Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: wherefromreferee? on January 27, 2009, 12:06:23 PM

Title: LENT
Post by: wherefromreferee? on January 27, 2009, 12:06:23 PM
Reading that other thread 'anybody else on here not drink?' or something close to that and thought maybe I'd try and give up the drink for lent - haven't tried it before.

When does Lent start?  Does anyone even 'do lent' anymore?  If so, what'll you try and give up?

Just did a quick google - its a month away yet.  Ash Wednesday is 25th February.  Gives me a month to think of something else  :D
Title: Re: LENT
Post by: maggie on January 27, 2009, 12:19:43 PM
Always say i'll try and give up something for Lent-usually have it broke on the next day.
Have zero willpower.
Post by: Quagmire on January 27, 2009, 12:33:31 PM
I'm off it 4 weeks today though I'm getting some quare looks about the place as if to say what are you at??  :D I was at a party on saturdy night and I had to tell people my glass of water was vodka and white so they'd give my head peace!

I've never went this long before since I was about 17 and am contemplating taking Lent in too now, I'd probably be better off not cursing though, I'll fell like I'm cheating if I do!!  :P
Post by: Gnevin on January 27, 2009, 12:35:21 PM
A load of religious nonsense.
Post by: SidelineKick on January 27, 2009, 12:36:22 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on January 27, 2009, 12:35:21 PM
A load of religious nonsense.

Agree.
Post by: ziggysego on January 27, 2009, 12:51:23 PM
Religious nonsense or not, it's character building. I usually go off alcohol, crisps, chocolate, chips, biscuits, cheese, fizzy drinks and sweets. Difficult, but good for the soul. I also keep it on Sundays, unlike some.
Post by: Hank Everlast on January 27, 2009, 01:16:46 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 27, 2009, 12:51:23 PM
Religious nonsense or not, it's character building. I usually go off alcohol, crisps, chocolate, chips, biscuits, cheese, fizzy drinks and sweets. Difficult, but good for the soul. I also keep it on Sundays, unlike some.

???

Im off the drink, smokes and takeaways since the new year.... its not bin easy, goin for a drink this weekend so that will be the big tester to see if i can stay off the bines wen ive a pint in my hand!!
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 27, 2009, 01:22:52 PM
The weight would drop off me if I gave up all that! Maybe a Lenten fast is just what I need. Although in accordance with the Bible you get a day off on St. Patrick's Day  ;)
Post by: Maguire01 on January 27, 2009, 01:26:22 PM
It's probably good for the body if that's what you're giving up, but how is it character building or good for the soul?
Post by: Quagmire on January 27, 2009, 02:03:05 PM
If something is a challenge to do and you complete it, like say going off the sauce for Lent, or running a marathon, could that not be seen as character building? Especially if you have to excercise self-discipline and make sacrafices to do it. Granted it depends on the individual, going off drink for a while could be nothing to one person but a complete torture for someone else if they're social beings. Depends on our lifestyles I suppose?
Post by: ziggysego on January 27, 2009, 02:08:20 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 27, 2009, 01:22:52 PM
The weight would drop off me if I gave up all that! Maybe a Lenten fast is just what I need. Although in accordance with the Bible you get a day off on St. Patrick's Day  ;)

I looooooooooooooooove cheese :)

Quote from: Maguire01 on January 27, 2009, 01:26:22 PM
It's probably good for the body if that's what you're giving up, but how is it character building or good for the soul?

Will power and self control.
Post by: ziggysego on January 27, 2009, 02:09:07 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 27, 2009, 01:22:52 PM

Flys off me. Piles back on again though  :D
Post by: amallon on January 27, 2009, 02:16:36 PM
I wouldn't be big up on the whole religion side of it but I went off the beer for lent last year.  I drove five or so Sat nights over the lent and each one of them was tough going and your head does get wrecked.  Upstairs in the canal court of a Saturday night is no place for sober people.  It does no harm to detox in this way, I might do it this year again.

Post by: SidelineKick on January 27, 2009, 02:18:22 PM
In my opinion if somebody had any kind of will power they wouldn't have to wait until a "set date" to decide to go off soemthing.  Why not give it up now?
Post by: downgirl on January 27, 2009, 02:23:09 PM

My friend last year went off chocolate but she said ah sure Sundays are off so she was horsing it into her on Sundays...what's the point of doing it until easter if you can just eat loads on Sundays??!!
Post by: longball on February 23, 2009, 11:17:57 AM
Anyone here feel that they could go off GAAboard for lent?  :o

Im considering giving up cursing! with a swear jar in operation. whats everyone else doing?
Post by: ziggysego on February 23, 2009, 11:29:09 AM
Look back up the thread DD12 to see all what I'm giving up. The gaaboard is a step too far. I need one vice. Anyway, don't post as much as I used to. No-one notice?
Post by: Square Ball on February 23, 2009, 11:40:38 AM
crisps and sweets, gonna be hard.
Post by: longball on February 23, 2009, 11:48:32 AM
Be very hard to give up the board esp during the season. board is the best way to get results and match reports. Ziggy ur giving up a motherload for Lent gonna be a hard one! i could never do that.
Post by: Derry Dolly on February 23, 2009, 01:48:06 PM
ive gave up on going off anything for lent..i onli ever last a couple of days :-\
maybe go off alcohol...during the week 8) ;D
Post by: illdecide on February 23, 2009, 03:21:57 PM
I usually loose a good 1/2 stone every lent by going off:

Sweets
Crisps
Chocloate
Lemonade
and all chipie food...

Though this year i'm going to try the bread as well...it'll be a hard one to stick out but i usually have no bother going off all the rest of the junk...
Post by: Minus15 on February 23, 2009, 04:30:57 PM
Find it hard to go off too many things. Hard to remember them all and if you fail with a couple the rest seem to go that way too! This year I'm going off crisps and biting my nails! The biting the nails one is a bitch! tried it before but you end up doing it without even noticing!

Couple of lads I live with went off sitting in for lent  a coupke of years ago and went out on the drink every available Monday to Thursday in Belfast for the duration!
Post by: Puckoon on February 23, 2009, 04:58:18 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on January 27, 2009, 02:18:22 PM
In my opinion if somebody had any kind of will power they wouldn't have to wait until a "set date" to decide to go off soemthing.  Why not give it up now?

Misery loves company.
Post by: longball on February 24, 2009, 06:59:26 PM
Ziggy are u going for one last big scoff of goodies 2nite? cause at midnight we go live with Lent. Its on like Pete Tong.
Post by: stpauls on February 24, 2009, 09:19:44 PM
going off the beer, crisps and sweet stuff for lent, going to be tough enough!!
having a few drinks and munchies tonight before it all starts though!!
Post by: ziggysego on February 24, 2009, 09:36:25 PM
Quote from: longball on February 24, 2009, 06:59:26 PM
Ziggy are u going for one last big scoff of goodies 2nite? cause at midnight we go live with Lent. Its on like Pete Tong.

