Tipperary vs Dublin - All Ireland semi final 2

Started by TippTony, August 10, 2011, 10:06:34 AM

Ha ha, yeah got that badly wrong alright. In fairness, while Dublin were excellent I thought tipp were a bit flat and seemed completely unable to adjust to Dublins tactics.

On the ref issue, I'm all in favour of leaving the game flow but we can't ignore the rules in favour of letting it flow. A ref should leave it go if the attacking are best served by playing advantage, yesterday players were clearly being fouled which meant they couldn't play the ball yet no free accrued, therefore fouling became worthwhile. That isn't good refereeing IMO, there are rules or there aren't, yesterdays ref clearly believes hurling is a game with no rules.

Quote from: Zulu on August 15, 2011, 01:00:05 PM
Ha ha, yeah got that badly wrong alright. In fairness, while Dublin were excellent I thought tipp were a bit flat and seemed completely unable to adjust to Dublins tactics.

On the ref issue, I'm all in favour of leaving the game flow but we can't ignore the rules in favour of letting it flow. A ref should leave it go if the attacking are best served by playing advantage, yesterday players were clearly being fouled which meant they couldn't play the ball yet no free accrued, therefore fouling became worthwhile. That isn't good refereeing IMO, there are rules or there aren't, yesterdays ref clearly believes hurling is a game with no rules.

I still think you're being a bit hard on the ref Zulu. I haven't watched the game back but off hand I can recall a couple of occasions where the ref awarded a free in a scoring position rather than play the advantage where it was debatable if a score was going to accrue or not. I would agree that Tipp were flat and slow to adjust.

enjoyed that game. Dublin came us just short. that mistake for tipps goal was the difference as Dublin went for goals in their last few attacks.
Ref was a bit kind to dublin at times, but that tipp wing half back Maher- three times he dived like he was shot.  Hate to see that creeping into the GAA, bad enough in the football but now the flippin hurling !

Dublin will be hard stopped next year. The fast, fit, physical footballing style of hurling suits them and it certainly upsets the traditionalist teams like tipp and the cats.

Lots of work has been done in dublin for the past 10+ years. Its actually interfered with some football at times, but most people knew that this was the goal - and Dubs are not far off it now ! Especially with the conveyor belt of young talent also on the way ...

Just back from the game now - all of one day later.  What a rollercoaster ride I got for €50 at 40/1 back in February. When Armagh won that All-Ireland I gave Fearon the tickets for those years ago Armagh done more for football than all the promotions in the world, counties like my own, Laois, Carlow, Wexford, thinking, (with respect to Armagh) if they can win it so can we. Dubs have now done the same for hurling, what a lift  to give the game?  This bullshit about welcome to the home of hurling and the munster final has ended for me at least, even if Dubs didn't win. While a lot of the focus is, deservedly, on Che Daly I think at this time players of the past like Joey Towell from the unlikely stronghold of O'Devanny Gardens who I used hurl with along with Peadar Carton Snr and his brother Brian and the late Jimmy Boggan should be in the minds of those who wish to distribute credits for the advances that have been made to hurling in general by the Dubs. Thats what I think anyway  !!

Quote from: lynchbhoy on August 15, 2011, 04:25:26 PM
enjoyed that game. Dublin came us just short. that mistake for tipps goal was the difference as Dublin went for goals in their last few attacks.
Ref was a bit kind to dublin at times, but that tipp wing half back Maher- three times he dived like he was shot.  Hate to see that creeping into the GAA, bad enough in the football but now the flippin hurling !

Dublin will be hard stopped next year. The fast, fit, physical footballing style of hurling suits them and it certainly upsets the traditionalist teams like tipp and the cats.

Lots of work has been done in dublin for the past 10+ years. Its actually interfered with some football at times, but most people knew that this was the goal - and Dubs are not far off it now ! Especially with the conveyor belt of young talent also on the way ...

Have to agree about Maher- did a while bit of diving.

Dublin need to go 6 on 6 to win these games. Going 6 on 6 and the defense gets less cover so I think they're further away than some people think but massive performance none the less and Keaney will make some difference.

I thought Tipp were a wee bit naive at times yesterday - Dublin had the spare man and they kept hitting it down his throat. They could have been a bit more economical with possession.

Some interesting times ahead in the hurling. I thought the no. 10 in the minor match for dublin was immense - a few of these guys to come in and the world is their oyster.

Quote from: imtommygunn on August 15, 2011, 10:25:22 PM

I thought the no. 10 in the minor match for dublin was immense - a few of these guys to come in and the world is their oyster.

Ciaran Kilkenny - savage player. Only issue is that him and a few of the other lads like Costello are dual players and some will stick with the Hurling and some will go to football.

Aye thought the Kilkenny lad was top class on Sunday. Notice the panel after the match discussing the dual lads, I'd say they'll hurl first as a smart manager will bring these lads on to the panel first and should Dublin beat Tipp or Kilkenny in the championship then they could get to/win an All Ireland final. In saying that Antrim could beat them next year. Fancy Limerick to do well also next year, another youthfull team with some older heads onboard to keep them in check

Dublin need to go 6 on 6 to win these games. Going 6 on 6 and the defense gets less cover so I think they're further away than some people think but massive performance none the less and Keaney will make some difference.

I thought Tipp were a wee bit naive at times yesterday - Dublin had the spare man and they kept hitting it down his throat. They could have been a bit more economical with possession.

