GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Norf Tyrone on July 14, 2011, 10:39:57 PM

Title: Owen Mulligan- The End!
Post by: Norf Tyrone on July 14, 2011, 10:39:57 PM
Rumours abound the Owen Mulligan has packed up his Inter County boots!

http://www.teamtalkmag.com/?p=7101 (http://www.teamtalkmag.com/?p=7101)

It would seem that last Saturday night could well have marked the final time that we will see Owen Mulligan in a Tyrone jersey.  Sources in the Cookstown area have confirmed that Owen has decided to hang up the boots only a few days before the Round 3 Qualifier against either Armagh or Wicklow.  His decision seems to be linked to a perceived lack of game time.

Mulligan featured for Tyrone in five out of the six National League games this year.  He came on for the last 15 minutes as a replacement for Martin Penrose on Saturday night and started the Donegal match gaining 51 minutes action.   In the opening Ulster Championship match with Monaghan he had 14 minutes action.

The news will come as a huge disappointment to Tyrone fans and more particularly to team manager Mickey Harte and the Tyrone players as Owen has contributed so much to the success of the team over the last decade.

Certainly Teamtalkmag.com hope that Owen can be talked around over the incoming days as no doubt he would have a big contribution to make as Tyrone enter the business end of the season.

Title: Re: Owen Mulligan- The End!
Post by: Hoof Hearted on July 14, 2011, 10:44:02 PM
have to admit i thought he was a class player.
Post by: Minder on July 14, 2011, 10:50:39 PM
I had to be scraped off the floor when I heard that news.
Post by: The Worker on July 14, 2011, 10:53:55 PM
 i thought it was eoin
Post by: ross4life on July 14, 2011, 11:14:57 PM
All is not well behind the scenes in Tyrone if Owen Mulligan decides to walk away during a championship campaign.
Post by: Orangemac on July 14, 2011, 11:25:39 PM
We have heard the stories about Jordan etc before.

If there is anything to this expect Mickey Harte to talk him round in time for Wicklow/Armagh game.
Post by: ziggysego on July 15, 2011, 12:40:14 AM
I wouldn't pay too much heat on it yet, just rumours. Even TeamTalk have said that.

That said, if he does decide to hang up the old boots, well good luck to him. He gave great service to the Tyrone cause and we can ask no more of him.
Post by: redhandloo on July 15, 2011, 12:47:03 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on July 15, 2011, 12:40:14 AM
I wouldn't pay too much heat on it yet, just rumours. Even TeamTalk have said that.

That said, if he does decide to hang up the old boots, well good luck to him. He gave great service to the Tyrone cause and we can ask no more of him.

Featured in all three AIF wins. Hit a couple of big frees in 03 final. RTE Motm in 05 (mcguigan should have got it), came on in 08 final. A great servant indeed whose persona outside of Tyrone as a flash Harry doesn't do justice to a great player!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 15, 2011, 12:49:24 AM
Mustn't have liked the Longford dressing rooms and/or Mrs. D's sandwiches.

Strange to hang up boots in the middle of a campaign......

Must have decided that the role of 'semi-impact' sub was not for him.
Post by: maggie on July 15, 2011, 01:03:18 AM
Hope he sticks it out for the rest of the championship anyways. But will always remember him for that goal against Dublin and his legacy will surely be the whole wave of bleached blonde mugsy wannabes.
Post by: ziggysego on July 15, 2011, 01:12:53 AM
Quote from: maggie on July 15, 2011, 01:03:18 AM
Hope he sticks it out for the rest of the championship anyways. But will always remember him for that goal against Dublin and his legacy will surely be the whole wave of bleached blonde mugsy wannabes.

