An Mhí v Ard Mhacha, NFL Div 2, Round 3, Navan, Saturday 1st March 2014

Started by BennyCake, February 10, 2014, 07:32:45 PM

Quote from: seafoid on March 01, 2014, 09:45:09 PM
At least Galway had a bit of underage success  :o 
In fairness Armagh won underage All Irelands in 2004 and 2009 and a few Ulster titles. What happened to Galway today? they seem to be getting worse with each game.

Thought Galway would make progress under Alan Mulholland, was over the u21s in 2011 when they won the All Ireland, but the results at Senior have been very poor. Were lucky to get 3 home ties to reach the All Ireland Quarters last year, 2 of them against Tipp and Waterford who they were Div 4 sides

Some scoring by Jamie Clarke,i can see Armagh coming good this year,there is alot of talent in the county and Clarke when in form is virtually unstoppable.

Meath have serious problems in the backline it seems, 0-20 against Monaghan, 4-11 against Galway and 0-19 against Armagh. If your backs are that poor, surely the best thing to do is pack your own half of the field with a mass defence and provide them some protection.
Juice/Jinxy, would it be fair to say that it doesn't seem like O Dowd is very tactically adept???

Quote from: rodney trotter on March 01, 2014, 10:03:43 PM
Thought Galway would make progress under Alan Mulholland, was over the u21s in 2011 when they won the All Ireland, but the results at Senior have been very poor. Were lucky to get 3 home ties to reach the All Ireland Quarters last year, 2 of them against Tipp and Waterford who they were Div 4 sides
Very poor alright. Cavan have more momentum at senior level.

Great character shown by Armagh tonight but shouldn't mask major deficiencies.Could have conceded 5 or 6 goals in the first half apart from the two soft ones coneeded.Also still no real scoring threat apart from Jamie who was allowed unprecedented freedom ( ie not double marked at least) by the Meath defence.

I dunno If I'd prefer to be in D3 with Meath or Armagh.
Meath know the gaff better. 

All of a Sludden

I'm gonna show you as gently as I can how much you don't know.

QuoteGreat character shown by Armagh tonight but shouldn't mask major deficiencies.Could have conceded 5 or 6 goals in the first half apart from the two soft ones coneeded.Also still no real scoring threat apart from Jamie who was allowed unprecedented freedom ( ie not double marked at least) by the Meath defence.

Jamie is clearly capable of scoring and doing damage for Armagh, but a decent team will plan for him. Meath scored a couple of lovely long range points in the first half and there wasn't much sign of Armagh doing this. A couple of years ago in Kerry we could knock over a few long ones, this is needed if the opposition run a proper defence.

So they beat Cork!?

Quote from: Syferus on March 01, 2014, 11:07:09 PM

So they beat Cork!?

Last 12, ye dont be long sticking up for the Connacht teams

Armaghgeddon

Quote from: armaghniac on March 01, 2014, 11:06:28 PM
QuoteGreat character shown by Armagh tonight but shouldn't mask major deficiencies.Could have conceded 5 or 6 goals in the first half apart from the two soft ones coneeded.Also still no real scoring threat apart from Jamie who was allowed unprecedented freedom ( ie not double marked at least) by the Meath defence.

Jamie is clearly capable of scoring and doing damage for Armagh, but a decent team will plan for him. Meath scored a couple of lovely long range points in the first half and there wasn't much sign of Armagh doing this. A couple of years ago in Kerry we could knock over a few long ones, this is needed if the opposition run a proper defence.

While it was only one Harold score the best point of the game at the end of the first half and was probably the furthest away from goal than any other point in the game

Quote from: rodney trotter on March 01, 2014, 11:11:33 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 01, 2014, 11:07:09 PM

So they beat Cork!?

Last 12, ye dont be long sticking up for the Connacht teams

Arrah, sure poor Galway are a likeable enough bunch of lads.

Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on March 01, 2014, 10:10:05 PM
Some scoring by Jamie Clarke,i can see Armagh coming good this year,there is alot of talent in the county and Clarke when in form is virtually unstoppable.

Meath have serious problems in the backline it seems, 0-20 against Monaghan, 4-11 against Galway and 0-19 against Armagh. If your backs are that poor, surely the best thing to do is pack your own half of the field with a mass defence and provide them some protection.
Juice/Jinxy, would it be fair to say that it doesn't seem like O Dowd is very tactically adept???

What makes you think Armagh will come good? They've a couple of very good players but seem to have a clueless manager and beating a poor Meath team doesn't make them any good. I'd be disappointed if Cavan can't beat them. Also a one man forward line is very stoppable too, UCC hadn't much bother stopping Jamie the other day and he had some top forwards along side him too.

As for Galway, I cannot understand what they are doing with endless underage talent they produce.