Downs All Ireland Banquet

Started by panc56, August 31, 2010, 03:27:57 PM

Quote from: Mid Down Gael on September 22, 2010, 09:24:12 PM
Quote from: downjim on September 22, 2010, 08:47:38 PM
Even though we lost i was disappointed with the way some players conducted themselves in the aftermath of the defeat.. a few left of the banquet and some did not arrive back to the hotel until monday morning!!! Half of the players could hardly see the homecoming!! It was not a good example for the kids

The boys have hardly got a drink all year, i think they deservd to go and have a session.
You obviously don't frequent the Canal Court!

Quote from: Leo on September 23, 2010, 12:01:00 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 22, 2010, 11:21:18 PM
I rthink the motto here is "The team that plays together, should stay together!" ;D

Seroously I can't believe some Down players went awol from this function. Hugely disrespectful to all and sundry, County Board, Sponsors and supporters

Where is this nonesense coming from? No one went AWOL (to use your British army phraseology)
Every single Down player was at the (awful) banquet. I left at 12.30 and they were all still there. If some of them then left to be with family or friends, great, fair play to them. Non story. Move on.

I understood that some of them did leave fairly soon after the dinner. Don't see any ral problem with it myself. They're the ones who put the effort in all year, they are entitled to a bit of choice in where they socialise.

maldini

i've been reading for 6 pages of how shite the banquet was - why then have any of you got a problem if the players left it to go somewhere else late on?

They should have stayed and been miserable all night with the fans ;D

rionach 4

How did Benny Coulter enjoy the banquet????

downredblack

Quote from: downjim on September 22, 2010, 08:47:38 PM
Even though we lost i was disappointed with the way some players conducted themselves in the aftermath of the defeat.. a few left of the banquet and some did not arrive back to the hotel until monday morning!!! Half of the players could hardly see the homecoming!! It was not a good example for the kids

I have it on very good authority that the Citywest staff were delighted with the way the Down camp conducted themselves . "Very mannerly young men and a  credit to their county" was the exact quote .

As they counted the thousands of euros......

downredblack

What has that got to do with the staff ? who only got their days wages regardless of how the players and fans behaved ?

Dubh driocht

Quote from: rionach 4 on September 23, 2010, 12:17:05 PM
Benny Coulter,like every other player I saw, behaved  perfectly. It constantly amazes me how decent, down to earth and unassuming top-level Gaelic footballers and Hurlers are.Having put so much into training and playing over the last 9 months for no financial reward, lose an All Ireland final by a kick of a ball and then be so patient and understanding with supporters, many of whom who are unknown to you or the worse for wear, is incredible.
Before Sunday, I thought the current squad were great role-models in County Down.
Now I know that they are great role-models for the whole of Ireland

Quote from: Dubh driocht on September 23, 2010, 06:44:07 PM
Benny Coulter,like every other player I saw, behaved  perfectly. It constantly amazes me how decent, down to earth and unassuming top-level Gaelic footballers and Hurlers are.Having put so much into training and playing over the last 9 months for no financial reward, lose an All Ireland final by a kick of a ball and then be so patient and understanding with supporters, many of whom who are unknown to you or the worse for wear, is incredible.
Before Sunday, I thought the current squad were great role-models in County Down.

Oh, jesus h christ...now the Nordies have invented behaving oneself at the post match function ! ....lads is there anything ye haven't invented.

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on September 24, 2010, 04:13:49 AM

Oh, jesus h christ...now the Nordies have invented behaving oneself at the post match function ! ....lads is there anything ye haven't invented.
Partition you guys did that all by yourselves. At least we keep our clothes on when we are in hotel public areas.

Quote from: Applesisapples on September 24, 2010, 08:44:55 AM

Partition you guys did that all by yourselves. At least we keep our clothes on when we are in hotel public areas.

That was the Rossies. ;)

Quote from: Farrandeelin on September 24, 2010, 11:05:18 AM

That was the Rossies. ;)
Yiz are all freestaters!! :D

Quote from: Applesisapples on September 24, 2010, 01:06:32 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on September 24, 2010, 11:05:18 AM

That was the Rossies. ;)
Yiz are all freestaters!! :D

Is that what they call nudists these days?