Glasgowbury

Started by toiletroller, July 08, 2008, 04:49:25 PM

The Buffer officially pulled out on me there citing some nonsense about being an athlete... no soup... blah blah blah! We may forget about him.

Anyway where's this GAAboard gathering occuring? Is Maguire going to forsake his beloved Monaghan for the love of music?

Anyway I'm gone to get a CO and one of those chairs with a drinks holder in it, and a cooler box. That should keep me going on the campsite until the decent mujsic starts around 6/7... BIG SESSION!!!

peterquaife

Quote from: screenexile on July 25, 2008, 11:53:18 AM
The Buffer officially pulled out on me there citing some nonsense about being an athlete... no soup... blah blah blah! We may forget about him.

Anyway where's this GAAboard gathering occuring? Is Maguire going to forsake his beloved Monaghan for the love of music?

Anyway I'm gone to get a CO and one of those chairs with a drinks holder in it, and a cooler box. That should keep me going on the campsite until the decent mujsic starts around 6/7... BIG SESSION!!!

the chair is the way to go...but if you love the live music, you hiddy catch Hybrasil from Wicklow at 2:15 in the G-Sessions tent (canny believe they are on so early)...have caught them a few times during the last ween of years, fierce live band, fierce

has the running order been put up? if not, I'll paste it up

PQ

offtheground

haven't seen the running order PQ, can you post it?? Cheers.

peterquaife

here you go sir...should be a great day

Small But Massive Main Stage
11.00pm - 12.00am >> Ash
09.45pm - 10.30pm >> Fighting With Wire
08.30pm - 09.15pm >> Oppenheimer
07.15pm - 08.00pm >> And So I Watch You From Afar
06.25pm - 06.55pm >> General Fiasco
05.35pm - 06.05pm >> Skruff
04.45pm - 05.15pm >> Ham Sandwich
04.00pm - 04.30pm >> Panama Kings
03.15pm - 03.45pm >> Mantic
02.30pm - 03.00pm >> Furlo
01.45pm - 02.15pm >> The Q
12.45pm - 01.15pm >> Innishowen Gospel Choir

Spurs of Rock Stage
09.15pm - 10.00pm >> Mojo Fury
08.15pm - 09.00pm >> Triggerman
07.20pm - 08.00pm >> Ed Zealous
06.25pm - 07.05pm >> La Faro
05.30pm - 06.10pm >> The Beat Poets
04.45pm - 05.15pm >> Dutch Schultz
04.00pm - 04.30pm >> Swanee River
03.15pm - 03.45pm >> Lotion
02.30pm - 03.00pm >> Here Comes the Landed Gentry
01.45pm - 02.15pm >> FreeRider
01.00pm - 01.30pm >> Interrogate
12.15pm - 12.15pm >> Sword Chant

G-Session Stage
09.00pm - 10.00pm >> Deep Fried Funk DJ's
08.00pm - 09.00pm >> The Delawares
06.45pm - 07.30pm >> Pat McManus
05.30pm - 06.15pm >> Grainne Duffy
04.30pm - 05.15pm >> Cashier No.9
03.45pm - 04.15pm >> The Dagger Lee's
03.00pm - 03.30pm >> Cutaways
02.15pm - 02.45pm >> Hybrasil
01.30pm - 02.00pm >> SuperFreakz
12.45pm - 01.15pm >> Colenso Parade
12.00pm - 12.30pm >> Black Horse

Eagles Rock Acoustic Stage
09.15pm - 10.15pm >> Paul Casey
08.15pm - 09.00pm >> Ben Glover
07.15pm - 08.00pm >> Cat Malojian
06.30pm - 07.00pm >> Boathouse
05.45pm - 06.15pm >> Junior Johnson
05.00pm - 05.30pm >> Keith Harkin
04.15pm - 04.45pm >> Rachel Austin
03.30pm - 04.00pm >> Ard Ri
02.45pm - 03.15pm >> Joe Echo
02.00pm - 02.30pm >> Oonagh Clarke, Roisin Atcheson, John Gribbin
01.15pm - 01.45pm >>Self Healer
12.30pm - 01.00pm >> Dolbro Dan

offtheground

Good man PQ, rock on eagles rock... ;D

Right I think I've her planned OK...

Skruff
Junior Johnson
General Fiasco
Cat Malojian
Delawares
Oppenheimer
Paul Casey
Fighting With Wire
Ash

3-4 hours drinking time beforehand and I should be all set!!

Mack the finger

Looks like a great line up, wish I could have made it.
Will definately pencil it in for next year. Great to see a festival with such a strong local line up.
Try and catch the legend that is Pat McManus if you're going. Older heads will remember him
from doing great things with Mama's boys. You're in for a treat.

Well lads, how did it go?  Any reviews?

Had an amazing time... best day of the year so far, great weather, great crown, great bands and great drink. What more could you want.

Unfortunately my drinking and bumping into old friends meant I couldn't get to see as many bands as I wanted but here's what I did see and hear...

Ed Zealous - Thought they were fantastic. Never heard of them before but they got the crowd going well and some massive playing led to a great gig.

Pat McManus - Again never heard him before but was awesome! Some of the guitar playing was awesome and a massive crowd to see him.

General Fiasco - only heard a few tracks but was well impressed.

Paul Casey - Nice chilled out set in the acoustic tent. I've heard Casey lots of times and he never disappoints.

Fighting with Wire - Very good but only heard a couple of songs.

Ash - didn't disappoint and were the perfect rock band for the festival given Duke Special would be a lot more low key. Crowd got behind them and they played a few oldies which were great... slightly lost it with the "We're not Brazil we're Northern Ireland" craic (Did anyone tell them about the Draperstown/Moneyneena/Dungiven area in which they were playing?) bus still a great gig. Here's looking to next year!!!!!

billy the kid

Absolutely amazing gig.  Biggest crowd yet and no bother or aggro from anyone just a crowd of like minded people all there to enjoy the music and the craic.  the weather was fantastic too.  and there was some talent floating about.

Dutch schultz were deadly and really got the crowd going

Pat Mc Manus was amazing big crowd packed into that marquee for him and he did himself justice with the set he played. Gets better every time I see him

Cat Malojan were good too and kept the crowd entertained

Fighting with Wire were unreal and the place really went mental when they played Everyone Needs a Nemisis. They were the highlight of my concert.

Ash were deadly also and although I wouldnt really be into them they got the crowd going from start to finish and were a perfect headliner for a gem of a concert.

Its getting bigger every year and i already cant wait to next year to see who were gonna get.
If it moves hit it
If it doesnt hit it anyway!!

billy the kid

Watch ATL tonight on BBC 2 at 10:00PM Shows highlights of the concert and all you non-believers will see how great an event it was. All us who attended will be able to look back upon a truly great concert.

Until Next year
If it moves hit it
If it doesnt hit it anyway!!