Had a kit-kat today at work.

Big plate of chips when I got home and then a chocolate chipped cookie afterwards.

Changed my mind though, not going off drink. I need one vice to get me through the next 43 days.
Post by: Puckoon on February 24, 2009, 09:42:55 PM
46 buddy. Its 46. :(
Post by: fred the red on February 24, 2009, 09:48:13 PM
Im going off the gaaboard.

see yous in 40 days.

:'(
Post by: ziggysego on February 24, 2009, 09:49:28 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on February 24, 2009, 09:42:55 PM
46 buddy. Its 46. :(

46? You sure? I thought it was 43.

Quote from: fred the red on February 24, 2009, 09:48:13 PM

see yous in 40 days.

eh? You're only back.
Post by: Puckoon on February 24, 2009, 09:50:20 PM
Lent in 2009 will start on Wednesday, the 25th of February and will continue for 46 days until Saturday, the 11th of April.
Post by: wherefromreferee? on March 04, 2009, 05:26:31 PM

Well Ziggy, what way are you holding up!?
Post by: ziggysego on March 04, 2009, 05:32:00 PM
I'm really struggling. Most years it's not too bad, but I'm only a week in and suffering. However, I've resisted temptation and haven't broken Lent.
Post by: Puckoon on March 04, 2009, 05:32:42 PM
Puck is goin strong.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 04, 2009, 07:25:38 PM
I am off the drink for lent (last thursday doesnt count as I had tickets to the darts and there is no way in hell you could go sober, god understands) and I am going ok. If it lasts I think I will try to go off it for as long as I can...
Post by: longball on March 04, 2009, 08:20:58 PM
Our local priest said on the alter last Sunday that as the world is in such a state people were making enough sacrafices and it would be understandable if we went off nothing. i have taken this on board and went off nothing but in fairness since ive no work i no longer buy sweets or any luxerys havent bought myself any clothes this year!!!!
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 04, 2009, 08:22:12 PM
Quote from: longball on March 04, 2009, 08:20:58 PM
Our local priest said on the alter last Sunday that as the world is in such a state people were making enough sacrafices and it would be understandable if we went off nothing. i have taken this on board and went off nothing but in fairness since ive no work i no longer buy sweets or any luxerys havent bought myself any clothes this year!!!!

I havent bought myself clothes in years!
Post by: illdecide on March 05, 2009, 09:35:17 AM
Still haven't broke lent nor will i as i have excellent will power but i tell ya going of sweets, crisps, chocolate, lemonade and chippy food is easy but try going off bread it is a nightmare. It is so difficult to find something for your lunch and it's only when your off it do you realise how much we need/use bread :o
Post by: ziggysego on March 05, 2009, 04:29:21 PM
Quote from: illdecide on March 05, 2009, 09:35:17 AM
Still haven't broke lent nor will i as i have excellent will power but i tell ya going of sweets, crisps, chocolate, lemonade and chippy food is easy but try going off bread it is a nightmare. It is so difficult to find something for your lunch and it's only when your off it do you realise how much we need/use bread :o

A woman I work with has gone off bread. We're debating which of the two of us have the hardest Lent ahead of us. Naturally I'm saying me, but really...... it is her.
Post by: longball on March 05, 2009, 04:31:42 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 05, 2009, 04:29:21 PM
Quote from: illdecide on March 05, 2009, 09:35:17 AM

A woman I work with has gone off bread. We're debating which of the two of us have the hardest Lent ahead of us. Naturally I'm saying me, but really...... it is her.

Bread? Man cannot live on bread alone but can he live without it?
Can she eat communion?
Instead of ham sandwiches at lunch does she just eat ham... what if she fancies jam sandwiches someday shes fooked.
Bread?
Post by: full back on March 05, 2009, 04:33:18 PM
Is it correct that Sundays arent included in Lent (if you are fasting) ?
Post by: longball on March 05, 2009, 04:34:35 PM
Bread?  ::) ??? :o
Post by: ziggysego on March 05, 2009, 04:34:50 PM
Actually, I don't know what she's eating. Much ask her.

Quote from: full back on March 05, 2009, 04:33:18 PM
Is it correct that Sundays arent included in Lent (if you are fasting) ?

No, that's a cop out. Some people opt-out of Lent on Sundays.
Post by: full back on March 05, 2009, 04:36:20 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 05, 2009, 04:34:50 PM

So how many days is Lent then?
Post by: ziggysego on March 05, 2009, 04:37:31 PM
Quote from: full back on March 05, 2009, 04:36:20 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 05, 2009, 04:34:50 PM

So how many days is Lent then?

I think it's 43 and Punk thinks it's 46. Don't think we settled that argument.
Post by: full back on March 05, 2009, 04:40:15 PM
I thought it was 40 days & 40 nights
Post by: Puckoon on March 05, 2009, 04:43:49 PM
46 this year boys. :(
Post by: ziggysego on March 05, 2009, 04:44:54 PM
40's definitely wrong full back.

I'm still not convinced about 46. Time to Google I think.
Post by: Puckoon on March 05, 2009, 04:46:08 PM
Google? Well shit, do you think I just pulled 46 out of my magic bag of numbers?

Post by: ziggysego on March 05, 2009, 04:46:25 PM
Puck's right, 46 days.
Post by: ziggysego on March 05, 2009, 04:47:03 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on March 05, 2009, 04:46:08 PM
Google? Well shit, do you think I just pulled 46 out of my magic bag of numbers?

I don't know what the hell you be at in Reno.
Post by: Puckoon on March 05, 2009, 04:47:28 PM
One thing I dont be at is making Lent longer than it needs to be.
Post by: cornerback on March 05, 2009, 04:48:00 PM
jaysus lads, get out a calander and count

google  ::)

Its 46 this year and every year

There's 6 Sundays so that's probably the reason why some people exclude sundays from lent...
Post by: ziggysego on March 05, 2009, 04:48:54 PM
I think I'm stupid going off so much things. Everyone in the house is going off one thing. At the ones at work are laughing at me :'( Wondering what I'm torturing myself for.
Post by: Puckoon on March 05, 2009, 04:52:06 PM
Quote from: cornerback on March 05, 2009, 04:48:00 PM
jaysus lads, get out a calander and count

google  ::)

Its 46 this year and every year

There's 6 Sundays so that's probably the reason why some people exclude sundays from lent...

