Back to Back All Irelands are tough

Started by magickingdom, July 26, 2009, 09:37:59 PM

QuoteLegacy of Tyrone - diving, cheating, puke football, not team of the decade and couldnt do back to back AI which is the mark of true champions.

Miek Sheehy, I think you are listening to much to that tube Spillane and others - I understand that achieving back to back titles is a great feat, but I don't buy into all this nonsense that to be considered true champions you have to have achieved this.  I think winning All Irelands consistently over a period of 5 years is as good an achievment, if not better.  This decade has been dominated by Kerry and Tyrone, and as we know Kerry have 4 All Irelands and a few National Leagues while Tyrone have 3 All Irelands and a few National Leagues too (not that the league counts for much but it seems that Spillane regards them as a big achievement now, how times have changed).  In time, people will look at this decade and see that it was dominated by these teams and the only possible way of distinguishing who was the best team is to look at the heads to heads between the sides, which we all know will show that Tyrone were the better side.  You can throw in your other arguments about Tyrone losing to Mayo in 2004, or the injury ravaged sides in 2006 and 2007 losing to Laois and Meath but no matter how decimated any Tyrone side has been this decade they have not suffered defeats on a par with those that Kerry have.  Tyrone were poor on Sunday but only lost by a few, but the same Cork side hammered Kerry this year, while Tyrone in 2003 and Meath in 2001 have also handed out severe hidings to your great Kerry team.

SidelineKick

Quote from: nrico2006 on August 25, 2009, 09:22:07 AM
QuoteLegacy of Tyrone - diving, cheating, puke football, not team of the decade and couldnt do back to back AI which is the mark of true champions.

Miek Sheehy, I think you are listening to much to that tube Spillane and others - I understand that achieving back to back titles is a great feat, but I don't buy into all this nonsense that to be considered true champions you have to have achieved this.  I think winning All Irelands consistently over a period of 5 years is as good an achievment, if not better.  This decade has been dominated by Kerry and Tyrone, and as we know Kerry have 4 All Irelands and a few National Leagues while Tyrone have 3 All Irelands and a few National Leagues too (not that the league counts for much but it seems that Spillane regards them as a big achievement now, how times have changed).  In time, people will look at this decade and see that it was dominated by these teams and the only possible way of distinguishing who was the best team is to look at the heads to heads between the sides, which we all know will show that Tyrone were the better side.  You can throw in your other arguments about Tyrone losing to Mayo in 2004, or the injury ravaged sides in 2006 and 2007 losing to Laois and Meath but no matter how decimated any Tyrone side has been this decade they have not suffered defeats on a par with those that Kerry have.  Tyrone were poor on Sunday but only lost by a few, but the same Cork side hammered Kerry this year, while Tyrone in 2003 and Meath in 2001 have also handed out severe hidings to your great Kerry team.

Or, indeed, count the number of All irelands they won  :-\
"If you want to box, say you want to box and we'll box"

nedman

Here are the ACTUAL STATS  as we near the end of the decade

Kerry                    Tyrone
AI Titles                             4(possibly 5)               3

AI Final appearances             7(possibly 8 )              3

Semi appearances                  10                         4

From looking at these FACTS it is clear to see not only Kerry have been more successful but have played much more football from August onwards over the last decade.

While Tyrone  have the clear adv in H2H, yet the great Liverpool side from late 70's - early 80's are widely regarded as one of the best in English and European history yet had a poor record H2H against Man Utd(who incidentally won very little in this era apart from the odd FA Cup)

In my view there is no team of the decade.

Tyrone haven't been consistent enough but that wasn't all their fault when you considered what happened.

Kerry can't be considered team of the decade either because they never beat Tyrone in championship football in this decade.

Call it a tie.

QuoteHere are the ACTUAL STATS  as we near the end of the decade

Here is the full run down of the Tyrone and Kerry routes through the decade if anyone is interested in throwing on the anorak and analyzing them. I could not sleep well last night and this is the shite in my head at 2am, I've probably made a mistake or two.

Tyrone have played in 56 championship games from 2000-2009 inclusive.
They have won 37, drawn 7 and lost 12.

Kerry have played in 64 championship games from 2000-2009 inclusive - to date.
They have won 47, drawn 8 and lost 9.

Tyrone have played 21 different counties in the decade beating 18 of them at least once.
Cork, Meath and Sligo are the 3 teams they did not beat.

Kerry have played 20 different counties in the decade also beating 18 of them at least once.
Tyrone and Meath are the 2 teams they did not beat.

