Post by cicfada is ignored [reveal post] [reveal all posts by cicfada] [stop ignoring this user]
No Ziggy - I'm only messing
I think we`ll beat Arsenal at the weekend,
We've reason to be delusional dinny. Success does that to a team!! ;)
Why are Liverpool fans always so delusional, Liverpool have an average defence, an excellent midfiled and a poor attack. I fully expect Arsenal to win this one comfortably.
Are you all stupid or something? They had a bad game yesterday and this happens. They have been on a decent run and lets face it Arsenal are a pretty damn good team. Trophies are given out in April and May and while I don't expect them to win the League they are progressing. Get some persepctive ffs.
That has changed under Benitez, numerous time.
Liverpool should sell Gerrard at Christmas before people cop on that he's actually not that good/finished
Don't think Chel-ski have any need for him now though and he wouldn't go to United (would he?)
Rooney is genuinely a great player
"This shite is as bad as those who were doubting Wayne Rooney a few weeks back - typical fickle press-led bullshit. All players lose their form at some stage"
There's little comparison between the two. Rooney is genuinely a great player and even when he had a dip in output in terms of goals/assists his workrate was superb. The reason for the dip in form was a reaction to his rushed comeback for the World Cup and was therefore largely physical. A run of games would sort him out and it did.
Gerrard is standing up and letting players run away from him when Liverpool/England lose possession which is a huge no-no.
I very much doubt it given what he said about United in his autobiography.
will be interesting to see the midfield saturday any thoughts?garcia,gerrard,zenden and riise,with warnock at left back?please not aurelio!?
slack enuf performance,but sign off a good team suppose not playn well and all that
Poor result tonight we lose yet more ground on the leaders
Saw Chelsea and Bolton tonight and as 5ivetimes said Chelsea are grinding out results,Bolton and some great chances to draw level but Chelsea come thru yet again and also yeah i hate to say it United look very good
At least Arsenal lost but then again Portsmouth and Bolton even feckin Reading look like better 3rd or 4th placed bets at moment
Unlike the Glazer family’s takeover of Manchester United last year, there is no great opposition to overseas investment in Liverpool
Read today that Arab fella is worth more than Abramovich looks like the good times are ahead of us
QuoteRead today that Arab fella is worth more than Abramovich looks like the good times are ahead of us
Yes, Chelsea are the type of club Liverpool would aspire to be like. Dull, cautious, boring but who cares if we win, eh?
If this deal doesn't work out go for the reinstatement of the backpass to ensure a return to glory days.
Haven't won the league since the rule was changed....
CHELSKIS UNPOPULARITY IS PROB DUE TO THEIR MANAGER THINKING HES KING OF THE HILL AND NEVER WRONG,THATS WHAT FUCKS ME OFF BOT THEMCompletely agree with ya Charlie as a club i have nothing against Chelsea and as the season is already over for us i hope Chelsea win the league coz i couldn't bear Man United winning it
Do you realise what shite your talking?QuoteRead today that Arab fella is worth more than Abramovich looks like the good times are ahead of us
Yes, Chelsea are the type of club Liverpool would aspire to be like. Dull, cautious, boring but who cares if we win, eh?
If this deal doesn't work out go for the reinstatement of the backpass to ensure a return to glory days.
Haven't won the league since the rule was changed....
Without trying to stir things, I reckon Liverpool fans are being a bit hypocritical on the takeover issue. I know several of them who have lambasted Chelsea for the money they have spent, accusing them of buying the title etc. Some of them actually want United to win the league due to this fact. Then all of a sudden a rich investor from abraad comes in and their tune changes. Now of course they reckon it is essential to spend scandalous ammounts of money to compete in todays market.
I am quite surprised a club with such a rich history as Liverpool have decided to go down the same route as a club who are growing more unpopular by the day.
Djimi was unlucky for the penalty, I think he was very wound up from the start and the challenge that led to the penalty was a result of this, there was no malice in the challenge. I always like Djimi, he had an outstanding champions league final and for that I think we all owe him one. Great clearance from Pennants shot.
Almost a good set of results for us today. United lost, but sadly Chelski sneaked a win. I hate to say it but they look good. Plenty of fight.
1-0 Bellamy ;D
Awful game though. Watford don't make it easy. Hopefully Liverpool will get another before the end as Watford push up a bit.where you watching it?Quote
I have broadband do you know any website where i might get it or games in the future?
GREAT STUFF ;D
Tried downloading those programs and got the game but it keeps stoping and starting
Seven clean sheets in a row is great.Isn't it a pity we threw away points at start of season
On this form we'll give Barca a right bash
F*cks sake, they were awful. Why would anyone buy them? And every time I see that flecky abomination I think of Glen Hysen!!
Glen Hysen was quality AZ - I hope you aren't saying something otherwise
Lads just a query, what is Benitez's mentality when it comes to Crouch, he couldn't hit a barn door for weeks and weeks when he signed and was consistantly starting games, yet from about April last year he has been England no 1 striker by a mile, the goals he scored at the start of the season were great but Benitez has reverted him to a last 10 mins player. Maybe i've missed a dip in form (not a big pool fan) i don't know? but it just seems a weird one to me. I know Bellamy has come in but he has hardly set the scoring charts alight
Give the likes of Fowler, Palletta, Warnock
Liverpool were one dimensional and never looked like scoring from open play. Aside from a 10 minute spell after the Liverpool goal Arsenal were always in control.
You might reclaim the Kop but you won't be reclaiming the league title with that side any time soon.... ;)
QuoteGive the likes of Fowler, Palletta, Warnock
Is Warnock not at Wolves on loan? Or is that Potter?
I take it there will be a lot of critical remarks about Alonso's dive? Thought Liverpool were poor today, and carried little threat. The 2nd and 3rd goals were poor defending, but do you not think Dudek was flat footed for the first too?
It was the FA Cup tonight Dinny so no need for comments on the premiership and Arsenal are way off re claiming the Premiership
Anyone shed any light on why there was a 6 minute protest at the start of the match?
I take it there will be a lot of critical remarks about Alonso's dive?
What a shite performance. What on earth was Dudek doing out there? He looked yards off the pace. Reina I feel would have saved at least 2 of the 3 goals. If he wanted to rest Reina why not do it in the Carling Cup game instead? The defending was atrocious as well for nearly all the Arsenal goals. Real gifts.
Well done to the fans on the protest. Came across fantastic.QuoteI take it there will be a lot of critical remarks about Alonso's dive?
Considering there was clear contact I don't think he should even have been booked.
http://homepage.mac.com/rob.cozens/LFC/iMovieTheater23.html
What was the protest about and more importantly what is it supposed to achieve? Its not clear to me.
I think it was more that they reckon Liverpool fans stole wallets from the dead lying on the pitch,it was reported in The Sun newspaper at the time and i don't think The Sun ever withdrew the comments
Of course, but the Sun article at the time, titled "The Truth" also alleged that drunk fans without tickets caused the crush by trying to force their way into the stand past the cops.
QuoteOf course, but the Sun article at the time, titled "The Truth" also alleged that drunk fans without tickets caused the crush by trying to force their way into the stand past the cops.
I don;t want to barge in on a very emotive issue, but was this not the case? I was speaking to someone at the game a few years back and they said the crush outside from ticketless fans was severe, that they HAD to open the gate outside. Not too sure if he said they were drunk or not.
watched pool and arsenal on sat thought the "protest" was interesting but can somebody fill me in what this mckenzie fella is supposed to have done wrong? is he to be villified for just doing his editorial job? typical liverpool fan attitude, blame somebody else.
Wonder will Dudek keep his place tonight lads?
Surely God will get a run out?
Save your money, put it on Laois to win the All-Ireland :)
Some joke nothing else i can say
Can I be the first to say....
Rafa Out!!!
Seriously though, the capitulations to Arsenal 3 times now, as well as Man United at Old Trafford and Everton at Goodison are very worrying signs to me. Something is seriously awry when Liverpool concede 6 goals to anybody, not to mind at Anfield. regardless of the team he sent out. Is he trying too hard? All this rotation shite? I'm a firm believer in a settled side, with changes only for injuries/suspensions or the occasional rest.
I'm not too worried about tonight in isolation, but there are too many of these inept performances piling up this season. It's all very well to say we will put it up to Barcalona, but in fairness they'd be liable to score 7 or 8 against LFC if they perform as they have done in the other 'big' games this season.
Was watching with a few Arsenal mates last night and even they couldn't get too excited about their victory because of Liverpool's such inept display.
Stevie G my arse. A wonder goal every now and again does not a leader make.
Yes I know that Dudek and the defence where as leaky as Abi Titmus in a Girls Aloud video but come on Stephen, lets start seeing what all the fuss was about.
Look at mourino, has a limitless amount of money available, but at the minute he appears to be struggling
After the past few days I fear for Pool V barca.
Gunners are nearest thing to Barca the premiership have as regards pace/passing/movement
Gunners have now smashed in 12 in 3 games against Pool.
If they defend like that against Eto'o it will be a massacre and will be over after 1st leg..