You are old school horse, you must probably still do the spuds and buttermilk for dinner during lent.
Post by: erne bhoy on March 05, 2009, 06:00:11 PM
Lent is for Christians...
Post by: wherefromreferee? on April 03, 2009, 04:58:27 PM
Not long left now lads and ladies. 
Ziggy - you must be counting down the days  :D
Post by: ziggysego on April 03, 2009, 05:00:06 PM
Lent has been a living hell.
Post by: The Iceman on April 03, 2009, 06:27:25 PM
You can't fast on a feast day lads.
every Sunday and every feast day the Church does not expect you to not have chocolate or alcohol or whatever is you have given up for God.
Post by: Puckoon on April 03, 2009, 06:29:50 PM
Thats the first Ive heard of that! :o
Post by: ziggysego on April 03, 2009, 06:33:16 PM
I had one day's wobble two weeks ago. However I was depressed and needed some comfort food. Will God forgive me, or will I have to make an even bigger donation to Troclair than I usually do at this time of year?
Post by: The Iceman on April 03, 2009, 08:26:50 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on April 03, 2009, 06:29:50 PM
Thats the first Ive heard of that! :o

When observing fasting or abstinence during Lent, regard must be paid to the fact that Sundays are Feast Days, so the fast or abstinence may be broken. If one counts the days from Ash Wednesday to the day before Easter Sunday, excluding the Sundays, one will see that there are forty of them, corresponding to the number of days Christ spent in the wilderness.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lent (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lent)
Post by: Puckoon on April 03, 2009, 09:06:00 PM
Who is this one of whom thou speakest?
Post by: Hoof Hearted on April 03, 2009, 09:15:08 PM
been off the red wine, could have drank 3 bottles in the house no bother over a weekend. Cant wait until Easter, i will drink a vineyard of the stuff
Post by: Niall Quinn on April 03, 2009, 09:47:50 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on April 03, 2009, 09:06:00 PM
Who is this one of whom thou speakest?

Agent 001 Edward Donne Referred to in the Raymond Benson novel, Doubleshot.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/00_Agent#List_of_00s
Post by: Square Ball on April 10, 2009, 02:14:07 PM
when does lent end?
Post by: mrsandman on April 10, 2009, 02:16:28 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on April 10, 2009, 02:14:07 PM
when does lent end?

Sunday first click....gonna eat myself to a standstill
Post by: Square Ball on April 10, 2009, 02:23:01 PM
Quote from: mrsandman on April 10, 2009, 02:16:28 PM
when does lent end?

we were talking about this in work and someone stated it was noon on the Saturday, just googled it, this is one answer http://forums.catholic.com/showthread.php?t=39082 (http://forums.catholic.com/showthread.php?t=39082)

it shows
Lent ends when the evening Mass of the Lord's Supper on Holy Thursday begins because the Mass of the Lord's Supper ushers in the Holy Triduum, a liturgical season in its own right and the shortest of the liturgical year. For more information, click here.

As for the Lenten penances, those are voluntary practices that people take up as personal devotions in addition to the penances required by the Church on the Fridays of Lent. Voluntary penances can be voluntarily set aside, so if your students wish to take a break from them on Sundays in honor of the Lord's Day, that is perfectly fine. That said, the Sundays of Lent are indeed a part of the Lenten season. See the links below for more informat
Post by: mrsandman on April 10, 2009, 02:27:12 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on April 10, 2009, 02:23:01 PM
when does lent end?

we were talking about this in work and someone stated it was noon on the Saturday, just googled it, this is one answer http://forums.catholic.com/showthread.php?t=39082 (http://forums.catholic.com/showthread.php?t=39082)

it shows
Lent ends when the evening Mass of the Lord's Supper on Holy Thursday begins because the Mass of the Lord's Supper ushers in the Holy Triduum, a liturgical season in its own right and the shortest of the liturgical year. For more information, click here.

As for the Lenten penances, those are voluntary practices that people take up as personal devotions in addition to the penances required by the Church on the Fridays of Lent. Voluntary penances can be voluntarily set aside, so if your students wish to take a break from them on Sundays in honor of the Lord's Day, that is perfectly fine. That said, the Sundays of Lent are indeed a part of the Lenten season. See the links below for more informat

Does it also state that if you follow this you are a big girls blouse?
You go off it til easter sunday and no breaks in between ( apart from possibly st.paddys day)
Post by: The Watcher Pat on April 10, 2009, 02:39:44 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on April 03, 2009, 05:00:06 PM
Lent has been a living hell.

Try giving up the Internet next year....

I'd bet that would be harder for you than what you've done this year....

:D :D :D :D
Post by: Square Ball on April 10, 2009, 02:48:42 PM
Quote from: mrsandman on April 10, 2009, 02:27:12 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on April 10, 2009, 02:23:01 PM
when does lent end?

it shows

Does it also state that if you follow this you are a big girls blouse?
You go off it til easter sunday and no breaks in between ( apart from possibly st.paddys day)

if its good enough  for JC ....... :D
Post by: longrunsthefox on April 10, 2009, 03:11:51 PM
From website...
Good Friday Origins
'There are two possible origins for the name "Good Friday". The first may have come from the Gallican Church in Gaul (modern-day France and Germany). The name "Gute Freitag" is Germanic in origin and literally means "good" or "holy" Friday. The second possibility is a variation on the name "God's Friday," where the word "good" was used to replace the word "God," which was often viewed as too holy for commoners to speak.'

Do Protestants not recognise the term Good Friday as the Nationalist parties used to go on about the Good Friday Agreement but the Unionists seemed determined to keep calling it the 'Belfast Agreement.'
Anyone know?

Post by: pintsofguinness on April 10, 2009, 03:15:51 PM
QuoteDo Protestants not recognise the term Good Friday as the Nationalist parties used to go on about the Good Friday Agreement but the Unionists seemed determined to keep calling it the 'Belfast Agreement.'
Anyone know?

If the nationalists called it the belfast agreement the unionists would call it the good friday agreement!
Post by: longrunsthefox on April 10, 2009, 03:29:53 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 10, 2009, 03:15:51 PM
QuoteDo Protestants not recognise the term Good Friday as the Nationalist parties used to go on about the Good Friday Agreement but the Unionists seemed determined to keep calling it the 'Belfast Agreement.'
Anyone know?

If the nationalists called it the belfast agreement the unionists would call it the good friday agreement!

Right enough...That's a good answer pints
Post by: The Iceman on April 11, 2009, 07:53:24 PM
Hi where have you boys all been? I have known from a young age that you didn't keep lent on Sundays or feast days and that Lent ended on sun down Holy Thursday night when the season of Triduum begins..... Maybe if you listened in Mass instead of complaining about how bad it was you would know these things!!!??!?! :P
Post by: fred the red on April 14, 2009, 04:24:15 PM
Quote from: fred the red on February 24, 2009, 09:48:13 PM

see yous in 40 days.

back  ;D
Post by: ziggysego on April 14, 2009, 07:38:55 PM
My word, you stuck to your word. Welcome back.
Post by: ziggysego on February 10, 2010, 07:38:01 PM
OK, a week to go. What's everyone going off for Lent?

I'm going off...

Chips
Chocolate
Crisps
and....
Facebook.