Some interesting times ahead in the hurling. I thought the no. 10 in the minor match for dublin was immense - a few of these guys to come in and the world is their oyster.

Well put Brady, Gough back into the fullback line and move Kelly out to the halfbacks with Hiney also there and the defence will be an awful lot stronger......stick Keaney and Tracey up front and the forward line is an awful lot stronger also

prob will pan out like Tyrone in the early 00's in football - they played their defensive format until they got strong enough and were able to cast off the shackles a wee bit.
I think the Dubs will start winning hurling titles (leinster and AI) a lot sooner than youthink.
then it will be the 31 vs dubs scenario again as the hoors will dominate for a long time...possibly...
then if they replicate the groundwork in the football aspect - we'll have to demad they split up dubln into North, south and Fingal !!!  :D

Are Fingal not already in division 4a / 4b??

Looking at it I think they will win Liam eventually but they're a few forwards short of that at present which is why I think they go with spare defender against bigger teams. The teams winning Liam have Henry Shefflins, Eddie Brennans, Eoin Kellys etc etc which Dublin lack.

In the "business end" it'll be interesting to see how good Keaney really is next year too.

I wouldn't analogise Tyrone with Dublin - not sure they ever were particularly defensive before Harte. You don't need to be with Peter Canavan on your team.

There is too much underage success for Dublin not to win Liam eventually though. I would expect a breakthrough and an AI win at either minor, u21 or both this year.

Quote from: imtommygunn on August 17, 2011, 05:29:29 PM
Are Fingal not already in division 4a / 4b??
Looking at it I think they will win Liam eventually but they're a few forwards short of that at present which is why I think they go with spare defender against bigger teams. The teams winning Liam have Henry Shefflins, Eddie Brennans, Eoin Kellys etc etc which Dublin lack.
In the "business end" it'll be interesting to see how good Keaney really is next year too.
I wouldn't analogise Tyrone with Dublin - not sure they ever were particularly defensive before Harte. You don't need to be with Peter Canavan on your team.
There is too much underage success for Dublin not to win Liam eventually though. I would expect a breakthrough and an AI win at either minor, u21 or both this year.
Fingal are playing alright - but their best players are brought up to the Dublin senior side.
Funnily enough I never rated Eddie brennan, a good finisher but seems to only play when KK are on top. I think he's lazy. But thats just me and I'm in a minority of one as usual.

Are you serious -Tyrone not defensive when Canavan was on the side !! They def started out that way. Once they got better, they didnt have to play as defesively (rem spillane and his puke football).
One word of warning - lots of counties have loads of underage success and dozens of star player but dont necessarily win feck all. mayo, Tyrone (before Harte), Derry, down are examples.
Still need a great manager to put it all together. Sure cork have the best panel in the country (football) and should have been dominating since AI 2007.

I knew it, I knew it might take a bit of time but eventually a thread about the All-Ireland hurling semi-final would have to include a mention of Tyrone footballers.   There is no comparrison between basketball, pass the ball of wool, please do not touch me, the ref is watching and a game of hurling.  Defensive tactics can be used in hurling without commiting 58 frees in 70 minutes.  Were there as many as ten frees in the Dublin/Tipp game?  No, thats because you can't run into the scoring area and when you reach a defender you turn your back to him and wait to be dragged down. Defensive tactics by Dublin were used while at the same time they were creating scoring chances and came within two scores of being in the All-Ireland Final and then we are told that Dublin wont win an All-Ireland in the near future because they can't score?  The leading highest scorer in the championship is a Dublin hurler and will be at the end of it and yet they can't score ???  I wish Laois hurlers could score half as much.

Here is the problem Bud, if they were playing in Cork, Tipp or Kilkenny colours we would not be discussing it. Dublin will have to earn respect, some hurling men still say Clare were a terrible team because of their style of play, Dublin have that monkey to get off their back

Quote from: Bud Wiser on August 19, 2011, 08:56:04 AM
I knew it, I knew it might take a bit of time but eventually a thread about the All-Ireland hurling semi-final would have to include a mention of Tyrone footballers.   There is no comparrison between basketball, pass the ball of wool, please do not touch me, the ref is watching and a game of hurling.  Defensive tactics can be used in hurling without commiting 58 frees in 70 minutes.  Were there as many as ten frees in the Dublin/Tipp game?  No, thats because you can't run into the scoring area and when you reach a defender you turn your back to him and wait to be dragged down. Defensive tactics by Dublin were used while at the same time they were creating scoring chances and came within two scores of being in the All-Ireland Final and then we are told that Dublin wont win an All-Ireland in the near future because they can't score?  The leading highest scorer in the championship is a Dublin hurler and will be at the end of it and yet they can't score ???  I wish Laois hurlers could score half as much.
think you are letting the 'puke football' mantra cloud yer memory Bud !
Tyrone played a defensive strategy, but like dublin, its mostly legal (or as legal as refs will allow - and thats in both codes).
If you recall Tyrone didnt conceede frees and is why they were successful. Defensive alignment doesnt meen ppersistent fouling, just clever play and massive workrate - allied with a lot of skill !

Ah ye'r all at me with this going toe to toe shite. Laois went toe to toe with Cork and we would have been better off if we had gone down to Millers and put a few sheets of marine ply, or the whole team in front of the goal. That young lad that was scoring all the goals for Dublin in the minor gamne is still a minor next year. Half the rest of the country will have emigrated and counties in the midlands and the west will be decimated.  Thats it !  Emigration. The rest of the country will emigrate and Dubs will lift the McCarthy cup !