If that wee shit Garcia was fit I would play him insteand of Ballsup Bolo.
Sampdoria goalkeeper Daniele Padelli will join Liverpool on a six-month loan deal, his agent has confirmed.
The Italy Under-21 goalkeeper will undergo a medical on Wednesday afternoon with the Reds before starting training under Rafael Benitez.
Agent Silvano Martina said: "Padelli will travel to Liverpool this afternoon.
"The clubs have agreed on a six-month loan deal and the player is excited at the prospect of playing for Liverpool."
Padelli, one of Italy's most promising goalkeepers, joined Serie B side Crotone on loan from Sampdoria in the summer with the aim of getting some first-team football under his belt.
However, the 21-year-old has merely served as an understudy to Salvatore Soviero, playing in just one league game.
Samp have cancelled the loan deal with Crotone which was set to run until June, and have accepted the offer made by the Premiership club.
Liverpool have been dealt a serious injury blow with the news that Luis Garcia won't play again this season.
The Spaniard was stretchered off during last night's Carling Cup clash with Arsenal and a scan has today confirmed he has ruptured the anterior cruciate ligament in his right knee.
Liverpool Head of Press Ian Cotton said: "Unfortunately we expect to be without Luis for six months."
Chilean midfielder Mark Gonzalez, meanwhile, faces up to three weeks on the sidelines with the shin injury he sustained against the Gunners.
An x-ray after last night's game immediately confirmed there was no fracture, but a scan today has revealed severe soft tissue bruising and bruising to the bone of his right shin.
Liverpool have sent a letter to Fifa asking for special dispensation to sign Argentine midfielder Javier Mascherano on loan from West Ham.
Under Fifa regulations, Mascherano, 22, cannot play for another club this season because he has already represented Corinthians and West Ham.
But Liverpool hope Mascherano will be allowed to complete a move to Anfield.
A Fifa spokesman told BBC Sport that the "player status department" was currently considering the matter.
Mascherano arrived at Upton Park with international team-mate Carlos Tevez on 31 August.
But he has played only six minutes since the defeat at Tottenham on 22 October and is desperate to leave the club
But under the world governing body's rules, a footballer cannot play competitively for more than two different clubs between 1 July and 30 June the following year.
Pick up £20m plus in the summer, with the war chest from Dubai this would give them a lot of money to work with for next season.
Scousers will beat the Russians in a few weeks and all will be well again........
Hopefully Arsenal pick up the 3 points tomorrow
Great result today didn't see it live was working but looking forward to match of the day i hear Riise had a cracker hit the cross bar
Signs of decline at Stamford Bridge mean even if the Reds are able to shrug the Londoners aside, their ultimate target is still way in the distance.
Mourinho afterwards tried to explain away his side’s slump by labelling Liverpool route one. Hmm. Potenciometro, chaleira and preto, Jose. That’s Portuguese for pot, kettle and black.
Ballack? Change a vowel and you’re not far away from an accurate description of his performance. One decent crossfield pass was the sum total of Michael Ballack’s afternoon contribution – while he was even nutmegged by a team-mate during a comedy free-kick routine which seemed to epitomise Chelsea’s troubles.
`QuoteSigns of decline at Stamford Bridge mean even if the Reds are able to shrug the Londoners aside, their ultimate target is still way in the distance.
It think it says more about Chelsea that a decline is when we are still challanging for 4 trophies!QuoteMourinho afterwards tried to explain away his side’s slump by labelling Liverpool route one. Hmm. Potenciometro, chaleira and preto, Jose. That’s Portuguese for pot, kettle and black.
Completly out of context. He stated that Rafa wasn't stupid, that he knew Chelsea's weakness in the air at the back and exploited it.
Liverpool have signed 18-year-old Dutch striker Jordy Brouwer from Ajax.
The player joins goalkeeper Daniele Padelli and defender Emiliano Insua as the new arrivals at Anfield in the transfer window.
"We've made a good signing for the future in Jordy," club chief executive Rick Parry told Liverpool's website.
"He had a youth contract at Ajax, but opted to build his career at Liverpool. We've monitored his progress and look forward to developing his potential."
Great article, the man is a great role model!
QuoteLiverpool have signed 18-year-old Dutch striker Jordy Brouwer from Ajax.
The player joins goalkeeper Daniele Padelli and defender Emiliano Insua as the new arrivals at Anfield in the transfer window.
"We've made a good signing for the future in Jordy," club chief executive Rick Parry told Liverpool's website.
"He had a youth contract at Ajax, but opted to build his career at Liverpool. We've monitored his progress and look forward to developing his potential."
Great article, the man is a great role model!
QuoteLiverpool have signed 18-year-old Dutch striker Jordy Brouwer from Ajax.
Good to see us finally investing in young European talent like Arsenal have been doing for the past 5+ years or so.
He is a hateful wee ugly tosser
He was bilge for 117 minutes - can there be any more humiliating experience than having to be bailed out by Djimi Traore? Then . . .
Who do ye think was the worst Liverpool player over the last decade or so
Traore?
Bruno Cheyrou?
Phill Babb?
Diouf?
Kromkamp?
or does anyone remember
Erik Meijer
They were a fair bad buch all the same i wouldn't be as generous as you in my opinions of any of them
Any views on this american takeover bid?
There's no harm in bending the rules.
Lets not jump the gun just yet, with Moores & Parry steering the ship they will be wanting the best possible deal on offer for the club
Gillett is American.
He owns a Canadian hockey team called the Montreal Canadiens - boooooooooooooooooooooo
im gutted dic pulled out,don't know what to make of this american fella but he hardly has as much cash as the arabs
Just in - the taped converstion of the Gillette offer:
George Gillette : The name's Gillette. George Gillette. And I come before you good people tonight with an idea. Probably the greatest... Aw, it's not for you. It's more of a Shelbyville idea.
Moores : Now wait just a minute! We're twice as smart as the people of Shelbyville! Just tell us your idea and we'll vote for it!
Quoteim gutted dic pulled out,don't know what to make of this american fella but he hardly has as much cash as the arabs
Would you try and live in the real world for God's sake. No-one (bar Roman Abramovich and Jack Walker a while back when it was a lot cheaper) is going to buy a soccer club and throw good money after bad to buy players to keep fans happy. Just be hopeful the buyer is not a leech like Glazer though it's most likely that he will be to an extent anyway. As for Parry and Moores not looking out for themselves......
Liverpool have agreed a deal with American tycoons George Gillett and Tom Hicks, who are set to complete their takeover of the club early next week.
Gillett and Hicks flew to England earlier this week for a secret meeting with senior Liverpool officials.
They persuaded the club to stall talks with Dubai International Capital, which had been expected to buy out the club.
Hicks and Gillett will split the £470m takeover on a 50-50 basis with £215m of that earmarked for a new stadium.
Gillett owns National Hockey League side Montreal Canadiens while Hicks owns rival NHL franchise Dallas Stars as well as the Texas Rangers baseball team.
Hicks has built up a reputation for developing state-of-the-art new stadia for his teams and his participation was a key factor in Liverpool deciding to go with the US bid.
The other issue which clinched the deal is the Americans guaranteed that Liverpool's new stadium on Stanley Park would not be on a groundshare basis, which had been Gillett's original plan when he was considering a solo takeover.
Gillett has impressed Liverpool with his proposals and the speed at which he completed due diligence - the process of investigation by potential investors - in three days.
The 68-year-old American has also stressed his experience in running successful sporting operations.
However, the Independent has claimed that Gillett's business empire collapsed in 1992, leading to a £33.7m personal bankruptcy.
Gillett and Hicks have worked together in the past on the board of a major US meat-processing firm.
Their idea to take over Liverpool gathered force when they met at the NHL All-Star Game last week.
It would be the first time that two owners of rival sports clubs in one league have combined to purchase a club in another.
Finding it hard to break Everton down they are well organised at the back,hope we're not going to drop valuable points here
Half time : Liverpool 0-0 Everton
Fowler is to fat an old to be playing in the PL. why did reds by him? i dono. he was crap at Man shitty an he is not gona do anything for reds this year. hes passed it. End of story.
I remember when Man Utd was bought by the yanks every Liverpool was laughing..................well who's laughing now boys??? ;)
PS Good result yesterday :-*
Poor performance from everton. johnson should have won the game but 4 points from a possible 6 against the bin dippers is a good season's work.
I remember when Man Utd was bought by the yanks every Liverpool was laughing..................well who's laughing now boys??? ;)
Both franchises being owned by Yanks...the same thing!!I remember when Man Utd was bought by the yanks every Liverpool was laughing..................well who's laughing now boys??? ;)
I think you might want to check out the difference between investment and indebtedness. I've no problem with anybody (American or otherwise) investing in Liverpool. The issue with the Glazers and ManUre was that they didn't invest a brass farthing, they took out a £600 million plus mortgage which took ManUre from one of the richest and most profitable clubs in the World to being one bad season away from bankruptcy. Hardly the same thing.
