38 (33.9%)
10+ pts
36 (32.1%)

Total Members Voted: 112

Voting closed: December 19, 2020, 08:56:37 AM

6th sam

Quote from: larryin89 on December 22, 2020, 12:00:17 AM
Quote from: 6th sam on December 21, 2020, 11:32:29 PM
Talk about unfair advantages certainly , but going down the road of "he said,you said" in the tunnel is a dead end. Dublin team are a credit for their culture and role models and making the best of their advantages. The problem lies with GAA structures, not Dublin
I couldn't give a fook what he said, just replying to yer man above who seen a made up quote on social media thinking it was an actual quote .

What's "their " culture mean anyway? How do you know how they act outside of football ?

I don't know .
Have indirect knowledge of Con O'callaghan who apparently is a great lad. Read philly mcmahons book, himself and the Ballymun lads are a credit to their club. The likes of Brian Fenton, Mcmenamin are genuine role models. Slag off the structural advantages, the Dublin players are outstanding players and impressive individuals, of which Dublin and the GAA can be proud.

Quote from: 6th sam on December 22, 2020, 12:10:49 AM
Quote from: larryin89 on December 22, 2020, 12:00:17 AM
Quote from: 6th sam on December 21, 2020, 11:32:29 PM
Talk about unfair advantages certainly , but going down the road of "he said,you said" in the tunnel is a dead end. Dublin team are a credit for their culture and role models and making the best of their advantages. The problem lies with GAA structures, not Dublin
I couldn't give a fook what he said, just replying to yer man above who seen a made up quote on social media thinking it was an actual quote .

What's "their " culture mean anyway? How do you know how they act outside of football ?

I don't know .
Have indirect knowledge of Con O'callaghan who apparently is a great lad. Read philly mcmahons book, himself and the Ballymun lads are a credit to their club. The likes of Brian Fenton, Mcmenamin are genuine role models. Slag off the structural advantages, the Dublin players are outstanding players and impressive individuals, of which Dublin and the GAA can be proud.

A player who has eye gouged bitten and head butted opponents is a credit to nothing other than blaguardism

Angelo

This Dublin role model stuff is a bit much.

Plenty of dirt you could find on those Dublin players (similar to any county mind) if you went digging.

We've had multiples allegations of Dublin players biting opponents in matches (Kevin O'Brien v Donegal, O'Gara v Meath)
Gouging (McMahon v Kerry and O'Gara v Mayo)
Johnny Cooper doing a Ricey and collapsing his knees on John Heslin
Connolly putting his hands on a match official (mountain out of a molehill but still)
The behind doors brawl with Armagh
Couple of players who got convictions in court
Cooper's dive to try and get Conor McManus a red card
Cooper with a potentially career ending tackle on Diarmuid O'Connor

When I think of the shit that is thrown at Tyrone over every indiscretion committed by a player and you see these platitudes associated with Dublin players you really have to laugh at how you can construct any bullshit narrative about any team.

Dublin are no more role models than any other team.
GAA FUNDING CHEATS CHEAT US ALL

Quote from: macdanger2 on December 22, 2020, 12:08:54 AM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on December 21, 2020, 09:45:46 PM
Quote from: Angelo on December 21, 2020, 04:33:41 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on December 21, 2020, 04:22:04 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on December 21, 2020, 02:13:39 PM
Quote from: Hound on December 21, 2020, 01:14:16 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on December 21, 2020, 12:52:08 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on December 21, 2020, 12:21:52 PM
Bernard Brogan had a good interview with Malachay Clerkin in the Irish times at the weekend in relation to dublin funding

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/bernard-brogan-finances-didn-t-win-five-all-irelands-in-a-row-1.4439956

Decent enough article tbf. On this point he makes
QuoteSo I get annoyed when I see people saying that these players are only able to win because of financial doping

Virtually nobody is saying that or at least not anybody with a bit of sense.

Dublin have plenty of natural advantages that can never be changed, funding is one that can be changed relatively easily if the will is there.

But the funding that the likes of Lar quotes figures from is nothing at all to do with funding the intercounty team.