Tyrone have beaten the following 18 teams in 37 wins:
Derry 5 times.
Armagh and Down 4 times each.
Kerry 3 times.
Cavan, Louth, Dublin, Monaghan, Antrim, Fermanagh and Wexford 2 times each.
Donegal, Laois, Mayo, Galway, Leitrim, Westmeath and Kildare Once each.

Kerry have beaten the following 18 teams in 47 wins:
Cork 10 times.
Limerick 5 times.
Tipperary and Dublin 4 times each.
Galway, Mayo and Clare 3 times each.
Armagh, Monaghan, Longford and Waterford 2 times each.
Antrim, Derry, Fermanagh, Wicklow, Sligo, Kildare and Roscommon Once each

Tyrone have drawn with the following 5 teams in 7 draws:
Armagh and Down 2 times each.
Derry, Cavan and Louth all once.

Kerry have also drawn with 5 teams in 8 draws:
Cork 4 times.
Dublin, Armagh, Galway and Limerick once each

Tyrone have lost to the following 9 teams in 12 losses:
Armagh 3 times.
Derry 2 times.
Down, Donegal, Meath, Laois, Mayo, Sligo and Cork once each.

Kerry have lost to the following 4 teams in 9 losses:
Cork 4 times.
Tyrone 3 times.
Meath and Armagh once each

In Tyrone's 56 games they have played against:
Ulster Opposition: 35 times: W22,D6,L7
Leinster Opposition: 12 times: W9,D1,L2
Connacht Opposition: 5 times: W3,D0,L2
Munster Opposition: 4 times: W3,D0,L1

In Kerry's 64 games they have played against:
Munster Opposition: 33 times: W24,D5,L4
Ulster Opposition: 12 times: W7,D1,L4
Leinster Opposition: 10 times: W8,D1,L1
Connacht Opposition: 9 times: W8,D1,L0

Tyrone's 56 games:
28 games in Ulster championship, with 16 wins, 6 draws and 6 losses, winning 4 Ulster titles.
14 games in Qualifiers, with 11 wins,1 draw and 2 losses.
7 games in Quarter finals with 4 wins and 3 losses.
4 games in Semi finals with 3 wins and 1 loss.
3 games in Finals with 3 AI wins.

Kerry's 64 games:
27 games in Munster championship, with 19 wins, 4 draws and 4 losses, winning 6 Munster titles.
8 games in Qualifiers, with 8 wins.
10 games in Quarter finals with 9 wins and 1 draw.
11 games in Semi finals with 7 wins, 2 draws and 2 losses.
8 games in Finals with 4 AI wins, 1 draw and 3 losses.

I'll sleep better tonight now that is off my chest....

020304 Tir Eoghain

I could not sleep well last night and this is the shite in my head at 2am, I've probably made a mistake or two.

Jaysus KM, would you not a been better taking a tablet, or a couple of halfuns of Jamesons if ye couldnt sleep. :D As for
mistakes, I for one will take yer word for it :)

Good luck on Sunday btw!
Tír Éoghain '03, '05, '08.

comethekingdom

Quote from: Kerry Mike on August 25, 2009, 07:31:48 PM

Here is the full run down of the Tyrone and Kerry routes through the decade if anyone is interested in throwing on the anorak and analyzing them. I could not sleep well last night and this is the shite in my head at 2am, I've probably made a mistake or two.

Tyrone have played 21 different counties in the decade beating 18 of them at least once.

Kerry have played 20 different counties in the decade also beating 18 of them at least once.

Derry 5 times.
Kerry 3 times.

Cork 10 times.
Limerick 5 times.

Cork 4 times.

Armagh 3 times.
Derry 2 times.

Cork 4 times.
Tyrone 3 times.

Tyrone's 56 games:
28 games in Ulster championship, with 16 wins, 6 draws and 6 losses, winning 4 Ulster titles.

Kerry's 64 games:
27 games in Munster championship, with 19 wins, 4 draws and 4 losses, winning 6 Munster titles.

Thats some numbers crunched there Kerry Mike - well done!

Didn't realise Tyrone beaten vastly superior outfits than Kerry. But is suppose when you compare the provincial championships -its not a surprise.

Between both of us the Jackeens have got bate 6 times this decade. Great reading isn't it ?  :P

Quote from: Kerry Mike on August 25, 2009, 07:31:48 PM

Derry 5 times.
Kerry 3 times.

Cork 10 times.
Limerick 5 times.

Cork 4 times.

