Dublin

Started by ashman, April 24, 2016, 05:17:08 PM

To be fair the line was "They have a mixture of, for the want of a better word, a sc**bag when they need somebody on the team to do the nasty things." sc**bag a bit strong alright and I'd say O Sé has been on to RTE as the headline has changed from sc**bag to mental strength  ;D

He probably wanted to use the word 'animal', but decided that 'sc**bag' was the safer option.

Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on May 09, 2016, 10:38:53 AM
To be fair the line was "They have a mixture of, for the want of a better word, a sc**bag when they need somebody on the team to do the nasty things." sc**bag a bit strong alright and I'd say O Sé has been on to RTE as the headline has changed from sc**bag to mental strength  ;D
good to bring it up.

Beffs

There would be some craic if he used the same term to describe the behaviour of some of his own former team mates. A few of them would be well deserving of it.

Quote from: Jinxy on May 09, 2016, 11:28:25 AM
He probably wanted to use the word 'animal', but decided that 'sc**bag' was the safer option.

Well it is different from his usual bagload of cliches, or  the standard "Look I suppose".
A great footballer but generally very predictable with his comments or columns.

Quote from: Declan on May 09, 2016, 10:00:45 AM
As Jim Gavin said last year -we don't pay too much attention to what the Kerry lads say ;)

It's not supposed to be towards the players. It's getting into heads of the regulators and referees! Mayo a couple of years ago were 'Streetwise'. Everyone one of them from Liston, to Spillane to Keane to the O'Se's horsed it out one by one and the Referees heard them!

He retracts then with the usual Plámásing!

Beffs

Quote from: From the Bunker on May 09, 2016, 01:34:34 PM
Quote from: Declan on May 09, 2016, 10:00:45 AM
As Jim Gavin said last year -we don't pay too much attention to what the Kerry lads say ;)

It's not supposed to be towards the players. It's getting into heads of the regulators and referees! Mayo a couple of years ago were 'Streetwise'. Everyone one of them from Liston, to Spillane to Keane to the O'Se's horsed it out one by one and the Referees heard them!

He retracts then with the usual Plámásing!

All this backtracking and apologising is daft. He knew full well what he was doing when he used the word sc**bag at a press conference. He knew the media would be all over it. You can't use a word like that and then just meekly take it back. It's like lobbing a hand grenade into a creche. This persona that he is has cultivated, of the plain speaking man of the people, who just calls it like it is, with no hidden agenda, is pure bullshit.

Avondhu star

Its just more of the Kerry mind games. They did it with Tyrone because they cant accept that Tyrone beat them in two finals. Now they are under the Dublin cosh and have no option but to try and undermine a very good panel of players. This media inspired rubbish about the purity of Kerry football is completely undrrmined when you see the antics of Galvin O Mahony The O Se brothers and many more who are experts inthe dark arts
Lee Harvey Oswald , your country needs you

Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on May 09, 2016, 10:38:53 AM

Yes the headline didn't quite do justice to the context of the comment.

Ciarrai_thuaidh

Not even a thread on the Division 1 league final, but loads of comments on a throwaway remark by an ex-player. This place is gas.
"Better to die on your feet,than live on your knees"...

Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on May 09, 2016, 10:16:06 PM
Not even a thread on the Division 1 league final, but loads of comments on a throwaway remark by an ex-player. This place is gas.

And why did you not start a thread on the National League final CT?

Tomás is not just a ex-player anymore he is a Column writer with Irish Independent and a regular pundit with the Sunday game. He gets high exposure to two big media outlets and you'd expect anything that he says/writes enters the gaa realm of scrutiny. Referees start to look for things that might not be there. The use of the word sc**bag, along with it being derogatory also draws the audience to the topic! Mission accomplished!

Beffs

Tomas O'Se is 100% on a mission to portray the Dubs in as the bad guys, in the minds of refs and officials. If it wins the opposition a few handy frees, or gets Dublin players sent off, then it's job done, as far as Tomas is concerned.  However, the dogs on the street already know that the likes of Philly McMahon are going to come under a lot more additional scrutiny from refs this year. We don't really need Tomas O'Se to tell us that.

Avondhu star

I've seen O Se at games. When play stops up the field he would have a bit of a chat with the linesman or umpire making himself out to be a real nice fella. Then when it comes to the crunch he will get the 50 50 decision. O Dwyer was the same. When with Kildare he met the ref coming out of the dressing room and said "Im glad we have a good strict ref for this game" Kildare won by a point from a soft free
Lee Harvey Oswald , your country needs you

Quote from: Avondhu star on May 10, 2016, 08:25:26 AM
I've seen O Se at games. When play stops up the field he would have a bit of a chat with the linesman or umpire making himself out to be a real nice fella. Then when it comes to the crunch he will get the 50 50 decision. O Dwyer was the same. When with Kildare he met the ref coming out of the dressing room and said "Im glad we have a good strict ref for this game" Kildare won by a point from a soft free

What's wrong with that??!!

Use every advantage you have I'd rather have him on my time than the dickhead who constantly shouts at the referee. . . he's never getting a free!!

Dire Ear

Quote from: Avondhu star on May 09, 2016, 04:42:00 PM
Its just more of the Kerry mind games. They did it with Tyrone because they cant accept that Tyrone beat them in two finals. Now they are under the Dublin cosh and have no option but to try and undermine a very good panel of players. This media inspired rubbish about the purity of Kerry football is completely undrrmined when you see the antics of Galvin O Mahony The O Se brothers and many more who are experts inthe dark arts
Agree with all of this