Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

bannside

There's no structure in place for dealing with this.

The executive who appointed him are no longer in those positions. We have a fairly new chairman (Seamus) a new secretary (Angela) and no secretary.

We have no football board or sub committee that in a normal world would be leading these things.

We have clubs who don't care enough to go to the bother of sourcing or nominating anyone. We have many clubs (hurling) who actually don't give a toss.

I'd say fair play to Donal Murphy for being proactive.  Who is going to lead the appointment of the next incumbent??

I got to know Andy, and he gave this his all. Problem is that his all wasn't enough, (despite a horrendous injury list) and we all know every year it dosent get easier. Retirements won't help either.

Personally I've nothing against Andy taking a week or two to consider, and if necessary throwing his name back into the hat. But that shouldn't prevent county inviting clubs to forward alternatives, and on that basis, make the call based on who is he best man actually willing and available to take on the role.

At the end of the day Andys 3 year term is up, I'd let him put a case forward for his extension on what he would plan to do differently.

Take the Mark

Donal Murphy is going to what?

On what grounds should this blow in be appointing ANY manager? For him to bag himself a cosy wee spot on the sidelines cheerleading. Maybe I'm missing something here but was he not the treasurer a couple of years ago and replaced?

Happy to take blow in's to look after your teams but.....  ;)
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

NatSoSaff

Sad to see Dermot depart the scene. A very good footballer and always seemed to carry a quiet but significant leadership style, alongside a bit of divilment when required.

Time moves on for all men however.

Bannside you are spot on there with the majority of that post. I also however have no idea why Donal Murphy has such influence in appointments. I noticed him in some sort of backroom capacity on the sideline this year alot as well. What is that about?

bannside

Lads hold on here a minute. When Donals tenure as treasurer was up  Andy asked him to remain with the footballers as liaison officer with County board, arranging friendlies, hotels ,  looked after appeals, organised venues, all the gear and equipment..I don't think he had any say at all on team squad or selection....

Don't get why some on here have the knives out. From what I see he has only ever had best intentions of Antrim at heart.

Lets see who picks up the slack next? Any suggestions???

Thats not a questuon who should be the next manager. Its a question asking who is going to get stuck in to make sure we have a credible list of candidates? Is that you?

NatSoSaff

It shouldn't be down to individuals to volunteer to seek out the next manager, the current board would need to show some leadership in that regard surely? If there is no sub-committee then set about appointing one. If McEntee's 3 year term is up, then go out to clubs for nomination as per previous processes. I certainly don't knock Donal for all he has contributed to the cause. From what I know of him and heard about him he's a great fella. I just took notice at a game (maybe Sligo at home earlier this year) that he seemed to be talking to players and giving instruction from the side-line which I thought odd.

bannside

We are all individuals NSS. Either we leave this to one or two mandated county officers....or some people go out of their way to have conversations and if the mood music is OK, spoon feed that back to the county officers, to take it up.

No one here can offer anyone a job! Not even Donal Murphy lol...

All that needs vetoed by Coiste Bainiste, and if they make a recommendation, YOUR club county committee delegate will have an opportunity to voice his or her opinion.

Duine Inteacht Eile

Did I dream that GearĂ³id Adams was appointed Director of Football a couple of years ago?

What happened to that?

bannside

As far as I know it was an honorary appointment, with no remit or terms of engagement. That wasn't necessarily Gearoids fault to be fair.

But that is exactly what is needed. A director of football with an active and vibrant  sub committee overseeing everything from minor to senior.

I think this is now singularity the biggest priority in town, but....why do I get a feeling many in our current administration would be anti this??

bannside

A sub committee was set up yo oversee the amalgamation project to allow a Belfast school collective to enter Colleges football.

Some of the people in that are well tuned in to be fair, mostly from the secondary/grammar school sector.

Paddy Kelly was instrumental in this, a man who has knocked his pan in trying to get something worthwhile kickstarted.

Duine Inteacht Eile

Quote from: bannside on June 17, 2025, 05:43:16 PMAs far as I know it was an honorary appointment, with no remit or terms of engagement. That wasn't necessarily Gearoids fault to be fair.

But that is exactly what is needed. A director of football with an active and vibrant  sub committee overseeing everything from minor to senior.

I think this is now singularity the biggest priority in town, but....why do I get a feeling many in our current administration would be anti this??
Sorry, a what?

WTF does that mean?

Take the Mark

Honorary appointment  ;D

You gotta be taking the piss Bannside   ;D

Gaels1789

Some big games tomorrow night

Cargin vs pg1

St galls vs st brigids

Moneyglass vs Sairsfields

Davitts vs Rasharkin

Cargin and pg1 be a cracking game,
 County men back for pg1 could be a high scoring game

Moneyglass vs Sairsfields winner takes all could be a cracker
 Think Sairsfields could just knick it if it's a shootout

Take the Mark

Ports with 1 last push to try and get back their beloved league title

BigGreenField

Quote from: bannside on June 17, 2025, 06:12:15 PMA sub committee was set up yo oversee the amalgamation project to allow a Belfast school collective to enter Colleges football.

Some of the people in that are well tuned in to be fair, mostly from the secondary/grammar school sector.

Paddy Kelly was instrumental in this, a man who has knocked his pan in trying to get something worthwhile kickstarted.

While this will help individual players in the short term, it needs an off ramp (as the politicians say) to collective higher standards.

Is there evidence from other collective entrants that standards are sustained post the disbandment?