Armagh 3 times.
Derry 2 times.

Cork 4 times.
Tyrone 3 times.

Tyrone's 56 games:

Kerry's 64 games:

STATTOOO! STATTOOO! STATTOOO!

Nice job of work there. Can't see a paid journalist sitting down to do it.

Trevor Hill

All this talk of team of the decade is nonsense. Tyrone were nowhere a decade ago, they have managed3 All Irelands in the last 6 years but they will disappear again, just like Armagh did in 2005. Whereas Kerry are Kerry. Form is temporary. Class is permanent.

comethekingdom

Quote from: Trevor Hill on August 25, 2009, 10:25:36 PM
All this talk of team of the decade is nonsense. Tyrone were nowhere a decade ago, they have managed3 All Irelands in the last 6 years but they will disappear again, just like Armagh did in 2005. Whereas Kerry are Kerry. Form is temporary. Class is permanent.

Now there's a statement to wind the nordies up! :o

Teams have a 6-7 year life, Kerry have few players in 2009 that played in 2000. Tyrone weren't there then, so even if Tyrone exceeded Kerry for a period, Kerry have had a longer innings. So this decade thing is nonsense.

Quotebut they will disappear again, just like Armagh did in 2005.

Even in 2006 we gave Kerry more trouble than Tyrone gave Cork. And since then we got an Ulster, something found only in the last century in Down.

QuoteKerry have few players in 2009 that played in 2000

2000 Final team.
D. O'Keeffe, M. Hassett, S. Moynihan, M. McCarthy, T. O Se, E. Fitzmaurice, T. O'Sullivan, D. O Se, D. Daly, A. MacGearailt, L. Hassett, N. Kenneally, MF Russell, D. O Cinneide, J. Crowley. Subs: M. Fitzgerald, T. Griffin, D. O'Dwyer, E. Galvin, K. Burns, K. Dillon, S. O'Sullivan, P. O'Leary, M. Lyons

Our Famous 5 still going strong , not bad after 10 years of toil at the highest level.

QuoteTyrone weren't there then

If you want to get measured over the decade you have to take all years into account, them's the rules , you can t be picking out the good years only.

QuoteEven in 2006 we gave Kerry more trouble than Tyrone gave Cork

What was the score and winning margin in 2006 I forget.

QuoteAnd since then we got an Ulster, something found only in the last century in Down.

Lost in translation...

I know what you mean Kerry Mike, the oul memory goes after a while. I wasn't able to find the score for the game, but I did find info on the first half. Kerry won certainly, but at least we gave you a game until half time.

1 min: Armagh 0-1 0-0 Kerry Armagh forward Ronan Clarke fists over the first point for Joe Kernan's side.
2 mins: Armagh 0-2 0-0 Kerry A good passing move ends with Steven McDonnell notching Armagh's second point.
11 mins: Armagh 0-3 1-1 Kerry John McEntee's beautifully-struck left-foot effort brings the Orchard County to within a point.
12 mins: Armagh 0-4 1-1 Kerry A free brings Ulster points record holder Oisin McConville his first score of the afternoon.
15 mins: Armagh 0-4 1-2 Kerry A Francie Bellew foul gives Colm Cooper the opportunity to edge the south-west county into the lead again.
17 mins: Armagh 0-5 1-2 Kerry Aaron Kernan replies with a free for Armagh to level the scores.
19 mins: Armagh 0-6 1-2 Kerry Steven McDonnell blasts over the bar from a Ronan Clarke lay-off when a goal looked on.
20 mins: Armagh 0-6 1-3 Kerry Paul Galvin snaps up a neat point from play to equalise for the Kingdom.
23 mins: Armagh 1-6 1-3 Kerry Armagh find the net as Steven McDonnell snaps up his 17th career goal for the Ulster outfit.
3 mins: Armagh 0-2 1-0 Kerry Kerry snatch the lead as Eoin Brosnan pokes a low shot past keeper Paul Hearty.
33 mins: Armagh 1-7 1-3 Kerry Steven McDonnell snaps up his fourth score of the match to stretch Armagh's advantage two minutes before half-time.
34 mins: Armagh 1-7 1-4 Kerry Colm Cooper lands a point to keep Kerry in touch.
35 mins: Armagh 1-7 1-5 Kerry Brilliant goalkeeping by Paul Hearty keeps Armagh ahead at the break. He pulls off a magnificent close-range save from Colm Cooper and when Mike Frank Russell pounces on the loose ball Hearty tips the shot over.