Martin Mc Guinness is one of the great leaders of the modern times !

Started by orangeman, September 10, 2011, 12:15:19 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

orangeman

A Presbyterian minister has told the Sinn Fein annual conference that Martin McGuinness is "one of the great leaders of modern times".

The ard fheis is taking place at Belfast's Waterfront Hall - the first time it has been held north of the border.

Reverend David Latimer was the opening guest speaker to Sinn Fein members.
Mr McGuinness and Rev Latimer have become friends through their community work in Londonderry.
"Martin, you and I have been journeying together for the last five years, and in that time we have become very firm friends able to relax in each other's company," said the First Derry Presbyterian clergyman.
"While our interaction might understandably raise eyebrows amongst some within our communities, the reality is you and I regard ourselves to be brothers within the same human frailty.
"Your invitation to me is forward looking and timely - is it possible that the Democratic Unionists could see their way to invite a Catholic priest to address their party conference this year or next?"
The DUP MP for East Londonderry, Gregory Campbell, had criticised Rev Latimer's decision to accept the invitation to speak at the ard fheis.

And following his address, the Londonderry clergyman was called a "latter day Lundy" by the leader of the Traditional Unionist Voice, Jim Allister.

Rev Latimer said there were no objections within his congregation to him accepting the offer.

When he introduced the Presbyterian minister, Mr McGuinness praised his willingness to speak to republicans.

Rev David Latimer speaks to Sinn Fein members "In my experience of recent years, many within the unionist community are up for a journey of reconciliation and dialogue," said the deputy first minister.