The sponsorship money of course does and something can be done there. But not pooling all the sponsorship that each county gets. That would lead to mismanagement.
Instead you need to take the power away from all the county boards and sell it on a national level, something like the NFL maybe.
With due respect Hound, I can see massive problems with your proposal. Sponsors  give money or other forms of aid to specific counties for one reason only.
They do so because they anticipate an increase on sales of their products or services or at least to creaate a positive profile in their target market. For example Arnotts sponsor the Dubs. (ASFAIK) and Elverys sponsor Mayo.
Do you think either want to see their investment diluted by having it shared out between all counties and not the ones they had intended it for?

It also means certain counties won't bother looking for sponsorship. Why kill yourself for a €25k deal you make €800 off when you get €25k from the Dubs

Ah the DUPlin unionists out again.

"It's our money"

It literally is.

But the flaw in your cunning plan is thus. AIG don't care a whit about the GAA. They care about exposure. The Dubs are cheaper to sponsor than the national teams or Leinster and gave similar exposure. Win win. But why do you think the Dublin county board will bother getting a sponsor of that narure if all they get is 1/32nd of the fruits? Why will a Leitrim bother tapping up a pub sponsor for less money than AIG will be forced to give them?

The GAA will need to do the selling centrally, if you've a good product you won't be short of offers
Sorry to contradict you but the GAA can't sell anything the commercial sector won't buy.
Here, sentiment counts for sweet FA and county loyalty counts for nothing.
If a potential sponsor can't see any tangible return for his investment, he wont be iinclined to invest in whatewver is being offered to him.
That's the first law of economic survival- keep overheads to an absolute minimum and keep in mind thatt nice guys finish last..
Seeing money designed for the Dublin market winding up somewhere where the potential economic return is nil, won't impress any sponsor.

Quote from: Lar Naparka on December 22, 2020, 01:09:36 AM
Bernard Brogan had a good interview with Malachay Clerkin in the Irish times at the weekend in relation to dublin funding

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/bernard-brogan-finances-didn-t-win-five-all-irelands-in-a-row-1.4439956

QuoteSo I get annoyed when I see people saying that these players are only able to win because of financial doping

Dublin have plenty of natural advantages that can never be changed, funding is one that can be changed relatively easily if the will is there.

But the funding that the likes of Lar quotes figures from is nothing at all to do with funding the intercounty team.

The sponsorship money of course does and something can be done there. But not pooling all the sponsorship that each county gets. That would lead to mismanagement.
Instead you need to take the power away from all the county boards and sell it on a national level, something like the NFL maybe.
With due respect Hound, I can see massive problems with your proposal. Sponsors  give money or other forms of aid to specific counties for one reason only.
They do so because they anticipate an increase on sales of their products or services or at least to creaate a positive profile in their target market. For example Arnotts sponsor the Dubs. (ASFAIK) and Elverys sponsor Mayo.
Do you think either want to see their investment diluted by having it shared out between all counties and not the ones they had intended it for?

It also means certain counties won't bother looking for sponsorship. Why kill yourself for a €25k deal you make €800 off when you get €25k from the Dubs

"It's our money"

It literally is.

But the flaw in your cunning plan is thus. AIG don't care a whit about the GAA. They care about exposure. The Dubs are cheaper to sponsor than the national teams or Leinster and gave similar exposure. Win win. But why do you think the Dublin county board will bother getting a sponsor of that narure if all they get is 1/32nd of the fruits? Why will a Leitrim bother tapping up a pub sponsor for less money than AIG will be forced to give them?

The GAA will need to do the selling centrally, if you've a good product you won't be short of offers
Sorry to contradict you but the GAA can't sell anything the commercial sector won't buy.
If a potential sponsor can't see any tangible return for his investment, he wont be iinclined to invest in whatewver is being offered to him.
That's the first law of economic survival- keep overheads to an absolute minimum and keep in mind thatt nice guys finish last..
Seeing money designed for the Dublin market winding up somewhere where the potential economic return is nil, won't impress any sponsor.

Everything would remain the same on the buyer's end Lar, Eleverys would get the exact same benefits as they do currently, the money received would just be distributed differently. As you say yourself, loyalty counts for nothing so so long as Eleverys get their exposure, they won't give a sh*t if Mayo GAA are down a few K

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: macdanger2 on December 22, 2020, 01:18:57 AM

"It's our money"

It literally is.

