Wedding presents

Started by tyrone girl, August 17, 2009, 09:53:53 AM

cavan4ever

Quote from: Treasurer on August 19, 2009, 03:32:00 PM
Quote from: cavan4ever on August 19, 2009, 03:30:05 PM
Quote from: Treasurer on August 19, 2009, 03:27:51 PM

Actually Sammy I usually end up more along the lines of "what's the most I can give and still have lunch money next week"

If thing were that bad would you not be better off staying at home and saving your money for your lunch. Weddings are expensive apart from the gift.

Well you know what Cavan4ever, sometimes it IS that bad for some people you know.  And  yes I have turned down invitations because I just couldn't afford to go!

Im not being smart with you, if i couldnt afford it there is no way i would go.

cavan4ever

Quote from: pintsofguinness on August 19, 2009, 03:32:31 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on August 19, 2009, 03:11:50 PM
no civilised couple getting married nowadays expect their guest to pay for the wedding... please POG stop winding will ya.
Quote from: cavan4ever on August 19, 2009, 03:22:09 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on August 19, 2009, 03:14:33 PM
cavan, sammy - You two are the ones saying £50 per person is on the mean side as it wuoldnt cover the cost of you being there.

I never said no such thing.  Its the whinging about having to give it and maybe giving to much that i have issue with here.

I'm sorry have I you two big shots mixed up with someone else or was it not yous who were saying that I was mean because £50.00 wouldnt cover the cost of me being there?

I never said that.

Quote from: Barna Bee on August 19, 2009, 03:16:53 PM
so , the next natural question is if you get invited and can't go ....do you still send a present  or some cash ...remember they went to the trouble of inviting you to thier special day . They want you there , you are a friend  or a relation etc .surely you need to send them something for the big day???

Lets say the came to your wedding and gave you a gift ?
or
They can't afford to attend ?
or
Your wedding is clashing with their plans...holidays etc
but in any case they won't be going .... do you still expect a present ?

I send the same as if I would attend. Done it recently actually.

no civilised couple getting married nowadays expect their guest to pay for the wedding... please POG stop winding will ya.
cavan, sammy - You two are the ones saying £50 per person is on the mean side as it wuoldnt cover the cost of you being there.

I never said no such thing.  Its the whinging about having to give it and maybe giving to much that i have issue with here.

I'm sorry have I you two big shots mixed up with someone else or was it not yous who were saying that I was mean because £50.00 wouldnt cover the cost of me being there?

yeah, ok I hold my hands up, I drive a fat Merc, go to work in a Gucci suit every day, have an exclusive pair of Prada shoes for work, Kurt Geigers for socialising in, nice Tiffany cuff links for double cuff Paul Smith shirts, blah blah blah.... I'm the big shot  :D who thinks that £/€50 per person is a little on the tight/mean side for a wedding present - wise up. I say £75, you say £50, no big deal.

Quote from: sammymaguire on August 19, 2009, 03:41:53 PM

yeah, ok I hold my hands up, I drive a fat Merc, go to work in a Gucci suit every day, have an exclusive pair of Prada shoes for work, Kurt Geigers for socialising in, nice Tiffany cuff links for double cuff Paul Smith shirts, blah blah blah.... I'm the big shot  :D who thinks that £/€50 per person is a little on the tight/mean side for a wedding present - wise up. I say £75, you say £50, no big deal.
Apart from the merc i dont know waht the rest of those brands are  ::)

tyrone girl

Eh sammy werent u the one saying that if u "only" gave 50 per person ud be as well giving nothing

cavan4ever

If any of you were invited to someone's 21st or 30th which seems to be the craze now what would you put in the card?

a little tongue in cheek that tyrone girl, I don't feel that strongly about the fact £50 is a little on the miserly side

;) right - back to closing another multi-million pound deal and taking off Friday for a nice Spa day in Kildare with the missus  :D

catch you later wedding lovers

I'm beginning to think tyrone girl is getting married soon and she's just seeing who gives the most money / the some expensive presents, before she sends the invites out. You're a crafty wee hoor TG! ;)

SidelineKick

Quote from: ziggysego on August 19, 2009, 03:47:46 PM
I'm beginning to think tyrone girl is getting married soon and she's just seeing who gives the most money / the some expensive presents, before she sends the invites out. You're a crafty wee hoor TG! ;)

"If you want to box, say you want to box and we'll box"

As regards covering costs, i'm happy to at least cover the additional cost of having me there, basically the meal.  I don't give a fcuk about their ice scuptures and chocolate fountains, I didn't order them and would feel no obligation to pay anything towards any of that.  As for trying to make money out of your wedding, no chance, as i say, if you get back most of what you've spent on the meals, you're happy, the rest was your own call.

The english do give terrible presents, but, that's their culture and so you can't knock them, interestingly, I was at a spanish wedding there a couple of months ago, the standard gift there is at least €350!!!  We gave €200, but, hey, as the english say "that's our culture"!!

Mid Down Gael

What money would be normally given by a best man as a present?

Quote from: hardstation on August 19, 2009, 09:50:54 PM
Quote from: Mid Down Gael on August 19, 2009, 09:48:53 PM
What money would be normally given by a best man as a present?
Feck all. In fact, the best man gets money from the groom to keep stories under his hat.

He knows what he's talking about.

bcarrier

Quote from: Rois on August 17, 2009, 03:09:24 PM
One of my best friends is getting married on 19 Sep.  She knows that the ultimate present I could give her would be to miss the AIF if Tyrone were in it the next day (it's a three day wedding affair).  Half of me is hoping we get beaten by Cork on Sunday so the decision is made for me. 

Can't believe I've just written that.

If ever there was a case of be careful what you wish for ....

Quote from: bcarrier on August 23, 2009, 08:37:18 PM
Quote from: Rois on August 17, 2009, 03:09:24 PM
One of my best friends is getting married on 19 Sep.  She knows that the ultimate present I could give her would be to miss the AIF if Tyrone were in it the next day (it's a three day wedding affair).  Half of me is hoping we get beaten by Cork on Sunday so the decision is made for me. 

Can't believe I've just written that.

If ever there was a case of be careful what you wish for ....
Every cloud Rois.