Antrim need a new manager

Started by DuffleKing, August 27, 2012, 03:33:44 PM

Quote from: glens abu on September 05, 2012, 11:30:14 AM
Gearoid Adams has said he wants the job.

Surely he's under qualified? Has managed at club level but not at county or has he underage?. He hasnt won anything at club so on what basis would he get the job?

Quote from: ck on September 05, 2012, 02:57:42 PM

Surely he's under qualified? Has managed at club level but not at county or has he underage?. He hasnt won anything at club so on what basis would he get the job?

So how do you get a job at managing County teams? Have all the current managers of the county teams been managing county teams or underage teams?

stibhan

Mark McHugh appears to have ruled himself out of contention by all reports...

James Gatz

Bit unfair to say those lads would only be interested in the job for the money, especially if you don't know them? Maybe a lack of money to properly prepare the team may be an issue. The main lure, as ck has stated, is intercounty experience with a pretty talented group of players, certainly the most talented Antrim have had in a long while. Perhaps AOR and the rest are a little over ambititous, but it can't hurt to try. Raises the profile of the thing to be linked with big names too. If it doesn't work out I'd be very happy to take Malachy O'Rourke or the like.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 05, 2012, 03:00:37 PM

So how do you get a job at managing County teams? Have all the current managers of the county teams been managing county teams or underage teams?

Ehhh yeah!! Of course they have. They have proved themselves, they have won things, they have a track record. Without one how the hell do you get these managers jobs. You either have won things at lower levels or managed at higher levels. Simple.

Quote from: ck on September 06, 2012, 10:15:27 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 05, 2012, 03:00:37 PM

Ehhh yeah!! Of course they have. They have proved themselves, they have won things, they have a track record. Without one how the hell do you get these managers jobs. You either have won things at lower levels or managed at higher levels. Simple.

I'm sure he's taken school teams for years and has done well with a limited Johnnies team

Quote from: hardstation on September 06, 2012, 10:23:33 AM
Done well?

They were shite for years and he's at least got them competitive. Track history for playing for Antrim and is a decent buddy to boot. Very passionate about Antrim football to. Would command a certain amount of respect (maybe not from Rossa)

Quote from: hardstation on September 06, 2012, 10:52:45 AM
They are as competitive as they've ever been.

St Brigids beat them in the championship last year. What did you lot do to St. Brigids?

It's just the annual hype surrounding the 'This is our year' crowd that you have bought into, milltown.

They have a good chance of getting to the final as they have had an easy path but St. Galls, Cargin and Lamh Dhearg would all dick them in championship football.

That's fair enough but I'd prefer to see an Antrim man get the job for a while. Who'd be your man for the job? Whitey?

I think its time to give Adams the top job. 

Quote from: rrhf on September 06, 2012, 11:03:27 AM
I think its time to give Adams the top job.

Based on what? Typical Antrim lack of ambition. Give some average joe a shot at it "cos he deserves it". What has he won? Who has he managed? St.Johns? As someone said above they lost last year to St.Brigids, who have barely won a match since.
I don't know much about this Harbinson guy but at least he has a track record.

glens abu

What had Jim Mc Guinness won before je hot Donegal job?

::) You serious? Everyone knows (except you!) that McGuinness won the Donegal chip with Glenties. Their first in 30 years or so. He then went on and won the Ulster u.21 cship with Donegal and brought them to the All-Ireland final. Excellent track record

He got Donegal to the u21 All Ireland final in 2010 against Dublin, Michael Murphy missed a last minute penalty which would have won the game. They beat a very good Cavan team that year by 5 or 6 pts in the Ulster Final.

No white smoke up there yet? Antrim don't seem to be in a hurry.

camanchero

not sure if he has the time or the inclination to go for the job, but another man that did a great job in Derry - esp with Banagher - is F.Delargy.
Took a war torn Banagher side and got them playing above what people expected they could do (on paper at least) . They overachieved if anything. Took them from annual relegation candidates to a mid table side that were highly competitive in chapmionship and the then 'mighty-ish' Bellaghy couldnt beat them.
Notably Baker Bradley came after Delargy and his teams were not as competitive or as good.
Certainly Delargy is held in higher esteem in Banager and around Feeney/Park than the Glenullin man (but that could be partially to in-county bias).

Madden a great candidate also.
Would have him and Delargy as the options now that Malachy OR is taken. Dont know harbison and McEntee is too much Cross oriented, McNulty imo isnt great (apart from defense).

Bradley imo did lift Antrim a lot. A good appointment can take it even further. imo