Protestants

Started by Feckitt, May 27, 2008, 07:03:14 PM

MW

Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 28, 2008, 02:36:06 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on May 28, 2008, 01:43:38 PM
Janey Mac! Only nifan has joined in.
Where is EG and gweltyah and SammyG?
I thought this thread would be a magnet for the OWC lads.

SammyG claims no God either, not sure about MW, Tony Hawks, GAWA and weesaysanchez - gweltah is just an alterego of EG or Sammy.

Agnostic. Strongly secularist but I find religion very interesting in an academic kinda way. :)

Fishbat

Quote from: stephenite on May 29, 2008, 08:09:46 AM
Would there be many in Waterford that would be au fait with Gerry Kelly and whatever heap of shite he used to front on UTV on a Friday night?

Theres people in Waterfoot wouldn't be au fait with Geraldo, let alone Waterford.

What about terms of endearment for the parents? - "Ma and Da" or "the Auld Doll/fella/boy"  definitely a no go area for a lot of Protestants - too informal, slaps round the jowls have made it taboo

The Monackon thing is only used by Protestants in the East and North - not by the much better educated Protestants from Tyrone and Fermanagh

Hurler on the Bitch

Same with GAR - VAK - E road or the GAR VA HEE - simple... the hard K ... Lowland Scots......

the green man

Lads, its the 'GH' that they cant get the tongues around. The irish language would be classed as 'gutteral' were the 'gh' is ggggghhhhh.

We have an office in Liverpool, and the man their can't get the 'GH' at all.

Were as we would say

Maghera as Mahera

He says Mag - hera

We would say Aghadowey as Ahadoway

he says Aga - Dooway

We would say Magherafelt as Marafelt

he would say MaG era felt

the green man

Quote from: hardstation on May 30, 2008, 12:02:37 AM
By the way, Marafelt is just pure laziness. I would say Maharafelt.
Bit like those lazy feckers in Coalisland who say Cline. One syllable.

Listen up shaftie. Its Marafelt around here. Ok.

Minus15

its maharafelt for me too. that cline one's a laugh

Hurler on the Bitch

What about the English newsreader who pronounced COALISLAND as 'There has been a bomb explosion in Co-ollies-land' - sounded like an African colony.... The same is true in Glasgow to an extent regarding pronounciation e.g the word Stairs ... They say that a Celtic fan would say stay-ers ... whilst a blue-nose would say Steers...

Maximus Marillius

An Irish daughter had not been home for over
                              5 years. Upon her return, her father cussed
                              her. 'Where have ye been all this time? Why
                              did ye not write to us, not even a line?  Why
                              didn't ye call? Can ye not understand what ye
                              put yer old mum thru?

The girl, crying, replied, 'Sniff, sniff....
                              dad.... I became a prostitute....'

'Ye what!!? Out of here, ye shameless harlot!
                              Sinner! You're a disgrace to this family.'

'OK, dad.... as ye wish. I just came back to
                              give mum this luxurious fur coat, title deed
                              to a ten bedroom mansion plus a savings
                              certificate for $5 million. For me little
                              brother this gold Rolex and for ye daddy the
                              sparkling new Mercedes limited edition
                              convertible that's parked outside plus a
                              membership to the country club.... (takes a
                              breath).... an invitation for ye all to spend
                              New Years Eve on board my new yacht in the
                              Riviera, and....'

'Now what was it ye said ye had become?' says
                              dad.

Girl, crying again, 'Sniff, sniff.... a
                              prostitute dad! Sniff, sniff.'

'Oh! Be Jesus!.... Ye scared me half to
                              death, girl! I thought ye said 'a
                              Protestant'. Come here and give yer old man a
                              big hug!'

doire na raithe

not forgetting Cookstown - 'the Cookstun'

Quote from: Fishbat on May 29, 2008, 11:33:19 PM
Quote from: stephenite on May 29, 2008, 08:09:46 AM
Would there be many in Waterford that would be au fait with Gerry Kelly and whatever heap of shite he used to front on UTV on a Friday night?

Theres people in Waterfoot wouldn't be au fait with Geraldo, let alone Waterford.

What about terms of endearment for the parents? - "Ma and Da" or "the Auld Doll/fella/boy"  definitely a no go area for a lot of Protestants - too informal, slaps round the jowls have made it taboo
The Monackon thing is only used by Protestants in the East and North - not by the much better educated Protestants from Tyrone and Fermanagh

Do prods say mammy and daddy?

Quote from: the green man on May 29, 2008, 11:55:54 PM
Lads, its the 'GH' that they cant get the tongues around. The irish language would be classed as 'gutteral' were the 'gh' is ggggghhhhh.

We have an office in Liverpool, and the man their can't get the 'GH' at all.

Were as we would say

Maghera as Mahera

He says Mag - hera

We would say Aghadowey as Ahadoway

he says Aga - Dooway

We would say Magherafelt as Marafelt

he would say MaG era felt

Wayne McCullock the packit rackit!

Quote from: hardstation on May 30, 2008, 12:40:04 PM
Quote from: doire na raithe on May 30, 2008, 12:21:29 PM
not forgetting Cookstown - 'the Cookstun'
Another funny one is Moortown.
"Moortun"

Stewartstown - Stewstn

Monaghan  to natives -  Monhan

Dogheda to Northerners   - Drockeda

Hurler on the Bitch

Tyrone people say "Dunnnggghhhnn" instead of Dungannon.... also Strbe instead of Strabane  and Nwsryt instead of Newtownstewart.... Protestants say DunkkgaNNonk .. StrakBANN AND Nwsryt..

Hurler on the Bitch

And the name Cathal ... or Cackill - lot of Belfast taigs fall forthat one...