French Alps

Started by JimStynes, January 03, 2016, 09:59:19 PM

Quote from: Rois on July 18, 2016, 04:58:14 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on July 18, 2016, 04:27:06 PM
In Annecy at the minute! Such a lovely city and the weather is unreal.  I can't understand why more people don't go this direction. Direct flight from Dublin and the likes of Annecy is only 45mins away!

Heading to Chamonix on Wednesday morning.
If you're looking for somewhere nice for a rosemantic meal in Chamonix, look up the Cap Horn.  I'm slightly biased because we had our wedding reception there, but even if you don't eat there, you should go into the Caves or wine cellar bar down below for a drink, it's really cool. 
Annecy is the nicest town I've ever visited.  Something for everyone.

In Les Caves last night there! Lovely place. Just stayed for a drink but tempted to go back for food tonight. So many options. Chamonix is some place!!

We got married in the church in the middle of town. Really really underrated place to go on hols for people from here. Can't wait to go back. Husband entered the ballot for Mont Blanc half marathon for June past but didn't get in, hopefully next year. 

Id love to go back and do the tour of mt blanc on the bike! In Evian here now! Staying at the hotel Evian resort, unbelievable place!

I have been blown away by France this year. It has had everything. Morzine for cycling was great even though the weather was bit crap for 2 days. Tour de France climbs and roads at your doorstep. Annecy is as nice if not nicer than Lake Garda with lots to do, Chamonix with the views of mt blanc is class and has all the activities under the sun and this hotel in Evian is ridiculous, will be exploring the city later. I have a few trips planned to yoire (spelling) and Luasanne planned while we are here. I spent more money for a week in Tenerife a few years ago than what it had cost to book this trip ffs. It's been good craic trying to speak French, considering my French is crap. Would really recommend this holiday to anyone. Home on Wednesday night! Depressing even thinking about it.

Quote from: JimStynes on July 23, 2016, 12:31:13 PM
Id love to go back and do the tour of mt blanc on the bike! In Evian here now! Staying at the hotel Evian resort, unbelievable place!

I have been blown away by France this year. It has had everything. Morzine for cycling was great even though the weather was bit crap for 2 days. Tour de France climbs and roads at your doorstep. Annecy is as nice if not nicer than Lake Garda with lots to do, Chamonix with the views of mt blanc is class and has all the activities under the sun and this hotel in Evian is ridiculous, will be exploring the city later. I have a few trips planned to yoire (spelling) and Luasanne planned while we are here. I spent more money for a week in Tenerife a few years ago than what it had cost to book this trip ffs. It's been good craic trying to speak French, considering my French is crap. Would really recommend this holiday to anyone. Home on Wednesday night! Depressing even thinking about it.
the Moroccan restaurant beside the Hilton in Evian is very good

Quote from: JimStynes on July 23, 2016, 12:31:13 PM

Where did you stay in Annecy & Chamonix Jim?

First one was Allobroges or something like that in Annecy. It was dead on. 5 min or less walk to the Old Town and the Lake. Nice and clean but nothing fancy about it. We spent very little time in the hotel in Annecy as most of our time was spent around the lake. Make sure you visit a place called Talloires on the other side of the lake. Lovely place and great place to chill out for the day.

Second one was in Chamonix, it was a lovely hotel called Oustalet, right beside the Aguili du Midi Ski lift and 5 min walk to the town. It was very quiet which is what we like and we had the most amazing view of Mt Blanc from the balcony and it had a pool as well!  We booked the accommodation quite late so we had run out of a lot of choices for Annecy. I would def stay in the Oustalet in Chamonix again though. Luckily we had booked the Evian accommodation well in advance and got it at decent price and before the £ went to shite!

Sunderland are in Evian. I just saw David Moyes and Defoe. Would love to have a word with Moyes .

Quote from: seafoid on July 26, 2016, 03:47:19 PM
Sunderland are in Evian. I just saw David Moyes and Defoe. Would love to have a word with Moyes .

I wondered why there were so many chavs running around last night!

Turns out Sunderland are staying at the hotel I am in. Few of them knocking about the bar and foyer tonight there but all very reserved. I suppose they're hardly going to be on the rip and singing songs in the residents bar.

Quote from: Rois on July 23, 2016, 09:51:48 AM
Husband entered the ballot for Mont Blanc half marathon for June past but didn't get in, hopefully next year.

And he got into the race next summer, woohoo, trip to Chamonix in June for us.

There was a dose of snow on Tuesday. Hopefully it will be a good winter

Quote from: seafoid on November 08, 2016, 12:32:24 AM
There was a dose of snow on Tuesday. Hopefully it will be a good winter
I take it you're a weekend skier - where's your top spot for a day? A colleague was telling me she has skied quite a bit in La Clusaz, Grand Bornard - any opinions on those spots?