Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Harold Disgracey on November 21, 2008, 09:47:14 PM

Title: Eggheads
Post by: Harold Disgracey on November 21, 2008, 09:47:14 PM
Anybody watch this show?

I'm going to be on the next series, heading over to London to film it next month.

I've only seen the show a few times, usually not in from work till near 7pm. What would be the Eggheads strongest/weakest subjects?

Any info would be appreciated.
Title: Re: Eggheads
Post by: FermPundit on November 21, 2008, 09:56:28 PM
Kevin is probably the strongest egghead closely followed by Daphne. Daphne has won Fifteen to one twice. CJ is very smug and he reckons he know it all.  Chris is also very strong but he's not so hot on sport. Judith is very knowledge but Sports wouldn't be her strongest area either.
Post by: Doire abú on November 21, 2008, 10:14:58 PM
Judith is def the weak link in my opinion.
Post by: Mario on November 21, 2008, 10:17:28 PM
Yeah, judith is the weakest, especially on the sciences
Post by: rosnarun on November 21, 2008, 11:53:36 PM
Great show proper quiz contest. no gimmicks very fair questions, know your nursery rhymes, capitals,authors and cocktails and youll do grand. what team are you  on. let us know near the time
most of them except kevin and daphne take a pride in being bad at sport except for civilised ones like tennis and rugger. kevins only weak spot is food and drink.
Judith for all her weakness wone 'who wants to be amillionaire' and seems to be related to royalty or something very posh.
chris is a train driver what won brain of britton it think .WTI
Post by: Norf Tyrone on November 22, 2008, 12:00:26 AM
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on November 21, 2008, 09:47:14 PM
Anybody watch this show?

I'm going to be on the next series, heading over to London to film it next month.

I've only seen the show a few times, usually not in from work till near 7pm. What would be the Eggheads strongest/weakest subjects?

Geez what a big coincidence. My mate just told me the night, that him and a few of the other fellas that I know got a phone call this week to go over and film on Monday week!
Post by: Tonto on November 22, 2008, 09:42:17 AM
CJ is the biggest c*nt in the world.

Do me a favour and give him a bat in the mouth, would you? :-X
Post by: bredaghgael86 on November 22, 2008, 10:37:46 AM
C.J is the most hateful gett on the face of the planet.  It all depends on were your teams strengths and weaknesses lie.  If you have anybody strong on food and drink then take kevin, as unless you have put him out your team will struggle to win the final round.  Take judith on sport, or anything for that matter cause she isnt too good at all.  The key to it is putting kevin out, then your in with a real shout.  How did you get on. Think we are gona try and get on aswell.  Also save your best general knowledge person for the final round, unless they are exceptional at one area.
Post by: youngfella on November 22, 2008, 11:08:22 AM
Kevin - food n drink
Daphne - sport/music

Them two are diffo the main two If you get those out you'll have a far better chance. Thon hateful who want to be a millionaire is just daft.
Post by: Tonto on November 22, 2008, 11:34:02 AM
As an extra thing to think about; there's going to be another Egghead shortly so you'll maybe need an extra member...?

Unless they put us all out of our misery and send CJ to the gallows... ;)
Post by: corn02 on November 22, 2008, 02:07:16 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on November 21, 2008, 11:53:36 PM
Great show proper quiz contest. no gimmicks very fair questions

Second that, great show, basic and addictive.

CJ is a pup i'd love to drive a stake between them devil eyes. Kevin is a genius.

As stated, Daphne may look like she's doting, but she knows her sport, get Judith on the sport and you will be home.
Post by: youngfella on November 22, 2008, 02:23:40 PM
Id prefer to risk getting rid of daphne of possibly her weakest area. I feel judith could be taken out on serval topics.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on November 22, 2008, 09:17:37 PM
I love this show.

