If All Ireland county teams were World Cup countries

Started by Soju, June 22, 2026, 06:32:06 AM

Quote from: From the Bunker on June 26, 2026, 12:16:39 AM
Quote from: AustinPowersquote

I was thinking  more that Scotland usually find  bizarre ways to lose (or not qualify) , like Mayo.

It's not a great comparison I grant you , but it  was on past my bedtime

I presume you are predominantly referring to Mayo v Dublin games where Dublin in every instance had the better bench coming on. I seen it as more Dublin having the superior squad and pulling away with fresher legs.

There was never a time coming into the final minutes of those games where Dublin were trying to reel in a Mayo lead.

Mayo struggled to get to finals and semi-finals those years. Dublin strolled through Leinster and all the rest.

Those days are well behind Mayo and today's group can only dream of being as competitive. They'll win or lose by small margins on the day against average sides as all average sides do.
Bar the time Mayo gifted Dublin 2 own goals. Or the time Mayo had a man advantage with the game near enough over and then manage to get a man stupidly sent off themselves

Quote from: Armagh18 on June 26, 2026, 10:17:24 AM

I was thinking  more that Scotland usually find  bizarre ways to lose (or not qualify) , like Mayo.

I presume you are predominantly referring to Mayo v Dublin games where Dublin in every instance had the better bench coming on. I seen it as more Dublin having the superior squad and pulling away with fresher legs.

There was never a time coming into the final minutes of those games where Dublin were trying to reel in a Mayo lead.

Mayo struggled to get to finals and semi-finals those years. Dublin strolled through Leinster and all the rest.

Those days are well behind Mayo and today's group can only dream of being as competitive. They'll win or lose by small margins on the day against average sides as all average sides do.
Bar the time Mayo gifted Dublin 2 own goals. Or the time Mayo had a man advantage with the game near enough over and then manage to get a man stupidly sent off themselves

The theme is losing from a winning position.
The two examples don't adhere to this.
Mayo Never had an extra man in any of the games.
And the two own goals were early in the first half.
Lazy analysis again.

If you want to do research on a county grabbing defeat from the jaws of victory - you don't have to look far

Quote from: From the Bunker on June 26, 2026, 10:39:44 AM

Lazy analysis again.

If you want to do research on a county grabbing defeat from the jaws of victory - you don't have to look far

Worded that wrong- they were about to have an extra man only for Vaughn to get a rush of blood and get himself sent off at the same time as the Dublin fella or am I remembering wrong?

And yeah we've been brilliant at grabbing extra time/defeats from the jaws of victory over the years lol

AustinPowers

Frig me bunker , you're giving this  way too much  thought

It's  meant to be a bit of craic , not a  forensic evaluation of  all football matches played  since the millennium  ;D

Manning18

Lazy analysis again.

4 up on Dublin in 2015 with 16 mins of normal time left. Lee leaves a simple point short and Dublin absolutely blitz them from there onwards

2 up on Dublin with 6 minutes of normal time left in the 2017 final

5 up with 3 mins of normal time left v Kerry in 2014, in what was probably the biggest opportunity left behind of Mayo in that era

The original point was, presumably somewhat in jest, about Mayo finding bizarre ways to lose. I'd always have taken that to mean the 2 own goals game, the 96 games, or the Hennelly mistakes when randomly brought in for Clarke. Nobody mentioned anything about it being from a winning position, but there's obviously examples of that also

Quote from: AustinPowers on June 26, 2026, 12:36:30 PMFrig me bunker , you're giving this  way too much  thought

It's  meant to be a bit of craic , not a  forensic evaluation of  all football matches played  since the millennium  ;D

See that's your mistake. When it comes to looking back at championship Mayo lads get wound up like an over tuned banjo string. Lovliest people in world on any other topic. Don't mention Limerick, Dublin Joe or you're in trouble. Be wary any names with Cormac or Reilly. You'll see steam coming out the lugs. That's why i made us tbe Rossies Scotland, and Mayo the Netherlands who in modern times have got to WC finals. It's just that when they get there. Ah sin scéal eile.