PS Good result yesterday :-*
If Liverpool fans are 'bindippers', what does that make Everton fans? :D
By Dominic Herbert & Anthony Kastrinakis
A FUN sing-song turned into a vicious punch-up as Liverpool ace Craig Bellamy saw red and waded into team-mate John Arne Riise in a drunken rage.
The sensational bust-up erupted in the early hours of Friday at the team's Portuguese hotel after a marathon boozing session.
An eye witness says the feuding Premiership stars:
TRADED INSULTS during a bar's karaoke contest when Riise refused to take the stage,
SCREAMED ABUSE as they faced each other toe to toe,
TOTTERED back to their training camp base at 2am,
FOUGHT in a hotel as Bellamy lashed out at Riise's £5 million legs with a golf club, until the pair were
SEPARATED by head coach Rafael Benitez.
The outrage has massive implications for both players and the club, who have just been taken over by new American owners.
Tycoon co-chairmen George Gillett and Tom Hicks who invested £470 million were said to be furious that their name has been dragged through the mud just before a vital Champions League clash with Barcelona on Wednesday—their most important match this year.
Insiders have predicted it could spell the end of 27-year-old bad boy Bellamy's career at Anfield.
The astonishing incident kicked off at Monty's Restaurant and Bar in the upmarket Algarve Vale do Lobo resort where Welsh international Bellamy and Norwegian World Cup hero Riise, 25, were winding down with colleagues after five days' training in preparation for Wednesday.
An inside source revealed: "There had been a lot of drinking and everyone was enjoying themselves.
"But it all went wrong when Craig tried to drag John up for a song.
"There was a karaoke competition going on, but John's a quiet one off the pitch and wasn't having it at all.
"It started off as a bit of a lark with some of the other lads having a go but then it got completely out of hand. John went ballistic because Craig wouldn't take no for an answer. He was screaming at Craig to leave him alone, saying he wouldn't do it and yelling insults.
"Everyone was completely stunned by it because they were really having a go, standing there toe to toe swearing at each other. There were about 20 players in the bar including all the senior guys, like Steven Gerrard, Peter Crouch and Dirk Kuyt.
"They were warned to keep a lid on it and it appeared to calm down.
"It was really late, about 2am, and the players eventually started drifting off to bed. But Craig, who was sharing with Steve Finnan, was so wound up he couldn't sleep.
"He suddenly grabbed a golf club and went looking for John. And when he found him he waded in, hacking at his legs with the club.
"All hell was let loose and John suffered a lot of bruising. Craig was out of control and shouting that John had belittled him in front of the lads."
Eventually coach Benitez was called to separate the two stars. The boss was said to be horrified and called both players to an emergency summit after they sobered up.
Benitez had plenty to worry about. Unconfirmed reports in a local newspaper said one footballer had also been handcuffed after allegedly trying to headbutt a policeman.
And it was claimed other players smashed electrical equipment in the resort with their golf clubs.
Staff at the four-star Barringtons Centro Deportivo hotel were ordered to keep quiet about the disturbance.
"The players flew back to Britain on Friday and were trying to keep a lid on the shameful incident.
But our source said: "With Liverpool just about to play one of the most important matches in their history this is the last thing they need.
"The break was meant to be a bit of rest and recreation with light training to get the team acclimatised for the Nou Camp on Wednesday, but this fight has ruined everything.
"It has heaped disgrace on the club when all the attention should be focused on what happens on the pitch. The new owners can't understand how grown men can behave like this. They believe the club's reputation is in the gutter and find it incredible that this should happen just before the Barcelona game.
"If Liverpool lose the match because of this there'll be hell to pay."
Riise's teammates are shocked at Bellamy's attack on a fellow professional and friend. A source said: "To smash a golf club into a fellow player's legs is unforgivable.
"It's the worst place ever to attack a footballer. Damaged legs are no good to anyone in this business and Riise is known for his trademark blockbusting shots.
"It's like deliberately trying to break someone's leg on the pitch — however cross or angry you are, it's a no-brainer. You just can't do it.
"John was mortified when Craig came bursting into his room like that. Anything could have happened."
It is not clear what punishments the players face. But hard-line Spaniard Benitez is unlikely to tolerate such loutish behaviour ever again and at the very least is expected to fine both men heavily.
One insider said: "Some people feel it's time to ship Bellamy out so he can be someone else's problem."
A Liverpool spokesman said: "We're not prepared to make any comment."
Bloody hell, what sort of professional footballer tries to deliberatly ruin a fellow pros careerer, never mind a team mates. I wonder will he ever play again for Liverpool?
where was this report taken from?
If that's how Liverpool try to prepare to win the European Cup 6 times then so be it... ;)
Bellamy is filth. He fits into the Liverpool set-up so well. ;)
Over the bar....Fair comment he should have behaved a bit better, like that deceased wifebeating, alcoholic waster you Salford City supporters hold in such high regard......
He really utilised that talent,was it 6 months or something he played for United for? his main talent was in the players lounge after the matches.Bellamy might be a tool but we have the right manager to deal with him, not a manager that spends half his days in a brandy induced haze... ;)what manager would that be?
[/quo
Alex "Rosey Cheeks" Ferguson
Liverpool have had some mad parties in the past, whether it invloves players cavorting with strippers in front of a disgusted Michael Owen or Don Hutchison running round naked apart from a beermat covering his c**k.
Over The Bar......I wonder will it take Fergie another 13 yrs to win the European Cup again.....
If that's how Liverpool try to prepare to win the European Cup 6 times then so be it... ;)
Farandeelin.....Salford City Reds will not be preparing to win a 6th European Cup in your lifetime.
Well I'm only 19 so there's plenty of time... I bet in 1990 you didn't think we'd be chasing 16 League titles 17 years on!
Javier Mascherano has been cleared to play for Liverpool this season after the Premier League accepted the club's request to register him at Anfield.
The Argentine midfielder, 22, agreed to join the Reds before the close of the transfer window last month.
The deal was held up as the Premier League wanted to assess whether the relationship between club and player was "subject to third-party influence".
But the Premier League is now satisfied the move does not breach its rules.
A statement on the Premier League's website read: "The Premier League has confirmed that the application by Liverpool FC to register Javier Mascherano as a player has been accepted.
"The Premier League is satisfied that the contractual arrangements proposed by Liverpool FC are consistent with its rules; particularly that the relationship between club and player is not subject to third-party influence.
"The Premier League is grateful for Liverpool FC's cooperation and openness at the start and throughout the process."
Is Voronin really what we are looking for? 5 goals this season, 6 in 40 appearances for Ukraine. He is not exactly the kind of blue chip player i thought we would be going for with our apparent new wealth.
QuoteIs Voronin really what we are looking for? 5 goals this season, 6 in 40 appearances for Ukraine. He is not exactly the kind of blue chip player i thought we would be going for with our apparent new wealth.
It seems Benitez like his predecessor is very much a quantity rather than quality kinda guy when it comes to buying players. Will be interesting to see if the new owners wish to keep him at the helm come the end of the year.
My point being Giles and Co never give Liverpool any credit any time they are on RTE, Brady said he thought Barca would win comfortabley, implying the reds had'nt a hope in hell
Is Voronin really what we are looking for? 5 goals this season, 6 in 40 appearances for Ukraine. He is not exactly the kind of blue chip player i thought we would be going for with our apparent new wealth.I have a feeling we will be another 8-10 goal a season man and we have enough of those......
Definitely the first one. He looked back at the ref, complained about the United player holding on to him, and when the kick came in he engineered a tangle and went down. I defintely call that a dive.In fairness i dont care if he does it again on Saturday against the scum.........
First was no penalty but i wonder should Crouch have got one anyways for the high kick?
Delighted for Robbie two excellent penos and what a great pass to set up Gerrard,Would definatly hold on to Fowler instead of that Vororin fella next year
Over in Liverpool, meanwhile, Rafa Benítez will bump "best finisher" Robbie Fowler even further down the pecking order by taking Samuel Eto'o off Barcelona's hands. New American owners Tom Hicks and George Gillett are willing to spend the £20m necessary, and Benítez reckons his Spanish contacts could help him beat Arsenal and Chelsea to the punch. He needn't actually worry about Arsenal, to be fair, since Arsène Wenger - rather predictably - is actually after a completely different, cheaper Eto'o - Samuel's brother Etienne, currently playing up front for Mallorca
Right
no bravado or crap, just what do you think the score will be?
Fowler pulling 1 back for a penalty following a fowl on Stevie G
Can't stand Neville either or Ferdinand talk about being over rated Carragher is far ahead of the great RioCarragher does what defenders are supposed to do....defend!! Rio would rather prance about like a frustrated midfielder. Rooney is the most overrated player in years, if he was Scottish or Welsh you wouldnt hear half the shite you do about him. As for a temporary loss of form that has been associated with him, i would say no goal in 17 Champions League games is a bit more prolonged than "temporary"......
