Ulster Championship 2025

Started by Goals_Will_Come, March 25, 2025, 10:16:10 AM

flowerpot

Quote from: Stall the Bailer on April 16, 2025, 09:30:46 PMThe rule is, Not handing the ball to the nearest opposition player (handing ball back in full). Sounds like the ref was 100% correct, the player did not hand it back and also not to the nearest opponent.

Is it like bowls, get the string out to determine the nearest opposition player

Quote from: Armagh18 on April 16, 2025, 09:33:24 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on April 16, 2025, 09:23:50 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on April 16, 2025, 07:55:39 PMSportsmanship? Gaelic football one of those games that I wouldn't associate with sportsmanship. Hand the ball bck, oh f**king why. Just set it down.

Such a lack of sportsmanship that refs got hit, had to hide in the boots of cars, get escorted off the pitch such was the levels of savagery from time to time, something had to be done
Don't think the new rules will help that at all..

I suppose it depends on how much a team values winning a game

thebigfullforward

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 16, 2025, 09:21:22 PM
Quote from: thebigfullforward on April 16, 2025, 09:13:46 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 16, 2025, 09:06:11 PM
Quote from: thebigfullforward on April 16, 2025, 08:02:09 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 16, 2025, 05:44:03 PM
Quote from: thebigfullforward on April 16, 2025, 05:03:16 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 16, 2025, 04:15:46 PMWhat new rule says a defender can't block a kick (in play)?
All rule changes are "imposed from above" i.e., Congress.
Blocking a free/mark is cynical play and deserves a 50m punishment.
Handing the ball to an opponent for a free is good sportsmanship.
Abusing refs and officials gas to be stopped.
Quote from: Rossfan on April 16, 2025, 04:15:46 PMWhat new rule says a defender can't block a kick (in play)?
Said it before but was at a minor game where one of our lads fouled opposition player A. Opposition player B ran up to him to take the ball of our player. Our player threw the ball over players B head back to player A and where the foul was committed. Referee brought it forward 50m. Did our player not practice good sportsmanship there and still punished for it? Funny if our player did give it to player B though I'm sure the ref would send him back to where the foul was committed, slowing the game down.

As Mulligan said on BBC how do players know what refs take as abuse? Someone could say something innocuous enough and the ref could take it the wrong way all of a sudden it's brought up for a either a guaranteed point or a chance for 2.

As MilltownRow constantly says, players and managers make mistakes. But I've heard them get abuse shouted at them if the mistake is bad enough either from teammates or management. If refs make a mistake why would they not get shouted at too? It's unrealistic

Player should not have thrown the ball anywhere, everything after that is pointless.. A player doesn't lose his manliness by handing the ball back and sticking to the rule (I don't like it btw, but its in place). Just hand it back..

I think you know when someone is being a dick with their comments, if you don't, well you (not you personally) could be intitled to DLA!

Refs will make far less mistakes in a game than a player or a manager, fouling, misplaced pass, shooting instead of passing, touching the ball on the ground, too many steps, dissent the list goes on, as for the manager, picking the wrong team, wrong tactics, poor training sessions, bad preparation and so on..

I've managed senior teams in senior leagues, we lose is not down to the referee, as there will be a lot of reasons in that game  over 60 odd minutes as to why we lost, but it won't be down to those odd calls you didn't get in a game, they also manage to even themselves out over the course of the game, losers blame the ref 
He gave the ball back to the player he fouled and from where the foul was committed. Is that not the rule? Does it state somewhere in the rule that he has to pass the ball to the player 5 yards ahead of where the foul was committed because that doesn't sound fair.

You said he threw, so he didn't hand it back?
Come on now lol. The ball ended up in the opposition players hands from where the foul was committed. This is the type of stuff that turns people against the refs. Use a bit of cop on and stop making an issue out of nothing. They aren't in nursery having to say please and thank you and hold hands. They're nearly adults ffs. No doubt if he handed the ball to the player running at him the ref would've brought it back to where the foul was committed.