Everything would remain the same on the buyer's end Lar, Eleverys would get the exact same benefits as they do currently, the money received would just be distributed differently. As you say yourself, loyalty counts for nothing so so long as Eleverys get their exposure, they won't give a sh*t if Mayo GAA are down a few K

Central selling means they might get Carlow though. Or replace the pub Lietrim have.

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on December 22, 2020, 01:44:08 AM

"It's our money"

It literally is.

Central selling means they might get Carlow though. Or replace the pub Lietrim have.

No, they pay for the rights to put their name on the Dublin jersey - the same as they do now.
But that money is then pooled and allocated among all counties.
The same applies to all counties.
End result is still the same for AIG - they pay a premium to get their name on the "biggest" jersey. Its just what the GAA does with the money that changes, and AIG won't really care about that.

"It's our money"

It literally is.

Carlow and Leitrim both raised over €125 000 in 2018 (last figures I could find) compared to Dublin who, with a 3rd of the country's population raised a whopping €55k. A country of the haves and have nots

The GAA will go to the Govt begging for money next year again.They can't afford to pony up dosh to Dublin. If the Govt had any balls they would insist on a competitite football championship as a quid pro quo.   

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaa-outline-financial-challenges-after-releasing-fixture-plan-for-2021-1.444321

Dublin lady footballers just did the 4 in a row,.
Hurling is obviously more of a technical challenge  for Dublin

"We don't want to override the Dublin county board, but Dublin isn't just a Dublin problem. It accounts for 30 per cent of the state's population and 25 per cent of the people living on this island. It can't be considered the preserve of 90 clubs and one county executive. The county may want to vary the proposals but we do want progress in Dublin."

Christy Cooney, chairman of the Munster Council, chaired the sub-committee examining Dublin. "You must remember that there are 1.4 million people in the region and 2,000,000 or more will be there in 20 years time. There's no way one county board is going to manage that. We met all of the units in Dublin last year, as well as the county board. Improvements are necessary and that's not the fault of the board or clubs."

Quinn added that the division of the county was just part of the envisaged package for the city. "We are recommending sizeable investment in terms of finance and personnel. We recognise that Dublin needs special attention, it's a key strategic matter."

The Dublin county board met the SRC yesterday morning and received the proposals "positively", according to Quinn. Clubs in the county will now consider the report before the county responds formally.

Tommy Lyons, newly-appointed manager of the Dublin senior footballers, was upbeat when responding to the measures.

"I'm happy we're talking about change. We shouldn't be afraid of change, irrespective of how it affects individuals. Something radical is needed when you're dealing with a county of 1.2 million people. In isolation, the idea of splitting Dublin in two mightn't have any particular value but as part of a whole review programme of development and investment, it might well make sense. There are so many areas in the Dublin region that are not properly serviced."

18 years on and not even on the agenda yet, they knew the monster they were creating which makes it worse.

Quote from: Tubberman on December 22, 2020, 07:06:57 AM

No, they pay for the rights to put their name on the Dublin jersey - the same as they do now.
But that money is then pooled and allocated among all counties.
The same applies to all counties.
End result is still the same for AIG - they pay a premium to get their name on the "biggest" jersey. Its just what the GAA does with the money that changes, and AIG won't really care about that.

Exactly what I had in mind

I think everything that can be done to equalise between counties should be done first with amalgamation/splitting of counties only as a last resort

What happens when the sponsorship money is divided between counties and the Dubs decide to start fundraising?

Quote from: Maroon Manc on December 22, 2020, 09:47:14 AM
What happens when the sponsorship money is divided between counties and the Dubs decide to start fundraising?

THE SPLIT! ;)
We'll cross that bridge when we inevitably come to it. Otherwise nothing changes.

TheGreatest

Hard Luck Mayo.

Well done the Dubs, hopefully a couple more to add over the next few years. Straight into it again it looks like for next year.

Of the things Dublin do best is analysis, stats etc and it is used heavily at half time, they are not afraid to make the changes either to counteract it. I remember reading before players want it half time also, information and more.

This shows it, certain things identified and then nullified.

https://www.irishnews.com/sport/gaafootball/2020/12/21/news/dubs-zone-in-on-mayo-trio-to-turn-the-tide-2166226/