Started by Dinny Breen, June 25, 2018, 09:32:04 AM

Solo_run

Unlaoised

Quote from: Taylor on June 26, 2018, 12:26:22 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 26, 2018, 12:19:47 PM
Kildare press conference at 5pm.

Surely the f**k they cant blink first??

Too much support behind them at this stage to back down.

Will be a watershed moment in the association if they stand their ground.

More than likely a statement that they are prepared to go down the legal route

They will step down and Portlaoise will be the alternative venue they will propose!
LAOIS ABÚ

Quote from: Unlaoised on June 26, 2018, 12:28:49 PM

They will step down and Portlaoise will be the alternative venue they will propose!

#Newbridgeornowhere

straightred

Quote from: Unlaoised on June 26, 2018, 12:28:49 PM

Just checked and tickets.ie are selling tickets for Croke Park. Would someone not cop on and stop selling tickets under this mess is resolved.

Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 26, 2018, 12:26:05 PM
Quote from: Itchy on June 26, 2018, 12:20:32 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 26, 2018, 11:57:16 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 26, 2018, 11:56:16 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 26, 2018, 11:23:34 AM
It's interesting how Cavan, and by extension Tyrone, have reacted quite happily to their game being moved to Croke Park.
I don't think people outside Leinster understand that plenty of us are sick of the sight of it and all it has come to represent in recent years.

You are being paraphrased on Twitter Jinxy. You've made it boy, you've made it, proud day for the parish.

https://twitter.com/KCsixtyseven/status/1011563225425596416

Is this a breach of my intellectual property rights?

Cavan got a home game. If our pitch would not have been under construction then the game would have gone ahead in Breffni. You see our small county with 70k people spent our money developing our ground so that it could hold a game of a decent size.

Kildare with 400k population spent their money elsewhere, only they can say where.

Tyrone have nothing to do with this, they are the away team and will go wherever they are told by Cavan.

In this instance Cavan took the opportunity to experience croke park again as we dont get there too often. Simple really.

Close to €200m has been spent on the Curragh Racecourse, Punchestown Racecourse and Naas Racecourse in the last 10 years, horse-racing is the biggest sport in Kildare. But then we know you know very little about other sports already  ;)

What kind of stupidity allows you to re-construct a stadium in peak season. Was it the cheap option?

Youve got 400k people. Its up to Kildare GAA to get as much share of that as possible. Its your problem if you cant. Its simple.

We are re-laying our pitch and reconstructing drainage. One summer will sort it for 15 years probably. Vast majority of people in Cavan are ok with that. Your stadium is your biggest asset. Ye should have spent less money poaching players, paying for gyms and protein shakes.

Solo_run

Cannot see Portlaoise being offered as an alternative.

CP still has to be filled.

If they do the Super 8s won't happen on time

Clusterfuck best practice :

Own the bad news.
Make sure colleagues and partners are prepared;
Go public quickly, clearly, and completely;
Be accountable;
Be available.
Candour is a sign of respect.

CLG 0/6

"Policies in motion tend to remain in motion; to change the trajectory of a deeply-entrenched set of initiatives requires the application of political forces of equal momentum. "

Hon Kildare

Option A: Newbridge
Option B: Tullamore/Portlaoise
Option C: Croke Park
Option D: WAR!

A or D are the only acceptable options at this stage.
If they go with C, that is outright capitulation.
If they go with B, what happens to the Cavan/Tyrone game?
Mind you, that applies to A and D as well.  ;D

The GAA will step down and play it in Newbridge because legally they don't have a leg to stand on if Kildare decide to go down that route.

It will be an embarassing U turn for GAA officials but I see it as the only solution.   

Quote from: Itchy on June 26, 2018, 12:32:20 PM
Youve got 400k people. Its up to Kildare GAA to get as much share of that as possible. Its your problem if you cant. Its simple.

222,504 (Census of Ireland, 2016)

Horses don't count as people, Itchy.
Even in Kildare.

straightred

Quote from: yellowcard on June 26, 2018, 12:35:59 PM
The GAA will step down and play it in Newbridge because legally they don't have a leg to stand on if Kildare decide to go down that route.

It will be an embarassing U turn for GAA officials but I see it as the only solution.   

Agree. It is the only sensible course of action. The lessons learned will be to cut out the "make it up as you go along" nonsense from the GAA

Solo_run

Quote from: straightred on June 26, 2018, 12:38:29 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on June 26, 2018, 12:35:59 PM

Agree. It is the only sensible course of action. The lessons learned will be to cut out the "make it up as you go along" nonsense from the GAA

And Cavan have approximately 11k

sligoman2

If the GAA had any sense or vision they would back down on this.  Playing this game in Newbridge would ensure massive interest in this game, sky's viewership would be off the charts and everyone would want to see what happens in Newbridge, plus you have 2 teams that play open football.  This could be a massive win for the GAA if they had the vision to realize this, bad news is good news if they are smart enough to understand that and forego the extra 200 grand they would get at the gate.

In my opinion, the GAA need to be careful, there are other sports competing for players and spectators, the defensive blanket has made most games unwatchable and the last thing they need now is the perception that they are a dictatorship.

A rip roaring game in front of a packed house at Newbridge might just be the tonic the championship needs. 

Do the smart thing GAA before ye lose a lot of followers (myself incliuded)...
I used to be indecisive but now I'm not too sure.