Again I've said I don't like it and provided there's no malice/intent or piss taking I'll let it slide.. but the rule is the rule. Either we want ref's to be robots or we like some common sense
So why couldn't he apply common sense and see there was no intent to delay the game? Maybe it is in the rules that you have to give it to another player that's 5 yards away from where the foul was committed giving them even more of an advantage than they already have but I thought you were meant to give it to the opponent you fouled. Could be wrong on that

thebigfullforward

Quote from: Stall the Bailer on April 16, 2025, 09:30:46 PMThe rule is, Not handing the ball to the nearest opposition player (handing ball back in full). Sounds like the ref was 100% correct, the player did not hand it back and also not to the nearest opponent.
So if the nearest opposition player is behind you and closer to your own net than you are you have to hand it to them? Sounds like another flaw in the rules. Attackers already have all the advantages they could need. If it's in the rules that they're legally allowed to take a free from 5/10/however many yards the ref deems the closest player is then that needs look at

flowerpot

Three or four lads round a player slapping away at the ball, player falls, unable to solo, to bounce to pass, ref deems player to have over carried, how long will he give for said player on ground possibly on top of the ball with multiple bodies around him to get himself to his feet and hand the ball to the "nearest" opposition player, even if he lets go the ball is still probably under him. 

Quote from: thebigfullforward on April 17, 2025, 07:55:26 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 16, 2025, 09:21:22 PM
Quote from: thebigfullforward on April 16, 2025, 09:13:46 PM
Said it before but was at a minor game where one of our lads fouled opposition player A. Opposition player B ran up to him to take the ball of our player. Our player threw the ball over players B head back to player A and where the foul was committed. Referee brought it forward 50m. Did our player not practice good sportsmanship there and still punished for it? Funny if our player did give it to player B though I'm sure the ref would send him back to where the foul was committed, slowing the game down.

As Mulligan said on BBC how do players know what refs take as abuse? Someone could say something innocuous enough and the ref could take it the wrong way all of a sudden it's brought up for a either a guaranteed point or a chance for 2.

As MilltownRow constantly says, players and managers make mistakes. But I've heard them get abuse shouted at them if the mistake is bad enough either from teammates or management. If refs make a mistake why would they not get shouted at too? It's unrealistic

Player should not have thrown the ball anywhere, everything after that is pointless.. A player doesn't lose his manliness by handing the ball back and sticking to the rule (I don't like it btw, but its in place). Just hand it back..

I think you know when someone is being a dick with their comments, if you don't, well you (not you personally) could be intitled to DLA!

Refs will make far less mistakes in a game than a player or a manager, fouling, misplaced pass, shooting instead of passing, touching the ball on the ground, too many steps, dissent the list goes on, as for the manager, picking the wrong team, wrong tactics, poor training sessions, bad preparation and so on..

I've managed senior teams in senior leagues, we lose is not down to the referee, as there will be a lot of reasons in that game  over 60 odd minutes as to why we lost, but it won't be down to those odd calls you didn't get in a game, they also manage to even themselves out over the course of the game, losers blame the ref 
He gave the ball back to the player he fouled and from where the foul was committed. Is that not the rule? Does it state somewhere in the rule that he has to pass the ball to the player 5 yards ahead of where the foul was committed because that doesn't sound fair.

Come on now lol. The ball ended up in the opposition players hands from where the foul was committed. This is the type of stuff that turns people against the refs. Use a bit of cop on and stop making an issue out of nothing. They aren't in nursery having to say please and thank you and hold hands. They're nearly adults ffs. No doubt if he handed the ball to the player running at him the ref would've brought it back to where the foul was committed.

Again I've said I don't like it and provided there's no malice/intent or piss taking I'll let it slide.. but the rule is the rule. Either we want ref's to be robots or we like some common sense
So why couldn't he apply common sense and see there was no intent to delay the game? Maybe it is in the rules that you have to give it to another player that's 5 yards away from where the foul was committed giving them even more of an advantage than they already have but I thought you were meant to give it to the opponent you fouled. Could be wrong on that

You can give it to the nearest player, and that was an update/amendment on the rule.. But either way by rule, you can't throw it, and applying common sense is great it does open the door to players/management/supporters to have a go at the ref for not following the rules and using common sense
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

are they being t
hat pedantic? If I foul someone and thrown the ball to them is it that different from handing it back to them?

Quote from: tonto1888 on April 17, 2025, 08:45:42 AM

are they being t
hat pedantic? If I foul someone and thrown the ball to them is it that different from handing it back to them?

