Started by Boolerhead Mel, January 06, 2009, 03:54:19 PM

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 20, 2025, 06:07:12 PM
Quote from: LC on September 20, 2025, 12:47:24 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 20, 2025, 10:28:55 AM
Quote from: marty34 on September 20, 2025, 08:32:13 AM
Quote from: giveherlong on September 20, 2025, 08:26:00 AM
Quote from: Delgany 2nds on September 19, 2025, 06:38:30 PMOn reflection, I regret not buying a wee flat ( even a doer up) for my kids when they went to college in UK.
Renting in UK has got so expensive...robbed

£800-£1000 per month in Belfast
Be better of buying them a car but then miss out on the whole experience?

https://www.irishnews.com/news/northern-ireland/norther-ireland-parents-spending-1000-on-student-digs-as-holylands-housing-shortage-bites-MR6JJFV365EJRHZ42CDIMQM5JA/

Anyboy know how much the new student accom. is in Belfast city centre? The ones beside UU.

Were they not built to take the pressure off the Holylands area?  Alhough students probably prefer the Holylands area for the craic. 
I have had 2 in them - 1 a couple of yeaes ago and another just started. They are a great 1st year option but not cheap - £7-8k for Sept to June. There is a good reason why they are being built on every square inch of land around York St.

The Holylands is a slum so I wouldn't let them live in it but they'll spend plenty of time there at parties.

Hearing it is turning into a bit of dump these days, lived there myself for 5 - 6 years back in the late 90s but if our ones end up in Belfast in the next few years would be pushing them towards Stranmillis.

I've news for ya, it was a dump in the 90's.

I wouldn't put a rat in it. That said student accommodation areas attract the dirt outside of campus set ups, that's in most cities btw
It was but far worse now. What were once 3 or 4 bedroom houses turned into flats so loads more students on top of the druggies and immigrants living in the area. The young lad was at his first party in it during the week, so already having gis head turned by all the craic, but he gets to leave at night! 

Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 20, 2025, 06:16:12 PM
Quote from: Delgany 2nds on September 19, 2025, 06:38:30 PMOn reflection, I regret not buying a wee flat ( even a doer up) for my kids when they went to college in UK.

https://www.irishnews.com/news/northern-ireland/norther-ireland-parents-spending-1000-on-student-digs-as-holylands-housing-shortage-bites-MR6JJFV365EJRHZ42CDIMQM5JA/

Anyboy know how much the new student accom. is in Belfast city centre? The ones beside UU.

Were they not built to take the pressure off the Holylands area?  Alhough students probably prefer the Holylands area for the craic. 
I have had 2 in them - 1 a couple of yeaes ago and another just started. They are a great 1st year option but not cheap - £7-8k for Sept to June. There is a good reason why they are being built on every square inch of land around York St.

The Holylands is a slum so I wouldn't let them live in it but they'll spend plenty of time there at parties.

Hearing it is turning into a bit of dump these days, lived there myself for 5 - 6 years back in the late 90s but if our ones end up in Belfast in the next few years would be pushing them towards Stranmillis.

I wouldn't put a rat in it. That said student accommodation areas attract the dirt outside of campus set ups, that's in most cities btw
It was but far worse now. What were once 3 or 4 bedroom houses turned into flats so loads more students on top of the druggies and immigrants living in the area. The young lad was at his first party in it during the week, so already having gis head turned by all the craic, but he gets to leave at night! 
[/quote
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 20, 2025, 06:16:12 PM

Late 80's was bedlam, old (before it was burnt down) Bot had the old disco look, parties every night, the houses were rammed, mad country lads up goin bonkers on mad dog 20/20
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

The young fella was in the Prestige Living one last year across from UU and he was paying £680 per month for 10 months.

I think they can also now let in non students

Quote from: johnnycool on September 23, 2025, 08:49:46 AM

The young fella was in the Prestige Living one last year across from UU and he was paying £680 per month for 10 months.

Bonkers!! Were you a taxi driver at night to pay that lol?
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Munchie

Daughter in Galway feck all houses there for students - in university accommodation €1100 a month for 10 months!

Quote from: Munchie on September 23, 2025, 10:07:45 AM

Daughter in Galway feck all houses there for students - in university accommodation €1100 a month for 10 months!

That sort of money could buy them a nice car to run back and forward to Uni in.

clonian

I've 3 at GCSE & A level, assuming 3 years each up there or elsewhere is £61,200. Feck that I might look into buying something now

Quote from: clonian on September 24, 2025, 03:52:50 PM

I've 3 at GCSE & A level, assuming 3 years each up there or elsewhere is £61,200. Feck that I might look into buying something now

How do ya know which college they'll go to?

I said to mine, stay at home and I'll pay you an allowance of £60 a week, use of car free food, continue to work at your part time job.

Nah! Would prefer to strip you of and cash you have please!

Good luck! Rent getting higher now too.

Eldest looking out to live in Belfast with friends, £500 each (3 of them) for a shit hole around the Lisburn rd areas!

Munchie

Quote from: NAG1 on September 24, 2025, 01:55:12 PM

The 300 mile round trip could get tiring.

Quote from: Munchie on September 24, 2025, 06:10:16 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on September 24, 2025, 01:55:12 PM

The 300 mile round trip could get tiring.

;D  ;D

More in general, especially up here it is becoming a more viable option.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 24, 2025, 05:47:32 PM

I said to mine, stay at home and I'll pay you an allowance of £60 a week, use of car free food, continue to work at your part time job.

Eldest looking out to live in Belfast with friends, £500 each (3 of them) for a shit hole around the Lisburn rd areas!

The eldest lad has move to a house off Ulsterville Ave, £440 a month each, for three of them.

It's not a bad house to be fair, but that's still serious dough considering I was paying £45 per month for a house in the Holylads back in the early 90's.

My mates Da, sold a nursing home and bought him and his siblings flats in what was then a new development off the Holylands, Fitzwilliam Square I think. He lived in it and rented out rooms to his mates and now his kids are living in it whilst at University.

Probably a good long term investment if you have the dough initially...

giveherlong

Quote from: johnnycool on September 25, 2025, 10:03:16 AM

The eldest lad has move to a house off Ulsterville Ave, £440 a month each, for three of them.

It's not a bad house to be fair, but that's still serious dough considering I was paying £45 per month for a house in the Holylads back in the early 90's.

My mates Da, sold a nursing home and bought him and his siblings flats in what was then a new development off the Holylands, Fitzwilliam Square I think. He lived in it and rented out rooms to his mates and now his kids are living in it whilst at University.

A nursing home would have been a solid investment as well. £1000 per week?!

440 a month isn't bad at all.

The buying the house thing definitely has some merit but anywhere in Belfast that's near the university costs a ludicrous amount these days. I imagine the same in any cities with universities.

Quote from: giveherlong on September 25, 2025, 10:15:01 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on September 25, 2025, 10:03:16 AM

A nursing home would have been a solid investment as well. £1000 per week?!

The Ma was the nurse in the home and was getting too old for it, so they sold up to some group that do those sorts of things.

There was loads of money in the Granny farming back then alright.

Anyone got a rough idea how much pvc windows cost these days. 4 bedroom house with en-suite, 2 other bathrooms garage. 15 windows in all. Just looking a rough idea before deciding whether or not to replace