Official Cavan GAA Thread

Started by BallyhaiseMan, November 10, 2006, 01:47:12 PM

Great win for both Minors and Seniors. Ryan Connolly was outstanding for the Minors, kicked some great scores with either foot from impossible angles. Ben Kiernan was very good too, and Tom Hayes worked hard inside. Grey McGoveren put in a good shit in the middle. Cavan were the better side for the majority of the game but kicked a lot of wides, Armagh seemed to make better use of the possession they had. Thankfully Cavan snatched a late win. Its a great boost after a poor minor League. They will fancy their chances against Fermanagh, Game will be in Clones asaik like the Senior

Great win for the Seniors too against the odds going by the bookies. hopefully that shut a few up.
Cavan tactics were spot on, and they nullified Jamie Clarke very well. Mackey was excellent limking attack and defence and took the goal very well. Good to see Mackey back on the panel, he was always a quality player since Minor. Martin Dunne will get all the plaudits and fair play to him. Missed a few poor free's in the first half, but then settled down and kicked some wonder scores. McEnroe was very good, looks very comfortable in the half back . Keating and McDermott were always lively and linked well with Martin Dunne. Thought Ronan Flanagan worked very hard too

Givney's 2 yellow won't mean anything. He will be available the  next day
Cavan will be ready for Fermanagh and the cynical shite that Canavan has them playing

PhilsJemmysField

Great stuff unbelievable that Armagh never dropped a Man back in front of the Full Forward line. We will never see that against Fermanagh, will be another dog fight and hopefully this time we will bite. We wasted a lot of simple chances should have been out of sight yet probably lost the midfield battle at times so a funny game in ways. Still just cannot understand how Armagh never dropped a man back so I would say Grimley will come under the microscope for that. We definitely out worked them so that is a good start. Is the next day in Brewster ?

Quote from: PhilsJemmysField on May 19, 2013, 05:25:43 PM
Great stuff unbelievable that Armagh never dropped a Man back in front of the Full Forward line. We will never see that against Fermanagh, will be another dog fight and hopefully this time we will bite. We wasted a lot of simple chances should have been out of sight yet probably lost the midfield battle at times so a funny game in ways. Still just cannot understand how Armagh never dropped a man back so I would say Grimley will come under the microscope for that. We definitely out worked them so that is a good start. Is the next day in Brewster ?

Orginally fixed for Brewster but the G8 meeting will be on in Enniskillen, in that period. Clones asaik

Super stuff from our lads. Delighted with the effort that went in and the way we were set up with a definite game plan which worked a treat. I am particularly delighted for Feargal flanagan about whom a lot of shit is written about him being a favourite of the manager and undeserving of his place - he was outstanding today and gave a big two fingers to his detractors. He also has college exams tomorrow - thats they level of commitment these lads give. We won by 4 and should have won by more. There is plenty we can work on and improve. But for now well done lads, you did Cavan proud as did the minors.

Ryan McCluskey played the sweeper role well against Cavan in the League game. Martin Dunne was fairly quiet in that game from play, It will be interesting to see how Cavan deal with that. Fermanagh carry the ball well at good pace, hopefully more of the same from
Fergal Flanagan in the defensive half forward role. Shane McCabe is a very good player at centre forward, uses the ball very well and has great pace. Alan Clarke struggled against him I thought in the league game. Although it was tougher when Fermanagh had the extra man for long periods.

tommysmith

Great win and delighted for the lads, i didn't know Armagh were so poor.

Big day in Brewster next so hopefully everyone stays fit and Mossy is back he is badly needed to help out in midfield.

Westside

Fermanagh will be very tough, as much as I enjoyed the win yesterday Armagh were just awful. When it was so obvious that we could score at will up front it seemed like a forgegone conclusion. Had Cavan needed a goal was there any doubt that we could have got it?

Keating is immense, his physicality is just quality. He can and will outmuscle most players if he's left in an individual battle. I'd like to see him really press home that advantage and start going through players for goals. His selfishness for the goal is outweighed by the dirty work he did out the field in to the second half.

Similar to what Myles said about F. Flanagan, I think Niall McDermott's performance warrants a mention. He didn't make many people's expected line ups but he was quality yesterday. All in all a great team performance but we won't get away with kicking easy frees and shots wide v Fermanagh. The number of chances we will have will be much much smaller. As someone over on HS said, we need a high conversion rate free taker.

