Pat McEnaney wants more players sent off!

Started by Premier Emperor, October 19, 2012, 12:49:48 PM

Dag Dog

Quote from: Bud Wiser on October 25, 2012, 08:10:26 PM
Good men, keep at it and by the time this thread gets to another page it will be a civil court case to block someone down.  Are ye sure its not camogie or gaelic football ye are taking about?
Fingers in ears singing "la la la"

Plain of the Herbs

The rules of hurling, as they are, are being ignored in favour of the 'let the game flow' brigade.  Now either the rules are flawed or they are not.

What bothers me more than anything is that there is no sign of the 'let the game flow' brigade bringing an alternate set of rules through their clubs and through their county conventions all the way to congress.

I could deal with it if:
- 'tipping' the helmet was permitted,
- the frontal charge was permitted,
- holding an opponent's hurl was permitted,
- taking eight spets was permitted,
- throwing the ball eight feet in front of you in order to ride a challenge, then gathering it again was permitted,
- grabbing an opponent by the arm was permitted, and
- flailing all before you at throw-in time like a Munster hurler on acid was permitted.

We're heading into club AGM time.  Let's hear from ye.  Then we could all see where we stand and we would have a level playing field.  Until then we are stuck with the current rules which are being applied to the weaker counties but get ignored from June onwards when said weaker counties depart the championship.

For a minute there I thought that you had designed a set of rules specifically aimed at preventing Kilkenny from winning another game. The first  rule you want changed would appear to arise from the old folklore and Tall Tales About Tommy from Tullaroan collection  because if we have reached a stage where this is a problem it is one that has gone unnoticed by journalists and commentators alike.

Frontal challenge?? If you are referring to the butt of a hurl been stuck in your groin like what happened a Kilkenny player who was almost de-balled by a Cork player when the game, well for Cork anyway, was already over I agree. Tipp and Cork feasted for years on tales about Hells Kitchen and The Rock and how you were never at s hurling match at all unless you were at a munster final. Then when  other counties produce players like Noel Hickey for example they come crying to  mammy that they want the rules changed.

If the football brigade get at hurling rules they will bring in one about tipping the helmet allright whereby every player must greet his opponent onto the field of play and tip his helmet to him while exclaiming " I say old chap but that was quite a wonderful score" after every score.  Maybe extend the rules into the dressing room and serve the players strawberries and cream at half  time instead of a good old Davy Fitz like bollicking and then the same rule book wil do because that is as close to football/handball as you will get.

GalwayLassForLiam

Did anyone read tom ryans article in the daily mail on tuesday? basically he was telling pat mc to eff off back to f-ball and leave hurling alone. what a disgraceful way for ryan to act. using his rag as a platform to attack a gaa official.

Awful stuff happened in last years championship and has been happening for ages, i hope the refs are more onto it this year

Quote from: GalwayLassForLiam on May 23, 2013, 11:06:24 PM
Did anyone read tom ryans article in the daily mail on tuesday? basically he was telling pat mc to eff off back to f-ball and leave hurling alone. what a disgraceful way for ryan to act. using his rag as a platform to attack a gaa official.

Awful stuff happened in last years championship and has been happening for ages, i hope the refs are more onto it this year

Read it alright.

Tom doesn't mince his words.

Ah sure everyone knows hurling is "special" and football is a game for lesser breeds who need rules and cards etc etc.
None of that oul rules sh1te in hurling - the ref is only there to keep the score and blow for half and full time.
Even the changes at Congress this year - it had to be spelled out they referred to football only or else the special ones would have voted them down.
And then they wonder why their game is limited to a few Counties.

Quote from: Rossfan on May 24, 2013, 03:15:44 PM
Ah sure everyone knows hurling is "special" and football is a game for lesser breeds who need rules and cards etc etc.
None of that oul rules sh1te in hurling - the ref is only there to keep the score and blow for half and full time.
Even the changes at Congress this year - it had to be spelled out they referred to football only or else the special ones would have voted them down.
And then they wonder why their game is limited to a few Counties.