For me, the moment I'll remember him for, is the pass he gave to Canavan in the 2005 All-Ireland Final, which ended in the goal.
Post by: Forever Green on July 15, 2011, 01:22:52 AM
Very good footballer. Good luck to him if he does retire
Post by: mountainboii on July 15, 2011, 01:38:23 AM
Might as well get this out of the way good and early:

Diving cnut!
Post by: PAULD123 on July 15, 2011, 09:32:09 AM
He has started one game and come on twice for the last 15 minutes. That's not bad game time for a player who is reaching the end of his inter county career. Wasn't something similar in 2008? Even after returning from injury he was used as a late substitute all the way to the All-Ireland final, wasn't he?

It was reported on radio that he was absent from training on last two sessions this week. But so was Jordan. If Harte wants him I am sure he will talk him round.
Post by: heffo on July 15, 2011, 09:39:13 AM
Hope Harte talks him around - he deserves to go out on a high or at least retire properly at the end of a season.

Post by: ONeill on July 15, 2011, 09:40:35 AM
Quote from: Minder on July 14, 2011, 10:50:39 PM

9/10
Post by: snippets on July 15, 2011, 10:03:59 AM
IF this rumour proves to be true then this could be ultimately be the deathknell to Tyrones chances this year, because when Marty P and others will take the point in Croke Park Eoin will take his goal - possesses big game mentality.  Rumours of small personality clashes with the management over the years, had heard opinions voiced earlier that it looked like the management were almost punishing him, so maybe he is right to walk away.  A class act, very undervalued and certainly should be starting Tyrone games.  Mulligan was not slowing up in fact he was in tip top shape and is a year younger than Mc Guigan etc. Hope this man management issue can be resolved fast. 
Post by: Fuzzman on July 15, 2011, 10:26:55 AM
Amazed myself when I heard last night but wonder is it because after last Saturday he thought Mickey is finally choosing now to give the younger lads a go and so he thought here am I busting my ass and in great shape and is it just to for the odd 10 mins here and there. I don't know, I'm just speculating. Dangerous I know.

He's been an awesome player for Tyrone over the years and one which in my eyes Mickey has managed well as he's not in Mickey's usual hard working, clean living ethos but as Harte said in his last book you have to respect people for who they are and give them space to be the person that they are.

He certainly give me a great amount of enjoyment over the years scoring goals in big games. I took my nephew (from Derry) to his first game in Croker and he got to witness that great Mugsy goal v the Dubs in 2005.
Post by: Jimmylong on July 15, 2011, 10:52:08 AM
Fair play to him, he's done it all, doesnt need to sit on a bench in Longford on a sat evening.  He has a business to run now and priorities will prevail. 

A great player, and a delight to watch.

All the best kid
Post by: Siggy on July 15, 2011, 11:47:50 AM
Spitting the dummy out in the middle of a campaign is scandalous behaviour.

As part of the panel he should have shown some respect to the rest of his colleagues.

Post by: Club Rossa on July 15, 2011, 11:57:23 AM
Siggy,we don't know the exact reason why he has left the panel but if it is for footballing reasons then you make a valid point.
Maybe it's something else that has triggered this decision.
Either way i hope Mickey Harte can persuade him to return.
Post by: under the bar on July 15, 2011, 04:10:50 PM
Mugsy guarantees himself a starting place against Wicklow (or that other wee diddy team!)  :D ;D
Post by: JHume on July 15, 2011, 05:35:21 PM
Sad to see Mulligan go.

As someone said, he has the big game mentality.

I suppose this is part of the price of giving youth its fling.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 15, 2011, 06:14:52 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on July 15, 2011, 01:12:53 AM
Quote from: maggie on July 15, 2011, 01:03:18 AM

For me, the moment I'll remember him for, is the pass he gave to Canavan in the 2005 All-Ireland Final, which ended in the goal.

Didn't realise you were a basketball fan Ziggy!

