Fermanagh v Roscommon

Started by Shrewdness, July 06, 2015, 01:01:48 PM

Quote from: Canalman on July 13, 2015, 02:11:50 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on July 13, 2015, 01:18:52 PM
Quote from: Canalman on July 13, 2015, 12:58:05 PM
Quote from: To whom it may concern on July 13, 2015, 11:54:16 AM
Some win for Fermanagh. Something missing in that Roscommon team especially when they go in as favourites.

McGrath working wonders and building on the great work Canavan/Donnelly did. Impressed with their conditioning and fitness which has obviously been developed over the past 2-3 years.

Westmeath draw is favourable and just shows what belief and momentum can do. Great draw for Fermanagh and a great chance of a quarter final now. Well deserved

Agreed about favouritism and Roscommon.

Very very odd how they usually fail to deliver when tipped to win. Some chink in their make up, I don't know.

Must drive their fans potty.

Have said this before but I don't think there is another county in Ireland (maybe Cavan) that are as passionate about football as Roscommon.

You must not have been in too many places if you think that's the case.

Just my opinion. Have yet to meet a Roscommon person without an interest in gaelic football. Cannot say that about any other county.
One of the finest

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mRJl5Srx4e0

I bet Tom Elliott MP will be rooting for Westmeath!

Fair play to the Rossies here for their sportsmanship towards Fermanagh. It does them and their county credit.

I just hope to Christ they don't turn McStay. :(

Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on July 13, 2015, 07:13:40 PM
Fair play to the Rossies here for their sportsmanship towards Fermanagh. It does them and their county credit.

That's the way we are right enough  ;)
I suppose it's also a case of we knew we were outplayed for a lot of the game  - just that our forwards didn't miss much which meant that the scoreboard didn't reflect the play so much. Woner what were the possession percentages?
I'm afraid  yesterday has turned me against the black card for the rugby tackle pull down.
Two by Fermanagh yesterday - one to stop a goal chance and the other to make sure that effin clown Reilly wasted a minute carding the Fermanagh player and never added on any of the lost time. That needs to be a straight red or else a penalty kick no matter where the offence occurs.
Of course the "penalty" he gave was never one and wouldn't merit a free if it happened out the field somewhere.
Still our loss wasn't down to Reilly but I think the GAA need to quietly let his name slip off the list  - like the Duffys' seem to have.

sligoman2

I fully understand your frustration with black card time wasting.  I have said it before it's time to have a clock that the ref can stop at his discretion and that automatically stops in the last 3 minutes when the ball is not in play.

I don't mean to lick old wounds but we had the same happen to us in the 2010 Connacht final when Donnie shine held up play for over a minute of the 2 extra that was played.

It's totally wrong
I used to be indecisive but now I'm not too sure.

charlieTully

well done Fermanagh, even though they cost me a few quid.

Bet receipt number : O/21496940/0001777

Selection Selection Details Result
GAA Matches
Leinster Championship Football Matches
Dublin v Westmeath
12th of July 2015 2:00 pm
Handicap Betting
Westmeath (+16.0) @ evens 

Win 

GAA Matches
All Ireland Football Qualifier Matches
Fermanagh v Roscommon
12th of July 2015 3:30 pm
Handicap Betting
Roscommon (-2.0) @ 11/10 

Lose 

GAA Matches
All Ireland Football Qualifier Matches
Armagh v Galway
12th of July 2015 3:00 pm
Match Betting
Galway @ 11/8 

Win 

skeog

marty duffy sideline official sat in omagh so he hasnt gone away had a knee operation recently

TomFun

Quote from: ck on July 12, 2015, 10:20:19 AM
Rossies by 5 or 6. Can't believe the hype around Fermanagh. People saying they're "going well" and they're "on a good run". They've beaten Antrim twice. That's it! id say they'll get a rude awakening today

Very astute 😘

Lucifer

Quote from: TomFun on July 14, 2015, 07:07:37 AM
Quote from: ck on July 12, 2015, 10:20:19 AM
Rossies by 5 or 6. Can't believe the hype around Fermanagh. People saying they're "going well" and they're "on a good run". They've beaten Antrim twice. That's it! id say they'll get a rude awakening today

Very astute 😘

Seems like CK got the rude awakening  ;D

Belated congrats to Fermanagh on a stunning victory and one that has sent us into a dark depressing winter until the day stretches in the new year and we can set the bus sat nav to exotic places like Cork and Killarney. I had a bad feeling about this. Last time I was in Brewster (cold night but the cupawn tay was great) Fermanagh scored a last minute goal to steal victory. This was a lot worse, worst sucker punch since the 1986 Connacht final when we were strolling to a win, Harry Keegan goes off injured, and next thing an up to then listless Galway score something like 1-3. That said, I'm still optimistic about the future. The best of luck to Fermanagh for the rest of the championship.

