Started by theticklemister, May 18, 2015, 09:12:19 PM

Quote from: DermyTDredi on May 22, 2015, 12:43:33 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on May 22, 2015, 12:12:04 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on May 22, 2015, 11:47:03 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on May 22, 2015, 11:17:25 AM
Quote from: Bingo on May 22, 2015, 10:21:35 AM
The bigger picture here is to find out the reasoning behind it, where its coming from and who is instigating it.

If true, Why/How does a minor in Tyrone find out who he'll be marking from Donegal and then research that player to find out something so personal about him. Does he take to his facebook himself or is there someone giving him this information.

And in the interest of balance, why would any player from any county/club go to these lengths.

It will take strong county boards (even clubs) to look at their own houses and insure that this is stopped ASAP. Its this premeditated stuff and thinking that has to be looked at. You will always get the reactionary stuff from on the field events - you missed the free, that looks like your replacement warming up, general shite talk - hard to police and spot.

But this other stuff has to stop. It will end up with a serious injury or the sport been dragged into the front papers when a high profile incident like this happens again. And more importantly, its totally disrespectful and disgusting.

This started a long time ago and is ingrained in their culture. Just pull out the quote from Harte in 2000 where he talks about it . They've evolved from the phone numbers saga to more sinister tactics.

Unfortunately the Dublin team in the era of 03-08 followed Tyrone down the sledging route. Thankfully Gilroy and Gavin got rid of it. It's as much up to team managers to lead by example. But it seems to be par for the course in the Ulster Championship now. Last Sunday was terrible by both teams

I think the 3 bits highlighted sums up your attitude.
Maybe you could pull up Hartes quote. IIRC he only said it was part of the game and you had to be prepared for it. That is a big jump to claiming it is coached systematically in Ulster Counties.
I would concede that Hartes Pontius Pilate act, "its part of the game what can you do", has not helped. Not condemning it leads to tacit acceptance and it may be no coincidence that Tyrone u-21's and minors both have former players from the 03-08 era in their backroom team.

What he said was that sledging was preferable to physical contact off the ball and he was very wrong in that. Neither are acceptable . I said it last week and I'll say it again you have a serious problem in your development structure as regards sledging and only Tyrone can sort it out. Where there is a will there is a way
You're not the only ones at senior level it's pretty rampant at that level in all provinces but it's definitely more prevalent in Ulster but you're certainly one of the few at underage level. Stamp it out there and then it doesn't become a problem later on

How can you get a way with such a sweeping generalisation - based on absolutely f**k all..."it's definitely more prevalent in Ulster.."

Completely laking in substance and only a subjective view - us'uns and them'uns...wise the f**k up

Several players from Ulster have said its a fact of life up there. It's elsewhere too as I've already pointed out. But team managers can eradicate this . Anyone who thinks Declan Bonner is going to go public on something like this with no foundation really is on quicksand. His team did win the game lets not forget. I don't like Declan Bonner but fair play to him for raising the issue.
The GAA as an association had never been comfortable discussing the dark arts at any stage in its history . It's an association wide problem and needs to be dealt with accordingly

DermyTDredi

Quote from: INDIANA on May 22, 2015, 04:19:56 PM
Quote from: DermyTDredi on May 22, 2015, 12:43:33 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on May 22, 2015, 12:12:04 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on May 22, 2015, 11:47:03 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on May 22, 2015, 11:17:25 AM
Quote from: Bingo on May 22, 2015, 10:21:35 AM
The bigger picture here is to find out the reasoning behind it, where its coming from and who is instigating it.

If true, Why/How does a minor in Tyrone find out who he'll be marking from Donegal and then research that player to find out something so personal about him. Does he take to his facebook himself or is there someone giving him this information.

And in the interest of balance, why would any player from any county/club go to these lengths.

It will take strong county boards (even clubs) to look at their own houses and insure that this is stopped ASAP. Its this premeditated stuff and thinking that has to be looked at. You will always get the reactionary stuff from on the field events - you missed the free, that looks like your replacement warming up, general shite talk - hard to police and spot.

But this other stuff has to stop. It will end up with a serious injury or the sport been dragged into the front papers when a high profile incident like this happens again. And more importantly, its totally disrespectful and disgusting.

This started a long time ago and is ingrained in their culture. Just pull out the quote from Harte in 2000 where he talks about it . They've evolved from the phone numbers saga to more sinister tactics.

Unfortunately the Dublin team in the era of 03-08 followed Tyrone down the sledging route. Thankfully Gilroy and Gavin got rid of it. It's as much up to team managers to lead by example. But it seems to be par for the course in the Ulster Championship now. Last Sunday was terrible by both teams

I think the 3 bits highlighted sums up your attitude.
Maybe you could pull up Hartes quote. IIRC he only said it was part of the game and you had to be prepared for it. That is a big jump to claiming it is coached systematically in Ulster Counties.
I would concede that Hartes Pontius Pilate act, "its part of the game what can you do", has not helped. Not condemning it leads to tacit acceptance and it may be no coincidence that Tyrone u-21's and minors both have former players from the 03-08 era in their backroom team.

What he said was that sledging was preferable to physical contact off the ball and he was very wrong in that. Neither are acceptable . I said it last week and I'll say it again you have a serious problem in your development structure as regards sledging and only Tyrone can sort it out. Where there is a will there is a way
You're not the only ones at senior level it's pretty rampant at that level in all provinces but it's definitely more prevalent in Ulster but you're certainly one of the few at underage level. Stamp it out there and then it doesn't become a problem later on

How can you get a way with such a sweeping generalisation - based on absolutely f**k all..."it's definitely more prevalent in Ulster.."

