Ulster Championship 2025

Started by Goals_Will_Come, March 25, 2025, 10:16:10 AM

AustinPowers

I honestly don't get  this group stage thing

Galway/Armagh battled through their province , tough games. And are  rewarded the same as Derry, who lost in  the Ulster preliminary round.

All three teams get 1 home, 1 away and  1 neutral game

Derry are fresher than both  teams, and are well rested

Really, where  is the incentive to win your provincial title?

Galway, as  the provincial winner in the group , should get 3 home games. Armagh 2. Dublin /Derry 0, and have to play each  other in a neutral venue

From this group , Derry (and Dublin) have probably an easier schedule than Armagh , who narrowly missed out on the Ulster title.

A load of bollox (can't let @Rossfan down)

Savage effort put in by both sets of players in that cauldron. You can't help but have huge respect.I don't think at any stage did I think Armagh are the team to win this though. Perfect day and no real 2 point threat. Maybe a returning Rian will help that later in the year.

Just a note on the "supporters" around me. The Donegal bucks with their repeated English soccer style chants about a former Armagh player and his ongoing legal case, similar style chants about another returned player and his alleged lifestyle choices, repeated shouts of "orange bastids", and "bring back the RUC" for some reason. The Armagh bucks in front of me barely looked in the direction of the pitch and instead it was just an opportunity for a social gathering and a chat with mates. Wasted tickets imo.

Quote from: AustinPowers on May 11, 2025, 11:54:44 AMI honestly don't get  this group stage thing

Galway/Armagh battled through their province , tough games. And are  rewarded the same as Derry, who lost in  the Ulster preliminary round.

Galway, as  the provincial winner in the group , should get 3 home games. Armagh 2. Dublin /Derry 0, and have to play each  other in a neutral venue

From this group , Derry (and Dublin) have probably an easier schedule than Armagh , who narrowly missed out on the Ulster title.

Some lobsided groups. Monaghan in with Down,Clare and either Louth/meath.
None of them top 6 teams

Quote from: lurganblue on May 11, 2025, 12:08:41 PMSavage effort put in by both sets of players in that cauldron. You can't help but have huge respect.I don't think at any stage did I think Armagh are the team to win this though. Perfect day and no real 2 point threat. Maybe a returning Rian will help that later in the year.

Just a note on the "supporters" around me. The Donegal bucks with their repeated English soccer style chants about a former Armagh player and his ongoing legal case, similar style chants about another returned player and his alleged lifestyle choices, repeated shouts of "orange bastids", and "bring back the RUC" for some reason. The Armagh bucks in front of me barely looked in the direction of the pitch and instead it was just an opportunity for a social gathering and a chat with mates. Wasted tickets imo.
Yeah would agree with that. Few Donegal "fans" deserved slaps the way they were going on although I'll be the first to admit Armagh have plenty of assholes going to games too.

Quote from: naka on May 11, 2025, 11:48:11 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 11, 2025, 10:56:00 AM
Quote from: naka on May 11, 2025, 09:11:46 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 11, 2025, 08:25:05 AMThink he was trying to buy a free, as a ref I hate that look up at ya, it's like you're begging for a free.

I just seen it live and thought it was just about the correct decision.

Another ref could have given him a free, the match though isn't won or lost on those moments, it's because of the time of free that people think it's momentous.

The BBC went to town on it, purely for a story, some what over egging things, which for me makes it look a bit juvenile

Not sticking up for the ref but the bits I seen (was watching the hurling mainly) he looked like in control and wasn't much controversial decisions
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 11, 2025, 08:25:05 AMTh

Another ref could have given him a free, the match though isn't won or lost on those moments, it's because of the time of free that people think it's momentous.

I genuinely it was a massive call simply because of the time of the free.
Just like goughs decision, referee calls do win and lose games as much as scores
For me it was a free
But as I said two weeks if will be forgone in the context of the season.

Him giving that free in the first few minutes of the game or last has no bearing on what that team does during it. Games are won and lost over the whole time, not the last seconds of extra time. It's cruel that it is late on but that's part of the game.
Chuckling Milltown
Spoken like a true referee
Let's agree to differ

I'm not saying that as a ref btw.. I've played and managed, I've walked off from a losing game annoyed over decisions going against me or the team but more annoyed that we'd lost chances to win the game..

But if it's easier to have a scapegoat, then the ref can fill your boots
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: AustinPowers on May 11, 2025, 11:29:34 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on May 11, 2025, 10:44:20 AM
Quote from: Main Street on May 11, 2025, 03:14:24 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on May 10, 2025, 10:21:14 PMHaving not seen it back my initial thoughts are these. Great performance from Donegal who fully deserved their win. Comfortably the better side. Decent refereeing performance I thought to bar one or two decisions. Nothings changed on my thoughts on the rules but not allowed to voice that.

Langan Murphy Thompson and Morgan were exceptional. Conaty I thought was best player on the pitch.

Armagh very poor first half with McQuillian looking injured and Murnin and Crealy not looking fully fit.

Donegal seemed to change their defence approach compressing the space between their lines of defenders confusing Armagh. Donegal could and probably should have been out of sight by half time. Poor kicking from Patton kept Armagh in the game.

Armagh showed great grit to get back in to the game and should take some heart from how they fought back.

Both teams will have a big say in the All Ireland series particularly if Armagh get more players back.
I think you are too generous towards Donegal. I thought it was a 50 50 game, Armagh were the better in the 2nd half, that was not just a fightback  and incredibly by some freak incidence didn't score a goal from any one of those 3 close encounters.