Bizarre timing if this story is true. He's been as uninvolved in previous seasons has he not? A colourful character, he made the GAA in Ulster a more interesting place.
Post by: Rossfan on July 15, 2011, 06:21:44 PM
Strange time to go .
He was a good one alright.
I wonder how many more of his long term colleagues will follow him?
If things go wrong this Sunday we might be playing the Mountainy men of Wicklow yet on the long weekend  :o
Post by: leaveherinsir on July 15, 2011, 06:30:49 PM
If i remember there was a thread of about 20 pages on Jordan's retirement a while back, so i would take with a pinch of salt.
P.S. you Tyrone men got any plans for Sunday then!?!   :D :D
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 15, 2011, 07:05:39 PM
Savage player...................gave us dubs some pain over the years.......................class player though, and best of luck to him, however all things considered and taking into account gentleman mickey hartes hard year so far, I think everyone on that team deserves to give him everything...................mr mulligan should have took his medicine

Post by: Over the Bar on July 15, 2011, 07:35:48 PM
No doubt Mickey has Mugsy's mentor Peter the Great on the job.  Probably having the discussion that starts "You'll be a long time retired...." around about now.
Post by: Gaffer on July 15, 2011, 07:38:09 PM
Who does Mugsy think he should be on before , I wonder.
Post by: muppet on July 15, 2011, 07:44:40 PM
Quote from: Gaffer on July 15, 2011, 07:38:09 PM

Beyonce.
Post by: Over the Bar on July 15, 2011, 07:45:34 PM
QuoteWho does Mugsy think he should be on before , I wonder.

Other than PTG 'Rua' in the Longford game he probably feels he'd have given a better account than most of the forwards on show to date.
Post by: GTB on July 15, 2011, 07:53:28 PM
 Quote from: Gaffer on Today at 07:38:09 PM

Beyonce. :D

Very good muppet - have to say I am a wee bit non plussed by this, I await to see if it is true or not, if it is so be it!

Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 15, 2011, 08:16:52 PM
if conor gormley is still starting games I can understand why muggsy would be thicked off
Post by: Gaffer on July 15, 2011, 08:21:30 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 15, 2011, 08:16:52 PM
if conor gormley is still starting games I can understand why muggsy would be thicked off

Gormley was MOM against Monaghan in the first round of the Championship. Playing top stuff this year.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 15, 2011, 08:26:06 PM
Quote from: Gaffer on July 15, 2011, 08:21:30 PM

Gormley was MOM against Monaghan in the first round of the Championship. Playing top stuff this year.

Indeed, however he is dog slow these days isnt he
Post by: sandwiches_in_the_boot on July 15, 2011, 08:38:13 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 15, 2011, 08:26:06 PM
Quote from: Gaffer on July 15, 2011, 08:21:30 PM

Indeed, however he is dog slow these days isnt he

You obviously didn't see the Monaghan game.
Post by: lawnseed on July 15, 2011, 09:15:24 PM
Quote from: Minder on July 14, 2011, 10:50:39 PM
you probably dived :D

i cant see him quitting that easyily
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 15, 2011, 09:42:38 PM
Has a great bar in Cookstown.
Brilliant impact sub, 8 weeks you'll be done Owen.
Post by: Frank Casey on July 15, 2011, 09:43:01 PM
would be sincerely sorry to see him go.......although them blond bangs............ ??? ??? ??? ???
Post by: ck on July 15, 2011, 09:46:03 PM
Can't believe Mulligan has not got more loyalty to Harte after everything, this year of all years. A very selfish move by Mugsy.
Post by: Frank Casey on July 15, 2011, 09:49:06 PM
As a kerryman who'd love to beat the red hands......................well thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 15, 2011, 09:51:45 PM
Mickey, Tony & me are in the car to Cookstown as we speak. I'm the only one with drink in me.
Post by: Frank Casey on July 15, 2011, 09:52:56 PM
A true gael  likes to beat the best...............................?
Post by: micka the dub on July 15, 2011, 10:04:39 PM
i will never forget the replay in 05 v dublin.tyrone started the 2nd half about 7 or 8 points ahead and slowly dublin start reeling them in and got to within to 1 or 2 points of them and with every score the hill was erupting like i had never experienced before,but after a  mix up handed mugsy a simple goal the hill died and you could hear a pin drop and the cnut mulligan cupped his big fat ears and stood staring at us for a couple of seconds as he celebrated his goal.
we gave him stick any time he played against us so i suppose we were fair game but it shows the character of the lad,the gaa need lads like him that stand out from other players and add a bit of colour and razzmatazz to the game to attract the kids in a way the premier leauge superstars do for the soccer.
enjoyed cupping me ears at him last august as he walked of the pitch.
Post by: Puckoon on July 15, 2011, 10:11:14 PM
I welcome being corrected - but I think he just stood and glared into the hill.

