What do you think about the GAA?

Started by seafoid, August 27, 2026, 02:29:51 PM

I was talking to a woman yesterday and she said she didn't like the GAA/Camogie/LGFA because of 2 things

The refusal to pay for a holiday for the Cork camogie team

Didn't listen to the membership on Allianz . Andy Moran refusrd to stand in front of an Allianz hoarding after the All Ireland.b

In hiding

Quote from: seafoid on August 27, 2026, 02:29:51 PMI was talking to a woman yesterday and she said she didn't like the GAA/Camogie/LGFA because of 2 things

Didn't listen to the membership on Allianz . Andy Moran refusrd to stand in front of an Allianz hoarding after the All Ireland.b
Has she any involvement in the GAA or is she just hating from afar.
Does she think there is anything positive about the organisation

Quote from: seafoid on August 27, 2026, 02:29:51 PMI was talking to a woman yesterday and she said she didn't like the GAA/Camogie/LGFA because of 2 things

Paying for the camogs holiday is on the Camogie association unless I'm very much mistaken, either way they should get one.

Totally agree on the Allianz point, Jarlath showing himself up on that one big time. Ridiculous.

Having said all that the positives outweigh the negatives 100000 times over.

The Camogie association has limited resources. How many of those criticising them have paid into camogie games?
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Baile Brigín 2

Camogie crowds are so low they don't publish them. They rent facilities. Where are they getting money for a 50 person holiday?

What do I think of the GAA?
Either a 3 page dissertation
or
I think its great.
We'll go with the latter.
2026 the year of the 9 Cups

An Watcher

When you look at the shit show that the Premier League has become with clubs just out to earn money, players not giving 2 shits and fans getting shafted left, right and centre, I'm delighted we have it and long may it continue

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: An Watcher on August 27, 2026, 05:41:37 PMWhen you look at the shit show that the Premier League has become with clubs just out to earn money, players not giving 2 shits and fans getting shafted left, right and centre, I'm delighted we have it and long may it continue
6 posts. It took just 6 posts for the GAA versus soccer shite to start.

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on August 27, 2026, 06:59:35 PM
Quote from: An Watcher on August 27, 2026, 05:41:37 PMWhen you look at the shit show that the Premier League has become with clubs just out to earn money, players not giving 2 shits and fans getting shafted left, right and centre, I'm delighted we have it and long may it continue
It's an extremely valid point though

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: Armagh18 on August 27, 2026, 08:56:06 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on August 27, 2026, 06:59:35 PM
It's an extremely valid point though
No it isn't. 99% of GAA folk have an English soccer team. It's not either or.

If your default reason for loving the GAA is dislike of another sport etc. It's very 1950's

The GAA plays the neoliberal game with Croke Park eg hosting concerts in August  and spends the money on the games.

Irish soccer/football isn't moneybags and is close to the people imo

Rugby is about money.

I think Casement and Páirc Uí Chaoimh reflect poorly on the GAA.

Love it. Does that mean I think everything is rosey? Absolutely not but overall I love it. It gives so much to so many and without it where would we be?

I've known nothing else since primary school to match the buzz from playing managing and my current roles within GAA, my most longstanding friends all clubmates.

From randomly turning up at the club for a few pints and hanging with whoever is there, talking more shite about games gone by to chatting about the current state of the teams within club.

Its also a thing outside of those from within your club, I firmly believe it was a factor when we viewed our current house 21 years ago that a Tyrone wall poster in one of the kids bedrooms was a starting point for conversation that possibly helped in securing it

On Hols speaking to lads or families wearing the club or county colours brings about some craic, days out at Croke Park, journeys down and the craic on the way home, I've a very forgiving non GAA woman who understands this is what it is and accepts it entirely

The negatives for me are minor in detail to the huge positives its brought from growing up in a war zone in the summers gone by, certainly kept us on the straight and narrow..

People come and go, players drop off or move away but at the heart of it the club is the heartbeat
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 28, 2026, 02:33:39 PMI've known nothing else since primary school to match the buzz from playing managing and my current roles within GAA, my most longstanding friends all clubmates.

From randomly turning up at the club for a few pints and hanging with whoever is there, talking more shite about games gone by to chatting about the current state of the teams within club.

Its also a thing outside of those from within your club, I firmly believe it was a factor when we viewed our current house 21 years ago that a Tyrone wall poster in one of the kids bedrooms was a starting point for conversation that possibly helped in securing it

On Hols speaking to lads or families wearing the club or county colours brings about some craic, days out at Croke Park, journeys down and the craic on the way home, I've a very forgiving non GAA woman who understands this is what it is and accepts it entirely

The negatives for me are minor in detail to the huge positives its brought from growing up in a war zone in the summers gone by, certainly kept us on the straight and narrow..

People come and go, players drop off or move away but at the heart of it the club is the heartbeat
You've took a break from your usual ;)

That's a brilliant post, very well said.