SOmething to help the atmosphere at games (Segregation)

Started by Thewhataboutery, July 03, 2011, 12:00:00 PM

Quote from: Thewhataboutery on July 05, 2011, 04:22:09 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on July 04, 2011, 03:46:15 PM
No singing/chanting is because there is always plenty of action.  You dont hear tehm chanting a soccer games when someone is clean through on goal.  Just basically when it is getting passed around the middle, thow in, corners, free kicks, were they take forever to hit.  So basically quite alot!   Mind you with the way Donegal are developing the game, there might be alot more chanting  ;) "One nil to the Donegal, One nil to the Donegal"

1.Considering you are an Ulster man ffs your teams love to pass it around the middle. Donegal fans would be horse coming from every game.  :D

2.As far the poster who said meeting other county fans is what makes the day, ffs that says a lot about the standard of the match or at least your county. What makes the day is going with your friends to the match and seeing your county win or at least play a good game not making small talk to culchie strangers.3.There seems to be an even split for those for and against the motion, i hope it is something brought forward at congress.
You have to realise that for many of these boggers it's the only time apart from mass or mart day that they get to see other people, never mind people from a different county.  Go easy on them.

PAULD123

Quote from: Thewhataboutery on July 05, 2011, 04:22:09 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on July 04, 2011, 03:46:15 PM
No singing/chanting is because there is always plenty of action.  You dont hear tehm chanting a soccer games when someone is clean through on goal.  Just basically when it is getting passed around the middle, thow in, corners, free kicks, were they take forever to hit.  So basically quite alot!   Mind you with the way Donegal are developing the game, there might be alot more chanting  ;) "One nil to the Donegal, One nil to the Donegal"

1.Considering you are an Ulster man ffs your teams love to pass it around the middle. Donegal fans would be horse coming from every game.  :D

2.As far the poster who said meeting other county fans is what makes the day, ffs that says a lot about the standard of the match or at least your county. What makes the day is going with your friends to the match and seeing your county win or at least play a good game not making small talk to culchie strangers.

3.There seems to be an even split for those for and against the motion, i hope it is something brought forward at congress.

Helllloooo! Have you read any of the posts on this ridiculous thread. What do you mean by an even split? You think one thing and absolutely every other opinion that has been expressed is against you. So it's you disagreeing with every other poster on the thread but somehow that makes it even in your opinion?

And in your narrow minded world perhaps you have failed to realise that unlike soccer or rugby GAA is at its very core a community sport and is designed for and carried forward as a brotherhood of a greater national community. So to have such a selfish attitude that interacting with other supporters is undesirable is fundamentally against the very principles of the association.

Imo, the atmosphere would be better if all fans from the same teams were seated together.

Of course theres gonna be the 'Arent we great, our fans don't need segregated' attitude, and a resntment towards anythng that might take away this uniqueness. And it is good craic when yuo're beside some eejit from the opposing team whos giving it loads, but in amongst a group of your own fans, you're much more likely to partake in songs chanting etc. And to say go to a soccer match if you want to do that is laughable.

Of course we all remember the matches our teams won, and how great the atmosphere was, but I've been (as a neutral obv  :'()  at quite a few AI finals, and the atmosphere has been crap. Segregation wouldnt mean we have to fight, it'd just ensure there was a bigger group for coordinated support.

Quote from: haranguerer on July 06, 2011, 01:28:45 PM
Imo, the atmosphere would be better if all fans from the same teams were seated together.

Of course theres gonna be the 'Arent we great, our fans don't need segregated' attitude, and a resntment towards anythng that might take away this uniqueness. And it is good craic when yuo're beside some eejit from the opposing team whos giving it loads, but in amongst a group of your own fans, you're much more likely to partake in songs chanting etc. And to say go to a soccer match if you want to do that is laughable.

Of course we all remember the matches our teams won, and how great the atmosphere was, but I've been (as a neutral obv  :'()  at quite a few AI finals, and the atmosphere has been crap. Segregation wouldnt mean we have to fight, it'd just ensure there was a bigger group for coordinated support.

Go to a soccer match if you want to do that.

You're laughable, Jinxy.

But in the good way.

Chanting me arse.

In fairness lads, this happens naturally anyway. No need to legislate for it. Let people who want to go to the matches go where they want. Those that want to congregate, like the Tipp lads at the Killinan end, the Cork fans at the other end of Thurles, the Offaly fans in the toilets in O'Connor Park, whatever.

I agree that some of the best craic is with opposition supporters, and I also agree that a group of people together are more likely to be vocal (Uibh Fhaili, Uibh Fhaili, uibh Fhaili). However, the way it is now is perfect, and you can go whichever way you want.

Quote from: Denn Forever on July 07, 2011, 02:19:20 PM
What colours do A N Other wear and what songs would we sing?

The fields of Athenry.  Just the chorus mind you.

Quote from: AZOffaly on July 07, 2011, 02:12:25 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 07, 2011, 01:45:44 PM
Maybe we should discuss cutting the goalposts off at the crossbar and only counting goals? Would that be a good one?

If you were from Mayo I could see why you'd suggest that.

No, ourselves and Kildare would propose that the goals at the end Mayo and Kildare were shooting into be the width of the pitch! :D

Quote from: Lar Naparka on July 04, 2011, 10:15:13 PM
Nothing like "C'mon Meyoooo," with "for f**k sake it only Roscommon" as an optional extra, to get my pulse racing. ;D

Fixed that for you  ;)

should have semi nude cheerleaders get the crowd  going

Royalranter

Quote from: the Deel Rover on July 07, 2011, 08:32:12 PM
should have semi nude cheerleaders get the crowd  going

Finally, some sense is spoken! This proposal should definately be discussed at congress.... Probably has more chance of discussion at congress than the original idea.
Let em know your there

TheOrangeAndBlack

Quote from: Bingo on July 04, 2011, 01:02:29 PM
Bring back the airhorns and everything will be alright. They made the game what it is.