AIQF Armagh v Monaghan

Started by tonto1888, June 26, 2023, 06:08:10 PM

Well done to Monaghan. An all Ireland semi final is some achievement for the county.

Hard luck to Armagh. At least ye got further than Galway this year.

restorepride

Quote from: armaghniac on July 01, 2023, 10:58:12 PM
Quote from: restorepride on July 01, 2023, 10:39:26 PM
Expectation seemed to weigh heavy on Ard Mhacha. Grugan took a mark, possible score, then passed across the pitch. Fear of missing. Overplayed the ball too often. O'Neiil has big moments but no consistency. McGeeney too intense, players seem to reflect that.

He wasn't in a great position for shooting, the big problem was that he hit a bad pass across the field.
Armagh often did the hard bit and then fluffed the next pass or whatever.
Why did he claim a mark then? He bottled it.

Quote from: restorepride on July 01, 2023, 07:50:45 PM
McGeeney will get a ban hopefully. You can't hit a player.

Hard man Mc Geeney deliberately nudging a Monaghan player. Trying to be the tough lad by mouthing off to everyone instead of getting in to chat/organise his players.

Quote from: mrdeeds on July 01, 2023, 08:10:51 PM
Hawk eye isn't even watching.

How much is the GAA paying for this every year.

It's a joke.

Interesting after the game Vinnie Corey said they didn't practice penalties he simply chose the five fellas he trusted the most to take them.

Quote from: restorepride on July 01, 2023, 11:26:15 PM
Expectation seemed to weigh heavy on Ard Mhacha. Grugan took a mark, possible score, then passed across the pitch. Fear of missing. Overplayed the ball too often. O'Neiil has big moments but no consistency. McGeeney too intense, players seem to reflect that.

He wasn't in a great position for shooting, the big problem was that he hit a bad pass across the field.

Why not? You still get to make your pass without a Monaghan man hanging out of you.

restorepride

Quote from: armaghniac on July 01, 2023, 11:31:35 PM
Quote from: restorepride on July 01, 2023, 11:26:15 PM

Why not? You still get to make your pass without a Monaghan man hanging out of you.
No  - you give the opposition 3-4 seconds to re-position.

grounded

Quote from: Main Street on July 01, 2023, 09:27:33 PM
Quote from: grounded on July 01, 2023, 09:24:13 PM
Quote from: J70 on July 01, 2023, 08:47:56 PM
Fair fucks Monaghan.

Keep coming year after year putting larger counties to shame.

Absolutely. Punching way above their weight year after year and good luck to them in the semi final.
We don't, this is our weight. We have a good academy structure, an excellent ethos and a good future. We are Monaghan!

Clearly you have those attributes in abundance but i was referring more to the county in terms population and consequently number of  senior clubs/players.
       Over the moon for you and good luck the next day.

square_ball

Sportacus

Some of those Monaghan lads would throw themselves head first in front of a train.  They deserved it.
Some Armagh players and back room team on the half way encouraging the crowd in the Davin to wave their arms to put off the Monaghan penalty takers was a bit pathetic.

WT4E

Armagh really have a chip on their shoulder. Seen Armagh supporters with kerry flags.

Quote from: imtommygunn on July 01, 2023, 10:12:01 PM
Corey has done a great job. Comes across a decent sort too so nice to see. Monaghan aren't a huge county but consistently are among the top teams in the country. Fair play to them.

Agree. He's done a great job.  A tricky one for him to come in and him knowing a lot of the players very well also. Could have went belly up quick enough but he's stuck at it and into an All Ireland semi-final in 2 weeks.

Seems a decent lad also.

square_ball

Quote from: WT4E on July 01, 2023, 11:41:26 PM
Armagh really have a chip on their shoulder. Seen Armagh supporters with kerry flags.

Even seen Armagh fans cheer the Kerry bus as it arrived into Croke Park. Weird behaviour.

WT4E

Quote from: square_ball on July 01, 2023, 11:43:13 PM
Quote from: WT4E on July 01, 2023, 11:41:26 PM

Even seen Armagh fans cheer the Kerry bus as it arrived into Croke Park. Weird behaviour.

Weird Is right.

Don't know what was worst.... having to walk out of CP hammered whilst the Armagh ones went in. Or having to witness the majority of Armagh women completely locked on the way in to their match at that time