Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
September 08, 2010, 12:25:10 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
763669 Posts in 14328 Topics by 3956 Members
Latest Member: artisan2010
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
+  gaaboard.com
|-+  GAA Discussion
| |-+  GAA Discussion
| | |-+  All Ireland Quarter Final Roscommon V Cork
« previous next »
Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7] 8 9 ... 12 Print
Author Topic: All Ireland Quarter Final Roscommon V Cork  (Read 5178 times)
Bod Mor

View Profile
« Reply #90 on: July 30, 2010, 05:08:53 AM »

Best of luck to Roscommon. The whole west is behind ye, Cork won't know what to do with Shine.

Ó chuir mé 'mo cheann é ní stopfaidh mé choíche
Go seasfaidh mé thíos i lár Chondae Mhaigh Eo.
County: Mayo
Club: Ballintubber

View Profile
« Reply #91 on: July 30, 2010, 11:37:47 AM »

Best of luck to Roscommon. The whole west is behind ye, Cork won't know what to do with Shine.
the whole of connacht behind the sheepfeelers ?? :-\
anyways i hope you give cork a right rattle & get the win
best of luck sunday

Toni Duffys circus
Chris agus Snoop

View Profile
« Reply #92 on: July 30, 2010, 11:51:44 AM »

The Limerick game, in terms of the result, hasn't changed my opinion of Cork. I always thought that it would be a tough, close game but I feel Counihan isn't picking the best team or hasn't them playing the type of football that suits them best. IMO Cork are too slow to transfer the ball from one end of the field to the other and with the forwards they have got that is not the way to go.

I'll still put my money on cork to win the AI but I don't think they are developing as much as I thought they would and I think Counihan may be the problem.

What type of football would suit them best? I find Cork are sending a lot of 50/50 balls into the full forward line from 60 yards and they are not working out. Last year Cork were carrying the ball a lot more and it worked better.
Chris agus Snoop

View Profile
« Reply #93 on: July 30, 2010, 11:56:26 AM »

Hopefully the ref will protect our gasúns from O'Leary's antics. :-\

O'Leary has mellowed in recent years.  ;)
Club: Cumann Mhic Sioghair

View Profile WWW
« Reply #94 on: July 30, 2010, 11:57:46 AM »

I'll still put my money on cork to win the AI but I don't think they are developing as much as I thought they would and I think Counihan may be the problem.

The bookies love the sight of you I'd say  ;)

Éire, Land of: 916 - Saints & Scholars, 1916 - Martyrs & Magnificents, 2016 - Gombeens & Gangsters

View Profile
« Reply #95 on: July 30, 2010, 02:06:43 PM »

Hopefully the ref will protect our gasúns from O'Leary's antics. :-\

O'Leary has mellowed in recent years.  ;)

O'Leary is the "Marlo" of gaelic football Chris & Snoop ;)!

View Profile
« Reply #96 on: July 30, 2010, 02:07:49 PM »

the whole of connacht behind the sheepfeelers ?? :-\
anyways i hope you give cork a right rattle & get the win
best of luck sunday

Kiss of death :-*!

View Profile
« Reply #97 on: July 30, 2010, 02:12:57 PM »

The Limerick game, in terms of the result, hasn't changed my opinion of Cork. I always thought that it would be a tough, close game but I feel Counihan isn't picking the best team or hasn't them playing the type of football that suits them best. IMO Cork are too slow to transfer the ball from one end of the field to the other and with the forwards they have got that is not the way to go.

That's my main concern from  a Roscommon point of view. Too much analysis focussing on Cork being poor & not enough credit being given to Limerick. They could have/should have beaten Kerry and are a good side. Perhaps Cork played as well as they could and are better than they looked. Sunday will tell.
County: Ros comáin
Club: The first rule of Fight Club is: you do not talk about Fight Club

CONNACHT SENIOR & UNDER 21 CHAMPIONS 2010

View Profile
« Reply #98 on: July 30, 2010, 11:51:20 PM »

Who know's how long it will be before we get the chance to make the Semi final again.. let's give it our best shot if that's not good enough so be it... at least we won't be looking back in few year's time saying "if only we tried harder"

Best of luck to team & management on Sunday

the key to success is to be consistently competitive -- if you bang on the door often it will open
County: Ros comáin
Club: The first rule of Fight Club is: you do not talk about Fight Club

CONNACHT SENIOR & UNDER 21 CHAMPIONS 2010

View Profile
« Reply #99 on: July 31, 2010, 05:56:16 PM »

Well after today's result's it's now.. Roscommon(80/1 shots) v the ALL Ireland favourites

Current All Ireland Odds
Cork 5/4
Dublin 9/4
Down 7/2
Meath 8/1
Kildare 9/1
Roscommon 80/1

Name the Finalists
Cork & Down 7/4
Dublin & Down 5/2
Cork & Meath 5/1
Cork & Kildare 13/2
Dublin & Meath 7/1
Dublin & Kildare 8/1
Roscommon & Down 50/1
Roscommon & Meath 80/1
Roscommon & Kildare 100/1
« Last Edit: July 31, 2010, 06:32:25 PM by ross4life » Logged

the key to success is to be consistently competitive -- if you bang on the door often it will open
Shrewdness

View Profile
« Reply #100 on: July 31, 2010, 06:32:50 PM »

That's 2 of the Provincial champions gone, and more than likely Ros will make it 3 early tomorrow afternoon.
Imagine if Kildare then beat Meath, it would mean that 4 'back door' teams would contest the Semi Finals, with not a provincial winner in sight.