Methinks Donegal got away with it, they were just one point to the good in the end.

Perhaps as I say I haven't seen it back yet. My impression was that Donegal dominated the first half. Their change to their defensive structure in compacting the distance between their pressing players and deep defenders created problems for Armagh. Going forward Armagh couldn't live with their attacking angles. Armagh were the better team in the second half but to nowhere near the same extent for me.

It's one of the strangest experiences
I've had coming out of an Armagh match in recent years. Usually I look to blame the ref or the manager or something but yesterday I thought I just had to hold my hands up and acknowledge the better team.

That said Donegal got a lot of the luck or rub of the green and I don't mean that in a derogatory manner I just mean in terms of how the ball broke (off the post twice, for their first goal etc). If they hadn't have gotten that they may not had one but I think that just shows how close both teams are.

I'm still heading into the All Ireland series in positive form. Will be tough though. Dublin in Croke Park will be difficult and I'm out of the country that weekend.

Do you mean  Armagh  would have a better chance of winning if  you were there?  ;)

No that sentence should have been disjunctive. Damn dyslexia

5times5times

What's everyone's opinion on lord saviour Murphy getting policed differently yday?

Ref stopped armagh attack so he could stretch
Ref give foul v mcgrane cause murphy shouted
Ref didnt even tick murphy for his usual swinging arm thumps.

Fair play for coming back at his age, but was blatant to see yday be was reffed differently.

Replay would have been the fairest result. Everyone is seemingly forgetting the goal chances armagh missed.

Quote from: rodney trotter on May 11, 2025, 12:17:13 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on May 11, 2025, 11:54:44 AMI honestly don't get  this group stage thing

Some lobsided groups. Monaghan in with Down,Clare and either Louth/meath.
None of them top 6 teams

Kerry could in theory win the all Ireland without meeting a division 1 team the earliest they could meet one is after the groups. Armagh will have played 5 by the end of the group stage.

What's the story with Donegal's sub bench? Was it 3 players that returned to the pitch after being subbed off. If I was one of the other subs in the squad and watching men that were clearly out on their feet yesterday in the heat, I'd be wondering at the point of my involvement. Bit of a slap in the face was the rest of the squad.

Mikhailov

Very true assessment. Not sure what the advantage is, as you say and then you look at Kerry who can get to 1/4 final stage before they 'potentially' could meet a top 8 team.

System is very lopsided

Your idea of winners getting 3 home games is a good one

Jim Bob

Quote from: tyrone08 on May 11, 2025, 09:03:44 AM
Quote from: Jim Bob on May 11, 2025, 08:49:06 AM
Quote from: tyrone08 on May 10, 2025, 11:19:50 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 10, 2025, 11:01:54 PMNo matter if the Donegal player was goading, Armagh should be displinced not to run onto the pitch like that. There be def suspensions as 2 men hit him and another rugby tacked him to the ground. And what the f**k was Forker at with McGuiness, he's one of Armaghs most undisplinced players.still think Galway stronger than either team.

He ain't a principal !

Forker has head butted Murphy and went after McGuinness in the last 3 months. Seriously needs to look at himself and the example he sets as a principal.

Apologies vice principal. Its grand then.

Wouldn't say it's grand. Still a responsible post !

Tyrone well on top here so far, more long kicking in 15 mins than all of the Armagh v Donegal game yesterday.

Watched the game back this morning. The match was refereed fairly well. Few questionable calls but you're always going to get that. Conaty was superb (dunno how Murphy got MOTM ahead of him). Ross played well too. Two evenly matched teams. The luck we had last year deserted us with the first Donegal goal very fortunate and Armagh unlucky just after. Both Armagh goal misses led to Donegal scores so they were massive turning points. Some late hits coming in on Conaty and Soupy.
Obviously disappointing to lose but the biggest concern this morning is the group that the result leaves us in.
As others have said was subject to some disappointing behaviour from Donegal "fans" coming out of the ground.

Quote from: trueblue1234 on May 11, 2025, 01:18:11 PMWhat's the story with Donegal's sub bench? Was it 3 players that returned to the pitch after being subbed off. If I was one of the other subs in the squad and watching men that were clearly out on their feet yesterday in the heat, I'd be wondering at the point of my involvement. Bit of a slap in the face was the rest of the squad.
Not as much depth as they thought, a definite vote of no confidence in the bench.

Mikhailov

Quote from: Jim Bob on May 11, 2025, 01:44:01 PM
Quote from: tyrone08 on May 11, 2025, 09:03:44 AM
Quote from: Jim Bob on May 11, 2025, 08:49:06 AM
Quote from: tyrone08 on May 10, 2025, 11:19:50 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 10, 2025, 11:01:54 PMNo matter if the Donegal player was goading, Armagh should be displinced not to run onto the pitch like that. There be def suspensions as 2 men hit him and another rugby tacked him to the ground. And what the f**k was Forker at with McGuiness, he's one of Armaghs most undisplinced players.still think Galway stronger than either team.

He ain't a principal !

Forker has head butted Murphy and went after McGuinness in the last 3 months. Seriously needs to look at himself and the example he sets as a principal.

Apologies vice principal. Its grand then.

Wouldn't say it's grand. Still a responsible post !

I think there was a touch of sarcasm in saying 'it was grand'