Where can I found a Hurling match ?

Started by Leonel, May 07, 2008, 07:41:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Leonel

Hi everybody,

I'm a Corsican student finishing my study year in Ireland, and before leaving I would love to see a hurling match. But I can't find where and when...

I managed to find something on ticketmaster for Gaelic Football, but nothing for Hurling. If somebody can advise me, that would be grand !

Cheers

AZOffaly

Hi Leonel,

Welcome on board.

In answer to your question, I suppose it really depends on where in Ireland you are based, or are going to be, and when you leave. Some of the relatively soon 'bigger' games are as follows.

May 25th in Portlaoise is a double header (two games at the same venue on the same day) featuring Dublin versus Westmeath and then Offaly versus Laois. The standard here won't be as high as in some of the later games, but they will be fast, fierce and well contested.

The following weekend is the start of the Munster hurling championship, and sees (on June 1st) the meeting of Clare and Waterford in Limerick.

The weekend after that would be the pick of the 3 opening weekends as the new league Champions Tipperary open up against one of the favourites, Cork, in a game which is a fantastic rivalry between 2 very historic hurling counties.

As a newcomer to the games, any of those 3 would suit you perfectly, but if you are based in Dublin, I would head to Portlaoise on the 25th of May.

scalder

Well the Kilkenny county championship starts this weekend which while not quiet the same buzz as a big intercounty game you would see high quality hurling and experience genuine club hurling. If you're relying on Public transport then maybe Nowlan Park this Sunday for the Carrickshock v Tullaroan game would be a good one (The stadium is beside the train station coming from Dublin).

More here:
http://www.kilkennygaa.ie/site/all_fixtures.php?comp_id=9

thejuice