I was waiting for Manning and his Mayo love in.

4 up with 16 minutes left, they should have played hold ball for the 16 minutes and closed the game out, while Dublin proceeded to bring on their top notch fresh players from the bench.  ;D  ;D  ;D

The Kerry game - I recall Vaughan getting the equalising point - so we must have been behind. 🤪

We also played most of the first game with 14.

The rest happened because we just didn't have the strength in dept that Dublin had and had to take chances to try get an edge. Dublin were phenomenal and not everybody beats Kerry.

We were good - but how good were we?

Like I said to an earlier poster. Have a good look closer to home. There are plenty examples the last 25 years of Galway slipping up - but most of theirs happened under the radar.

Quote from: AustinPowers on June 26, 2026, 12:36:30 PMFrig me bunker , you're giving this  way too much  thought

You are right 👍

Quote from: Manning18 on June 26, 2026, 01:25:47 PM

Lazy analysis again.

4 up on Dublin in 2015 with 16 mins of normal time left. Lee leaves a simple point short and Dublin absolutely blitz them from there onwards

5 up with 3 mins of normal time left v Kerry in 2014, in what was probably the biggest opportunity left behind of Mayo in that era

The original point was, presumably somewhat in jest, about Mayo finding bizarre ways to lose. I'd always have taken that to mean the 2 own goals game, the 96 games, or the Hennelly mistakes when randomly brought in for Clarke. Nobody mentioned anything about it being from a winning position, but there's obviously examples of that also

Mayo finding ways to lose is how I seen a lot of those encounters.  As time as past many journalists,pundits and Mayo people have run with the line of weren't they great to be competitive with that Dublin team and if played someone else would have won All-Ireland or two. Ignoring final losses against Donegal,Tyrone.

Manning18

Quote from: From the Bunker on June 26, 2026, 02:08:30 PMI was waiting for Manning and his Mayo love in.

4 up with 16 minutes left, they should have played hold ball for the 16 minutes and closed the game out, while Dublin proceeded to bring on their top notch fresh players from the bench.  ;D  ;D  ;D

The Kerry game - I recall Vaughan getting the equalising point - so we must have been behind. 🤪

We also played most of the first game with 14.

The rest happened because we just didn't have the strength in dept that Dublin had and had to take chances to try get an edge. Dublin were phenomenal and not everybody beats Kerry.

We were good - but how good were we?

Like I said to an earlier poster. Have a good look closer to home. There are plenty examples the last 25 years of Galway slipping up - but most of theirs happened under the radar.

Mayo were 5 points up on 67 minutes in that Kerry game and didn't score again. You must be thinking of a different game. There was no red card either. Kieran O'Leary kicked a corker to level it

The difference is that I'm not making childish exceptions to any comments about Galway. You've jumped aggressively on a simple comment about Mayo losing games in a bizarre fashion. Sorry to break it to you, but if you asked 100 random people around Ireland to name one county that loses games in a bizarre fashion, there's a fair chance all 100 would name Mayo

Contrary to your point about Dublin winning with a stronger bench, in the 2015 draw game and the 2016 drawn game, it was Mayo that came from behind late on with the aid of excessive added time. There were  draws when well behind (2015, 2016), losses and draws when ahead late (2014, 2017), and plain hammerings (2015, 2019).

I neither love nor hate Mayo btw :). If you live and work around Galway city, Mayo talk is a factor of life. It's inescapable. There's Mayo blowins ranting at the clubhouse, ranting at the office, ranting in the bars. You tend to be able to separate the accurate talk from the nonsense quite quickly

If you asked 100 random people - they would never say Galway, not because they have not lost in bizarre ways but because they were not in the limelight when these defeats occurred. The big difference was Mayo were playing against the best team there has ever been in Gaelic football who had a lot of extra added advantages. They gave them a run for their money and came up short.