Makes for a good story though Micka.
Post by: ONeill on July 15, 2011, 10:22:55 PM
Yep, def didn't cup the ears! - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yx3633ea-4I
Post by: GTB on July 15, 2011, 10:31:13 PM
Quote from: micka the dub on July 15, 2011, 10:04:39 PM
i will never forget the replay in 05 v dublin.tyrone started the 2nd half about 7 or 8 points ahead and slowly dublin start reeling them in and got to within to 1 or 2 points of them and with every score the hill was erupting like i had never experienced before,but after a  mix up handed mugsy a simple goal the hill died and you could hear a pin drop and the cnut mulligan cupped his big fat ears and stood staring at us for a couple of seconds as he celebrated his goal.
we gave him stick any time he played against us so i suppose we were fair game but it shows the character of the lad,the gaa need lads like him that stand out from other players and add a bit of colour and razzmatazz to the game to attract the kids in a way the premier leauge superstars do for the soccer.

Are you sure it wasn't Joe Brolly now he was a cnut kissing his badge and all that ;D
Post by: micka the dub on July 15, 2011, 10:39:16 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 15, 2011, 10:32:48 PM
Oh dear, micka.

Mugsy (to Ricey): How'd we lose that?

Micka (ear cupped): Wha?

Ricey: You fcukin forwards were cat.

Micka (ear cupped): Wha?

Mugsy: I know, Ryan, brutal.

Micka (ear cupped): Wha ya bleeding saying?
ha ha ,very good.
Post by: ONeill on July 15, 2011, 10:40:35 PM
(http://thedancingegg.files.wordpress.com/2010/09/grandpa-shrek1.jpg)

Micka celebrates Dublin's Leinster title.
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 15, 2011, 10:58:47 PM
He'll be back.
Post by: Gaffer on July 15, 2011, 11:00:27 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on July 15, 2011, 10:58:47 PM
He'll be back.

...on the subs bench.
Post by: muppet on July 15, 2011, 11:35:24 PM
Quote from: micka the dub on July 15, 2011, 10:04:39 PM

Mick be honest, you were in the Hill 16 Bar, and the fella cupping his ears was a barman.

And it was a tuesday.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 16, 2011, 12:17:06 AM
He didnt cup his ears you big tomato micka the dub.................he just glared into the hill, after the game whilst shaking cluxs hand he then applauded the hill, we applauded him back...............great player
Post by: snippets on July 16, 2011, 03:21:19 AM
Ill say this I hope he's back and I hope he is back in the first 15 if stevie isn't fit.  I think mugsy liked the so called bad boy image had a couple of beers with him at a wedding last year and he came accross as a nice fella and good craic. If its over then its sad for him but he had an excellent  career punctuated by moments of sheer brilliance,  then again as someone said hopefully wee peter is having a beer in cookstown tonight. He may also be doing it for his club as well who are struggling in div 1

Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 16, 2011, 07:13:49 AM
 I dont think he would have been good enough to make the kerry team though. Impact sub maybe..but would not really have cut the mustard.
Post by: GTB on July 16, 2011, 07:36:58 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 16, 2011, 07:13:49 AM
I dont think he would have been good enough to make the kerry team though. Impact sub maybe..but would not really have cut the mustard.

Is that a fishing line I see before me......
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 16, 2011, 08:03:03 AM
No. I just dont think he had the natural talent. He was a player in the mould of, say....john Egan but, obviously, not with the same abilities.