CJ pisses me off so much, he is constantly beat by teh challeners, then he sits and chastises the ones that have made it through to the final round shaking his head an all if they get a question wrong! what a p***k, get your own question right

As for kevin, the man is a genius, he knows almost EVERYTHING!

I like the big trains fella, chris?? His sideburns are class!

The weemen annoy me, especially millionaire woman... Only there on basis of that...
Post by: Harold Disgracey on November 24, 2008, 12:29:14 PM
Thanks for the info lads.

Apart from offing CJ & giving one to Judith (don't ask, some strange people out there!) any other requests?

We went to an audition at thd BBC in Belfast last Tuesday, we got a call on Wednesday evening to say we were succesful, the researcher there was an Armagh fan. I wonder if this helped?
Post by: ziggysego on November 24, 2008, 12:31:40 PM
Give us the time and date when you'll be on. Hopefully you'll do better than my proxy £10!
Post by: full back on November 24, 2008, 12:34:14 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 24, 2008, 12:31:40 PM
Give us the time and date when you'll be on. Hopefully you'll do better than my proxy £10!

What is this proxy you speak of?
Post by: ziggysego on November 24, 2008, 12:35:14 PM
Poxy. oops.
Post by: winsamsoon on November 24, 2008, 02:12:39 PM
let us know harold when you are on lad so as we can get a laugh and start a thread about it . ;)
Post by: Harold Disgracey on December 02, 2008, 05:34:43 PM
Heading nver to London on Sunday to record the show on Monday. They are flying us over at 9am & putting us up in a hotel overnight. Things could potentially go pear shaped!

BTW, does anyone know of any bars that might show the Cross-Ballinderry match?
Post by: leenie on December 02, 2008, 05:45:13 PM
good luck.... i love the show! pity though its the new presenter and not dermot!!

look out for the way daphne says the new presenters name ......... instead of Jeremy  she pronounces it jemery .. don't let it distract u though!

barry has replaced c.j
Post by: Norf Tyrone on December 02, 2008, 06:07:26 PM
Some friends of mine were in London yesterday for Eggheads Harold. Same deal as yourself they flew over Sunday, put up in a 'great' hotel, and filmed on the Monday. The shooting was running behind schedule so the the BBC had to book a taxi to take them from the studio to the airport late last night.

They had to sign a contract so that they revealed nowt about the show.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on December 03, 2008, 03:53:31 PM
The new fella barry seemed to be anervous wreck there yesterday from what i saw!
Post by: Billys Boots on December 03, 2008, 05:08:13 PM
Good luck on Sunday Harold!
Post by: Harold Disgracey on December 03, 2008, 05:31:46 PM
Has CJ gone? What's this new guy Barry like? I thought they were going to rotate the eggheads as they are recording 5 shows a day now.
Bet Tony is jealous!

Note to self, don't drink too much on Sunday.
Post by: Harold Disgracey on December 09, 2008, 12:54:26 PM
Just back last night, we recorded the show yesterday. Apparently it won't be broadcast until March/April.

CJ is still there, contrary to popular opinion he is actually a really nice guy :o
Kevin is an absolute gentleman, Daphne was nice, Chris is an absolute bear of a man and the new guy Barry was sound but very quiet.

Flying us over on Sunday morning probably wasn't the cleverest, or maybe it was, as we ended up going on the rip in Shepherds Bush.

It was an experience if nothing else.
Post by: T Fearon on December 09, 2008, 01:02:07 PM
Harold, I hope you don't let our club down, unlike a former ex county player(CS) who disgraced himself a few years ago on question of sport, where he didn't know Liam Brady's nickname was Chippy, and failed to identify the mystery guest, who was actually a showjumper from Portadown (and this show was filmed in Dublin and he was the only 6 counties person on it) :D :D :D :D :D
Post by: nrico2006 on December 09, 2008, 01:35:14 PM
How the hell would you even know who a showjumper from Portadown was if she wasn't disguised?!?  And as for Bradys nickname, its not exactly an answer everyone would know or want to.
Post by: full back on December 09, 2008, 01:40:50 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on December 09, 2008, 01:02:07 PM
Harold, I hope you don't let our club down

Bollix Tony, you are a Poyntzpass man, never disown your own
Post by: Harold Disgracey on December 09, 2008, 03:43:38 PM
No Tony, we didn't let the club down. Apart from me our team included a former county player (not CS), a member of our 65/66 championship winning teams and a non-catholic Spurs season ticket holder.

