All Ireland Quarter Final Roscommon V Cork

Started by never kickt a ball, July 18, 2010, 11:48:51 PM

Shrewdness

Another Connacht underage title for Roscommon this evening.

In the under 16 Ted Webb Cup Final in Ballyhaunis, it finished Roscommon 2-13, Sligo 1-5.

Well done to the young Rossies.

Some good news after yesterday's defeat, we won the Tedd Webb Cup Beating Sligo 2-13 to 1-5 we also beat Galway, Mayo along the way..

Well done to our young Rossies the under age success continues  :)

Shrewdness

Beat you by 15 seconds with that!!!!!!!.....You're slowing down Ross ;D ;D ;D

Quote from: Chris agus Snoop on August 02, 2010, 05:16:08 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 02, 2010, 04:14:37 PM

No offence to the Rossies that I found the next bit funny, but it's a nice summation of Cork attitudes to the world at large. My son texted one of his mates among the thousands of langers who were absent yesterday. "No Cork support here; full of Roscommon supporters." The reply came back - "What do Roscommon people look like?"

Is that supposed to be some profound insight or something?

No, Dougal.

Oldira

Roscommon did as good as could be expected against a far physically stronger Cork Team. Cork have 20-22 players of top tier inter county standard while Roscommon have at best 10 at this stage of their development. Roscommon can and will be back in Croke Park in August over the next few years but there is still massive work and improvement needed. A lack of scoring forwards and an inability to hold posession against physically stronger and bigger opponents was telling. Still Kerry and Meath took somewhat similar drubbings to us and both those teams were favourites. The underage structures in Roscommon are bearing fruit and an additional 4-5 new players coming through over the next three years should have us well capable of being a top 4 team. Kildare,Cork,Dublin and Down have all taken big hammerings in the past couple of years and are now close to the summit so I think we have a very bright future.

With respect to supporters the lack of Cork people in Croke Park was embarassing. With the new motorways its only a 2 and 1/2 hours from Cork to Dublin and yet out of a population of 450,000 only about 2,000 supporters showed up. This should be remembered by the GAA come September if Cork are in the final against well supported teams like Down and Cork. There were probably more Cork people at West Life in Sligo than Croke Park.

Quote from: ross4life on August 02, 2010, 07:36:50 PM
Some good news after yesterday's defeat, we won the Tedd Webb Cup Beating Sligo 2-13 to 1-5 we also beat Galway, Mayo along the way..

Galway north. Galway is split in two for Ted Webb.

So is Mayowestros.
No matter ...well done to the lads on bringing home another biteen of silverware to add to the 2010 collection.
Hopefully also a half dozen good Seniors by 2016 to replace any of the 2006 Minors who may have had enough by then.
Looking at the immediate Senior prospects  - scoring forwards, big midfielders, a half back line are urgent requirements.
A return from injury of Senan Kilbride and Fintan Cregg, a return to the fold of Devaney/Gleeson/Flynn and maybe big Shaq, the addition of Collins/Daly/Carty/Bannon/McDermott and upgrade McKeague from no 34 to the first 24 would improve things.
A lot done an awful lot to do .
Finally a heartfelt great big thanks to management, team and all the squad members for their commitment and for bringing a Connacht Title to the County and giving the supporters (plusthe bandwagoners !!!) a big day out in Croke Park.
Triple Connacht Champions

For the outsider looking in we have a lot of talent coming through hopefully these guys will be good Senior players, Division 4 will give us a great opportunity to try some new player's & if we manage to finish 1st/2nd in the Division we will return to croker in April  :o

Shrewdness

Let's just hope now that Fergal O'Donnell decides to remain on as our manager.

He was initially appointed for a 2 year term, with the option of a third year.
The first 2 years have now been completed.

The County Board and the players have stressed since Sunday that they want him to continue, but it's believed that he is going to take a couple of weeks out to think about things.

It's a big commitment, and he has a young family, but surely he can't go now.

jas376

Quote from: Hardy on August 02, 2010, 04:14:37 PM

I hadn't seen Cork in the flesh for a while, but having watched them for 70 minutes I can't understand at all what makes them All-Ireland favourites. I've never seen a team with so many players who don't look like footballers. Big, stiff, ungainly, awkward looking straight-line runners who look as comfortable on the ball as a ploughman at a gay tea party.[/color][/color]

Yeah, right! If Cork were really as bad as all that, could you please explain the following:

How did Cork go from being a point down in the second half to go on to win by nine?

and

How come that Cork are now in their sixth consecutive All- Ireland semi-final  i.e. in the last four in a competition with 31 competing counties. (Is Kilkenny the only county that doesn't compete at senior level?)?

And while you're at it, who exactly are the Cork players that don't look comfortable on the ball?

Quote from: Shrewdness on August 03, 2010, 11:34:29 PM
Let's just hope now that Fergal O'Donnell decides to remain on as our manager.

He was initially appointed for a 2 year term, with the option of a third year.
The first 2 years have now been completed.

The County Board and the players have stressed since Sunday that they want him to continue, but it's believed that he is going to take a couple of weeks out to think about things.

It's a big commitment, and he has a young family, but surely he can't go now.
Agreed Shrewdness. It's vital he stays if they're to progress. But there is alot of work in it. They're still very young and need to get out of div 4. With Galway and Mayo especially bound to regroup in 2011 the Connacht title will be difficult to retain. So a long run in the back door would be the obvious secondary goal and for that you need strength in depth. I think they over achieved by about 2 years in winning Connacht this season so supporters need to be patient and temper their expecations for some tough days ahead yet. All this will require massive commitment from Fergie and he is a man that doesnt do anything by halves. With his job and young family he is entitled to time to consider his position and if he walked he owes his county nothing.

Quote from: ross matt on August 04, 2010, 01:43:48 PM
. I think they over achieved by about 2 years in winning Connacht this season so supporters need to be patient and temper their expecations for some tough days ahead yet. All this will require massive commitment from Fergie and he is a man that doesnt do anything by halves. With his job and young family he is entitled to time to consider his position and if he walked he owes his county nothing.

The softer Connacht draw this year and with Mwr and the herrins in disarray did get us a Connacht title 2 years ahead of ourselves.
We need new half backs, midfielder(s), scoring forwards and more physical clout if we are to become a regular top 8 or 10 team consistently.
Fergie is a young man for a manager, with 3 children under 5 who works full time as a Garda doing shifts. He put an awful lot into the squad this year and may need time to himself if he isnt to be a total stranger to his children.
I suppose one solution could be for Fergie and Gacquin to swop roles but then they would want to both bring their back romms with them and the continuity would be lost.
Triple Connacht Champions

9 point defeat doesn't look as bad today (beaten by the All Ireland Champions) a Repeat of 1990 when we lost to Cork by 17 scores to 10