In fairness though, in his day, he was an effective, if uninspiring, corner forward.
Post by: GTB on July 16, 2011, 09:09:08 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 16, 2011, 08:03:03 AM
No. I just dont think he had the natural talent. He was a player in the mould of, say....john Egan but, obviously, not with the same abilities.

In fairness though, in his day, he was an effective, if uninspiring, corner forward.

Your going to have to use better bait than that mike ;)
Post by: ziggysego on July 16, 2011, 09:09:58 AM
Well he was able to put them pass Kerry, so we'll not worry.
Post by: ck on July 16, 2011, 09:25:45 AM
Quote from: hardstation on July 15, 2011, 09:49:34 PM
Quote from: ck on July 15, 2011, 09:46:03 PM
Can't believe Mulligan has not got more loyalty to Harte after everything, this year of all years. A very selfish move by Mugsy.
One will always jump in, guns blazing. You don't know what his reasons are.

Are his reasons not that he isnt happy with his game time? Then, if that is the cae then my point above is valid.
Post by: snippets on July 16, 2011, 09:46:21 AM
Listen tyrone will be there before and after mugsy he knows that,  maybe its because his club is in relegation trouble and he has a new business.  Two damn good reasons on their own.  Maybe the management have other  plans than eoin and that must be respected also. I'm sure mickey will release either a statement thanking him for his services a la colly mc cullough, holmsie and others who have permanently left. Otherwise I'd say he will try coax him back.  Did someone point out that  gourley left the panel also?   
Post by: haveaharp on July 16, 2011, 01:10:43 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 16, 2011, 07:13:49 AM

If Mulligan wasnt good enough for Kerry then it strange that as one of Tyrones better players Kerry were unable to beat them on 3 significant occasions.
Post by: heffo on July 16, 2011, 01:52:31 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 16, 2011, 12:17:06 AM
He didnt cup his ears you big tomato micka the dub.................he just glared into the hill, after the game whilst shaking cluxs hand he then applauded the hill, we applauded him back...............great player

I honestly think you & Micka are two composite caricatures dreamed up by O'Neill  - I knew he had more than one account.
Post by: Radda bout yeee on July 18, 2011, 02:18:42 PM
Brian Dooher spotted buying Mugsy lunch last Thursday in Cookstown. Also heard Mugsy went for a greasey feed as he was on the rip all week.  ;D
I'd say he'll be back.
Post by: ziggysego on July 18, 2011, 05:52:16 PM
Quote from: Radda bout yeee on July 18, 2011, 02:18:42 PM
Brian Dooher spotted buying Mugsy lunch last Thursday in Cookstown. Also heard Mugsy went for a greasey feed as he was on the rip all week.  ;D
I'd say he'll be back.

My cousin has seen Mugsy out jogging every night last week, so I doubt being on the rip is true.
Post by: ziggysego on July 18, 2011, 11:09:26 PM
Owen Mulligan has returned to Tyrone.

http://www.teamtalkmag.com/?p=7182 (http://www.teamtalkmag.com/?p=7182)
Post by: The Worker on July 18, 2011, 11:13:57 PM
apparently he was lording it up in sense at the weekend
Post by: snippets on July 18, 2011, 11:20:15 PM
Great news and well done to the management on coaxing him back.  Now we have a much better chance against the strawberry pilferers
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 18, 2011, 11:24:09 PM
Great stuff, he'll be short odds for a hat-trick on Saturday @ 7pm!  ;)
Post by: mannix on July 18, 2011, 11:38:25 PM
Any chance of caravan coming back too? You might need him.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 18, 2011, 11:45:30 PM
Quote from: mannix on July 18, 2011, 11:38:25 PM

He's in tow!
Post by: Orangemac on July 18, 2011, 11:56:19 PM
What about Cannonball Cavlan, bring him back as well.
Post by: muppet on July 19, 2011, 12:05:09 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 18, 2011, 11:45:30 PM

He's in tow!