Yes, one is throwing the ball, and the other is handing it back, the main gurn from people watching games is no consistency from the ref's and when a clear and defined rule comes out like 'you must hand the ball back to the player' people are up in arms!! The risk of getting a ref that will follow the rules (which we want lol) and losing the match for not handing the ball back is not worth it, so why not do it?

Is it being pedantic on the rule? Probably, I personally don't like it and if it happens I apply common sense which is generally frowned by the team that feels they should be getting a free 50 meters up the pitch..

As an example, I blew the whistle for a free, it was a 60/40 free type thing where possibly one player thought he'd won the free, it happens, he played on and I understood that he thought he'd won the free, I explained who the free was for and reasons behind it, the other team and officials wanted the ball moved forward. Now by rule I should have possibly moved that forward, but I allowed that there may have been some confusion and they took the free from the spot of foul..

Am I wrong? Would an assessor have marked me down? Probably
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 17, 2025, 08:59:58 AM

are they being t

Yes, one is throwing the ball, and the other is handing it back, the main gurn from people watching games is no consistency from the ref's and when a clear and defined rule comes out like 'you must hand the ball back to the player' people are up in arms!! The risk of getting a ref that will follow the rules (which we want lol) and losing the match for not handing the ball back is not worth it, so why not do it?

Is it being pedantic on the rule? Probably, I personally don't like it and if it happens I apply common sense which is generally frowned by the team that feels they should be getting a free 50 meters up the pitch..

As an example, I blew the whistle for a free, it was a 60/40 free type thing where possibly one player thought he'd won the free, it happens, he played on and I understood that he thought he'd won the free, I explained who the free was for and reasons behind it, the other team and officials wanted the ball moved forward. Now by rule I should have possibly moved that forward, but I allowed that there may have been some confusion and they took the free from the spot of foul..

I think its silly. Maybe the rule should have said give the ball back. I am not talking about throwing the ball 10 yards. Im on about if i tackle you and get the ball but the ref blows and I am a yard away and throwing it back. Is that such a big thing?

flowerpot

The new rule coming in is you have to say there you go, here is the ball, have a great game.

Truthsayer

As I feared Gaelic football is beyond repair... thanks Jimmy, Mickey..

thebigfullforward

Quote from: tonto1888 on April 17, 2025, 09:02:26 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 17, 2025, 08:59:58 AM

are they being t

I think its silly. Maybe the rule should have said give the ball back. I am not talking about throwing the ball 10 yards. Im on about if i tackle you and get the ball but the ref blows and I am a yard away and throwing it back. Is that such a big thing?
If that's the rules they have in place they need looked at. Our player had no intention of delaying the game. Ridiculous that the likes of that and the Cavan ones knocking the ball from McKernans hands are deemed as delaying the game. Same as yesterday in the U20s. Come the end of the year I think you'd be hard pressed to find anyone in favour of those types of situations being brought forward for a handy point or a chance of 2

Stall the Bailer

Quote from: thebigfullforward on April 17, 2025, 08:04:13 AM
So if the nearest opposition player is behind you and closer to your own net than you are you have to hand it to them? Sounds like another flaw in the rules. Attackers already have all the advantages they could need. If it's in the rules that they're legally allowed to take a free from 5/10/however many yards the ref deems the closest player is then that needs look at
As far as I understand it is to prevent scenarios where it pays to foul and delay. If you foul then the advantage should be to the player who was fouled. You have to hand the ball back. The reason teams delay is to get players back to prevent scores. The reason players want to throw the ball is so that they can get back and prevent a score. Why, allow the fouler an advantage here, just because that is always how it was?

Well said.
Foul play shouldn't pay.
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

flowerpot

And the below scenario ?

Quote from: flowerpot on April 17, 2025, 08:19:12 AMThree or four lads round a player slapping away at the ball, player falls, unable to solo, to bounce to pass, ref deems player to have over carried, how long will he give for said player on ground possibly on top of the ball with multiple bodies around him to get himself to his feet and hand the ball to the "nearest" opposition player, even if he lets go the ball is still probably under him. 

A technical foul as he can't release, yet could be punished with a 2 pointer because he also can't hand ball back quick enough!