Something's tells me that Facebook is going to be the most difficult for me.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 10, 2010, 07:39:28 PM
Post by: Celt_Man on February 10, 2010, 07:40:29 PM
Thinking of giving up Coppers after last night....
Post by: The Worker on February 10, 2010, 07:43:32 PM
dont think any of yous could give up the board!
Post by: gerry on February 10, 2010, 08:42:44 PM
Feck me lads. Pints of the board and ziggy of facebook, it will last an hour if yer lucky.
Post by: ziggysego on February 10, 2010, 10:46:35 PM
It'll be a struggle for me Gerry, but I'm getting a lot of support and encouragement off my good friends on Facebook.
Post by: illdecide on February 11, 2010, 10:22:43 AM
Sweets, crisps, chocolate, lemonade, bread and all types of Chippe food...It's the longest 6 weeks in the year without my treats
Post by: Orior on February 11, 2010, 12:34:11 PM
I'm planning to give up sweets and crisps (though not starting until I get back from my skiing holiday).

Abstinence of sweets and crisps will probably kill me.
Post by: maggie on February 11, 2010, 12:39:01 PM
Quote from: illdecide on February 11, 2010, 10:22:43 AM
Sweets, crisps, chocolate, lemonade, bread and all types of Chippe food...It's the longest 6 weeks in the year without my treats

Jeez, if i did all those, I wouldn't be able to function and my body would go into shock.
Good luck.
Im giving up nothing.
Post by: tyrone girl on February 11, 2010, 01:03:56 PM
Im the same Maggie. It wouldnt happen. Im not giving up anything either, no point cos i wouldnt stick to it anyway - nor do i see the point in it.
Post by: ziggysego on February 11, 2010, 01:05:07 PM
Quote from: maggie on February 11, 2010, 12:39:01 PM
Quote from: illdecide on February 11, 2010, 10:22:43 AM

Jeez, if i did all those, I wouldn't be able to function and my body would go into shock.
Good luck.
Im giving up nothing.

Quote from: tyrone girl on February 11, 2010, 01:03:56 PM
Im the same Maggie. It wouldnt happen. Im not giving up anything either, no point cos i wouldnt stick to it anyway - nor do i see the point in it.

Women  ::)
Post by: tyrone girl on February 11, 2010, 01:09:07 PM
Why the rolling eyes zig? Just cos i think lent is ridiculous?
Post by: ziggysego on February 11, 2010, 01:09:56 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on February 11, 2010, 01:09:07 PM
Why the rolling eyes zig? Just cos i think lent is ridiculous?

Ridiculous, or no will power..............
Post by: tyrone girl on February 11, 2010, 01:14:21 PM
I do think it is ridiculous - granted i have no willpower anyway but the whole concept in MY OPINION is that its rubbish but each to their own  ::)
Post by: ziggysego on February 11, 2010, 01:15:27 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on February 11, 2010, 01:14:21 PM
I do think it is ridiculous - granted i have no willpower anyway but the whole concept in MY OPINION is that its rubbish but each to their own  ::)

Why do you think it's ridiculous as a matter of interest?
Post by: tyrone girl on February 11, 2010, 01:29:49 PM
I just dont see what the point is in me going off stuff for religious reasons. Means absolutely nothing to me. And as for me sitting craving something like mad and telling myself i cant have it cos its lent just seems ridiculous to me, as i said thats my opinion and il be in the minority!!! Wouldnt it be a boring world if we all thought the same!!!
Post by: longrunsthefox on February 11, 2010, 01:31:17 PM
Girlie-you could give up making bets and then renaging on them  ;)
Post by: tyrone girl on February 11, 2010, 01:50:01 PM
And u could give up drinking coffee  ;)
Post by: longrunsthefox on February 11, 2010, 01:51:17 PM
Rite enuff- good idea  8)
Post by: thebigfella on February 11, 2010, 02:09:22 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on February 11, 2010, 01:29:49 PM
I just dont see what the point is in me going off stuff for religious reasons. Means absolutely nothing to me. And as for me sitting craving something like mad and telling myself i cant have it cos its lent just seems ridiculous to me, as i said thats my opinion and il be in the minority!!! Wouldnt it be a boring world if we all thought the same!!!

Agreed, a load of balls IMO but if people get something out of it fair enough and each to their own. Those people have no right then to interrogate people (harsh but fair  :P)  when other people disagree with their religious rituals after they posed the question  :)
Post by: ziggysego on February 11, 2010, 02:22:17 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on February 11, 2010, 01:29:49 PM

Putting religion to one side, it's about character building and showing a bit of will power.
Post by: tyrone girl on February 11, 2010, 02:29:04 PM
Character building how??  Also why does it have to be done in lent to show this so called willpower? Whats wrong with u stopping all that stuff now ziggy and showing ur "character and willpower"???
Post by: ziggysego on February 11, 2010, 02:38:12 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on February 11, 2010, 02:29:04 PM
Character building how??  Also why does it have to be done in lent to show this so called willpower? Whats wrong with u stopping all that stuff now ziggy and showing ur "character and willpower"???

Lent's a good as time as any. Plus there'll be others around off stuff too, so you can all support each other.

I don't want me showing character and willpower?
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 11, 2010, 03:25:06 PM
I'm giving up chocolate this year.  :'(
Post by: illdecide on February 11, 2010, 04:10:46 PM
I'm giving up all that stuff because i want to and not for religious reasons. I do it every year and i usually get myself into a bit of shape whilst doing pre-season training (would tend to lose about 10llb most years). The bread is the only one that really gets me the other stuff doesn't cost me a thought.
Post by: winsamsoon on February 16, 2010, 02:38:31 PM
Going off the bread myself and most bad things can't go off alcohol because there are stags coming at me like no tommorrow (God bless them) i am religious lol . I will only drink at stags and trips out of the country  ;) . Tyrone girl you should be ashamed of yourself lol :D :D :D
Post by: tyrone girl on February 16, 2010, 03:09:26 PM
Yep im going to hell  ::)
Post by: ziggysego on February 16, 2010, 03:11:05 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on February 16, 2010, 03:09:26 PM
Yep im going to hell  ::)

If you don't pay fox that £20 you owe him, you probably will.

Going to have a Cadbury's Cream egg later and a burger and chip for dinner. Lent starts then.
Post by: Celt_Man on February 16, 2010, 03:25:15 PM
Think I'll give up the Demon Drink.... obviously not for Paddy's day...

Jaysus anyone else when you were a young fella give up sweets and chocolate during lent but that didn't mean you couldn't buy and stockpile them...  You'd absolutely gourge yourself on them on Paddy's day when Lent "took a wee break" and then again on Easter Sunday...

Come to think of it, that's not a bad idea when applied to drink too...
Post by: illdecide on February 16, 2010, 03:31:26 PM
Quote from: Celt_Man on February 16, 2010, 03:25:15 PM

Jaysus anyone else when you were a young fella give up sweets and chocolate during lent but that didn't mean you couldn't buy and stockpile them...  You'd absolutely gourge yourself on them on Paddy's day when Lent "took a wee break" and then again on Easter Sunday...