Completely laking in substance and only a subjective view - us'uns and them'uns...wise the f**k up

Several players from Ulster have said its a fact of life up there. It's elsewhere too as I've already pointed out. But team managers can eradicate this . Anyone who thinks Declan Bonner is going to go public on something like this with no foundation really is on quicksand. His team did win the game lets not forget. I don't like Declan Bonner but fair play to him for raising the issue.
The GAA as an association had never been comfortable discussing the dark arts at any stage in its history . It's an association wide problem and needs to be dealt with accordingly

Several players...you work in market research? IPSOS MORI? MILLARD BROWN? Check out the team talkmag website

A bit of a biased source - but apparently a Donegal official has come out and said there's no truth in the allegation after an investigation

http://teamtalkmag.com/2015/05/exclusive-allegations-not-true/

QuoteTeamtalk has this afternoon learned that the sledging allegations that have been made by Donegal minor football manager Declan Bonner are not believed to be true.  In an article in the Irish Star the Donegal man has slammed a Tyrone player for mocking Michael Carroll about the death of his father Francie.

Teamtalk has this afternoon been told by one prominent Donegal official that this is "definitely not the case".  Our source went on to say that "the situation has gotten way out of control.  It has been fuelled by both radio and newspaper coverage but our investigation suggests that the claim has no foundation".

The Tyrone player at the centre of the allegation has received a large number of threatening messages via social media and his club has informed Teamtalk that they are seeking a meeting with the Tyrone County Board to address the issue with Donegal immediately.

longballin

If it is not true it is appalling allegation to make... this needs clarified asap. it was run out like absolute fact... 

Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on May 22, 2015, 04:50:37 PM
A bit of a biased source - but apparently a Donegal official has come out and said there's no truth in the allegation after an investigation

http://teamtalkmag.com/2015/05/exclusive-allegations-not-true/

QuoteTeamtalk has this afternoon learned that the sledging allegations that have been made by Donegal minor football manager Declan Bonner are not believed to be true.  In an article in the Irish Star the Donegal man has slammed a Tyrone player for mocking Michael Carroll about the death of his father Francie.

Teamtalk has this afternoon been told by one prominent Donegal official that this is "definitely not the case".  Our source went on to say that "the situation has gotten way out of control.  It has been fuelled by both radio and newspaper coverage but our investigation suggests that the claim has no foundation".

The Tyrone player at the centre of the allegation has received a large number of threatening messages via social media and his club has informed Teamtalk that they are seeking a meeting with the Tyrone County Board to address the issue with Donegal immediately.

This is what happens when everyone puts their heads in the sand.

They should:
a) initiate an investigation
b) everyone from both sides shuts up until investigation concluded (no one talks to the media - other than maybe an incident is being investigated)
c) maybe release preliminary report if absolutely necessary
d) inform individuals of any possible sanctions and deal with appeals as appropriate
e) release full report
e) move on

Trial by random media interview is very damaging all round.

Oh dear what a total mess.  Have Donegal GAA incorrectly created a media witch hunt against a 17/18 year old?

Still talking about this on Today FM now in relation to this as if that last release hasn't got to them yet.

Peter Canavan and Martin Carney discussing it.

Peter spoke of that statement and says that he expects a Tyrone County board statement to the same effect.

Martin said he spoke to Donegal officials and they supported what Bonner had said.

A complete balls it seems. PR never seemed to sit well in the GAA.

Was it supposedly heard by others though or was it reported back by the player himself?

It was highlighted Dublin were sledging opponents 6 or 7 yrs back and got a good going over on the sunday game one night. Once a new manager came in  (Gilroy) the shit was cut out nearly overnite, though the ref picks up more grief this weather. A strict manager can cut this shite out fairly handy unless he thinks it acceptbale.

http://www.the42.ie/tyrone-donegal-minor-sledging-2119441-May2015/?utm_source=twitter_self

QuoteTheir statement read: "Due to persistent allegations circulating in the media, some of which have been attributed to the Donegal Minor football manager, regarding verbal abuse during the Tyrone v Donegal Ulster Minor Football Championship match, Coiste Contae Thir Eoghain has conducted an investigation, involving its management and players.

As a result of the investigation undertaken it would refute in the strongest possible terms that a comment was made by any of its players to a Donegal player regarding the death of his father in 2014.

Tyrone GAA in no way condone 'sledging'​ and the managers and coaches of all our county teams, from Acadamh Thir Eoghain​ to Senior, actively discourage this practice.

Tyrone GAA congratulates both Donegal teams on their victories on Sunday in Ballybofey, wishing them well in the remainder of their 2015 campaigns and would express our deepest sympathies to the player on his loss. ​​"

My gut feeling is that something was said about the Donegal lad's father, probably the usual "Yer Ma!" type nonsense, without the Tyrone lad knowing that his father had died.
That statement specifically says, 'As a result of the investigation undertaken it would refute in the strongest possible terms that a comment was made by any of its players to a Donegal player regarding the death of his father'.

Jinxy I don't often agree with you but I think you might be right here

In fact there is a possibility it may have snowballed a bit from there. How many times have you been slagging in the school yard about someone's ma and they turn around and say "my ma's dead". Of course after you get this a few times you catch on its just a retort with as much truth to it as someone shagging your ma and would continue on into another bout of slagging

As I have said previously it should be left on the pitch it won't be able to be refuted or confirmed by anyone other than those involved. If you don't like what someone says on a pitch that you feel is more important than football carry the feckin head of them, same as the street.