Bit of a kn**ker though.
Post by: mannix on July 19, 2011, 12:43:22 AM
 :D, computer correcting my spelling. But you could almost guess the player in question.
Post by: moysider on July 19, 2011, 12:57:59 AM

So he s back. Is Tyrone not making a trade of this? Jordan earlier this year and there was the mysterious disappearance of O Neill for a while before last AI win. What is going on that these guys are so precious after the great days they have had?

Glad to see him back though. Somebody compared him to John Egan earlier and even putting him in the same company is enough. Of course he isn t as good as Egan - never saw a 15 that was - but he would be on the next level and that is a hell of a player. But what is goin on after all that has gone on?
Post by: ONeill on July 19, 2011, 06:14:21 AM
Where did Mugsy or Jordan ever say they had left the panel? What happened with Mulligan is something that goes on in every panel of players now and again. The difference in Tyrone is that if you sneeze, the local media are onto it and the wonderful rumours start.

Owen and Phillip never made any proclamations to the media regarding their intentions.
Post by: snippets on July 19, 2011, 07:41:24 AM
Great news and well done to the management on coaxing him back.  Now we have a much better chance against the strawberry pilferers
Post by: norabeag on July 19, 2011, 07:44:25 AM
Quote from: Orangemac on July 18, 2011, 11:56:19 PM
What about Cannonball Cavlan, bring him back as well.
not a pup's chance of him making a comeback ;)
Post by: Fuzzman on July 19, 2011, 10:12:11 AM
This thread has really gone to the dogs.
I'd say Mugsy will get some stick from the OurMa fans on Sat when he comes on or dare I say starts.
I'd say Francie would love to have been there to welcome back his blonde bombshell. They used to get very close in games.

Ye lads love to hate wur Mugsy so I hope for the atmosphere that he does make an appearance.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 19, 2011, 10:29:26 AM
the little bent over inspirational hand clapping and swishing gold chain may be seen the weekend so............................
Post by: EC Unique on July 19, 2011, 12:21:32 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 19, 2011, 10:29:26 AM
the little bent over inspirational hand clapping and swishing gold chain may be seen the weekend so............................

Hopefully a bit of this too ;)

http://youtu.be/v38JDLohQK4 (http://youtu.be/v38JDLohQK4)

Note that neither Mulligan or Tyrone ever stated that he had retired.
Post by: sheamy on July 19, 2011, 01:51:20 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on July 19, 2011, 12:21:32 PM

Might want to have a word with the TeamTalkMag.com man then. Was he on a solo run?
Post by: screenexile on July 19, 2011, 02:17:54 PM
This is my favourite Mugsy video . . . awww lol

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pDifaZzCSAM&NR=1&feature=fvwp
Post by: EC Unique on July 19, 2011, 02:21:44 PM
Quote from: sheamy on July 19, 2011, 01:51:20 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on July 19, 2011, 12:21:32 PM

Might want to have a word with the TeamTalkMag.com man then. Was he on a solo run?

Don't know. Maybe he was reading too much into the fact that he was not at training for a couple of nights. Such is the profile of Tyrone and Tyrone players the last few years a player can not fart without some clown reporting on it.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 19, 2011, 02:29:53 PM
Who was that who farted? Was that in Irish News?

I won't believe half those stories. A lot of hot air most of it.

Yeah its all just a cunning plan by Harte & his team to create the siege mentality.
Owen should get a mohican for the Armagh match or a pair of orange boots
Post by: Orangemac on August 07, 2011, 10:37:49 AM
I thought Owen Mulligan had been talked out of retirement - where was he yesterday?
Post by: ONeill on August 07, 2011, 10:55:47 AM
Mugsy actually won a lot of ball in the first half yesterday. It was just that he was swallowed up.
Post by: Orangemac on August 07, 2011, 11:34:23 AM
Quote from: ONeill on August 07, 2011, 10:55:47 AM
Mugsy actually won a lot of ball in the first half yesterday. It was just that he was swallowed up.
In fairness he did but a couple of times he could have shot and didn't, maybe a lack of confidence.