Antrim Hurling

Started by milltown row, January 26, 2007, 11:21:26 AM

Quote from: Last Man on September 01, 2026, 09:29:16 PM
Quote from: MalluskMan on September 01, 2026, 08:49:19 PMVery defeatist from a club man, Last Man!! Why would ye not be motivated to win a championship game?? What benefit is there in losing?? Relegated and down to intermediate?? Lot of youth coming through. Have a winter reset, freshen things up, go again! Taking a defeat could demoralise further.
Yip the nett effect of losing all season is relegation. Winning one championship (far from a given btw)game against a first year promoted team would count for what? It's done, get it wrapped up and look to next season.

How are the youth structures in St Enda's? Is there young lads ready to step up and support the current core of your team?

From what I've seen of your team, the spine is strong with the likes of O'Connor and Maskey and a few others I wouldn't know their names, but you are sometimes lacking on the periphery to support them and maybe a goalkeeper who prefers to stop a ball or two than going out and lamping lads.  ;D

Glenariffe have a spread of good and decent hurlers at the start of their adult careers throughout their team and will improve in the years to come.
Much like ourselves they may lack a wee bit of depth when county panels and injuries start depriving them of players.

Last Man

Quote from: johnnycool on September 03, 2026, 01:58:05 PM
Quote from: MalluskMan on September 01, 2026, 08:49:19 PMVery defeatist from a club man, Last Man!! Why would ye not be motivated to win a championship game?? What benefit is there in losing?? Relegated and down to intermediate?? Lot of youth coming through. Have a winter reset, freshen things up, go again! Taking a defeat could demoralise further.
Yip the nett effect of losing all season is relegation. Winning one championship (far from a given btw)game against a first year promoted team would count for what? It's done, get it wrapped up and look to next season.

How are the youth structures in St Enda's? Is there young lads ready to step up and support the current core of your team?
Could be worse I suppose, although the young lads who have joined the senior panel this season are struggling to make an impact or more crucially, the impact we could do with. A few main players have stepped away for various reasons and we haven't been able to plug the gaps

From what I've seen of your team, the spine is strong with the likes of O'Connor and Maskey and a few others I wouldn't know their names, but you are sometimes lacking on the periphery to support them and maybe a goalkeeper who prefers to stop a ball or two than going out and lamping lads.  ;D Wasn't at that game but I have it on very good authority that justice was served  ;D. He's my first pick keeper, a bit of a hot head no doubt but another one who is doing other things these days

Glenariffe have a spread of good and decent hurlers at the start of their adult careers throughout their team and will improve in the years to come. Agreed, think we caught them on the hop in the return league game. I'd see their stickwork average as much better than ours currently and fully expect them to stay in D1 next season.
Much like ourselves they may lack a wee bit of depth when county panels and injuries start depriving them of players.Yeah we know well what that looks like

From what I've seen looking in from the outside Hurling wise at least Naomh Eanna haven't made the break through they should have.

Have decent minor squad but below this are struggling, through no fault of the lads involved. Seems to be a bigger pull to the football up there at the moment. 

Quote from: Last Man on September 03, 2026, 03:04:50 PM

Could be worse I suppose, although the young lads who have joined the senior panel this season are struggling to make an impact or more crucially, the impact we could do with. A few main players have stepped away for various reasons and we haven't been able to plug the gaps

From what I've seen of your team, the spine is strong with the likes of O'Connor and Maskey and a few others I wouldn't know their names, but you are sometimes lacking on the periphery to support them and maybe a goalkeeper who prefers to stop a ball or two than going out and lamping lads.  ;D Wasn't at that game but I have it on very good authority that justice was served  ;D. He's my first pick keeper, a bit of a hot head no doubt but another one who is doing other things these days

Glenariffe have a spread of good and decent hurlers at the start of their adult careers throughout their team and will improve in the years to come. Agreed, think we caught them on the hop in the return league game. I'd see their stickwork average as much better than ours currently and fully expect them to stay in D1 next season.
Much like ourselves they may lack a wee bit of depth when county panels and injuries start depriving them of players.Yeah we know well what that looks like

If a lad of 6'2" picks on a lad 5'7" at a push needs his keeper to run out and help him then he needs to have a good hard look at himself  ;)

I believe you keeper also cleaned the clock of a Portaferry lad earlier in the year, so he's not all bad  ;D

Last Man

Quote from: johnnycool on September 03, 2026, 03:22:28 PM
Quote from: Last Man on September 03, 2026, 03:04:50 PM

If a lad of 6'2" picks on a lad 5'7" at a push needs his keeper to run out and help him then he needs to have a good hard look at himself  ;)
Should have written "independent authority", why would height come in to it? lol  Our keeper is probably 5'6 right enough!

I believe you keeper also cleaned the clock of a Portaferry lad earlier in the year, so he's not all bad  ;D
He may well have done but there's only so many beatings I can commit to memory in one season!