It would surely be the first time that has happened.

Anyway, time to get ready for Croker tomorrow. About 15,000 Rossies expected there.
Best of luck to the lads tomorrow.

Whilst it would be great to win, i feel it's a step too far at the moment re the stage of development this mainly young Ros team are at.

I would love to see on here tomorrow night that people will be saying that Ros played well, and gave a great performance.
Putting that with the Connacht Title would mark 2010 as a year of huge progress for Ros, and perhaps signal even better things to come in the next few years.

Just hope we don't get hammered, as that would do young players confidence no good at all.
Hope we won't be reading any 'men against boys' analysis on Monday.

Best of luck lads.

View Profile
« Reply #101 on: July 31, 2010, 08:06:12 PM »

That's 2 of the Provincial champions gone, and more than likely Ros will make it 3 early tomorrow afternoon.
Imagine if Kildare then beat Meath, it would mean that 4 'back door' teams would contest the Semi Finals, with not a provincial winner in sight.

It would surely be the first time that has happened.

Anyway, time to get ready for Croker tomorrow. About 15,000 Rossies expected there.
Best of luck to the lads tomorrow.

Whilst it would be great to win, i feel it's a step too far at the moment re the stage of development this mainly young Ros team are at.

I would love to see on here tomorrow night that people will be saying that Ros played well, and gave a great performance.
Putting that with the Connacht Title would mark 2010 as a year of huge progress for Ros, and perhaps signal even better things to come in the next few years.

Just hope we don't get hammered, as that would do young players confidence no good at all.
Hope we won't be reading any 'men against boys' analysis on Monday.

Best of luck lads.

Despite the local rivalry I really hope Ros do it tomorrow. Michael Murphy showed last year what a good full-forward can do to them with half decent ball.

Not so bothered about the other game but no doubt will find myself shouting for one team or the other passionately. Funny how that happens.

MWWSI 2011
Beard
County: Roscommon

View Profile
« Reply #102 on: July 31, 2010, 09:26:51 PM »

Things have changed utterly today from a Cork perspective. If Tyrone and Kerry were still there Cork may have been looking to put down a marker against Ros. However as Cork are now favourites to win it they will be looking to put us away quickly and with the minimum of fuss and get the big names off the field uninjured with 20 or 25 mins to go.

Roscommon will have to be prepared for an onslaught early on and if they can somehow stick with Cork we may start to see a bit of frustration creep in to Corks play and who knows....... If we don't stick with the lads need to keep the heads up and not collapse because Cork will ease up in the second half and our lads will get a chance to play some football at some point.

Hopefully, whatever the result, the game will give our lads the confidence and push on and make Roscommon a consistent top 8 or top 10 side over the next few years.

Support the Turfcutters

Do not forsake us Fergal

View Profile WWW
« Reply #103 on: July 31, 2010, 10:04:59 PM »

Before I take to the oul bed to rest up for the trip East tomorrow it's time for this again ...
In the name of the dead generations of Rosmen who fought and died that we might be free of evil monsters  Ros summons her gossoons to her righteous cause.
Remember the great heritage ye have inherited.
Let's do it for Queen Maeve,Niall of the 9 hostages, Saints Eithne and Fidelma, St Coman,St Croan,St Faithleach,St Michael,St Ronan,Ned Duffy, The O'Connor kings of Ireland, Douglas Hyde,Percy French,the 42 who died for Ireland and Freedom and of course Uachtarán na hEireann herself.
Remember 43 and 44 and famous days in Castlebar like 52 , 72,79 and 86.( and of course 2010 !!!!). Remeber the League final of 19179 when we bet the Corkies by 9 points.
Remember O'Malley,Lindsay,Earley,Tony Mc,Jigger and most of all Harry Keegan. When ye see a Corkman coming through with the ball ask yourself " What would Harry Keegan do?"
He'd drive man and ball half way to bloody Skibereen so do the same and ye can win the day.
Slay the bug bad Rebels who will dare to try and stop us on the road to Sam  and send them home sadder and wiser to their dens of iniquity in Clonakilty, Bantry, Ballyphehane, Kinsale , Kanturk  and even Ballydehob.

UP ROS

2010: Quadruple Connacht Champions - Senior,U21,U16 ,Hastings Cup, U21 Hurling...
County: Maigh Eo
Club: Cnoc Mór

View Profile
« Reply #104 on: July 31, 2010, 10:08:28 PM »

It will be an interesting game to be honest... Cork with favourites baggage, not playing well against Limerick, only scoring 0-12 against Wexford, 2 favourites falling today. Hope Ros win to get Connacht a place in the last 4... It's that type of year where anything could happen. Good luck to Ros.

Cnoc Mór C.L.G.
2010: Sweeney Cup winners.
Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7] 8 9 ... 12 Print 
« previous next »