Honestly though United have two of my favourite players Giggs and Scholes i would have loved to see either play for Liverpool other than that i couldn't think of anyone else who i would have liked to see play for the Pool not even Rooney who i also think is overrated and much hyped by the media
Yeah they do desreve it,they didn't deserve to win today but thats what it takes to become champions
Top Class striker and two wingers needed Gonzalez and Pennant in my opinion not up to it
Have to agree with you, Gonzalez has the speed of a 100m sprinter but never takes the man on, he always takes the easy way out and plays the ball inside. As for Pennant we had to go for him because we couldnt afford Dani Alves of Sevilla last summer, hopefully the days of having to settle for 2nd rate players are behind us.....
Sissoko could do with improvin his first touch and passing, most of it was brual............he near gave it away everytime he got it. If Risse had have been given a better lay off for his freekick he'd have scored, sure he had to stretch to get it!
Ye, Bellamy was a good outlet today...........thought Crouchie should have stuck his head in that last chance.............probably afraid of hitting his nose!
We won the league on the Mersey, We Won the league on MERSEYSIDE!! :D ;D
we won the league on MERSEYSIDE! ;D
Fair enough slim. This years win will bring Utd up to 16 League titles. Two more and you will have caught Liverpool, that is unless Liverpool add another one.
There's f*ck all won in March
QuoteThere's f*ck all won in March
Exactly. It would be dangerous to read too much into this result. It puts United in a strong position but they are playing poorly.
Still you can't blame United fans for glorying in the result. If the boot was on the other foot the United thread would be full of similar stuff. There weren't too many thread police getting on to Syd the Sailor (hope you enjoyed the result!) when he made his sick Munchen comments.
QuoteThere's f*ck all won in March
Exactly. It would be dangerous to read too much into this result. It puts United in a strong position but they are playing poorly.
Still you can't blame United fans for glorying in the result. If the boot was on the other foot the United thread would be full of similar stuff. There weren't too many thread police getting on to Syd the Sailor (hope you enjoyed the result!) when he made his sick Munchen comments.
Apparently the Hillsborough memorial was defaced according to some of the Liverpool websites. "Murderers. Hillsborough, it should have been more" was spray painted on in the middle of the Friday night but cleaned early Saturday morning before the crowds arrived.
What were United fans doing in Liverpool on Friday night?
QuoteApparently the Hillsborough memorial was defaced according to some of the Liverpool websites. "Murderers. Hillsborough, it should have been more" was spray painted on in the middle of the Friday night but cleaned early Saturday morning before the crowds arrived.
All clubs have the scum element. Please don't start all this again
yes, United fans would have been down the night before- of course. The journey is about 45mins down the road but they'd have felt the need to make a night of it!! dont be ridiculous.
making these accusations (if it wasnt you it was some other browned off Liverpool fan) is merely trying to piss on our parade!
yes, United fans would have been down the night before- of course. The journey is about 45mins down the road but they'd have felt the need to make a night of it!! dont be ridiculous.
making these accusations (if it wasnt you it was some other browned off Liverpool fan) is merely trying to piss on our parade!
it may be the case that Old Trafford holds United fans from far flung places but their away fans are mostly from Manchester!
yes, it was wrong that this happened (if it did) but GBB (and whoever firstly made up the story) was simply trying to dampen down the spirits of Uniteds win by coming out with it on here.
i mean, f**k sake- who in their right mind would be at it? for fear of being caught if nothing else!
no doubt next time at Old Trafford the Liverpool fans will probably destroy the toilets or something equally stupid.
I have a feeling there might be a nasty sting in the tail tonight.... :(
Great to be through.
Should have been 2 or 3 up at half-time. We really need to start taking our chances and a top striker in the Summer.
We were comfortable in the second half until Arebola played Gudjonsen onside. Was always going to be nervy after that.
Dunphy now going through us for a shortcut. Considering we were written off completely when the draw was made I think he's got some neck.
Anybody else watching the inter valencia fight?? its serious stuff, bound to be big trouble for this, still fighting in the tunnel 10 minutes laterSeen it, an absolute disgrace. The fracas in the Carling cup final was handbags when compared to this. the Valencia reserve keper came running on a punched a Inter player in the face, he done a runner with 3 players after him, fight in the tunnel, dressing room, ayala, Figo and all semed to be having a go. must be something done to Inter as they always get away with this type of behaviour.
Is the draw on friday a open draw or seeded? Good chance that Liverpool,Celtic,Man U,Chelsea and Arsenal will all be in it that would be something else..
Dunphy can go and fcuk off - it it had have been United and his "beloved" Roy doing that tonight - he'd be all different
To be fair, he has be slabbering of about Utd as well in recent times, so dont go thinking it is just the 'Pool getting the sh1t.
I noticed that as well last about the Fields Of Athenry, the supporters seemed to be changing certain parts of it ???
No credit whatsoever for comfortably beating the reigning champions over two legs.
FFS will all the Scouse supporters wise up.
Ye got your result & fair play to ye, but stop bleating about the pundits on RTE.
Some on here are starting to sound like Jose 'we dont get the praise we are due'.
If you want someone to blow your trumpet listen to Jamie 'I have no feckin opinion & always sit on the fence' Redknapp.
So enjoy the result and stop this bullsh1t
You would never get anyone from Man Utd bleating about the coverage they get, oh thats right Alex "I love the sauce" Ferguson doesent speak to BBC anymore
Liverpool murdered Barca in the first half
In fairness there is no-one in RTE to compare with that turd Alan Greene
I think they are not too far off the mark, but they lose people because they are too aggresive about it.
QuoteYou would never get anyone from Man Utd bleating about the coverage they get, oh thats right Alex "I love the sauce" Ferguson doesent speak to BBC anymore
In fairness there is no-one in RTE to compare with that turd Alan Greene. He absolutely detests United. Actually, cvome to think of it - Syd - are you Alan Greene?
We won this leg but maybe we were lucky considering the amount of chances they created in the first half. We tried everything possible and I am proud of the spirit and effort my players put in. They worked hard and tried everything but Liverpool are a difficult team to play against. They are strong and mentally tough. That is the way it goes. Sometimes it is like that in football however hard you try. I can only congratulate Liverpool, they are a vigorous side and for the neutral it must have been a game full of good attacking football. From Liverpool it was a great performance. Their style is very difficult to play against. We tried everything, although we were not at our best. We fought to the very last seconds but Liverpool were highly motivated and they defended in such a way to stop us getting close to their goal. Anfield is such a difficult place to play in, so we are out, but I was very impressed with the spirit and fight we showed. I now expect to see that for the rest of the season.
The goal being a c**k up by Arebola who didn't step up and played Gudjonsen onside.
Was it Pennant who didnt step up?
Of course RTE's panel are OTT, but they are OTT, hyper critical, about everything.
By the way for all the criticism he gets does anyone think we've been missing Garcia since his injury?
pull teams around with clever passingThats not going tp happen with the current crop. Garcia for all his faults has a passing football brain.
I firmly believe if they had one more top class defender and a goal scorer they would be an excellent teamDo you not think that last night showed that our midfield completely lacks a footballing brain??
Rossie, you say 'not with the current crop', and to an extent I agree. However, these guys are professional footballers and should be able to pass the ball around. You need to work on these things in training, and I think that is being neglected.
Also, if the 'current' crop cannot do this, even after training, then get rid of them. I still think that every one of them could be proficient ball-players if that was made a priority. You can't tell me that Xabi Alonso cannot pass a ball 15 yards, and that Sissoko should not be able to do likewise.
Pass and Move is more than a tactic, it's a philosophy, and it has to be drummed into the players. Arsenal have it, United have it and Liverpool made an art form of it in the 70s and 80s. We need to get it back.
That's it Slim, and if they even made a (c)rap song out of it, it shows what they were built on. If they were to release a single now it'd be something like 'Tackle and Punt, Garcia's a cnut':D :D
Chelsea
PSV
AC Milan
Valencia
Bayern Munich
Roma
Man United
Well lads who'd ye like?
Wouldn't be afraid of any of them myself i think we are more than capable of beating any of those over two legs
It's wide open now with Inter,Real and Barcelona gone
but Bayern and Milan don't have great sides at present by their own high standards.
Chelsea
PSV
AC Milan
Valencia
Bayern Munich
Roma
Man United
Well lads who'd ye like?
Wouldn't be afraid of any of them myself i think we are more than capable of beating any of those over two legs
It's wide open now with Inter,Real and Barcelona gone
i'd have anton over rio anyday
Part of the best defense in the Premiership all the same. Along with Gary Neville. Just cos you hate someone doesn't mean they're shite.
He has one of those faces you just want to punch ;D ;D
That managerial juggernaut (sacked from Walsall) Paul Merson
Liverpool's new owners Tom Hicks and George Gillett have suspended work on their proposed new stadium and ordered a review of the plans.
BBC Sport understands the pair want to examine ways of increasing the 60,000 capacity of the arena in Stanley Park.
Liverpool have targeted 2009 as an opening date for the stadium, but if major changes are made, there would need to be a new planning application.
This could result in a delay, although the original date may yet be met.
Liverpool have yet to confirm the decision to suspend preparatory work on the £215m project.
But BBC Sport believes the club's hierarchy regards the move to commission a review of the plans as a sign of the huge ambition of Gillett and Hicks rather than any move to back away from the original scheme.