The only compliment that one could give that group was how long they kept trying for such a concerted period.

Do you honestly think hand on heart that Mayo 1-25 were a better squad than Dublin during that period? Really? Think of our subs bench and Dublins - when games were in the balance.

Enjoy the weekend game 👍

Quote from: Captain Obvious on June 26, 2026, 02:23:53 PM

Lazy analysis again.

Mayo finding ways to lose is how I seen a lot of those encounters.  As time as past many journalists,pundits and Mayo people have run with the line of weren't they great to be competitive with that Dublin team and if played someone else would have won All-Ireland or two. Ignoring final losses against Donegal,Tyrone.
To be fair the Donegal and Tyrone finals were at either end of that Mayo teams best. Impossible to say how they'd have done in 16 or 17 in their pomp against someone else. Although they were caught in 18 by Kildare.

Quote from: Captain Obvious on June 26, 2026, 02:23:53 PMMayo finding ways to lose is how I seen a lot of those encounters.  As time as past many journalists,pundits and Mayo people have run with the line of weren't they great to be competitive with that Dublin team and if played someone else would have won All-Ireland or two. Ignoring final losses against Donegal,Tyrone.

The loss to Tyrone - most of the old guard had gone.
The loss to Donegal - Donegal were at the mature side of development. Mayo were on the up.

Quote from: Armagh18 on June 27, 2026, 06:45:50 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on June 26, 2026, 02:23:53 PM

Lazy analysis again.

To be fair the Donegal and Tyrone finals were at either end of that Mayo teams best. Impossible to say how they'd have done in 16 or 17 in their pomp against someone else. Although they were caught in 18 by Kildare.

Not impossible to tell with Mayo involved, would have found a way to lose. 2016 drawn final for example Dublin couldn't have played much worse in that game and Mayo in their "pomp" didn't win.

Manning18

Quote from: From the Bunker on June 27, 2026, 06:28:03 AMIf you asked 100 random people - they would never say Galway, not because they have not lost in bizarre ways but because they were not in the limelight when these defeats occurred. The big difference was Mayo were playing against the best team there has ever been in Gaelic football who had a lot of extra added advantages. They gave them a run for their money and came up short.

The only compliment that one could give that group was how long they kept trying for such a concerted period.

Do you honestly think hand on heart that Mayo 1-25 were a better squad than Dublin during that period? Really? Think of our subs bench and Dublins - when games were in the balance.

Enjoy the weekend game 👍

No I don't remotely think that. I think that was a good but not great squad, which was shown by Mayo's record outside of those finals, getting beaten by the likes of Kildare, Galway, Roscommon, drawing with D4 teams. I think they were absolutely blessed to make a couple of those finals, and then once there, met a team that didn't meet their usual standard whatsoever. That's been said by multiple Dublin players in recent years, they felt they massively underperformed in a few of those games. I think the hammerings Dublin inflicted upon Mayo in 2015 and 2019 were an accurate reflection of the gap between the sides, and that Kerry were probably the second best team of the period having been closer to beating the Dubs than Mayo (2019 drawn game), actually winning an All Ireland and also winning the head to head with Mayo in that period, and also winning their province every year when Mayo lost 4 connachts on the bounce.

However if you say the above to a Mayo fan, you'll also get met with hysteria in return. So it can't be both ways. Either that was merely a good Mayo side that outperformed themselves in a few one off games without winning, or it was a top class side that bottled a few finals. Its either one or the other

Galway took stick for 1983 for a long time btw, albiet well before my time. They haven't been beaten in a fraction the bizarre fashion Mayo have since then

Thanks I will enjoy tomorrow and I genuinely hope you enjoyed today. Beirne is the type of forward you literally never produce so hang onto him, he's a gem. Hopefully we win tomorrow and a semi match up between us would be the type of day you become a supporter for