Unsavoury langauge at GAA games.

Started by mournerambler, June 01, 2010, 09:52:07 PM

dundrumite

Quote from: The Forfeit Point on June 03, 2010, 01:41:19 PM
Quote from: dundrumite on June 01, 2010, 10:53:13 PM
As a regular attender of both GAA and Rugby I can see a world of difference in the games as a whole.
In Gaelic, Players on the field curse and abuse referees, managers along the line curse and abuse referees,  and supporters curse and gulder at everyone.
This in direct comparassion to rugby games I have attended, where players have greater discipline and respect for the men in black, managers and supporters in general, also seem to show a greater verbal restraint.
As thewobbler pointed out, kids do curse but if they see adults verbally abusing others in a care free manner at a match, they will see this as acceptable behaviour and continue to spread what is IMO a cancer in our sport.
Maybe I am being part of a "nanny state" but a repsect for all ethos has to be pushed in our games. This has to start on the field and along the line as the GAA has more control over players and mentors, than it does have off those who attend matches.
Granted slips of the tongues do occur in moments of frustration and is part and parcel of sport, but those who persistently are seen to be at this need to be drawn into line.
::) if thats a cancer to our sport, the gaa is doing alright then. bloody hell.

curses are just words, everyone uses them, who cares.
are some of you people who get up and turn off the telly when theres "bad language"?

Big difference between cursing and verbally abusing. It's the verbal abuse I see as a cancer in our sport.
I know of parents who refuse to take their kids to our games at senior level because of the foul and abusive language on show. To me that is not the GAA doing OK.
It is hard to enforce punishment upon the idiots gaunching along the terrace though I know they have tried to clamp down on  it with the No Foul language braclets and fair play to them. However, it is on the field of play and along the side lines where things need to tighten up.

The Forfeit Point

Quote from: dundrumite on June 04, 2010, 12:18:59 AM
Quote from: The Forfeit Point on June 03, 2010, 01:41:19 PM
Quote from: dundrumite on June 01, 2010, 10:53:13 PM
As a regular attender of both GAA and Rugby I can see a world of difference in the games as a whole.
In Gaelic, Players on the field curse and abuse referees, managers along the line curse and abuse referees,  and supporters curse and gulder at everyone.
This in direct comparassion to rugby games I have attended, where players have greater discipline and respect for the men in black, managers and supporters in general, also seem to show a greater verbal restraint.
As thewobbler pointed out, kids do curse but if they see adults verbally abusing others in a care free manner at a match, they will see this as acceptable behaviour and continue to spread what is IMO a cancer in our sport.
Maybe I am being part of a "nanny state" but a repsect for all ethos has to be pushed in our games. This has to start on the field and along the line as the GAA has more control over players and mentors, than it does have off those who attend matches.
Granted slips of the tongues do occur in moments of frustration and is part and parcel of sport, but those who persistently are seen to be at this need to be drawn into line.
::) if thats a cancer to our sport, the gaa is doing alright then. bloody hell.

curses are just words, everyone uses them, who cares.
are some of you people who get up and turn off the telly when theres "bad language"?

Big difference between cursing and verbally abusing. It's the verbal abuse I see as a cancer in our sport.
I know of parents who refuse to take their kids to our games at senior level because of the foul and abusive language on show. To me that is not the GAA doing OK.
It is hard to enforce punishment upon the idiots gaunching along the terrace though I know they have tried to clamp down on  it with the No Foul language braclets and fair play to them. However, it is on the field of play and along the side lines where things need to tighten up.

now that is just plain silly, do they wrap them in cotton wool as well? talk about shielding them from reality. i think people are being generous in their definition of verbal abuse too as if it were that bad surely there would be court cases. all the matches i go to it is rare if anything more than "well fuck ya anyway" is said to or about a ref - which is purely out of frustration and there is not one person who cannot say they have never cursed when frustrated.

The Forfeit Point

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 03, 2010, 03:59:33 PM
While I never have a go at opposing players or my own team (except if they have blatently taken a sledgehammer to the face of another player and there tends to be thousands of others in agreement) I do curse quite a bit at matchs, its not directed at anyone but its a general non-specific "a fcccccccckkkkkkk", "snarl sound", "for feck sake", "a Jaysus", and the odd time "cuntish" - I'm sorry but that word seems very common in Mayo and Roscommon (I'm sure a rake of Mayo and Rossie lads will be on now to disagree).

I don't shout abuse but I develop a type of physical (face grimaces and minor spasms) and hitting myself with my programme (sometimes chewing on it too) and verbal turrets, it appears to be at its worst in late August or September. Followed by bouts of manic depression and shoulder shrugging.

its the rare simpleton that launches a direct tirade at the ref.

on the player side of things, i think refs need to communicate more to players explaining why there was/ was not a foul. they dont help themselves when a player simply asks what the free was for, then just brings it forward. that gets players frustrated and when people are frustrated they curse.