Gillett and Hicks are fully behind the project as part of their takeover plan, and it is understood the review will take ''weeks rather than months'', allowing work on any alterations to the original design to get under way as soon as possible.
An increased capacity will be one of the plans under discussion during the review, but this is not a guarantee that this will happen.
Work on the new ground needs to start in the spring because public money has been allocated to the regeneration element of the plan, and it has to be spent by the end of 2008.
Gillett said in early February: "The shovel needs to be in the ground in the next 60 days.
"We are fully supportive of the Stanley Park development and of building a facility that we hope will be the greatest facility in this sport.
"We do work hard on design and development and making sure the quality of the fan experience is unparalleled.
"We want to make sure the newest technology is incorporated in it. It is about the comfort of fans."
And Hicks added: "We have our own people lined up to see if, within the confines of the plans, there are any other ideas that would be good for the fans."
I wouldnt pay too much attention to that toolbag Magpie Seaneen shitstirring, i think most Liverpool fans agree we have the right manager and the right owners.
We have the right manager. Whether the new owners will do the business for the club remains to be seen.
i think most Liverpool fans agree we have the right manager and the right owners
Liverpool manager Rafael Benitez is ready to swoop for Athletic Bilbao defender Mikel San Jose. (Daily Mirror)
Anyone know much about this guy?
Liverpool manager Rafael Benitez is ready to swoop for Athletic Bilbao defender Mikel San Jose. (Daily Mirror)
Anyone know much about this guy?
Horefully not another f**king Josemi or Pellegrino..... >:(
We look tired although Andy Johnston did us a big favour. Is there any chance Garcia will be available before the end of the season ?I think his touch could be what the Doctor ordered for the CL final victory over MUFC ;)
PSV lost 5-1 at home to Ajax!
I see the ref was about to send off the granny shagger at the end of the United game but bottled it....
Jaysis Johhny Giles is a grumpy f**ker.4-1 on saturday and 3-0 tonight and he's still not convinced with Liverpool
Their not World beaters yet they can match anyone on their day is that not a bit of a contradiction?
While they are not the best team in the world they certainly deserve more credit than those fools on RTE give them
Can't always put it down to the other team being garbage they still had to score the goals,if United done the same tomorrow night after Roma being garbage it be hailed as a great european result..My beef is not with you J70 it's those knobs on RTE
Was just Giles and Brady tonight the only onw who talked any sense was Trevor Steven who Giles and Brady both disagreed with not surprisingly..
Liverpool won 3-0 yet Giles reckon they should have done more in first 20mins while Stevens thought in the first half of a first leg match you don't go gung ho which i would agree with.FFS they won 3-0 what difference does it make that they didn't drive forward in first 20mins ???
Also Giles was saying Liverpool didn't play well but football is all about the result and not the preformance...Strange then that after the Ireland/Wales match he said it's just as much about the preformance as the result a contradiction or what!!
possibly another central defender coz sami getting on.
CONTRADICTION,A COMMON THEME ON RTE]
"Also Giles was saying Liverpool didn't play well but football is all about the result and not the preformance...Strange then that after the Ireland/Wales match he said it's just as much about the preformance as the result a contradiction or what!!"
Dubnut,
Brady said he did'nt fancy the pool to win the CL before the Barca game
j70 what are u talking about rte has the best tv coverage.joke!i just turn over the odd occassion to have a laugh at how ridiculous they are and the amount of crap they talk.your ideal line up for tv coverage would probably be giles,dunphy and ian wright!
Real shame about Aurelio but it's been a great 4 days.Up Brady's hole- shower of begrudgers,bring on the Chelski !
mitent be chelski after lnight
Real shame about Aurelio but it's been a great 4 days.Up Brady's hole- shower of begrudgers,bring on the Chelski !
mitent be chelski after lnight
Brady has taken such a venomous attitude to Liverpool's progress in this year's CL that I can't help but feel he is resentful that Arsenal can bust humps over the best part of a decade to win the thing only to have the cup dashed so cruelly from their lips ...
Most clubs didn't have the political clout to get the rules bent for them to sign him.
agree with cm,i rate sissoko but his tendancy to give the ball away cheaply is worrying,masch has a fine range of passing,however, dont forget how immense momo was in the camp nou.now favourites for the cleague i see
Most clubs didn't have the political clout to get the rules bent for them to sign him.
10 times ??? wise up child, theres a place for children like u... HOGANSTAND
That is the biggest pile of shit i ever heard, yes ferdinand had a bad game 2day...but that doesnt make him worse that that hatefull **** carragher
yaeh New Devil I know you!!!!!!! Stay out of the liverpool thread you upstart! >:(
"Cybercop" aka J70 go and cry to your mammy and get a life......
Arsenal drop points again today,3rd place should be Liverpools now
The only children around here are those who have to resort to aggressive and offensive name-calling to get some attention because they have nothing worthwhile to say.
Would you include "Newdevil" in that Serpico?
Good programme on Sky One at moment... Greatest Goals scored against Man United
Riise's is the best free kick i've ever seen :o
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tzDfQiZsQa4
Riise's is the best free kick i've ever seen :o
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tzDfQiZsQa4
After watching match tonight i would really have preferred Valencia in semis i didn't see much from them that would trouble Liverpool
You have to wonder how many times Chelsea will lose in semi finals?
It's not that I think Valencia would have been an easier tie than Chelsea (PSV, chickens, counts, hatching etc yadda blah), it's that the intensity of another Chelsea semi-final is going to send my blood pressure through the roof :-[
This side, no matter what people say about their style, is special. To be sitting mid April, with all the adversity that has happened this season, and still by shoting for an unprecadented quadruple is unreal. Some day, hopefully this side will get the credit that they have never received. Sure money can buy you good players, but it can't buy the spirit, hunger and determination onshow tonight.
Sure money can buy you good players.....
even with a big squad when you consider the injuries that they've had. Its going to be an interesting end to the season.
Crouch I believe is top scorer for the CL ahead of Kaka and Drogba.
Can't get the thought of that 6 mins of injury time outta my head the last time we met chelski in the semi's. Has to be the longest 6 mins of my life, especially as that gudjonsen shot whizzed past the post. If we do get through tonight, I am dreading the semi. I hate matches like that, heart racing, butterflies in my stomach etc etc. As for a final against the scum, oh my god!!!!
If we manage to get to the final, is anyone able to get tickets from a reliable source?
I had a man in the FAI but I cant locate him at the minute.
Is it just me or has anyone else noticed that Andy Grays hatred for Liverpool comes out of every pore in his body, he really is a rotten ****.
*cough* Bluenose *cough*
I know he was a blue nose but he is supposed to be impartial as a commentator.
Couldn't disagree with you more do you not remember GEEERRRRRAAAARRRRDDDDDDD YOOOOUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU BEEEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAUUUUUUTTTTTTTTTYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY
Gray is Scottish............And i doubt he has as much hate for Liverpool as Syd the Sailor seems to think
I know he's Scottish, but it's in the interests of Sky to big up the Premiership and Gray is nothing if not a slave of the Dirty Digger.
Is there a commentator or pundit out there who isn't perceived to be an idiot or doesn't have an alleged grudge against Liverpool and/or Man Utd?
I know he's Scottish, but it's in the interests of Sky to big up the Premiership and Gray is nothing if not a slave of the Dirty Digger.
And ??? You still haven't given your view on if he hates Liverpool or not..I don't care if he bigs up the premiership etc but i have never known him to be a hater of Liverpool..anything but in my opinion
Liverpool V Middlesbrough
2-0
Job Done :)
cisse = collymore II
dont think cisse was nearly as talented as collymore, but i see the psycho element ok
neither what you would call team players...
Good result, didn't see the game but 3 points and a clean sheet are all that was needed. As has been said rest a few boys on Saturday and focus on the Chelsea game. With 3 points guaranteeing CL football next year, a win, however scrappy on Saturday, would allow them to relax against Chelsea. I checked the last ten games of the two teams and the stats are familar, Liverpool 6 W, 2 L, 2 D, 14 F 4 A Chelsea 7 W, 1 L, 2 D, 20 F, 8 A. More impirtantly Liverpool had 6 clean sheets and Chelsea only had 3. They are a bit more porous than they have been in previous years whereas Liverpool have become nearly watertight at the back.
Heganboy, how does thsi sound. Liverpool Manure in the Final, 10 minutes to go in Extra Time and God comes off the bench. Rio trips up the Flying Dutchman as he speeds for the goal and God hammers home the winner! What a night that would be ;D
If it is us & the Scousers I would have to watch it in the house with the phone off the hook.
Although opposing teams Corn I know what you mean
Will anyone else find it hard to watch the match if it is us and the Mancs?
gerrard!! Surely they can leave him out today?
Could I get a link? Please :)
Is Essien the only player suspended for the russians?
banned for racist chanting but Munich songs, stoning ambulances, throwing cups full of shite at away fans and singing songs about a players broken leg as he lies on the field are all acceptable?
scumbags? Tolerated? never :-\
AZ its the first time i've spoken to the sailor and no, i do not know him thankfully.