Ohh aye Jesus decide to have a fish supper on St Patricks day too ::)...lol :D :D :D
Post by: ziggysego on February 16, 2010, 03:33:39 PM
I usually go off the drink during the Lent and it's never too much bother for me. But I've a few things on during Lent this year, so I'm not going off it the year.
Post by: Celt_Man on February 16, 2010, 03:58:43 PM
Quote from: illdecide on February 16, 2010, 03:31:26 PM
Quote from: Celt_Man on February 16, 2010, 03:25:15 PM

Ohh aye Jesus decide to have a fish supper on St Patricks day too ::)...lol :D :D :D

That's good enough for me so!!
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 16, 2010, 04:16:08 PM
last two years stayed off drink and last year also was off sweets as well.
thinking about going off sweets again this year.
Wont be going off drink, though I am sure the missus will suggest that tonight !!
Have proven that I can do it if I want to, now just dont want to having done so prev.
maybe I'll try being nice to people during lent instead !
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on February 16, 2010, 06:24:18 PM
...yous could try going to Mass every day in Lent instead of giving up something like tha booze.....
Post by: Celt_Man on February 16, 2010, 06:25:39 PM
Quote from: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on February 16, 2010, 06:24:18 PM
...yous could try going to Mass every day in Lent instead of giving up something like tha booze.....

They have mass every day???
Post by: The Worker on February 16, 2010, 06:28:58 PM
Quote from: Celt_Man on February 16, 2010, 06:25:39 PM
Quote from: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on February 16, 2010, 06:24:18 PM

They have mass every day???

none on easter saturday
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on February 16, 2010, 06:41:07 PM
None on Good Friday either. And the 40 days only goes from tomorrow to Palm Sunday.....
Post by: Agnes Dipesto on February 16, 2010, 06:45:45 PM
Will give up chocolate and crisps. Did this last year and didn't break it once. Going to try and give up white bread too. This will be more difficult as I love the stuff. Not giving up drink, not a chance.
Post by: Puckoon on February 16, 2010, 07:11:28 PM
Lent is starting to worry me - Ive yet to make the verbal committments to myself of all the things I decided I was going to do.

Im going off the junk food and chocolate, and I probably will go off sushi too (its my weekly treat)

However - I am also toying with the idea of going to the gym every day, and giving up the drink. I do love to go for a few pints after soccer on a friday though, and I cant seem to bring myself to say - yes I will go off it.  :-\

(None of this is for any specific religious reason, I think I just use lent because it has a set time frame).
Post by: ziggysego on February 17, 2010, 12:34:45 AM
And so it begins  :'(
Post by: stephenite on February 17, 2010, 02:02:18 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 17, 2010, 12:34:45 AM
And so it begins  :'(

If I catch you on Facebook I'm telling god
Post by: illdecide on February 17, 2010, 09:22:29 AM
The first 9 hours have been easy lads ;)
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on February 17, 2010, 01:45:43 PM
Going to try going to Mass every morning again, plus a couple of other things. Not going to do as much "giving up" this year, going to try and "do" more things.
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 17, 2010, 04:47:10 PM
I've had no creme egg at all this year. :(
Post by: High Wide and Handsome on February 17, 2010, 05:50:45 PM
I think I might call into the chippy on the way! Having no meat round work today has put me in an awful mood for a burger!
Post by: sandwiches_in_the_boot on February 17, 2010, 06:38:54 PM
I'm going to cook more. Just destroyed the better part of a homemade beef lasagne.
(http://www.dan-dare.org/FreeFun/Images/CartoonsMoviesTV/Garfield3.gif)

How many decades standing on my head in purgatory will that get me?

I've also started morning runs. There's a local run coming up soon, but might be asking a bit much, just about managing 2 miles atm.
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on February 19, 2010, 09:20:23 PM
Have been going to midday Mass the last two days, is that a record for the gaaboard?
Post by: downredblack on February 19, 2010, 10:49:04 PM
Had a great feed of champ and fish on Wednesday in me Ma's . Never get champ like your Ma's .
Post by: leenie on March 03, 2010, 11:24:22 PM
so how's lent going ziggy?
Post by: ONeill on March 03, 2010, 11:40:28 PM
My Lent's fcuked out the window. Just ate a Crunchie. Had a horrific experience on Monday night and hit the larder.
Post by: ziggysego on March 03, 2010, 11:54:18 PM
Great difficultly leenie. Since I've gone off biscuits, my Mum keeps calling with packs of them. I think she's doing it to torture me.

I must admit, had my first bit of chocolate today at work. I was drained and desperately needed a sugar rush. Helped me no-end.
Post by: leenie on March 04, 2010, 12:23:52 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 10, 2010, 07:38:01 PM
OK, a week to go. What's everyone going off for Lent?

I'm going off...

Chips
Chocolate
Crisps
and....
Facebook.

Something's tells me that Facebook is going to be the most difficult for me.

ziggy would you like to confess anything?
Post by: ziggysego on March 04, 2010, 12:26:25 AM
Chocolate just.
Post by: AbbeySider on March 04, 2010, 09:37:58 AM
Bizarrely since Lent started I have been eating MORE chocolate and sweet things than normal, and I dont normally have a sweet tooth.  :-[

I wouldnt mind, but I never normally eat biscuits, bars or sweets, but since Lent started, im craving the stuff more.

I think its because I know I shouldnt have it, that im indulging...  :(
Post by: illdecide on March 04, 2010, 03:01:43 PM
Doing good so far, still no sweets, crisps, chocolate, lemonade, chippy food and no bread...it's getting easier the longer it goes on
Post by: ziggysego on March 04, 2010, 03:54:51 PM
Fell today. Had me some chips.

Lent is too hard this year :'(
Post by: Celt_Man on March 04, 2010, 03:57:16 PM
Still haven't touched a drop of the devil drink... but it'll get some doing Paddy's day and possibly paddy's eve too... ;D ;D
Post by: Puckoon on March 09, 2010, 12:15:47 AM
Doing good, no sushi, coffee or junk food - and Ive been running every day.

Decided I couldnt give up the drink, so I didnt.
Post by: Puckoon on March 15, 2010, 07:35:49 PM
Just broke it, and it wasnt even worth it. Like an auld chancy curt. :(
Post by: ziggysego on March 15, 2010, 07:39:10 PM
How'd you break it?
Post by: Puckoon on March 15, 2010, 07:45:16 PM
had sushi for lunch,.
Post by: ziggysego on March 15, 2010, 08:02:06 PM
A small amount, or did you go to town?
Post by: Caid on March 15, 2010, 09:00:38 PM
Broke lent on Friday meself when my date parked a pint of the Good Stuff in front of me (she knew it was the only thing that could possibly make me break lent).  Seemed like a sin not to drink it.

