All Ireland Championship 2025.

Started by Blowitupref, April 27, 2025, 06:12:46 PM

SouthOfThe Bann

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 17, 2025, 10:10:08 PMWell in Hindsight nobody rating Mayo and Galway just about eclipsed them.So if Mayo aren't great, may Galway been blew up abit (I been blowing them up myself)

On the same token I wouldn't write Galway off after that performance either... but they one of about 6 teams that could win the all ireland.

How do Derry feel now? Will they be able to get a win from somewhere. Be some craic if they could.

Stall the Bailer

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 17, 2025, 10:13:33 PMThe thing the keeper done, i dont understand, never seen this before. I thought if he touched it once another player then had touch it?
This has always been the rule, he can't lift it but can kick it as many times as he wishes

Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on May 17, 2025, 10:06:03 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on May 17, 2025, 07:36:03 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on May 15, 2025, 12:52:34 PM
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on May 15, 2025, 12:42:21 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on May 15, 2025, 09:14:02 AM
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on May 15, 2025, 08:27:19 AMStill not convinced about Galway media love hyping them up.

I think the Dubs go to Salthill and win this weekend.
Don't see how. Dublin were cleaned on kickouts vs Meath and Galway are a team of monsters, Dublins back line is also dodgy, yes Dublin have excellent forwards but Galway have the defenders to match them. Plus this Dublin team tend to be shite outside Croker.

All that is true... but there will be a kick in Dublin. They are too proud not too.

They've been lying in the long grass for a couple weeks now.

If Galway beat them fair play would genuinely like to see them win the all ireland
I agree that theres bound to be a kick in the Dubs, but for all those reasons I've listed I think Galway will be too strong. If it was in Croker it would maybe give Dublin a better hope.
Shows what I know, fair play to Dublin.

Media were too quick to write off Dublin and too quick to blow up Galway.

Would Armagh fancy beating Dublin in croker now?

How was Gleeson allowed to pass the ball to himself from the kickout.. when did this rule change?

And what is the wording of the rule.
Yeah thats the new rule, dodgy one if a forward was clued in.

Media will probably (wrongly) blow up Dublin and write off Galway. Would give us every chance against Dublin in Croker if it was a semi or quarter final, tight turnaround after Derry though. No reason we can't beat them.

Derry be relying on Dublin beating Armagh and Dublin not needing to win the last game,  i dont think we can beat Armagh at home, especially given how poor we been. If we could get a draw against Galway and the above scenario happen, we might have half a chance.

Gael85

Peter Cooke kicked two bad wides for Galway. Big risk bringing him on when played very little football?

Duine Eile

Galway handled that last Dublin kick out really poorly, the last score after the hooter was far too easy for Lahiff too, how he got into that position without a hand being put on him is criminal. Not a great day for Galway, a lot of chances not taken. I think Shane Walsh should have been held in reserve and brought on in the second half but hindsight is a great thing I suppose.
Re Gleeson's kick outs to himself, Maurice Brosnan had the rule on his X account, perfectly legal once another player doesn't touch it and he doesn't pick it up himself. Not sure that we gained anything from it.

Quote from: Duine Eile on May 18, 2025, 01:26:58 AMGalway handled that last Dublin kick out really poorly, the last score after the hooter was far too easy for Lahiff too, how he got into that position without a hand being put on him is criminal. Not a great day for Galway, a lot of chances not taken. I think Shane Walsh should have been held in reserve and brought on in the second half but hindsight is a great thing I suppose.
Re Gleeson's kick outs to himself, Maurice Brosnan had the rule on his X account, perfectly legal once another player doesn't touch it and he doesn't pick it up himself. Not sure that we gained anything from it.

Well I hope Colm Reape doesn't decide to try those kickouts because the ball would inevitably end up in the back of the net.

We got our expected bating of Kerry yesterday.
Our much maligned defence held out as long as it could against the non stop onslaught.
Meanwhile our much praised forwards were a disaster. 2 subs scored more than the starting FF line.
It was a long long tiring day and I'm getting too old for all that travel :-[

At this stage we're as likely to finish bottom as to qualify for knock outs and we can take it the Davy Burke era is at an end.

Like his 2 predecessors the best days were in year 1 of his reign.
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

I know Roscommon are a solid outfit but they always end with performances that are a bit meh...now me saying that as a Kildare man who would love to be where they are at. But it must frustrate their own supporters.

Even against teams that they could have a go at, they seem to be so reserved.

The other match was a cracker and Gough let them hop off each other a bit. Ciaran Kilkenny is an awesome player. Just the mix of footballing brain and physicality.

Nanderson

Half time in Ennis Clare 1.06 Down 2.17

Listening to midwest radio for Cavan v Mayo.  Cavan goal chance saved and they reckoned it could have been called it back for a penalty.  Mayo from the next attack have leveled up the game with a two pointer free.

Quote from: Blowitupref on May 18, 2025, 02:53:58 PMListening to midwest radio for Cavan v Mayo.  Cavan goal chance saved and they reckoned it could have been called it back for a penalty.  Mayo from the next attack have leveled up the game with a two pointer free.

Any idea why this game is so low scoring?

It's an unusual thing this year.

Quote from: thewobbler on May 18, 2025, 03:06:59 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 18, 2025, 02:53:58 PMListening to midwest radio for Cavan v Mayo.  Cavan goal chance saved and they reckoned it could have been called it back for a penalty.  Mayo from the next attack have leveled up the game with a two pointer free.

Any idea why this game is so low scoring?

It's an unusual thing this year.

Don't know using the heat as excuse on the radio and also said the amount of mistakes is more in this match than they have seen in all games this year.  Half time Mayo 0-7 Cavan 0-4.

Aristo 60

Quote from: Nanderson on May 18, 2025, 02:47:28 PMHalf time in Ennis Clare 1.06 Down 2.17

We're better than Kerry.  8)

Goal for Cavan at the start of the 2nd half to level it up.