Norn Iron spake is dyin' out, so it is

Started by Fiodoir Ard Mhacha, November 03, 2009, 07:04:18 PM

I still use Quaire a lot to this day, also the day I call gutties 'sneakers' is the day i die.

Ulster scotch dying off as well apparently, good, it is the worst tripe I ever heard for a language in my life. Wee dafties me hole.

Some common South Armaghisms are God awful. How widely used are these in other places?

Munya - Attractive or excellent
Rulya - Mad/ crazy
Conya - Bad
Fein - Boy, although can also mean girl is some instances
Beur - Girl

The first three are commonly prefixed with the word pure.

Quote from: hardstation on November 03, 2009, 11:46:52 PM
Belfast:
A pockle - a useless **** on the football field.

Tyrone:
A pochal (pawhal) - An awful whinge
                           - A useless fecker who gets in the way

I think it's the same word.

It is.  You find that in the big towns and the cities the gutteral 'h' is not pronounced and is replaced with a hard 'k' sound.

My da was fond of using pahill, gipe, gulpin, hallion, galloot.
In east Derry and north Antrim you can hear people say: "ah howl ye..." meaning Let me tell you.  My ma would give me a skite with a sally rod when I was out of order.

A slap, a hole in a hedge.  Cap a slap=to stand in a gap while moving cattle or sheep along a road to prevent them going in.

Belfast has the worst accent in the world.  Harsh and too cocky.

Written language is pretty staid, but spoken local language/dialect is a great thing to have

Quote from: hardstation on November 03, 2009, 11:46:52 PM
Quote from: ONeill on November 03, 2009, 11:20:06 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 03, 2009, 10:46:44 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 03, 2009, 10:22:00 PM
Ballinderry - Scooting means spitting.

Tyronies - Rookin' means really hungry.

WTF?

Can't say I've ever heard that in my life.

Scundered means two different things. In Belfast it's embarrassed. When I grew up on the ramparts it meant pissed off (eg I'm scundered running up and down those stairs telling them weeins to stop batin thon rat with the gee-tar.)
Another one...

Belfast:
A pockle - a useless **** on the football field.

Tyrone:
A pochal (pawhal) - An awful whinge
                           - A useless fecker who gets in the way

I think it's the same word.
Used in North Antrim too. Generally in the context "he's a pachal of shite".

Quote from: AFS on November 04, 2009, 12:50:24 AM
Some common South Armaghisms are God awful. How widely used are these in other places?

Rulya - Mad/ crazy
Conya - Bad
Beur - Girl

You will find that those words are used in the North side in Cork, up round Keane country in Mayfield.

A Quinn Martin Production

On the "two men and a wee lad" theme, "like Johnny wrote the note" was a favourite of my grandmother's or "before you could say Jack Robinson".

Up in North Belfast it was "kribbie" or I suppose "cribbie".  To me they were a pair of "guddies", but I suppose these words were rarely written down and spelling was unlikely to be standardised. :-\
Antrim - One Of A Dying Breed of Genuine Dual Counties

JUst retired

I was sitting in the middle of my dinner when the duur went.
And I had a drop of tay in my hand. :D

I had while feed of poundies last night.

Chrisowc

The roads are boggin at this time of the year.
it's 'circle the wagons time again' here comes the cavalry!

my gran still calls glasses, tumblers and the radio is a wireless.

"i was walking through the scullery listening to the wireless"

Do yiz all have "slims" in your fry and "sody" farls

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on November 04, 2009, 08:55:31 AM
Quote from: AFS on November 04, 2009, 12:50:24 AM

Rulya - Mad/ crazy
Conya - Bad
Beur - Girl

You will find that those words are used in the North side in Cork, up round Keane country in Mayfield.

Cork, Waterford, Armagh and Kildare would seem to be hotspots for these words. From a quick bit of google research it seems a few of them might have their origins in the traveller community, which may explain why they're used in places with no obvious connection. My Irish is shite, are any of these words bastardisations of the Irish version?

I tell ye it's fierce caul morning out there, I must throw on the aul simmit to keep me warm!

My grandad would always say 'right you are' or 'right you be' when saying goodbye.

How's the form?

Grand and yerself?

Dead on but am kilt with the pains.

Imagine a foreign language student tryin to figure that one out!

Posted in the wrong thread...

Wile handlin must be explained without using the words "wild" or "handling"
Fierce- as in very -"she's fierce heavy"
"Quare'n" as in very she's quare'n heavy quite heavy but not as heavy as "fierce" heavy.
Kyar- 4 wheeled method of travel, usually a vehicle with a combustion engine, also known as yoke, as in fact is any object who's name doesn't readily spring to mind.
Hurr- follicular growth- usually on top of head
Sturrrr, usually attached to bannisters, facilitators of travel in a vertical plane
"Right'n" - quite- she's right'n'heavy quite plump lassie, not quite as chunky as quare'n heavy girl and certainly many pounds short of right'n heavy girl
Class- see also munya, remarkably good
Kyat- small feline creature, or remarkably bad, see tullysarran or tyrone usage "that's feckin kyat"
Tang (ballyhegan specific) - first rule of tang, there is no tang- see Pitt, Brad and Club, Fight

Glype / clampitt / spanner / jamjar- see Paisley, Ian Jr