Doing alright with the other lenten promise. It'll be four weeks tomorrow since my last ejaculation.  Though if things continue to go well with this girl that one might not last much longer either!
Post by: The Iceman on March 25, 2010, 06:28:15 PM
All these feast days in Lent are a great job.  Went off meat and I don't like fish so it's been a sobering experience!  Feel better for it but still wouldn't trade it for the taste of a good burger or a steak, or a fry up.
Post by: Celt_Man on March 25, 2010, 06:59:27 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on March 25, 2010, 06:28:15 PM
All these feast days in Lent are a great job.  Went off meat and I don't like fish so it's been a sobering experience!  Feel better for it but still wouldn't trade it for the taste of a good burger or a steak, or a fry up.

Jaysus don't know how (or why for that matter) anyone would go off meat for Lent....  Think I'd go off drink sooner - wait I am!
Post by: ONeill on February 21, 2012, 10:13:00 PM
Drink, food.
Post by: Puckoon on February 21, 2012, 10:17:51 PM
Was thinking about this earlier. I've a bad habit of snapping paperclips in half or bending them all out of shape. Going to try and knock that on the head.
Post by: ONeill on February 21, 2012, 10:24:56 PM
Seriously going to give it a go this year. No food unless it's to survive. No alcohol. Run 2 times a week. Be nice to strangers.
Post by: Orior on February 21, 2012, 10:31:38 PM
Chocolate.

Well, Galaxy bars anyway.

Evenings and weekends.

Maybe just weekends.

Except Sundays.

Post by: Celt_Man on February 21, 2012, 10:36:41 PM
Gonna give up Chocolate and all other kinds of shite... Take-aways (i've cut down an awful lot since before christmas anyway), minerals, crisps any of that carry on!!
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 21, 2012, 10:38:02 PM
I actually gave up meat a month ago for a number of reasons. It's doable if you find the right substitutes. These days it's not hard to google up vegetarian recipes.
Post by: Orior on February 21, 2012, 10:41:51 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on February 21, 2012, 10:38:02 PM
I actually gave up meat a month ago for a number of reasons. It's doable if you find the right substitutes. These days it's not hard to google up vegetarian recipes.

We're at the top of the food chain. Why the heck would you want to eat like a Rabbit?
Post by: ONeill on February 21, 2012, 10:46:52 PM

A number of reasons?
Post by: Celt_Man on February 21, 2012, 10:49:14 PM
Quote from: Orior on February 21, 2012, 10:41:51 PM

We're at the top of the food chain. Why the heck would you want to eat like a Rabbit?
Post by: Orior on February 21, 2012, 10:49:51 PM
When humans were hunter/gathers, they actually had a much healthier diet than the early farmers.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 22, 2012, 02:18:36 AM

1 - Eating processed meat has all sorts of unhealthy consequences. People in Ireland have no idea how unhealthy the food is in America. If I only ate more organically grown meat then that'd be less of an issue. But since giving up meat my guts have felt a whole lot better and I've found it easier to keep my weight under control.

2 - Meat is a very inefficient means of getting energy into your system. When you think about it you're getting animals to eat plants to convert to muscle fibre which you then eat. Why not just go directly to the plant source and not waste all that energy rearing animals?  The large scale meat farming that we have in the states has all sorts of environmental effects, none of them good. I'm not talking about small scale farms here, I'm talking about giant cattle feed lots that go on for miles like a big black stain on the landscape and producing a smell that would lift paint. I saw one for the first time when driving back up from LA a few months ago and it was an eye-opener.

3 - It's also a matter of conscience. I've always been weary about animal cruelty and I've tried to give up meat a few times before for that reason. This is the first time I've succeeded for a decent length of time. I know people that have worked in slaughterhouses and I've seen what goes on in them. It's very different from the image you get from food industry marketing and I want no part of it.

4- Some vegetarian dishes are just delicious in their own right and they're worth eating for the flavor alone.

There are other reasons too.

It's a clever argument that we're at the top of the food chain but we weren't "designed" to eat anything in particular. The secret of our success has always been our adaptability. Our systems are capable of eating meat, plants or both. Our guts can digest either, we have teeth at the front that are good for tearing into meat and molars at the back that are good for grinding up plants. That gives us a choice about what we want to eat and I'm making mine for health reasons and what I see as ethical reasons.
Post by: trileacman on February 22, 2012, 04:14:59 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on February 22, 2012, 02:18:36 AM

1 - Eating processed meat has all sorts of unhealthy consequences. People in Ireland have no idea how unhealthy the food is in America. If I only ate more organically grown meat then that'd be less of an issue. But since giving up meat my guts have felt a whole lot better and I've found it easier to keep my weight under control.

2 - Meat is a very inefficient means of getting energy into your system. When you think about it you're getting animals to eat plants to convert to muscle fibre which you then eat. Why not just go directly to the plant source and not waste all that energy rearing animals?  The large scale meat farming that we have in the states has all sorts of environmental effects, none of them good. I'm not talking about small scale farms here, I'm talking about giant cattle feed lots that go on for miles like a big black stain on the landscape and producing a smell that would lift paint. I saw one for the first time when driving back up from LA a few months ago and it was an eye-opener.

3 - It's also a matter of conscience. I've always been weary about animal cruelty and I've tried to give up meat a few times before for that reason. This is the first time I've succeeded for a decent length of time. I know people that have worked in slaughterhouses and I've seen what goes on in them. It's very different from the image you get from food industry marketing and I want no part of it.

4- Some vegetarian dishes are just delicious in their own right and they're worth eating for the flavor alone.

There are other reasons too.

It's a clever argument that we're at the top of the food chain but we weren't "designed" to eat anything in particular. The secret of our success has always been our adaptability. Our systems are capable of eating meat, plants or both. Our guts can digest either, we have teeth at the front that are good for tearing into meat and molars at the back that are good for grinding up plants. That gives us a choice about what we want to eat and I'm making mine for health reasons and what I see as ethical reasons.

Im twisted but I have to reply. America allows all kinda hormones and additives to boost production in the food sector. GM/milk hormones/angel dust.

The matter of conscious thing gets to me. I can't comment on american system but by and large in Ireland, animals are treated very well in the agricultural sector. People often flag up animal welfare as a concern but I have have seen first hand how animals are treated and compared with how people are treated in the third world you would have no comparison. It is annoying how some people can comment on poor animal welfare and draw it up as a major issue whilst simultaneously ignoring the treatment of people in the 3rd world.

Actions in abbatoirs are "inhumane and unjust" whilst people in the third world starve to death just so we can harvest their oil/copper/gold/diamonds/iron/aluminium/timber/coffee at a knockdown price. Some people spout sanctimonious bullshit about animal welfare whilst complaining about the price of a pint/coffee/laptop/car. All those people bitching about animal welfare would do well to observe the poor Chinese/Taiwan slave worker producing the clothes on their back and the product in their hand.

I'm not getting at you Eamonnca but it just reminded me of people who are hypocrites. Plus I'm fuckin baked and spelling correction is a life - saver.
Post by: trileacman on February 22, 2012, 04:15:37 AM
Hate the new board layout too. Change is fuckin terrible.
Post by: ardal on February 22, 2012, 09:10:49 AM
Was a veggie for about 18 years but I gave it up for lent a few years back and haven't looked back since. My diet is a lot better, I feel a lot healthier in general.

