All Ireland Championship 2025.

Started by Blowitupref, April 27, 2025, 06:12:46 PM

Truthsayer

Quote from: Sheedy on May 17, 2025, 06:47:47 PM
Quote from: Truthsayer on May 17, 2025, 06:43:44 PMHuge win for the Dubs.. rule changes vindicated again. Epic. Is football the new hurling?
so there was never any good games before the rule changes?

Dublins demise has been greatly exaggerated, they haven't gone away, big win.
They were few and far between and club football was horrendous

greatpoint

Exciting game but the standard wasn't great, especially compared to last Saturday.

We were extremely poor today. Still could have stolen a draw but we wouldn't have deserved it.
Dublin are only middling so not sure what that says about us tbh

Truthsayer

Quote from: greatpoint on May 17, 2025, 06:51:11 PMExciting game but the standard wasn't great, especially compared to last Saturday.
True dat.. expected better from Galway. Was more like standard of Louth - Meath albeit that was a exciting game and occasion.

shantygael

Quote from: Gael85 on May 17, 2025, 06:00:47 PMGae over.Galway in control.
I  sincerely hope you're not a doctor.
you've only had enough to drink when you cant hold onto the ground

Galway pretty poor today, the Dubs had an intensity that they couldn't deal with, 2 goals kept them in it.

Before today I was thinking Derry will come out of this group, if they do, who doesn't :o only a fool would write them off. Next week is so important for Armagh, we have to play like our lives depend on it with the 2 games that follow.

In my book that was an exciting game with Dublin still the masters of creating the space for the easy point. I thought Galway rushed their last play giving Dublin plenty of time with their kick out and Cluxton just aced that pass. Galway could have held onto possession and score the equalising point after the hooter.

Galway can have no complaints about that defeat the margin flattered them as Dublin once they took the lead in the 1st half was the better team. Makes things very interesting in the group now especially if Derry can kick a in them.

Gael85

Don't know how we won that, just wanted a decent performance.  Played and management answered critics. Won't win an AI but we will give anyone a game.

Quote from: Armagh18 on May 15, 2025, 12:52:34 PM
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on May 15, 2025, 12:42:21 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on May 15, 2025, 09:14:02 AM
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on May 15, 2025, 08:27:19 AMStill not convinced about Galway media love hyping them up.

I think the Dubs go to Salthill and win this weekend.
Don't see how. Dublin were cleaned on kickouts vs Meath and Galway are a team of monsters, Dublins back line is also dodgy, yes Dublin have excellent forwards but Galway have the defenders to match them. Plus this Dublin team tend to be shite outside Croker.

All that is true... but there will be a kick in Dublin. They are too proud not too.

They've been lying in the long grass for a couple weeks now.

If Galway beat them fair play would genuinely like to see them win the all ireland
I agree that theres bound to be a kick in the Dubs, but for all those reasons I've listed I think Galway will be too strong. If it was in Croker it would maybe give Dublin a better hope.
Shows what I know, fair play to Dublin.

Quote from: Main Street on May 17, 2025, 07:14:23 PMIn my book that was an exciting game with Dublin still the masters of creating the space for the easy point. I thought Galway rushed their last play giving Dublin plenty of time with their kick out and Cluxton just aced that pass. Galway could have held onto possession and score the equalising point after the hooter.

Ah I think Tierney had to take the point there. He had space to score. Had he recycled it no guarantee they manage to work the score. Problem is they couldn't get enough pressure on the kickout and Cluxton picked out a man in midfield. Tired bodies and minds at that stage though.

Thought we were very flat today. Especially in the first half. Mentally we seemed off it until they got a bit of a rocket at half time. The Dubs could target the game from 3 weeks out. I think we would have got away with it today against most teams but the Dubs were hurt from the Meath defeat, were well up for it and came with a gameplan. That said it was a 1 point game and we basically gifted them a free goal. Few bad handling errors in defence handed them another couple of points in the second half.

We had one shot cleared off the line and Walsh should have buried his goal chance as well so we had enough chances despite the kickouts not going well at all. Young Thompson is improving at a rate of knots but it's against the likes of the Dubs where you need your Comer's on the field. Don't think we'll see him the next two games either though. When the game was in the melting pot it was Kilkenny calling the tune. Thought he was superb. While Galway's big two forwards were  sitting up in the stand.

Quote from: Gael85 on May 17, 2025, 07:23:35 PMDon't know how we won that, just wanted a decent performance.  Played and management answered critics. Won't win an AI but we will give anyone a game.

By scoring and creating more.  Winning 9 of Galway's kickout and having more turnovers than them.  Agree with your last sentence though really not a lot between the top 5 or 6 teams.

SouthOfThe Bann

Quote from: Armagh18 on May 17, 2025, 07:36:03 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on May 15, 2025, 12:52:34 PM
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on May 15, 2025, 12:42:21 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on May 15, 2025, 09:14:02 AM
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on May 15, 2025, 08:27:19 AMStill not convinced about Galway media love hyping them up.

I think the Dubs go to Salthill and win this weekend.
Don't see how. Dublin were cleaned on kickouts vs Meath and Galway are a team of monsters, Dublins back line is also dodgy, yes Dublin have excellent forwards but Galway have the defenders to match them. Plus this Dublin team tend to be shite outside Croker.

All that is true... but there will be a kick in Dublin. They are too proud not too.

They've been lying in the long grass for a couple weeks now.

If Galway beat them fair play would genuinely like to see them win the all ireland
I agree that theres bound to be a kick in the Dubs, but for all those reasons I've listed I think Galway will be too strong. If it was in Croker it would maybe give Dublin a better hope.
Shows what I know, fair play to Dublin.

Media were too quick to write off Dublin and too quick to blow up Galway.

Would Armagh fancy beating Dublin in croker now?

How was Gleeson allowed to pass the ball to himself from the kickout.. when did this rule change?

And what is the wording of the rule.

Well in Hindsight nobody rating Mayo and Galway just about eclipsed them.So if Mayo aren't great, maybe Galway been blew up abit (I been blowing them up myself)

The thing the keeper done, i dont understand, never seen this before. I thought if he touched it once another player then had touch it?