The official Xbox360 thread - or the no ONLs' club

Started by corn02, November 13, 2008, 10:29:05 AM

alternatively pints if you dont want to sent films wirelessly you can get an external harddrive and just plug into the usb ports hence no burning dvds.

You can get a firmware upgrade that allows you to play copied games, however some firmware upgrades have been identified and banned from live. If you play stand alone games (ie. not with some random stranger over the internet) then its not a problem

Quotealternatively pints if you dont want to sent films wirelessly you can get an external harddrive and just plug into the usb ports hence no burning dvds.
I have all my downloaded stuff on an external drive. Can I just plug that in to the xbox if I want to watch something on the TV? or does it need to go through the computer?

Plug and play. Depending on how long the unit has been in the box in a store somewhere you may need to update the codec on it. Plug in internet cable and it should detect straight away. takes 2 minutes.

No bother at all with external HD

Quote from: Bensars on March 03, 2009, 09:57:58 PM
Plug and play. Depending on how long the unit has been in the box in a store somewhere you may need to update the codec on it. Plug in internet cable and it should detect straight away. takes 2 minutes.

I was looking at this...apparently it needs to be it format flat32 and mine already is, so should be ok. Excellent!
Thanks.

(My external harddrive is in operation every day and I've a ridiculous amount of memory on the laptop!- only 40gb, about 17gb left!)

Quote from: pintsofguinness on March 03, 2009, 10:27:24 PM
Quote from: Bensars on March 03, 2009, 09:57:58 PM

I was looking at this...apparently it needs to be it format flat32 and mine already is, so should be ok. Excellent!
Thanks.

(My external harddrive is in operation every day and I've a ridiculous amount of memory on the laptop!- only 40gb, about 17gb left!)

What you got to remember is you can't download from XBox live to an external drive or run games(full/demos) from it. You can play non drm content through the external which is fine for music and video (provided its supported).

If for example you buy the 2 downloadable GTA4 games, your probably taking close to 7 gig. Now if I've already payed 15 quid each for them so I'm not going to delete them. I think this model will become more popular in the current financial climate, the game engine is there on the original game you purchased so why not release updates/new games through XBox live. The lower distribution costs/ability to control piracy ect .... is very appealing to the game studios at the moment.

The 60 gig version is good value though but I wouldn't consider the smaller one.

I think I've decided, the elite, in argos, with two games (I'm choosing Colin McRae and call of duty) and an accessory pack is 232.00!

thanks for the help!

Right I've joined yous, very impressed so far.  Call of duty kicks ass but I can barely walk 6ft online before being blew away. 
Didnt realise you could download loads of demos! Excellent. 

Quote from: pintsofguinness on March 14, 2009, 05:31:18 PM
Right I've joined yous, very impressed so far.  Call of duty kicks ass but I can barely walk 6ft online before being blew away. 
Didnt realise you could download loads of demos! Excellent. 

Yeah I remember when I first got it, was no where near a hard as it is now. Once you get to level 18 its much better, you can do hardcore deathmatch - none of this pumping 20 bullets into someone to kill them. Just come off COD with one of my finest games in Pipeline - 32 kills, 3 helicopters ...... ;D

Quote from: noeldebrun on May 08, 2009, 09:01:37 PM
anybody going to buy the UFC game when it comes out, it looks very good from what i've seen

Downloaded the demo from xbox live. Fairly impressed with it. I'd say it would be mighty craic if you had a few mates round and you had a tournament. The KO's are brilliant.

Quote from: noeldebrun on May 08, 2009, 09:01:37 PM
anybody going to buy the UFC game when it comes out, it looks very good from what i've seen
Yeah it seems good (from the demo), think I'll get either it or fightnight round 4.  Will have to see what fightnight is like.

mikasas

Wondering could you lads help me out?
I bought a controller of eBay and it comes on when you press the xbox button, but then when you try to sync it, it cant find the xbox.
I cannot get it to work at all, was just wondering are controllers region specific like the games.
Bought it from an UK seller so should be OK?
Could I sen it back to XBOX?
Break Ball Specialist.

flantheman82

not sure if it's been mentioned before but anyone know why i cant copy mp3's that i've downloaded onto my xbox and is there a way of doing it? i've tried copying them to a cd and copying them over but its no use.

flantheman82

Sorry last two posters, I don;t know the techncial stuff..

Anyway,
I have noticed that the new controllers have a crappy trigger button (r1 on playstation0. Seeing as I only play Pro Ev is makes sprinting difficult, is there anywhere you can order the original joypads?