What I find completely laughable about it all is this "we" sh!t. Any of you would be likely to get a good box in the mouth on the strength of your accent alone in most of these North England cesspits. Grow the fcuk up.
And I laugh at people who complain about people who support a club refering to them as "we". Why the hell wouldn't I say we?
And as for the second part I've been over to liverpool many a time and never once received a " Good box in the month" due to my accent. Nor any of my mates.
a good oul riot never harmed anyone....oh wait, i forgot about Hysel!
And as for Slim, you were ( Rightly) complaining about Liverpool fans signing about Munich or about Smith and you come out with this crap. That's the bit I was on about glass houses, and you prove the point for me!!
Lads - f**k off with this shite will ye's
I agree with my BIFFO friend
Quick lads knock it off before the boul Hurl locks this thread......
QuoteQuick lads knock it off before the boul Hurl locks this thread......
::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) - it'll not be locked - as long as you keep your racist comments out of it
How did you feel about Slims reference to Heysel, ok to mention 35 people dying but as long as we are PC you are happy....
Mr Whiter than White Hurl, please point out anything I've said that is untrue and I shall duly Edit it.
if not, please refrain from comparing me to Uncle Albert over there.
Personally - I think we should line out like thisReina
Finnan Carragher Agger Arbeloa
Alonso Mascherano
Pennant Gerrard Riise
Crouch
Aparently he has "You'll never walk alone" tatooed on his arm.
Maybe he's a Celtic fan?
banned for racist chanting but Munich songs, stoning ambulances, throwing cups full of shite at away fans and singing songs about a players broken leg as he lies on the field are all acceptable?
scumbags? Tolerated? never :-\
Disappointed with the performance - but we got away lightly tonight with the result tonight.
We were terribly narrow in the middle - and had no creativity
that match was f**king woeful and its sad to see such shite played in the semi-final of the European Cup. No exciting players on either side apart from a minor glimpse of Drogba but that was overshadowed by the silly big nonce diving all over the show and he should have been booked.
If Chelsea score at the Stadium of Bindippers then they go through, there is no way i can see Liverpool score 3 times. Especially after last nights efforts.
Lads at work saying Dunphy had a go at Rafa after the match - does anyone watch the three grumpy old men anymore?
I am in position
Rafa says open wide Syd
I would not be overly confident next week but maybe Chelsea will s*it the togs again next week like 2 yrs ago and big brave JT will be crying like a p*sy again.
Oh and Drogba is a horrible cheating piece of shit.
QuoteI would not be overly confident next week but maybe Chelsea will s*it the togs again next week like 2 yrs ago and big brave JT will be crying like a p*sy again.QuoteOh and Drogba is a horrible cheating piece of shit.
;D Would yous not be better off looking in house, at your fans behaviour last night chaps?
Listen have we any control over the fans? I think we have a right to voice an opinion on the team, and they can steal all the hubcaps and eat all the rats they want for all i care, as long as the team do the business i wont worry about the crime rate in Liverpool
Watching liverpool play soccer is akin to wiping your hole repeatedly with sandpaper after a weekend on bad stout.
Thats rich coming from an Armagh man.
Catch a grip Norf Tyrone, some of antics last night were a disgrace. If there is ever any pushing or shoving in a game he is first in mouthing & throwing his size about, yet if anyone touches him, he drops like he was taken out by a sniper. That in any man's book is lying & cheating
throw in the likes of Rooney, Ashley Cole, Bellamy
even the boy Roy Keane wasn't adverse to the odd dive.
Also Maureen has no shame - claiming it was a penalty as "fact" yet it was clearly outside the box and weather it was a free was debatable. He was clearly relying on second half info, as the replays show he didn't react during the actual incident.
Well what the f**k was that **** cole doing everytime he got the ball...thats right pumping it up to that other **** up front.
Elleray would have sent Keane off for farting...was the second yellow not for getting involved in handbags with Hendry and Co...
Well what the f**k was that **** cole doing everytime he got the ball...thats right pumping it up to that other **** up front.
Wouldnt mind being from Chelsea - quite a lot of cnuts there :D
What do you really think of them gawa?
Also Maureen has no shame - claiming it was a penalty as "fact" yet it was clearly outside the box and weather it was a free was debatable. He was clearly relying on second half info, as the replays show he didn't react during the actual incident.
QuoteAlso Maureen has no shame - claiming it was a penalty as "fact" yet it was clearly outside the box and weather it was a free was debatable. He was clearly relying on second half info, as the replays show he didn't react during the actual incident.
Mourinho had the grace to apologise after the game in the press conferance. He stated it should've been a free-kick, and the ref made a mistake. However stated that he also made mistakes, and that the ref had a fairly good game.
'It was handball for sure. If it's inside the box and a penalty or outside the box and a free kick is something I cannot say.
But the referee had a very good game. He controlled a game like this with one yellow card - it could be two: one for Javier [Mascherano] and one for Alonso. No more than that. The players were super-correct.
For me the referee was top but, like everybody can, he made a mistake with Arbeloa's handball. But we all make mistakes, me, the players, the ref, even Syd The Sailor! If it's a penalty or free kick, I don't know but it's one decision against us - a big one. But it's not fair to say the referee is responsible for the 1-0 scoreline and with this handball decision it could be 2-0. For what we did in the first-half, we had more than enough chances to score two, three or four goals. We had big chances to score so 1-0 is very short.
Good game on sky sports 2 FA Youth Cup Final
Liverpool 1 - 0 Man United
its 2-2 on agg now in extra time
Liverpool have some good youngsters,Jimmy Ryan looks good not sure if he's Irish or not
Haven't seen all match,Does away goals not count? If they do United are ahead as they scored two at Anfield
Bit early to be gloating NT.
Woudn't want you to put the mockers on your team or anything.
Lay it off Syd no need for that
I have went on the record before ladies about how i wouldnt attach too much significance to the Youth Cup
You also posted this on the Man Utd thread SydQuoteI have went on the record before ladies about how i wouldnt attach too much significance to the Youth Cup
So don't just jump on bandwagon now they have won it
You also posted this on the Man Utd thread SydQuoteI have went on the record before ladies about how i wouldnt attach too much significance to the Youth Cup
So don't just jump on bandwagon now they have won it
Liverpool Youth Cup Winners 2007, beat the scum on penalties after 2-2 overall draw. The wankers on United thread dont seem too bothered this week but were shooting their mouths off last week when United won the 1st leg
thought it didnt matter to you.....
Fcuk, you are some w4nker sidney
Well done to the Liverpool Youth team
Cheers boss ;)
just curious is all , it will only turn into a rant if you start ranting...
TBH Bingo, IMHO, Most of the Scouse supporters on here are genuine, know their football & enjoy the slagging (giving & taking), but it is the likes of sidney the wailer that turns every topic in a mud-slinging shit talking session
Maybe you should have a word with Slimfast & New Devil, bindippers, rateaters hubcaps etc zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
Aye Syd wise up. You've probably only been supporting Liverpool since May 25th 2005. I reckon you've been a Leeds, Blackburn, Man United, Arsenal and Chelsea fan in the past ;)
Tony isnt here any more!!
Or in a crush were people were killed.
No auto pilot required.
Quote from slim earlier in the tread when discussing the rows at United games.
a good oul riot never harmed anyone....oh wait, i forgot about Hysel!
If you don't find this distasteful or to be honest down right scummy then fair enough. For me comments like that are every bit as bad as singing about Munich.
And I've been to a few games aswell. Not as many as I'd like but a few. What has that to do with anything?
How often do you lads get to anfailed? any regulars?
Wonder what kind of team he puts out tomorrow?
I have a draw backed,and in fairness i'd take it with no injurys ahead of Anfields greatest night to be on tuesday
Wonder what kind of team he puts out tomorrow?
I have a draw backed,and in fairness i'd take it with no injurys ahead of Anfields greatest night to be on tuesday
May as well give Fowler a runout and give him a chance to bow out with a goal or two before the season is over. One of the best there has been in Premiership albeit for a short period of time.
I f**king knew it. What is the sense of putting out this crap. Doesn't make sense.
Todays result is irrelevant, Tuesday is what counts.
Utd won the league today :(
any views on a team for tomorrow night lads?
I'd go for
Renia
Finnan Carra Agger Riise
Pennant Gerrard Alonso Gonzalez
Kuyt Crouch
There might be a case for playing Riise on the left wing and bringing Aurelio in at left back too
Would expect him to be substituted if this happens! I like your team we gotta get wide and get crosses in for Crouch !! Starting to sweat thinking bout it nervous as f***! :)
Anyone else think if Drogba gets booked he won't bother trying to much as he'll know he's gone from the final?
Well it shit or bust now isn't we have to go for the jugalar from the off,Chelsea must be tiring now
Liverpool full-back Steve Finnan is set to return as the Reds look to overhaul a 1-0 first-leg deficit in their Champions League semi-final at Anfield.
Striker Peter Crouch could also be in line for a starting place.