I actually gave up when my young son was starting to eat solid foods. As all parents know young children try to put their food into your mouth; pretending to eat the ham etc and then trying to discreetly spit it out was not fooling my son and he started to refuse to eat meat; thus I had a great excuse to start eating meat again.

The secret to buying and obviously eating really good healthy meat is to simply use your local butchers. ::)

Are you giving up eggs also? Hatcheries are diabolical; free range is a 1m square bit of ground for 2 thousand hens
Post by: heganboy on February 22, 2012, 02:57:27 PM
Of all the stuff that goes into your stomach, the one that you should care most about is meat. You are far more susceptible to long term harm from bad quality meat (including fish and fowl) that you are from bad plants. Go and buy from a quality butcher, it'll actually work out the same price as your supermarket.

Nothing really to do with lent- but you get my point...

Bloody difficult to find a good butcher in America. The quality of the meat here is brutal, its full of crap, poorly treated, poorly slaughtered and processed to all hell. Had to go and use Kosher or Halal butchers so no bacon for a long time...

Finally have a new guy locally who has been first class, lot of organic certified source, and he hangs his own. Brilliant
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 22, 2012, 04:14:01 PM
Quote from: ardal on February 22, 2012, 09:10:49 AM
Are you giving up eggs also? Hatcheries are diabolical; free range is a 1m square bit of ground for 2 thousand hens

Oh I know all about hatcheries, I've been in them before.

I'm not much of an egg eater but whenever I do get them I try to get free range.
Post by: The Iceman on February 22, 2012, 04:38:09 PM
Quote from: heganboy on February 22, 2012, 02:57:27 PM
Of all the stuff that goes into your stomach, the one that you should care most about is meat. You are far more susceptible to long term harm from bad quality meat (including fish and fowl) that you are from bad plants. Go and buy from a quality butcher, it'll actually work out the same price as your supermarket.

Nothing really to do with lent- but you get my point...

Bloody difficult to find a good butcher in America. The quality of the meat here is brutal, its full of crap, poorly treated, poorly slaughtered and processed to all hell. Had to go and use Kosher or Halal butchers so no bacon for a long time...

Finally have a new guy locally who has been first class, lot of organic certified source, and he hangs his own. Brilliant
It's funny any of us who moved over here all experience the same struggles with food. I wonder was the food just as bad at home and we didn't question it?
Luckily I have a great butcher beside us here and one of the lads is from Dublin and keeps me right.
Post by: Celt_Man on February 22, 2012, 04:40:00 PM
Quote from: Blue and White on February 22, 2012, 04:35:11 PM
Currently having a packet of choc hobnobs with my tea, one thing i'll never be giving up for lent :)

Now they are a different class of a biscuit...
Post by: gerry on February 23, 2012, 07:28:42 PM
I bet Rick Astley struggles with Lent
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 23, 2012, 07:40:29 PM
Holy shit I don't think I'll manage to keep my Lenten 'give-ups' this year. I've given up chocolate, sweets, biscuits, cakes, and the one that's killing me the half-spoon of sugar in the tea!!! It tastes horrible without it!
Post by: The Iceman on February 23, 2012, 08:34:07 PM
few weeks of no sugar in the tea and you'll never go back.
Post by: ardal on February 23, 2012, 08:46:09 PM
spot of whisky in the tea will cover the lack of sugar rush.

Then you'll be able to pioneer Irish tea instead of the other thing.
Post by: Celt_Man on February 23, 2012, 09:12:52 PM
Jaysus this no chocolate, crisps or minerals is f**king killing me!!!
Post by: johnneycool on February 24, 2012, 10:56:44 AM
Quote from: Celt_Man on February 23, 2012, 09:12:52 PM
Jaysus this no chocolate, crisps or minerals is f**king killing me!!!

Brilliant, haven't heard that in years.

Any minerals in the scullery larder Celt Man?
Post by: Candyman on February 24, 2012, 02:22:17 PM
off the coffee... its tearing me to pieces!! Have also given up crisps, hopefully show some sort of improvement....  ::)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 24, 2012, 02:43:24 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on February 23, 2012, 08:34:07 PM

I can back this up. Used to take a spoon, cut it to half a spoon and now gone altogether. Don't give sugar in tea a moments thought now. Coffee on the other hand...
Post by: BennyCake on February 24, 2012, 03:05:20 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on February 24, 2012, 02:43:24 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on February 23, 2012, 08:34:07 PM

I can back this up. Used to take a spoon, cut it to half a spoon and now gone altogether. Don't give sugar in tea a moments thought now. Coffee on the other hand...

...you have tea in one hand and coffee in the other? At the same time? Man, you're sick!  ;D

Agreed though. That's exactly how I cut out the sugar in the tay. Can't take coffee without the suicre though.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 06, 2012, 05:59:01 PM
So, Easter is nearly here. How have you all done with your Lenten 'give-ups'? I managed to let go of the sugar in the tea by drinking milk anytime tea was served. At home and anywhere else too! Kept off sweets, cakes, chocolate, biscuits. But I sure can't wait to dunk a biscuit into tea with a half-spoon of sugar Sunday morning!!
Post by: Tubberman on April 06, 2012, 06:11:44 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 06, 2012, 05:59:01 PM
So, Easter is nearly here. How have you all done with your Lenten 'give-ups'? I managed to let go of the sugar in the tea by drinking milk anytime tea was served. At home and anywhere else too! Kept off sweets, cakes, chocolate, biscuits. But I sure can't wait to dunk a biscuit into tea with a half-spoon of sugar Sunday morning!!

Well you're the best boy!
Post by: lurganblue on April 06, 2012, 06:28:21 PM
Nearly there. Went off sugar in tea and coffee. Never again.
Post by: muppet on April 06, 2012, 06:35:32 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 06, 2012, 05:59:01 PM
But I sure can't wait to dunk a biscuit into tea with a half-spoon of sugar Sunday morning!!

Don't overdo it whatever you do!
Post by: Dougal Maguire on April 06, 2012, 08:14:12 PM
I gave up bread and all sweet stuff. I'm having a milky bar sandwich for breakfast tomorrow
Post by: playwiththewind1st on April 06, 2012, 08:25:21 PM
Will that be on white or brown?
Post by: Celt_Man on April 06, 2012, 10:33:43 PM
I did alright - more of a cutting down and feel guilty after eating it - rather than abstinence..