We bumped into a bunch of brit squaddies in the hotel bar who were going on the show as well. They blabbed to the producers that we were on the beer. The producers & make-up people were surprised to find us hale & hearty when we arrived.

We were in an 'Irish' bar in Shepherds Bush called O'Neill's, guess what they had no Guinness, we had to make do with something called Guinness Red which was like a pint of mix. 
Post by: Tonto on December 10, 2008, 09:27:19 AM
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on December 09, 2008, 12:54:26 PM
Just back last night, we recorded the show yesterday. Apparently it won't be broadcast until March/April.

CJ is still there, contrary to popular opinion he is actually a really nice guy :o
Kevin is an absolute gentleman, Daphne was nice, Chris is an absolute bear of a man and the new guy Barry was sound but very quiet.

Flying us over on Sunday morning probably wasn't the cleverest, or maybe it was, as we ended up going on the rip in Shepherds Bush.

It was an experience if nothing else.
What about Judith? Did you give her one?
Post by: Harold Disgracey on December 10, 2008, 12:11:08 PM
She wasn't there, so I had to tackle Daphne instead!
Post by: ziggysego on December 10, 2008, 12:58:26 PM
Can't believe the Brits ratted you out!
Post by: lurganblue on December 10, 2008, 03:14:38 PM
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on December 09, 2008, 03:43:38 PM
No Tony, we didn't let the club down. Apart from me our team included a former county player (not CS), a member of our 65/66 championship winning teams and a non-catholic Spurs season ticket holder.

We bumped into a bunch of brit squaddies in the hotel bar who were going on the show as well. They blabbed to the producers that we were on the beer. The producers & make-up people were surprised to find us hale & hearty when we arrived.

We were in an 'Irish' bar in Shepherds Bush called O'Neill's, guess what they had no Guinness, we had to make do with something called Guinness Red which was like a pint of mix. 

was there a certain MM on your team? he was telling mw hw was going to be on the show a few weeks ago
Post by: T Fearon on December 10, 2008, 03:34:26 PM
Right Harold, EMc C was obviously the mid 60s side representative, AMc C possibly the ex County player and M J the non catholic Spurs fan but stalwart gael ;D
Post by: corn02 on December 10, 2008, 03:42:06 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on December 10, 2008, 03:34:26 PM
AMc C possibly the ex County player

True?
Post by: Harold Disgracey on December 10, 2008, 04:38:14 PM
2 out 3 Tony, the ex-county player was once described by Benny Tierney as a fat bastard (the irony!), he is possibly the only person in the north that could name the '78 Ipswich FA cup winning team!
The mooncat was our reserve!
Post by: T Fearon on December 10, 2008, 05:09:59 PM
Ah, must be EF then! ;D

PS I could name a fair few of that Ipswich side myself, Cooper, Mills, Beattie, Hunter,Talbot, Geddis, Gates, Whymark and not forgetting Roger Osborne the goalscorer against Arsenal, who is revered by Spurs fans still ;D
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 10, 2008, 05:20:16 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on December 10, 2008, 05:09:59 PM
Ah, must be EF then! ;D