Who was the Number 13 in the Minor game? I thought he was top class, best Cavan player by a mile. Big Greg McGovern was excellent, Fortune was very good. Hopefully Ben Kiernan will get a bit more space v Fermanagh, his point was as good as any scored in Breffni yesterday.
I'd be worried about them though, we've seen what having a powerhouse in the FF line can do, it's why we won Ulster in 2011 with Finnegan and O'Donnell and it's why we were beaten by Donegal last year. We've gone for the light fast lads inside this year, hard to know if it will bring us far.
Also I heard today that at least 1 player was dropped from the Minor Panel on Friday night.. If so that is disgraceful from Gary Donohoe and Co. A lad trains all year, takes time away from his leaving cert studies, and doesn't even get to be with the team on the day of the game. 

N13 was Tom Hayes Cootehill, he was excellent last year in the Intermediate final drawn game and replay. He showed very well inside

Ryan Connolly was the pick of the players I thought at Centre forward

I was delighted with yesterday,One guy who wasn't mentioned i don;t think who started for Jack Brady,Killian the gunner,i thought put in an outstanding shift as did Fergak Flanagan.
Conor Gilsenans handling was top notch.Alan Clarke played the sweeper role to perfection in front of Clarke. Ronan Flanagan was a great outlet throughout and big James McEnroe had a stormer,Givney and Damien were outtstanding in general play,but Cavan did lose the aerial exchances at centre field,which will be a worry against Fermanagh,Killian Clarke made a difference though when he switched out in the second half. Niall McDermott as Westside said was outstanding as was Mackey. Keatings all round play was terrific,and while i feared the worst for Martin Dunne's confidence after he missed that easy free,he was simply brilliant afterwards. Martin Reily also made a big impact when he came on  and his ball carrying and distribution was top notch, As some of you have said however,Fermanagh will be a different kettle of fish, they will put 12/13 men behind the ball and ask questions off Cavan which we will have to answer. Delighted with the Minor win also.

CC1

Great display from our lads. We played with much more composure than previous years, we are gradually getting better. The lads that performed well had those performances in them and a special mention must go to Givney and Martin Reilly for their ball into Keating and Martin Dunne right through the game. Every pass was perfect for the forward. Every back was tenacious and cool on the ball apart from a ten minute spell in the second half. Half forwards worked like madmen too! Great to watch such hunger and heart from the boys in blue.

Armagh on the other hand reminded me of how we've played at times in this past decade. Very poor.
"Hey, don't worry; don't be afraid, ever, because this is just a ride."

Delighted with performance and result. Great to see Cavan so fit and hungry and finally beating one of the big names in Ulster. Thought McEnroe was brilliant but unfair to single anyone out. Early night for me to recover from this hangover.

Killian Brady done alright, but has a habit of getting booked. He put in a very rash tackle in the first half yesterday and was on a booking for the rest of the game.

McEnroe is a quality footballer, playing great stuff with Ramor. He was a loss last year, - working in London

Fermanagh will be whole different ball game, as someone said they will have Dunne and Keating tightly marked with a sweeper or two for good measure. They will note we aren't spreading our scores around. They will be sticky and tight and nasty as hell, just like they were in the league game. They will also be mad for revenge after our ram-raid of Brewster last year.Terry will need a whole different game plan for that one and the boys will have to be ready for a war.
Saying that I think we have better footballers than Fermanagh, i just hope they don't out muscle us.

Saying that I don't think too many men are strong enough to hold Eugene and I think if he gets the auld boot calibrated before the game he will surely kick a few scores. If Keating is winning the dirty ball close to goal Dunne can still make hay.

I see the minors are down to play in Clones this weekend. If that Connolly lad upped his work rate a bit he would be an outstanding prospect, some of the points he kicked were unreal.

Is the next game in Brewster Park or Clones?  Hearing different things.

So who are the players to watch out for in the Fermanagh team? 

The Senior game is in Brewster, 16th June. Strange that its going ahead with Enniskillen being more or less shut down in that period. key players would be Ryan McCluskey, Shane McCabe, Martin McGrath, Sean Quigley, missed the Cavan game with injury, and Ryan Jones, u21 player this year, Was part of the Ulster panel that won the Railway Cup this year. Tomas Corrigan is also a useful forward.