Ah, it's an ALL Ireland Series. Sure anybody can win it so long as you are from Tipp, Cork or Kilkenny! Ninety titles among those three and all the titles since 1998!

Carlow lost 3 yesterday. Manager says there wasn't a dirty stroke in the game.

Quote from: orangeman on June 03, 2013, 11:55:29 PM

If it was maybe in Croke park or thurles involving the bigger teams he would have a point, Down lost their fullback on Saturday and rightly so as he pulled across the legs of a man going past him very similar to a Tommy Walsh 'tackle' vrs Wexford where Tommy didn't even get a yellow.

Maybe thats where Meyler is coming from as there is different standards of refereeing depending on who's playing as can be seen by the two sendings off in the club finals in Croke park, neither of those two lads would have gotten the line if the game was in August or September.

Quote from: johnneycool on June 04, 2013, 08:42:55 AM

If it was maybe in Croke park or thurles involving the bigger teams he would have a point, Down lost their fullback on Saturday and rightly so as he pulled across the legs of a man going past him very similar to a Tommy Walsh 'tackle' vrs Wexford where Tommy didn't even get a yellow.

Maybe thats where Meyler is coming from as there is different standards of refereeing depending on who's playing as can be seen by the two sendings off in the club finals in Croke park, neither of those two lads would have gotten the line if the game was in August or September.

A player could pull a player down twice in 2 minutes and get 2 yellow cards, if this is followed by a players pulling someone else down and maybe slapping a had when trying to gain possession then that's another 2 yellow cards and dismissal!! Is that a dirty game? No but well within the rules

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 04, 2013, 12:13:08 PM

A player could pull a player down twice in 2 minutes and get 2 yellow cards, if this is followed by a players pulling someone else down and maybe slapping a had when trying to gain possession then that's another 2 yellow cards and dismissal!! Is that a dirty game? No but well within the rules

Its the double standard that I would be most concerned about.

When was the last time you saw Tommy Walsh for example being fouled/ booked for any of those things you have mentioned MR2. Yet if a lad from Carlow does the same Barry Kelly et al would be dying to get the book out.

Quote from: NAG1 on June 04, 2013, 01:14:58 PM

When was the last time you saw Tommy Walsh for example being fouled/ booked for any of those things you have mentioned MR2. Yet if a lad from Carlow does the same Barry Kelly et al would be dying to get the book out.

I know what you're saying NAG1, I've issues with the yellow card being shown for "pull downs" other than when a player is running in on goal. No problem for that some pull downs could be accidental and player gets booked. As for the Tommy Walsh style of hurling it's on the edge and he shouldn't get away with half the stuff, if he were to be booked early on he'd not be at it, trust me

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 04, 2013, 02:23:08 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on June 04, 2013, 01:14:58 PM

I know what you're saying NAG1, I've issues with the yellow card being shown for "pull downs" other than when a player is running in on goal. No problem for that some pull downs could be accidental and player gets booked. As for the Tommy Walsh style of hurling it's on the edge and he shouldn't get away with half the stuff, if he were to be booked early on he'd not be at it, trust me

If that was to happen Cody would be giving off in the press about it being a mans game, letting it go and what not and we wouldn't see that referee again in any big games..

Surely you remember John Gough?

Mc Enaney tells refs to keep sending them off - was he that fond himself of being told "how" to referee ? Pat, when he reffed, had his  "own style" and didn't take kindly to being instructed on how to ref. He was his own man and it served him well for a long time. Why does he feel the need to instruct refs now ?.

Refs told to keep dishing out reds

Thursday, July 25, 2013

Hurling referees have been defiantly told to continue issuing red cards for high fouls following a meeting of inter-county match officials on Tuesday evening.