PS I could name a fair few of that Ipswich side myself, Cooper, Mills, Beattie, Hunter,Talbot, Geddis, Gates, Whymark and not forgetting Roger Osborne the goalscorer against Arsenal, who is revered by Spurs fans still ;D
was it not a deflected Geddis shot ?
Post by: Harold Disgracey on December 10, 2008, 05:29:20 PM
Correct Tony.
The match commentary was reenacted on Sunday night and Roger Osborne scored the goal.
The Arsenal supporting Dermot Murnaghan was reminded about this and spurs carling cup victory!
Post by: winsamsoon on February 04, 2009, 12:03:18 PM
Harold was that your face on the eggheads last night ??? ??? ??? There was a crowd of our wans on it anyway. :D :D Playing for a £1,000 as the team the night before had just won £23,000. Our fella's won the grand.
Post by: heineken_on_tap on February 04, 2009, 12:33:09 PM
Quote from: winsamsoon on February 04, 2009, 12:03:18 PM
Playing for a £1,000 as the team the night before had just won £23,000.

I have watched Eggheads loads of times and still have not seen them been beaten ??? I would love to see one episode when they lose
Post by: longball on February 04, 2009, 01:12:29 PM
QUIZ QUESTION TO ALL YOU EGGHEADS:

??? ??? ???who scored the first goal at the emirates?????????
Post by: corn02 on February 04, 2009, 01:13:39 PM
Quote from: longball on February 04, 2009, 01:12:29 PM
QUIZ QUESTION TO ALL YOU EGGHEADS:

??? ??? ???who scored the first goal at the emirates?????????

Was that the Bergkamp testimonial. Ill guess the man himself Bergkamp?
Post by: longball on February 04, 2009, 01:14:57 PM
no dont think so i heard it on the radio this morning! it was a league game!!!!!!!!
Post by: nrico2006 on February 04, 2009, 01:16:12 PM
QuoteI have watched Eggheads loads of times and still have not seen them been beaten  I would love to see one episode when they lose

About 2 months ago I saw them beat 2 times in a row or 2 in a few days anyway and one of the defeats happened to be a woman on her own against all the Eggheads or all them bar one.  Before that I had never seen them lose and one show since I saw your man Kevin take on the final round on his own and win!
Post by: corn02 on February 04, 2009, 01:17:11 PM
Quote from: longball on February 04, 2009, 01:14:57 PM
no dont think so i heard it on the radio this morning! it was a league game!!!!!!!!

You sure I am pretty certain the Bergkamp game opened proceedings and there was goals, maybe that friendly was later in the year.
Post by: Bensars on February 04, 2009, 01:18:15 PM
Quote from: winsamsoon on February 04, 2009, 12:03:18 PM
Harold was that your face on the eggheads last night ??? ??? ??? There was a crowd of our wans on it anyway. :D :D Playing for a £1,000 as the team the night before had just won £23,000. Our fella's won the grand.

There was a quiz team from Omagh due to appear on eggheads ( i think it was this week ). They called themselves "Abbey" something
Post by: nrico2006 on February 04, 2009, 01:18:39 PM
Klaas-Jan Huntelaar
Post by: full back on February 04, 2009, 01:22:04 PM
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=11077.0
Post by: The Gs Man on February 04, 2009, 02:55:04 PM
Olaf Melberg
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 04, 2009, 03:10:02 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on February 04, 2009, 02:55:04 PM
Olaf Melberg
Was on Radio 1 this morning. Along with 'What is the highest mountain in Germany?'
Post by: Overthebar! on February 06, 2009, 12:14:48 PM
any of you boys see the episode were the bar staff from the bot won?
Post by: corn02 on February 06, 2009, 12:37:21 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 04, 2009, 03:10:02 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on February 04, 2009, 02:55:04 PM
Olaf Melberg
Was on Radio 1 this morning. Along with 'What is the highest mountain in Germany?'

Cjecked it out was Huntelear in Bergkamp match.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on July 28, 2009, 11:30:56 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on November 22, 2008, 12:00:26 AM
Anybody watch this show?

Geez what a big coincidence. My mate just told me the night, that him and a few of the other fellas that I know got a phone call this week to go over and film on Monday week!