Getting hit with a sucker goal is one thing but getting hit with SIX SUCKER POINTS in a row is a sign of a deeper malaise.
This year's Championship has been a bit of a train crash ( if I may use a Sfyínism  :-[) and coupled with a horror  show minor management ( and as a result team too) plus our U21s proving flaky when the pressure came on from an intense street wise outfit means a major stagger backwards after the strides of recent years.
Also I hear the Clubrossie hasn't done well and now seems to have become a Co Board draw all over again.

Time for major reappraisal of operations across the Board plus a shake up of top jobs and a renewed effort at under age ( how to effin defend... how the County of Keegan, Lindsay, Enon G Doory etc can't produce 6 decent backs???) or we'll be Meath in a few years.

Quote from: Rossfan on July 15, 2015, 02:53:00 PM
Getting hit with a sucker goal is one thing but getting hit with SIX SUCKER POINTS in a row is a sign of a deeper malaise.
This year's Championship has been a bit of a train crash ( if I may use a Sfyínism  :-[) and coupled with a horror  show minor management ( and as a result team too) plus our U21s proving flaky when the pressure came on from an intense street wise outfit means a major stagger backwards after the strides of recent years.
Also I hear the Clubrossie hasn't done well and now seems to have become a Co Board draw all over again.

Time for major reappraisal of operations across the Board plus a shake up of top jobs and a renewed effort at under age ( how to effin defend... how the County of Keegan, Lindsay, Enon G Doory etc can't produce 6 decent backs???) or we'll be Meath in a few years.

Quote from: Rossfan on July 15, 2015, 02:53:00 PM

Bit of an overreaction. It's hard to call winning D2 going backwards, or putting U21 Connachts back to back. Or Croans or CBS reaching their respective AI finals.

2015 is strange because it was neither the diaster - being relegated to D3 again would have stung enough more than losing to Sligo or Fermanagh because it had taken so many failed attempts to get out of that dungeon - or the wild success it looked like it could become the weekend we won the U21 Connacht and got promoted to D1.

Lots to work on defensively but who knows. Maybe the messages will have got through now.

And sure ye won the Hastings Cup too...

giveballaghback

Rossfan I dont agree we have taken a backward step this year, the team have made good strides in all areas but there is still a lot of work to be done, the only thing lost last Sunday was the experience the team would get by having one or two more games in the championship but maybe just as much can be learned in defeat, the six Fermanagh points were all low percentage shots and they all went over by one means or another, anyone with any modicum of football sense will have a fair idea that we were very unlucky in those last few minutes but Fermanagh deserved to be nearer to us before that. I think overall Fermanagh deserved their win and we can have very few complaints about it. The future is indeed very bright for Roscommon football regardless of those 2 horror shows against Sligo and Fermanagh, another season has passed but not without success and massive experience gained. Next springs football league will bring on this team a ton regardless of results but I am fairly sure we will survive in div 1, heres what we need to do.
Management, John Evans can only be removed if we have a top class alternative management in place and ready to go, delay would be costly in terms of team prep for league.
If Evans is reappointed a total change to backroom team is required, John Kerins was our attacking coach and he has always favoured attacking down the wings, he does not believe in the direct approach which I think would suit our team much better.
Goalkeeping coach is badly needed, those mix ups last Sunday would not have happened if our keeper had proper instruction.
Defensive and tackling coaches are the most important of all, we are poor defensively, we have not a clue how to tackle properly or how to ride a tackle, our ball retention stats are terrible.
I would love to see our stats on breaking ball not alone last Sunday but all year, a huge improvement is needed.
And then we have midfield, Cathal Shine  and who else, its a problem, a couple of young lads coming tru but a bit away yet, centre half back a problem?
I think if we get our house in order some of these problems will be solved in the process. Evans had not an easy task over the last few years, in fairness he gave youth a fling at all times and if a player was showing in training he generally got a chance, that my tupence worth, once again our flags have been lowered for another season but remember only one flag will be flying come end of the season. Hold yere heads up lads, dont mind the slaggers, the best is yet to come.