The OFFICIAL Liverpool Supporters thread

Started by Gabriel_Hurl, November 09, 2006, 10:52:45 PM

As a matter of interest, how many points are we better off this season than last, in relation to our own performance. I see f*ck all improvement, except that United and Chelsea were worse than usual in the first few months. Liverpool will finish +10 behind United.

Quote from: Carmen Stateside on January 28, 2009, 09:49:09 PM

Hope you all seen enough of Kuyt tonight, man makes me vomit!

Kuyt was on for what, 10 minutes?

One ball to Gerrard was sublime, handled in the box error and the man makes you vomit? Wise up.

Have strongly defended Rafa in the past but I have little, if any, faith left.

His decisions at key times in past month have been baffling. Looking for a 1-0 or appearing happy with a draw. Far too cautious to win a Premiiership. Handed the baton to the Manc's big time in last few months and heaped pressure on his own team by his tactics.

I really don't know how we move on from here. Bad, bad times from such a strong first half of season.

Gerrard off  ??? That must have given Wigan such a lift. Alonso left on bench, esp when you looking to hold the ball and a 1-0.

Gutted.

In Rafe we trust......i think not anymore.

Un-defendable management c**k ups cost the win. Got what he deserved and will not be in Liverpool next season. (I hope he is) What now for Keane?

Quote from: AZOffaly on January 28, 2009, 09:51:14 PM
As a matter of interest, how many points are we better off this season than last, in relation to our own performance. I see f*ck all improvement, except that United and Chelsea were worse than usual in the first few months. Liverpool will finish +10 behind United.

Point I raised last week, we have been playing as poorly this season as last year, Uniteds poor start hid that fact.

How are we looking for Alonso on to hold the ball and then say we needed to ppush forward.

Disappointment aside I thought we played well tonight and we pushed forward in search of the second. Not enough chance creatin, but we were driving forward in droves.

Which adds credence to the fact that I'm not sure we're progressing any more under Benitez. I think over the first few years there was improvement, slow, but steady enough. This season, despite league position, I think we are playing with very little flair or imagination, and are only slightly closer due to the struggles of United and Chelsea early on.

Just goes to show you how bad things are when I have to agree with my Biffo friend...

Quote from: bingobus on January 28, 2009, 09:51:46 PM

His decisions at key times in past month have been baffling. Looking for a 1-0 or appearing happy with a draw. Far too cautious to win a Premiiership. Handed the baton to the Manc's big time in last few months and heaped pressure on his own team by his tactics.

I really don't know how we move on from here. Bad, bad times from such a strong first half of season.

Gerrard off  ??? That must have given Wigan such a lift. Alonso left on bench, esp when you looking to hold the ball and a 1-0.

Gutted.

My faith is slippin also, but I satill keep the faith due to the fantastic position we are in this season. The fact that it could have been so much better is the gutting part.

He is a tad conservative, but some posters on here would like to start with Reina and 10 forwards. A look through the points dropped and in reality the only games where we didn't push forward in droves was Stoke, Arsenal and Everton.

Quote from: corn02 on January 28, 2009, 09:53:46 PM
How are we looking for Alonso on to hold the ball and then say we needed to ppush forward.

Disappointment aside I thought we played well tonight and we pushed forward in search of the second. Not enough chance creatin, but we were driving forward in droves.

corn, Pushing forward, aka being positive, does not mean the fecking charge of the light brigade. Keeping the ball, passing and moving, getting behind the opposition, making them work is what good teams do. Any bunch of gobshites can run forwad aimlessly hoping to get a lucky break.

Quote from: corn02 on January 28, 2009, 09:55:37 PM

Gutted.

My faith is slippin also, but I satill keep the faith due to the fantastic position we are in this season. The fact that it could have been so much better is the gutting part.

He is a tad conservative, but some posters on here would like to start with Reina and 10 forwards. A look through the points dropped and in reality the only games where we didn't push forward in droves was Stoke, Arsenal and Everton.

Fantastic position  ???

A draw with Chelsea over the weekend and a Villa win, will put us to 4th.

Absolutely, we benefitted from a sloppy first half of the season from United and Chelsea. Now anyone with any sense knew that kind of form was only temporary and we couldnt/wouldnt/were not good enough to take advantage. United will be 5 ahead soon and will probably end up 10+ ahead by seasons end. I actually thought it was a pretty shit performance tonight, there was a bit of the headless chicken about tonight. Someone said we were "coasting", if you are coasting put the f**king ball in the net another couple of times then.

Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 28, 2009, 09:57:37 PM
Quote from: corn02 on January 28, 2009, 09:55:37 PM

Gutted.

Fantastic position  ???

A draw with Chelsea over the weekend and a Villa win, will put us to 4th.

Two points off the top going into February is very good, maybe not fantastic. I am sure you would have grabbed that before the start of the season.

corn, can you please stop equating 'pushing forwards in droves' with being creative, imaginative or positive. That's the last refuge of a team who are frustrated themselves and who don't have the quality or ideas to play really good attacking soccer.

Ara, I'm just grumpy tonight after that shite, the latest in a long line of steaming turds dropped by Rafa over the past 2 months or so.

Rafa has seriously lost the plot in the last month. I don't know whether it's from a combination of his spat with Ferguson, the row over transfer dealings with the owners and all the fuss over Keane's treatment but either way it's all combined into one big mess. His eye doesn't seem to be on the ball at all at the moment.

I've said before that I'd be happy to see him go in the Summer but I'd be afraid that the likes of Torres would follow him back to Spain.