By John Fogarty
GAA CorrespondentDespite Pat Horgan's proposed one-match ban for striking being rescinded by the GAA's Central Hearings Committee (CHC) last weekend, James McGrath was given the thumbs up by referees chief Pat McEnaney for his decision to send off the Cork forward for a foul on Limerick's Paudie O'Brien.

Ahead of this Sunday' All-Ireland quarter-finals in Semple Stadium, McEnaney stated there has been no change in the directive given to his crew at the start of the season.

The CHC's decision, he insists, will have no impact on Brian Gavin and Barry Kelly who take charge of the games in Thurles.

"We're sticking to the matters that we've set out since the start of the year," said McEnaney. "James McGrath reported a player for striking. What happens outside of the job that we do, in the committee rooms, that's for other people to decide and we've no axe to grind.

"We'll be sticking to what the referees have been instructed to do and that is fellas being struck on the head with a hurley is a red card offence with us. It's a striking offence.

"Too many of these incidents have been happening and have been going without the punishment they deserve. We'll be continuing to do our job. The referees will be doing it the way we've asked them to do it. There will be no change of direction on our part. What goes on in board or committee rooms is none of my business."

McGrath returned to action last weekend in Westmeath where he sent off five players in a club game, one of them a first cousin of his. McEnaney gave him a ringing endorsement following the Munster final furore.

"I'm happy that James was spot on, absolutely."

In the face of heavy criticism following his call to dismiss Horgan, McGrath commented on sportsfile.com via his Facebook account last Saturday.

Quoting a recent comment made by Sky Sports News presenter Rachel Wyse, he wrote: "Referee bashing is, of course, the easiest pastime in the world. The job is a thankless one and any individual who has the courage to referee any sport deserves respect."

He sarcastically added: "Thanks to all those in the media & chat forums who have single handedly 'bashed' me — just to say it has made me stronger, I will stand the test of time... thanks again, really appreciate it."

McEnaney is satisfied the GAA will act appropriately following the jostling and verbal abuse referee Joe McQuillan received following last Saturday's Tyrone-Kildare qualifier in Newbridge. As his changing room was situated under the stand, the Cavan match official had to walk through the crowd in St Conleth's Park. Although he had a Garda escort, he was pushed and accosted by supporters unhappy with his performance.

Both GAA president Liam O'Neill and director general Páraic Duffy have given assurances the situation must change as referees' safety is of paramount importance. They have also said Newbridge won't host a major game until referees aren't put in such a potentially dangerous situation.

"Joe didn't get hurt, that's the first thing to say and that's important. Liam O'Neill said this week we can't have situations like that. There will be discussions.

"While it was a county's ground it was under Croke Park jurisdiction for the game and when I spoke to Páraic Duffy last night [Tuesday] he reaffirmed to me it's something that we need to look at it."

Meanwhile, Mayo manager James Horan has slammed the sideline regulations in the wake of Sunday's Connacht final win over London.

Speaking about the Exiles' heavy tackling especially in the latter stages of the game and the need to get replacements on, he described the situation which restricts his number of backroom team on pitchside to five including himself as "absolutely ridiculous".

"There was a couple of variations on rugby tackles going in there, so we'd a lot of substitutes that we were trying to bring on, and I'm not quite sure of the situation on sidelines," Horan began.

"There's five of my crew allowed on, but besides that there were a number of Connacht Council people and a number of other people on the sideline, so it's very, very hard to make substitutions now. The GAA really do need to look at that rule. I think it's absolutely ridiculous, the situation that's there at the moment."

Quote from: orangeman on July 25, 2013, 09:46:49 AM
Mc Enaney tells refs to keep sending them off - was he that fond himself of being told "how" to referee ? Pat, when he reffed, had his  "own style" and didn't take kindly to being instructed on how to ref. He was his own man and it served him well for a long time. Why does he feel the need to instruct refs now ?.

Perhaps because he's head of a Referees body ;)