi-final, but a two-minute brawl ensued, between players, mentors and substitutes, as the Orchard players left the pitch.

The provincial council then put the Intermediate Football Championship on hold and set up a special sub-committee to investigate the ugly scenes.

12 players in all were eventually suspended with two from each team receiving 36-week bans following the punch up.

Stewartstown's Anton Coyle and Tony Donnelly, and Ballymacnab's Philip McCone and Dwayne McParland were issued the heaviest punishment.

Both clubs were also fined €2, 500 but were allowed to remain in the competition.
Now, more than six weeks after the game, the replay has been scheduled for Casement Park with a 12.30pm throw-in. Down referee Ciaran Branagan will officiate.

www.gaa.ie

Post by: ziggysego on January 02, 2007, 03:51:43 PM
Best of luck to Stewartstown. Hopefully there's another Ulster Champion in Tyrone this year ;)
Post by: aontroim on January 05, 2007, 04:24:53 PM
Just got emailed this...

Quote"Due to a bereavement within the immediate family of a Stewartstown official, the Intermediate Football Semi Final Replay between
Stewartstown and Ballymacnab, scheduled for tomorrow, Saturday 6th January has been postponed."
Post by: ziggysego on January 05, 2007, 04:28:44 PM
True, just seen it on the Stewartstown website

http://www.harps.org/news/index.cfm
Post by: clarshack on January 30, 2007, 09:34:00 AM
Stewartstown v Ballymacnab fixed for this saturday at 2pm in Breffni.
hopefully a good few tyrone supporters take the game in on the way to the dublin.
heard ballymacnab lost their appeal to DRA last night.
Post by: Armamike on February 05, 2007, 12:46:25 PM
Good result for the Nab, considering the players suspended. How in hell did ST manage to get 4 players sent off?  Were they trying to get the game abandoned? Anybody here at the game? 
Post by: SouthArmaghBandit on February 05, 2007, 01:21:41 PM
Well done the Nab. Who dothey play in the final and will they have the suspended lads back for it?
Post by: Norf Tyrone on February 05, 2007, 01:28:46 PM
They play Coleraine Owen Roes this weekend I think.
Post by: Sandy Hill on February 05, 2007, 01:34:28 PM
I'm delighted for Ballymacnab; well done!

Quote.....and will they have the suspended lads back for it?
Unfortunately, no.