Chelsea striker Andriy Shevchenko has joined Ricardo Carvalho and Michael Ballack on the injured list but fit-again Arjen Robben is in the squad.
Midfielder Michael Essien returns for the Blues, but he could be drafted into central defence in place of Carvalho.
Where you hear that Galway?
Hi Stateside. Cant make out who that is on your photo .Is it you?Na its Wee Dan!
2-nil again
I like to look of this team - I'm not fussed on Zenden play - who else can we stick out there?
liverpool 1 (1) chelsea0 (1) aet. reina to put pool into final with save on shevchenkos penalty ;D
Riise is already left back
and Gonzalez is rubbish
I watched it as a neutral - not really being too bothered about soccer.
One thing that struck me is the complete bias of the RTE commentary team and the analysts in the studio apart from Dunphy towards Liverpool.
I would expect more from RTE.
And also, for what its worth, IMHO Liverpool getting to the champions league final (and winning it 2 years ago) devalues the title of "best team in Europe". There is no possible way they can be considered as such regardless of their results in the champions league
I don't think anyone with half a brain in their head would consider the RTE panel biased towards Liverpool. They get stuck into us regularly. They just wanted us to win tonight as we were the better team in general play.
I watched it as a neutral - not really being too bothered about soccer.
One thing that struck me is the complete bias of the RTE commentary team and the analysts in the studio apart from Dunphy towards Liverpool.
I would expect more from RTE.
And also, for what its worth, IMHO Liverpool getting to the champions league final (and winning it 2 years ago) devalues the title of "best team in Europe". There is no possible way they can be considered as such regardless of their results in the champions league
I don't think anyone with half a brain in their head would consider the RTE panel biased towards Liverpool. They get stuck into us regularly. They just wanted us to win tonight as we were the better team in general play.
As for Liverpool "devaluing" the Champions League well that's utter tripe. The European Cup and CL is a knockout cup competition. Not a league. The best team in Europe doesn't always win it. In fact more often than not they don't.
Terry and Essien and Makelele were superb.
Blast05, we can only beat what is put in front of us.
If your not really bothered about soccer why post such shite f**k OFF YOU TOSSER
Ray Houghton are Liverpool supporters
there is no question that Darragh Maloney and Ray Houghton are Liverpool supporters
I was at the 2005 final in Istanbul, that game tonight was much harder to watch, especially the penalties. I couldnt sit down, I was out taking the washing in off the line for the last 5 minutes. Its gonna take me a couple of hours to calm down and get to sleep, but it was worth every single minute of it.
BTW the 9/4 that I took on Liverpool going through was sweet. Thanks PP.
Liverpoolfc.tv Man-of-the-Match: Jamie Carragher
We've won 10 out of 11 penalty shoot-outs in Europe now.
He was hoping Chelsea would win shoot out,probably because he could berate Benitez's tactics
Once again he's left with egg on his face,What did he say after Barcelona? Benitez was found out tonight or something to that effect ::)
He said he "hoped" Chelsea won
I knew as soon as Robben placed the ball that he was missing. I turned to BC junior and told him he would miss. His whole body language said it.
He was hoping Chelsea would win shoot out,probably because he could berate Benitez's tactics
Once again he's left with egg on his face
Internet Message board premature ejaculation ;D ;D
QuoteHe was hoping Chelsea would win shoot out,probably because he could berate Benitez's tactics
Once again he's left with egg on his face
I fairness to Dunphy he called the penalty shootout to a tee and he specifically said that the reason he hoped Chelsea would win was that Mourinho did not deserve to end on such a note and as one with only a passive interest in soccer, i would have to agree on this latter point
Jose being a gracious loser as usual. ;D
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PO8FxTmAqjk (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PO8FxTmAqjk)
Add that to your history Liverfool
How many times does "the best" team win any competition, especially one played in a knock-out format?
Are Italy the best international side in the world? Were Greece the best in Europe three years ago? Would Arsenal have been the best had they held on last year?
Liverpool have knocked out Chelsea and Barcelona. Had one of those gone on to win it, you probably wouldn't be making this complaint.
And let's say the competition returned to league champions-only entry. If United pip Chelsea for the league title by a point, suggesting two very closely matched teams, would it not be devaluing the competition to lose a team of the quality of Chelsea (or vice versa), thus giving a team from a weaker league an increased chance of winning it?
To use an example closer to home, Dublin had a relatively handy passage to the All Ireland semi-final last year. Say they had beaten Mayo (a mere two point swing) in the semi, and caught Kerry on the hop in the final. Would the All Ireland championship thus be deemed a devalued competition?
QuoteHow many times does "the best" team win any competition, especially one played in a knock-out format?
Are Italy the best international side in the world? Were Greece the best in Europe three years ago? Would Arsenal have been the best had they held on last year?
Liverpool have knocked out Chelsea and Barcelona. Had one of those gone on to win it, you probably wouldn't be making this complaint.
And let's say the competition returned to league champions-only entry. If United pip Chelsea for the league title by a point, suggesting two very closely matched teams, would it not be devaluing the competition to lose a team of the quality of Chelsea (or vice versa), thus giving a team from a weaker league an increased chance of winning it?
Fair enough, i just think that if you had the top 20 clubs in Europe competing in a 38 games season, that the title "champions of Europe" as a title could be much more justified and from what little i know, i doubt Liverpool would be contenders for such a title.
In most other sports, the cream tends to rise more in the premier competition be it due to the structure of the competition or the nature of the sport.
Pardon my ignorance, but would Premier League clubs prefer to win the champions league or the Premier League. .... innocent question for fear that the answer is obviously the latter
Internet Message board premature ejaculation ;D ;D
I did warn Norf Tyrone but would he listen to me?
Nooooo. ;D
No sign of Syd tonight lads he must be on the porter :)
My heart is still racing i'll never get to sleep tonight
2 Jose is on his way out of English footballCatch happen soon enough IMO
One thing that struck me last night watching - how can Liverpool leave Anfield?
History, tradition, atmosphere. What a place.
A terrible game of football which both teams were determined not to lose after the tie went to one each.
If 0-0 was worth three points, liverpool could win the league, but there is no other possible way for that to happen.
It must be difficult to have been a liverpool fan throught eighties and to now have to watch this current shite.
2 Jose is on his way out of English footballCatch happen soon enough IMO
One thing that struck me last night watching - how can Liverpool leave Anfield?
History, tradition, atmosphere. What a place.
Couldn't imagine the Glazers been able to do this.
QuoteCouldn't imagine the Glazers been able to do this.
no they wont, unlike like liverpool fans who seem to welcome becoming a US franchise, there are still a large and active group in Manchester who absolutely detest what has happend with the glazers. The glazers will never be able to walk about Manchester safely. They have to sneak in and out everytime, and its not very successful. They were attacked last week at the lowry hotel.
I dont not condone etc etc blah blah blah
United had everything - Stadium, Fanbase, transfer funds, marketing, global brand etc. They had nothing to gain from a takeover and more to lose.QuoteCouldn't imagine the Glazers been able to do this.
no they wont, unlike like liverpool fans who seem to welcome becoming a US franchise, there are still a large and active group in Manchester who absolutely detest what has happend with the glazers. The glazers will never be able to walk about Manchester safely. They have to sneak in and out everytime, and its not very successful. They were attacked last week at the lowry hotel.
I dont not condone etc etc blah blah blah
Ha Ha, you could not make this up.
Just heard on the radio that while reina was pulling off heroics last night, some of the lovable locals were pulling away in his porsche after removing several items from his house. Thats gratitude for you.
What is it about Liverpool players and having their cars pinched, wasnt so long ago someone helped themselves to Riises 4x4 thanks to the fishing rod through the letterbox trick.
That is what I meant, well aware of the dislike towards the Clazers at United, have a mate who is into the boycott and I fear mentioning their names round him.
I think the difference between the Liverpool and United fans view point on the US "franchise" (as you put it)
As a sie, is it true that there is actually a big rivalry between FC United and the United Fans (albeit the more "hardcore" element" that stayed loyal) and that they has been a few "disagreements" this season? Maybe its idle gossip.
also, no fan of any club, anywhere, has any say in who owns their club. this will always be dictated by the pound note and any group of fans who think they have some semblence of ownership of their club are deluding themselves
What were West Ham thinking - sticking Masch on the bench for 6 months
They deserve to go down for that reason, and that reason alone
Good photo of the new owners in the directors box last night. Isn't that Martin Johnson and Ben Kay behind them?
What were West Ham thinking - sticking Masch on the bench for 6 months
They deserve to go down for that reason, and that reason alone
laoislad where u gettin all these pics from?
22-05-2007
2 Day package
FLIGHTS
Depart Tue 22nd May early morning flights
Return Wed 23rd May after the match
ACCOMMODATION
5 * Sofitel Hotel
The hotel is located just 20minutes from the stadium and beach and only 15 minutes from Athens city centre. "Karavi" gourmet restaurant and Mediterranean style cuisine at "Mesoghaia" restaurant. Panoramic bar and library bar. Fitness centre with indoor swimming pool.
