The OFFICIAL Liverpool Supporters thread

Started by Gabriel_Hurl, November 09, 2006, 10:52:45 PM

I believe that. Not to start a stupid arguement but we are historically better in Europe and have been consistently better than United this last few years e.g Messi's playing span.

Messi's style of play is not suited to Liverpool. Benitez would probably play Kuyt ahead of him in that position as Messi's workrate wouldn't be as high.

Anyway - as someone said, he won't be leaving the Nou Camp for a long time one would think.

Maybe ye should consider Terry Henry?

You are having trouble attracting Gareth Barry
If Utd came in for Barry (although we dont need him) he would be out of Villa in a heartbeat

gawa316

Quote from: full back on May 09, 2008, 11:52:30 AM
You are having trouble attracting Gareth Barry
If Utd came in for Barry (although we dont need him) he would be out of Villa in a heartbeat

How do you know that?

Just like United are having trouble attracting Valenica from Wigan fullback?  Do you think we put in an offer for Barry and he signs the next day?

Quote from: corn02 on May 09, 2008, 12:00:03 PM
Just like United are having trouble attracting Valenica from Wigan fullback?  Do you think we put in an offer for Barry and he signs the next day?

I think the problem is Villa want more cash and it is the usual case of brinkmanship by the selling club to ramp up the price.......If Barry wants to go, and by all accounts he does, he will go regardless of what wee Marty says.

Quote from: magpie seanie on May 09, 2008, 11:51:24 AM
Messi's style of play is not suited to Liverpool. Benitez would probably play Kuyt ahead of him in that position as Messi's workrate wouldn't be as high.

Anyway - as someone said, he won't be leaving the Nou Camp for a long time one would think.

Maybe ye should consider Terry Henry?

We can only dream that he would join, but you may be right about his style of play not suiting.

As for the argument about him joining one over the other, the advantage that Liverpool would have is that they have 2 international team-mates of Messi in Insua and Mashca and that would be a huge bonus in helping a young player like him settle.

Lads we are getting into a weird arguement here. Messi will be at Barca for a long time.

Henry is not wanted at Barca and could be picked up for a relatively modest fee (if you get someone stupid enough to pay £15m for Crouch you'd hardly have to add mcuh to it to afford Henry). It would be a gamble as he's a bit of a moany bollix and needs to have his ego massaged but his directness could suit Liverpool and the Premiership.

Honest question Seanie, do you not think £15 is fairly decent price in today's market for Crouch?

Henry would be a gamble and I have a feeling he could be back at the emirates next season.

Who do you want United to bring in Seanie?

Henry will spend another season at Barca - and then he's off to the States - mark my words

In todays market and when you see what Spurs paid for Bent then I suppose Liverpool are entitled to try and get £15M for Crouch. I think he'll get goals for anyone in the Premiership and wouldn't be surprised if Liverpool get that money for him. What I do think though is that its rich of Benitez to ask that money for someone he clearly doesn't rate.

Can't see Henry back at the Emirates. Too old for Wenger.

As for United - I listenened to Graham Hunter on Newstalk a while back and he sees it panning out like this:  They will break the bank for Danny Alves (to a point). With Gary Neviller near the end of his days a first choice right back is needed and he's probably the best in the world at present. Berbatov will also be a target, posibly with Saha going the other way. I think those two would be good.

Alves is a class act, I thought Liverpool had him in the bag a few years ago.

So if Alves came to United they would have just signed a player (Brown) to a £55k p/w contract to warm the bench?

You need more than 11 to challenge for more than the cup competitions Minder.