The Roscommon Bus

Started by Shamrock Shore, May 08, 2014, 12:24:43 AM

Why is Mayo club 51 so called? Should it not be aiming for the future?

Quote from: AZOffaly on February 14, 2015, 09:00:46 AM

They did aim for the future. It was set up by our forwards.

mayo club and club mayo are sandwich trademarks

Quote from: seafoid on February 14, 2015, 03:47:07 PM
mayo club and club mayo are sandwich trademarks

Good job it wasn't 1957 so or Heinz would after them too.

Shrewdness

Lads, ye have it all wrong about Mayo's Club 51.. It's nothing to do with looking back to 1951. It's actually their vision for the future. It's a 36 year development plan, which is expected to achieve fruition in 2051, which coincidentally will be the 100 year anniversary of their last victory

Ciarrai_thuaidh

I've wanted to ask this for ages, but was afraid of being swarmed... ;D

Seriously, an appalling name for a Supporters club if you ask me and no idea how it got approval!!
"Better to die on your feet,than live on your knees"...

Crete Boom

Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 16, 2015, 06:16:20 PM

Seriously, an appalling name for a Supporters club if you ask me and no idea how it got approval!!

Why do you think it's so bad?

Ciarrai_thuaidh

Quote from: Crete Boom on February 16, 2015, 06:48:22 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 16, 2015, 06:16:20 PM

Why do you think it's so bad?

Surely it's obvious..
"Better to die on your feet,than live on your knees"...

Quote from: Shrewdness on February 14, 2015, 09:15:35 PM
Lads, ye have it all wrong about Mayo's Club 51.. It's nothing to do with looking back to 1951. It's actually their vision for the future. It's a 36 year development plan, which is expected to achieve fruition in 2051, which coincidentally will be the 100 year anniversary of their last victory

Or it could just be a matter of turning the digits around . Club 15 = sam to Mayo in 15

giveballaghback

how come every topic seems to come back to Mayo, the house of pain, mayo God help us, will they ever learn?

Sod them - we have one bell of a bus while all they have is a massive debt on Prentypark .

Quote from: giveballaghback on February 16, 2015, 09:38:06 PM
how come every topic seems to come back to Mayo, the house of pain, mayo God help us, will they ever learn?

Says the man with giveballaghback as his handle.

But we accept your offer and will take Ballagh back to its Gaelic home, in Co. Mayo.

Quote from: Rossfan on February 16, 2015, 09:44:45 PM
Sod them - we have one bell of a bus while all they have is a massive debt on Prentypark .

And 14 years of victory over our noisy neighbours.

Quote from: larryin89 on February 16, 2015, 10:43:39 PM

Didn't think January was that long ago.

Quote from: Syferus on February 17, 2015, 01:28:40 AM
Quote from: larryin89 on February 16, 2015, 10:43:39 PM

Didn't think January was that long ago.

A FBD win in January has even less worth than a summer challenge where everyone comes out of the ground with a different final score. 19 years without a championship win against Mayo in McHale is pitiful. Tony and Eamon Mc led us to victory that day.  That's how long ago that was and I was fortunate to be there to witness. Little did I think 20 years later... Until we right that a few grand profit on a bus is a nonsense fact. Taking auld ones to bingo was it? Don't know what possessed you to resurrect it in the first place. Let's play the ball and not the bus.