PRICE
Flights, accommodation, MATCH TICKET and transfers
*Liverpool v AC Milan €1999 per person + €65 tax based on twin sharing
*Liverpool v Man U €3249 per person + €65 tax based on twin sharing
NO SINGLE ROOMS LEFT, SINGLES MUST NOW SHARE
Call Abbey Travel Sports (01) 804 7102 or email: sports@abbeytravel.ie
I had hoped Milan would beat United as i couldn't bear losing to United in Final but watching this match so far im not so sure i want Milan anymore they are playing some football :-\
liverpool fans everywhere breathing a sigh of relief ;D
Not a chance. I have easy access to a ticket as my brother-in-law bought four tickets for every home match, one of which was on my fan card. But spending several hundred euro on a 60/40 against chance of victory seems like a horrible gamble, especially seeing as you don't have to be there to really enjoy it!
Heighway: Rafa's plan for young Reds 'crazy'
Liverpool academy boss Steve Heighway has described Rafael Benitez’s decision to assume control of the coaching of the club’s up-and-coming players as “crazy”.
Heighway oversaw the Reds’ triumph in the FA Youth Cup final last week and announced after the second leg that he would be leaving the academy after 19 years.
He told The Times: “Rafa is a terrific manager, tactically astute with qualities I really admire, but in my view I’m the best coach of 17 and 18-year-old players in this club.
“But I no longer get the chance to do that. That’s crazy, that’s mad; it’s to the detriment of the young players at this club.”
During Heighway’s time at the club players such as Michael Owen, Steven Gerrard and Jamie Carragher have come through the ranks.
However if there were to be any injuries or if Pennant remains out, i would go for midfeild of Gerrard, Alonso, Masch, Zenden.
At the risk of being tole to fcuk off, how can Liverpool honestly think of playing Zenden in the final?
fcuk off ;)
fcuk off ;)
Blaney pr1ck ;)
See Gerrard looking to end his career at Anfield. £120,000 a week. At least it would put an end to the annual transfer speculation. Altough i'm don't think he will ever have thoughts about joining Chelsea now ;)
GILLETT: NOTHING COMPARES TO ANFIELD
Jimmy Rice 03 May 2007
George Gillett believes nothing in world sport compares to what he experienced at Anfield on Tuesday night.
And while the American knew he was buying something special when he arrived on Merseyside earlier this year, he admits it has only this week dawned on him what it means to be part of Liverpool Football Club.
"What can I say after Tuesday night? It was magical," said Gillett.
"It was like attending the greatest sports event you ever go to on steroids. Nothing can compare to it.
"I couldn't have imagined when we bought the club the kinds of experiences we've already had. David Moores told me I had to understand what it was like and I would nod and say, 'Yes, we understand'.
"Really, neither I, Foster or the Hicks family could say we did. This is so much bigger and so much more important to so many people than we could ever have imagined.
"We walked around town on Tuesday to see some of the sights. There was a lot of singing going on, and I know this may shock a few people, but there was quite a lot of beer drinking. And I'm sure there was a lot after the game, too!"
Gillett again spoke of his desire to one day sit on The Kop – whether in its current form or in its new incarnation as the centerpiece of the club's new stadium.
"I wish I had been on The Kop on Tuesday, but I was concerned it would be a distraction. We've acknowledged the importance of The Kop already since we arrived and it's clear why the new stadium must be designed around it.
"We'll try to have as many seats in there as there used to be when it was originally a standing area. That's our ambition.
"That was once 24,000. We may not be able to get that many, but we'll certainly go beyond the 12,000 we have now."
On the subject of The Kop and its inhabitants, Gillett also made public his concern about ticket allocations for Athens.
He said: "What's on our minds more than anything now is the fans. This is all about them. I'm really interested in the statistics for the tickets to the finals.
"UEFA has taken over 20,000 tickets already, so it's going to be very difficult for everyone to get tickets.
"We have huge support and I'm really sorry for those fans who follow the club everywhere and won't be able to get tickets. It's a huge challenge for the organisers but a very difficult situation.
"Our aim now is to go on and win the Champions League, but there's one thing we can be absolutely certain of: the players and the fans will never quit.
"They'll give their all to win. They have a spirit unique to the north west of England, which you see on the pitch in Jamie Carragher and Steven Gerrard.
"I saw the banner on The Kop before the game which read, 'Not English but Scouse'. It sums it up.
"When you have that heart in the team and combine this with the energy and ability of those around them, it's quite a combination.
"I could not believe the passion of Dirk Kuyt on the pitch. He never stopped running and it was amazing to see."
Liverpool striker Florent Sinama-Pongolle's loan spell at Recreativo Huelva has become a £2.7m permanent move.
Sinama-Pongolle, 22, has signed a contract until June 2011 with the Primera Liga club.
The France Under-21 international's loan, which began at the end of the season, contained an option to buy him.
He told Recreativo's website: "I'd like to thank the club and the fans for the affection they have shown me."
Sinama-Pongolle was bought by Liverpool from Le Havre in 2001 along with distant cousin Anthony Le Tallec, but both remained with the French club until 2003.
Neither were able to hold down a regular first-team place and Sinama-Pongolle spent the second half of last season out on loan at Blackburn.
Recreativo president Francisco Mendoza said: "Today is a very happy day for all those connected with Recreativo.
"We have waited for the moment of seeing Sinama as a member of the club.
"We have obtained him by putting in the most important financial push of this organisation in its 118-year history."
More fake Liverpool jersies
Harry Kewell an asset? A depreciating asset >:(
That would be the same Harry who came off injured in Istanbul when we were 3-0 down, but was the first man to run onto the field when we won. Actually the fastest he had run all night.
Harry bottled it in Istanbul, his injury got worse as the goals went in. He should go in the summer, in fact he should have gone a long time ago.
Never liked Smicer myself.Was in Prague about five years ago and while sitting outside a pub i saw Baros,Smicer and Rosisky walking down the road towards us all dressed in their Czech tracksuits.
I went over to ask for a autograph and get the Liverpool jersery i was wearing signed.Baros and Rosisky couldn't have been nicer and we talked about the Irish team etc albeit in bad broken english from the two lads,But Smicer completly blanked me and my mates and only grunted when we went to shake his hand
I know these players are probably sick and tired of people coming up to them but in fairness to Baros and Rosisky they were two sound fellas and we had a good chat with them while Smicer was a ignornant little shite
I see the mancs thread has started this discussion on possible transfer targets and i started to think about who Liverpool might consider buying
Are there any others bar the Eto's etc that we've already heard about?
Who would ye like?
We need world-class players - Pedersen is not that
Ferguson backs Milan to beat Reds
Milan's semi-final victory over United impressed Ferguson
Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson believes Liverpool have no chance of beating AC Milan in the Champions League final on 23 May.
Milan beat United in the semi-finals to set up a repeat of the 2005 final, which Liverpool won on penalties.
Ferguson told The Sun: "I'd bet for sure that Milan will win the Champions League. I'm absolutely certain of it.
"I told their manager Carlo Ancelotti at the end of our semi-final that there is no way he can not win it now."
Ferguson plans to toast Milan's victory with a bottle of wine given him by Ancelotti after his side had lost in Italy.
I'm still trying to analyse the factors involved but the truth remains we faced one of the best performances in the history of AC Milan
"Carlo gave me a magnificent bottle of wine," Ferguson added. "But I immediately told him I would only drink his win once I see him lifting the Champions Cup."
The United boss admits his team were outclassed in the second leg of their semi-final, which Milan won 3-0.
But Ferguson believes his side were tired from their efforts in the Premiership the previous weekend, which helped United regain the title for the first time since 2003.
"Milan's second-leg victory over us was stupendous, fantastic and extraordinary," Ferguson said.
"But I know we paid a high price for the Premiership fightback which we needed at Everton to turn a 2-0 scoreline into a 4-2 victory.
"Last week, Milan were fresher and better prepared tactically and physically.
"I'm still trying to analyse the factors involved. But the truth remains we faced one of the best performances in the history of AC Milan."
We need world-class players - Pedersen is not that
I think Pedersen is a decent player and has had a great season at Blackburn,anythime i have seen him play he's impressed me
I seriously suggest that everyone reads A season on the Brink by Guillem Baluage(?). A great insight into Rafa's thinking.
Syd, you should know by now that Benitez only signs players who put the team first and are grafters i.e Crouch who I believe ended up with the most assistes this season.
Benitez will pick the right players, don't expect a team of super individuals, he has his layou in his mind and he will follow it.
I seriously suggest that everyone reads A season on the Brink by Guillem Baluage(?). A great insight into Rafa's thinking.
http://home.skysports.com/list.aspx?hlid=466027&CPID=8&clid=14&lid=4161&title=Liverpool+close+to+Lucas+deal
Another centre-midfielder on the way - who makes room for him?
Jan Molby (we have a lot in common)
Newcastle Chairman, Freddie Shepherd has offered to carry Michael Owen back to Anfield for £9 million.:D :D :D pity he didnt finish what he was going to say about the agent :D
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cWx5RK1G9c0
Just what we need, another midfielder. NOT
We need at least two worl