Say f**k it today, wipsa with the cup of tea and bottle of coke now... Feeling down after Minor Semi-Final defeat  :'(
Post by: The Iceman on April 06, 2012, 11:40:14 PM
Lent technically finished at Sun down on Thursday morning. Thursday is the beginning of the Triduum according to the Church and Easter is obviously Sunday. So you can stop observing your lent if you havent already
Post by: muppet on April 07, 2012, 12:15:29 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on April 06, 2012, 11:40:14 PM
Lent technically finished at Sun down on Thursday morning. Thursday is the beginning of the Triduum according to the Church and Easter is obviously Sunday. So you can stop observing your lent if you havent already

Tell me if God created everything as per Genesis in 7 days, why did he create the serpent?
Post by: The Iceman on April 07, 2012, 12:54:36 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 07, 2012, 12:15:29 PM

Tell me if God created everything as per Genesis in 7 days, why did he create the serpent?
If you believe as an atheist and naturalist that my thoughts and your thoughts are simply brain secretions of an evolved species with no purpose and we are all just existing then why do you even care.... I am not wrong and you are you not wrong, we just are, right?
Post by: muppet on April 07, 2012, 12:57:59 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on April 07, 2012, 12:54:36 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 07, 2012, 12:15:29 PM

If you believe as an atheist and naturalist that my thoughts and your thoughts are simply brain secretions of an evolved species with no purpose and we are all just existing then why do you even care.... I am not wrong and you are you not wrong, we just are, right?

You obviously don't care enough to formulate an argument.
Post by: The Iceman on April 07, 2012, 02:30:54 PM
If you truly believed in your own stance then there would be no need to argue......
Post by: muppet on April 07, 2012, 04:17:07 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on April 07, 2012, 02:30:54 PM
If you truly believed in your own stance then there would be no need to argue......

Well, we have made progress if you have abandoned defending the dafter aspects of religion.

Post by: ONeill on April 07, 2012, 06:34:44 PM
Gonna enjoy a pint of rum chocolate tomorrow night.
Post by: The Iceman on April 07, 2012, 08:30:11 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 07, 2012, 04:17:07 PM

Well, we have made progress if you have abandoned defending the dafter aspects of religion.

No need to defend. You are a complete contradiction to your supposed side.....
Post by: muppet on April 07, 2012, 08:42:53 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on April 07, 2012, 08:30:11 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 07, 2012, 04:17:07 PM

No need to defend. You are a complete contradiction to your supposed side.....

I asked you a simple question.

You refused to answer and have simply attacked me for what you think I stand for.
Post by: The Iceman on April 07, 2012, 11:13:48 PM
What do you stand for?
Do you believe in naturalism?

Why are you the only one who can ask questions? Why don't you start answering them for a change?
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 07, 2012, 11:18:29 PM
Quote from: ONeill on April 07, 2012, 06:34:44 PM
Gonna enjoy a pint of rum chocolate tomorrow night.
Crack the head of an Easter egg, fill the hoor full of beer and sup on. Take that Lent!
Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 08, 2012, 03:19:16 AM
Quote from: The Iceman on April 07, 2012, 11:13:48 PM
What do you stand for?

Why are you the only one who can ask questions? Why don't you start answering them for a change?

Classic! From the man who just ducked a question with the "what do you care, you're an atheist" defence!
Post by: Puckoon on April 08, 2012, 09:36:32 AM
Ice man I was looking for you on Facebook, had some sort of profound nonsense to tell you (which I can't remember now, it's 1.40 and I'm schnockered), but happy Easter you silly cat killing eejit.

Obviously you did something weird with your FB
Post by: muppet on April 08, 2012, 01:09:58 PM
What do you stand for?

I asked you a simple question. You are trying everything from ad hominem, to insults, to a barrage of counter questions to try to evade it.

Why don't you just say - I don't know.
Post by: The Iceman on April 09, 2012, 12:22:28 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on April 08, 2012, 03:19:16 AM
What do you stand for?

Classic! From the man who just ducked a question with the "what do you care, you're an atheist" defence!
The question has nothing whatsoever to do with the thread. I am not here to answer your questions.
Start answering some of mine for a change.

@ Puck I deleted my FB for lent. Will be back on likely at some point this week and will give you a shout!
Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 09, 2012, 06:29:34 AM
Quote from: The Iceman on April 09, 2012, 12:22:28 AM
I am not here to answer your questions.

Because you can't. And you know it.
Post by: The Iceman on April 09, 2012, 11:26:52 AM
You can't answer where our conscience comes from. You can't explain where emotions come from. You can't explain where laws of logic and reason come from. You can't explain why all people know what is right and wrong.
Start with the first one and work your way through Eamonn, theres a good boy.
Post by: muppet on April 09, 2012, 12:52:10 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on April 09, 2012, 12:22:28 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on April 08, 2012, 03:19:16 AM
What do you stand for?

The question has nothing whatsoever to do with the thread. I am not here to answer your questions.
Start answering some of mine for a change.

@ Puck I deleted my FB for lent. Will be back on likely at some point this week and will give you a shout!

You say my question has nothing to do with the thread
Then you ask questions which have nothing to do with the thread.
Then you demand that I answer your questions while  announcing 'I am not here to answer questions'.

Just say you either don't know or couldn't be bothered. Why all the stress and anger?
Post by: The Iceman on April 09, 2012, 02:20:44 PM
I am not stressed or angered. I am just tired of having to answer all your questions.
I am not demanding anything but I would like you to start answering some questions.
I will start another thread if you want?
Post by: muppet on April 09, 2012, 02:49:37 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on April 09, 2012, 02:20:44 PM
I am not stressed or angered. I am just tired of having to answer all your questions.
I am not demanding anything but I would like you to start answering some questions.
I will start another thread if you want?

Go on start a thread.  :D
Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 09, 2012, 05:13:47 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on April 09, 2012, 11:26:52 AM
You can't answer where our conscience comes from.
Can you?

My understanding of the current state of the science is that we're scratching the surface of how the brain works. The core of the brain (which evolved first) takes care of automatic functions like breathing, digestion and keeping the heart going. Higher brain functions, or consciousness, come from the outer part of the brain and the frontal lobes which evolved later.

You can't explain where emotions come from.

Can you?  Emotions are nature's way of ensuring that we take care of each other. Without emotions, the process of evolution would be less efficient.  Early ancestors of today's animals did not have emotions and didn't go out of their way to help each other when one of their number got in trouble. When emotions were developed they improved reproductive fitness and hence stayed in the gene pool.

QuoteYou can't explain where laws of logic and reason come from.

Huh? The "laws" of logic and reason are not legislation passed in a parliament. They're a function of their own existence.

QuoteYou can't explain why all people know what is right and wrong.

Can you?  Most of us know the difference between right and wrong because it's innate. It's instinctive. If we didn't know the difference between right and wrong then we'd have degenerated into chaos, killed and pillaged all around us, and we wouldn't have survived as a species. Those of us who developed a sense of right and wrong were more fruitful and the instinct stayed in the gene pool. Anyone who didn't develop the instinct didn't survive long enough to reproduce.

And I take issue with your claim that we all know right from wrong.  For example most of us know that animal cruelty is wrong, you don't.

Post by: Farrandeelin on February 10, 2013, 10:23:46 PM
Too early for me this year, but anyway, I'm considering giving up the same amount of stuff as last year and see how it goes. :-\