An Lú v Ard Mhacha, NFL Div 2 Round 1, Drogheda, Sunday 2nd February 2014

Started by BennyCake, January 20, 2014, 08:24:49 PM

Where is the ground exactly? Not been there before.

What's this about cheaper pre-purchased NFL tickets being cheaper than paying at the turnstiles? Will pre-purchasing of tickets be required for Drogheda? I hear its a small enough venue.

If you ever drove into Drogheda from the North (on the old main road), you can pretty much see the ground

It isn't the biggest place. Louth people might turn out on the basis that Armagh are shite, not sure about Armagh people. The ould season ticket is handy if they do impose some sort of ticketing.

Hopefully Armagh will not disgrace themselves like their recent game.

Tickets ordered through Centra/Supervalue/tickets.ie are €10 up to the day before the game, it'll be €15 at the ground if you walk up on the day. Small ground so could sell out if it's a fine day.

If you plan on sitting in the stand:

a) get there early
b) go to the jacks on the way in, else you'll have a walk back around the pitch at half time

JP

Setanta must know something the rest of us don't. Showing 4 of the Armagh games live, the same amount as Dublin footballers and more then everyone else.

I suppose they are guaranteed plenty of scoring when Armagh play.

QuoteI suppose they are guaranteed plenty of scoring when Armagh play.

I suppose they are guaranteed plenty of scoring when Armagh don't play!!

Quote from: mackers on January 24, 2014, 10:17:57 AM
I suppose they are guaranteed plenty of scoring when Armagh play.

Yes and they seem to come from the team Armagh are playing

Agent Orange

If ever there was a game with draw written all over it then this is it.

mattockranger

Is there an Armagh Squad list knocking about? or are they all injured?
will to win is important the will to prepare to win is vital

I remember back in the early seventies my Dad saying "and they couldnt even beat Louth".

He may be saying the same thing 40 years later.

mattockranger

i don't know what you are basing this on?

Louth are going into the game missing at least 8 players that featured in last years win
Brennan, White, Lennon, McGuinness Carroll, and Crilly started
while mcEneaney and Byrne came on as subs

while Armagh have gained Mallon, Vernon
and Dyas is back on the panel now too!

i think Paul Grimley has played the poor mouth perfectly!

We'll see your 8 injured players and raise you 12! ;)

Vernon may be back but he'll probably be playing full back which is not a position that suits him.  We'll have a very inexperienced back line aside from Charlie and Andy Mallon so Louth can expect to get scores on the board.  I wouldn't expect Dyas to start as he would be miles behind in fitness.  It has been a gruelling pre-season training regime for the rest of the panel.

mattockranger

ha i heard it was 20!

who will definitely be out for ye?

McKeever with a broken Wrist? and Donaghy with a knee injury?

Quote from: mattockranger on January 30, 2014, 03:05:14 PM
ha i heard it was 20!

who will definitely be out for ye?

McKeever with a broken Wrist? and Donaghy with a knee injury?

Both teams are clearly depleted for Sunday but there will still be 30 men on the field at throw in and there can be no excuses from either side, the winner will be who has the best squad (if that makes sense). It will def be a tight div 2 this year and you couldn't put your hand on your heart and say who was going to be relegated and who is going to be promoted. If you can get off to a good start it lifts the pressure of you and a chance of making the top 4, 2 defeats from your first 2 games and your staring down the barrel.

mattockranger

''but there will still be 30 men on the field at throw in and there can be no excuses from either side''
excellent point

Jamie Clarke will be the best player on the field he could swing it Armagh's way