All Ireland Quarter Final Roscommon V Cork

Started by never kickt a ball, July 18, 2010, 11:48:51 PM

Quote from: Beard on July 31, 2010, 09:26:51 PM
Things have changed utterly today from a Cork perspective. If Tyrone and Kerry were still there Cork may have been looking to put down a marker against Ros. However as Cork are now favourites to win it they will be looking to put us away quickly and with the minimum of fuss and get the big names off the field uninjured with 20 or 25 mins to go.

Roscommon will have to be prepared for an onslaught early on and if they can somehow stick with Cork we may start to see a bit of frustration creep in to Corks play and who knows....... If we don't stick with the lads need to keep the heads up and not collapse because Cork will ease up in the second half and our lads will get a chance to play some football at some point.

Hopefully, whatever the result, the game will give our lads the confidence and push on and make Roscommon a consistent top 8 or top 10 side over the next few years.
The only possible plus for Ross Beard is that with Kerry and Tyrone gone Cork are now outright favourites and perhaps the pressure might get to them..... looking a game ahead etc..... Here's to a good match anyhow.

After today's exhilarating and dramatic events I can't wait for tomorrow and I hope we see two great games where all teams do themselves justice. Although my connections are with Cork and I'd love to see them win an AI (I'll have a few bob on them too!) I would be genuinely delighted if Roscommon pulled off a surprise. I don't think they will but a hope they give their loyal fans a performance they can be proud of and that this is the start of a long period of success for them.

C'mon the sheep stealers; bash them nasty Langers and do the rest of mankind a favour! ;D

Quote from: Rossfan on July 31, 2010, 10:04:59 PM
Before I take to the oul bed to rest up for the trip East tomorrow it's time for this again ...
In the name of the dead generations of Rosmen who fought and died that we might be free of evil monsters  Ros summons her gossoons to her righteous cause.
Remember the great heritage ye have inherited.
Let's do it for Queen Maeve,Niall of the 9 hostages, Saints Eithne and Fidelma, St Coman,St Croan,St Faithleach,St Michael,St Ronan,Ned Duffy, The O'Connor kings of Ireland, Douglas Hyde,Percy French,the 42 who died for Ireland and Freedom and of course Uachtarán na hEireann herself.
Remember 43 and 44 and famous days in Castlebar like 52 , 72,79 and 86.( and of course 2010 !!!!). Remeber the League final of 19179 when we bet the Corkies by 9 points.
Remember O'Malley,Lindsay,Earley,Tony Mc,Jigger and most of all Harry Keegan. When ye see a Corkman coming through with the ball ask yourself " What would Harry Keegan do?"
He'd drive man and ball half way to bloody Skibereen so do the same and ye can win the day.
Slay the bug bad Rebels who will dare to try and stop us on the road to Sam  and send them home sadder and wiser to their dens of iniquity in Clonakilty, Bantry, Ballyphehane, Kinsale , Kanturk  and even Ballydehob.

UP ROS

Mighty! Mighty!

Quote from: Zulu on July 31, 2010, 10:47:06 PM
Although my connections are with Cork and I'd love to see them win an AI

You don't say. ;D

Chris agus Snoop

I think Kerry beaten might take a weight off of Cork shoulders. Lets see a good score put up.

Quote from: Rossfan on July 31, 2010, 10:04:59 PM
Before I take to the oul bed to rest up for the trip East tomorrow it's time for this again ...
In the name of the dead generations of Rosmen who fought and died that we might be free of evil monsters  Ros summons her gossoons to her righteous cause.
Remember the great heritage ye have inherited.
Let's do it for Queen Maeve,Niall of the 9 hostages, Saints Eithne and Fidelma, St Coman,St Croan,St Faithleach,St Michael,St Ronan,Ned Duffy, The O'Connor kings of Ireland, Douglas Hyde,Percy French,the 42 who died for Ireland and Freedom and of course Uachtarán na hEireann herself.
Remember 43 and 44 and famous days in Castlebar like 52 , 72,79 and 86.( and of course 2010 !!!!). Remeber the League final of 19179 when we bet the Corkies by 9 points.
Remember O'Malley,Lindsay,Earley,Tony Mc,Jigger and most of all Harry Keegan. When ye see a Corkman coming through with the ball ask yourself " What would Harry Keegan do?"
He'd drive man and ball half way to bloody Skibereen so do the same and ye can win the day.
Slay the bug bad Rebels who will dare to try and stop us on the road to Sam  and send them home sadder and wiser to their dens of iniquity in Clonakilty, Bantry, Ballyphehane, Kinsale , Kanturk  and even Ballydehob.

UP ROS

Mickey Harte needed a boy like you. Brought a tear to my eye and I don't even know where Roscommon is.

Niall Cahalane looks old, Cake looks sane for the first time ever

I was sorry the Cake didn't hop a ball there, for the crack. Chinned Cahalane or something. I'll always remember his stellar performance on that awful Park Life show back in 2006, when he kept the Connacht flag flying.

Come on, Ross!

lilpaulie85

32 minutes gone cork 6 points roscommon 4 points
Chase the dream not the competition.

Capt Pat

6 points to 5 at half time. Fairly even first half. A lot of mistakes, slips and bad shooting.

13/2 for Roscommon to win this. A much more tempting prospect than the pre-match 9/1.

haze

Come on Roscommon.

I'm sick of watching Cork laterally pass the ball back and forth. Can't believe they have persisted with this style of play after they lost last years final.

Capt Pat

From one of the angles shown that Cork goal chance where cork got a point was wide. Am I right

Fair play I dont know how many Rossies are there but they can roar!