For those that are interested.... the boys that I know are on the mora (Weds night) at 6pm.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on July 29, 2009, 04:33:01 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on July 28, 2009, 11:30:56 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on November 22, 2008, 12:00:26 AM
Anybody watch this show?

For those that are interested.... the boys that I know are on the mora (Weds night) at 6pm.

Bump!
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 29, 2009, 04:35:35 PM
Last time I seen this they were on something ridiculous - 52 wins in a row or something.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on July 29, 2009, 04:43:29 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 29, 2009, 04:35:35 PM
Last time I seen this they were on something ridiculous - 52 wins in a row or something.

I usually get one question right....

... Name?
Post by: Harold Disgracey on October 01, 2009, 05:29:45 PM
We are on next Monday evening,
Post by: lurganblue on October 06, 2009, 09:02:19 AM
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on October 01, 2009, 05:29:45 PM
We are on next Monday evening,

big eamonn mc was unlucky but impossible to beat all of the feckers. which one were you harold?
Post by: Declan on October 06, 2009, 09:03:01 AM
Saw the Tir na Nog lads on last night - Unlucky enough with the questions alright but well done to the last lad. Nearly saved the day
Post by: Harold Disgracey on October 06, 2009, 09:45:50 AM
I was the one that had to take on Daphne on Arts & Books, had a brain fart on the Dickens question meant to say Little Doritt but somehow managed to blurt out Our Mutual Friend lol! Must've been the 99p black sambucas in Shepherds Bush the night before!
Post by: Declan on October 06, 2009, 11:24:53 AM
Quotehad a brain fart on the Dickens question meant to say Little Doritt
Was surprised at that one myself - Won't repeat what I called you  ;)
Post by: Harold Disgracey on October 06, 2009, 11:42:28 AM
Quote from: Declan on October 06, 2009, 11:24:53 AM
Quotehad a brain fart on the Dickens question meant to say Little Doritt
Was surprised at that one myself - Won't repeat what I called you  ;)
Probably something similar to what I called myself!  If Benny Tierney saw the show there might be a bit of slagging of his former understudy in his Irish News column.
Post by: Harold Disgracey on October 09, 2009, 09:59:40 AM
One of my mates over in the states wants to watch the show on BBC iplayer. How would they go about doing it? UK proxy? Any advice would be appreciated.
Post by: Black Card on March 28, 2014, 02:10:52 PM
Not so keen on the new show - Revenge of the Egghead, don't think the format works at all.
Post by: BennyCake on March 28, 2014, 02:16:19 PM
Don't mind the new show, but thon CJ needs a hefty kick in the goolies.
Post by: 5 Sams on March 28, 2014, 02:47:44 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 28, 2014, 02:16:19 PM

I love to see thon Chris making a dick out of himself...another tosser.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TiPudENAsIo
Post by: Black Card on March 28, 2014, 03:27:35 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 28, 2014, 02:16:19 PM

Agree about CJ - but obviously a big act! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BQ-AeGnyPnQ (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BQ-AeGnyPnQ)
Post by: Oraisteach on March 28, 2014, 04:48:47 PM
Harold, would you mind telling on what episode and season you played?  If not, no bother.
Post by: Harold Disgracey on March 28, 2014, 10:09:36 PM
Sorry, I've no idea Oraisteach. I believe it was broadcast in Australia last week!
Post by: Oraisteach on March 28, 2014, 10:47:29 PM
Thanks, anyway, Harold.
Post by: No wides on September 22, 2016, 03:11:45 PM
C.J arrested on alleged killing.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-wales-37437498 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-wales-37437498)

P.S. loving the new series of Make me an Egghead.  No wonder this clown is being replaced!
Post by: square_ball on September 22, 2016, 06:28:03 PM
Tried to shift a few books and he's got himself arrested the murder the idiot!

And on that note who would buy this guys autobiography??