Gaelic Football - Rules & Regulations discussion/clarification

Started by BennyCake, September 09, 2014, 12:47:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Milltown Row2

None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

on the sideline


Armagh18

Quote from: on the sideline on February 22, 2025, 01:34:33 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 22, 2025, 12:23:18 AMWhat 8 meters?

The 4 steps/strides before taking the solo and the 4 after it
ow however, a player who is
fouled can solo (Toe-Tap) immediately, within 4m of where the foul occurred, and continue to attack. If
they solo & go they cannot be challenged for 4m.

You'll not get 8m I wouldn't think.

It's a very good rule but tricky to police to the letter.

marty34

Quote from: Armagh18 on February 22, 2025, 04:28:34 AM
Quote from: on the sideline on February 22, 2025, 01:34:33 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 22, 2025, 12:23:18 AMWhat 8 meters?

The 4 steps/strides before taking the solo and the 4 after it
ow however, a player who is
fouled can solo (Toe-Tap) immediately, within 4m of where the foul occurred, and continue to attack. If
they solo & go they cannot be challenged for 4m.

You'll not get 8m I wouldn't think.

It's a very good rule but tricky to police to the letter.

Great rule. Speeds up the game and cut out the unnecessary holding the ball/scuffling when a free is awarded.

I think we, the referees and the players, will have a far better grasp of the rules after the league.  Judge them then.

on the sideline

#2089
Quote from: Armagh18 on February 22, 2025, 04:28:34 AM
Quote from: on the sideline on February 22, 2025, 01:34:33 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 22, 2025, 12:23:18 AMWhat 8 meters?

The 4 steps/strides before taking the solo and the 4 after it
ow however, a player who is
fouled can solo (Toe-Tap) immediately, within 4m of where the foul occurred, and continue to attack. If
they solo & go they cannot be challenged for 4m.

You'll not get 8m I wouldn't think.

It's a very good rule but tricky to police to the letter.

We've been told by Ulster Council official and backed up by referees at meeting on Monday night that you can take the solo within 4m of where the foul occurred then have 4 more after where you can't be touched - so in essence that's 8m. Ok maybe need to solo before the 4m, but that's still 7m at least of not being able to be touched. The ulster council official and referees were put over this repeatedly and that is how it was explained.

So my questions from our team meeting remain:

1. If taking the solo and go, during the first 4 steps or metres if I look up and see a kick pass or hand pass is on, can I make the pass? As in before I take the solo part of 'solo and go'

2. If I'm fouled just outside the 21 and solo and go, do I still get the protection from being tackled for the 8m or is it game on when I cross the 21?

Armagh18

Quote from: on the sideline on February 22, 2025, 08:19:40 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on February 22, 2025, 04:28:34 AM
Quote from: on the sideline on February 22, 2025, 01:34:33 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 22, 2025, 12:23:18 AMWhat 8 meters?

The 4 steps/strides before taking the solo and the 4 after it
ow however, a player who is
fouled can solo (Toe-Tap) immediately, within 4m of where the foul occurred, and continue to attack. If
they solo & go they cannot be challenged for 4m.

You'll not get 8m I wouldn't think.

It's a very good rule but tricky to police to the letter.

We've been told by Ulster Council official and backed up by referees at meeting on Monday night that you can take the solo within 4m of where the foul occurred then have 4 more after where you can't be touched - so in essence that's 8m. Ok maybe need to solo before the 4m, but that's still 7m at least of not being able to be touched. The ulster council official and referees were put over this repeatedly and that is how it was explained.

So my questions remain:

Think thats abit much.

Imo the best rule would give 4m from where the foul actually was to allow for momentum etc if you are being fouled, take the solo immediately and then you get 4 clear metres of not being touched.

Milltown Row2

Quote from: on the sideline on February 22, 2025, 08:19:40 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on February 22, 2025, 04:28:34 AM
Quote from: on the sideline on February 22, 2025, 01:34:33 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 22, 2025, 12:23:18 AMWhat 8 meters?

The 4 steps/strides before taking the solo and the 4 after it
ow however, a player who is
fouled can solo (Toe-Tap) immediately, within 4m of where the foul occurred, and continue to attack. If
they solo & go they cannot be challenged for 4m.

You'll not get 8m I wouldn't think.

It's a very good rule but tricky to police to the letter.

We've been told by Ulster Council official and backed up by referees at meeting on Monday night that you can take the solo within 4m of where the foul occurred then have 4 more after where you can't be touched - so in essence that's 8m. Ok maybe need to solo before the 4m, but that's still 7m at least of not being able to be touched. The ulster council official and referees were put over this repeatedly and that is how it was explained.

So my questions remain:


I was told you can't tackle for 4 metres. Same as the Mark rule. If the player decides to run 4 meters then solo I'm allowing a tackle at 4 meters. Why mention 4 meters in the first place?

None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

on the sideline

#2092
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 22, 2025, 08:25:37 AM
Quote from: on the sideline on February 22, 2025, 08:19:40 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on February 22, 2025, 04:28:34 AM
Quote from: on the sideline on February 22, 2025, 01:34:33 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 22, 2025, 12:23:18 AMWhat 8 meters?

The 4 steps/strides before taking the solo and the 4 after it
ow however, a player who is
fouled can solo (Toe-Tap) immediately, within 4m of where the foul occurred, and continue to attack. If
they solo & go they cannot be challenged for 4m.

You'll not get 8m I wouldn't think.

It's a very good rule but tricky to police to the letter.

We've been told by Ulster Council official and backed up by referees at meeting on Monday night that you can take the solo within 4m of where the foul occurred then have 4 more after where you can't be touched - so in essence that's 8m. Ok maybe need to solo before the 4m, but that's still 7m at least of not being able to be touched. The ulster council official and referees were put over this repeatedly and that is how it was explained.

So my questions remain:


I was told you can't tackle for 4 metres. Same as the Mark rule. If the player decides to run 4 meters then solo I'm allowing a tackle at 4 meters. Why mention 4 meters in the first place?


Like I said this is what we've been told. You've got to take the solo within 4m and then have 4 more after it (or you can give the ball to someone within 4m of the original foul and they can take the solo and go - but their solo must be within 4m of the foul) Can't be touched until after that. They were put over it repeatedly.

Milltown Row2

Quote from: on the sideline on February 22, 2025, 08:30:05 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 22, 2025, 08:25:37 AM
Quote from: on the sideline on February 22, 2025, 08:19:40 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on February 22, 2025, 04:28:34 AM
Quote from: on the sideline on February 22, 2025, 01:34:33 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 22, 2025, 12:23:18 AMWhat 8 meters?

The 4 steps/strides before taking the solo and the 4 after it
ow however, a player who is
fouled can solo (Toe-Tap) immediately, within 4m of where the foul occurred, and continue to attack. If
they solo & go they cannot be challenged for 4m.

You'll not get 8m I wouldn't think.

It's a very good rule but tricky to police to the letter.

We've been told by Ulster Council official and backed up by referees at meeting on Monday night that you can take the solo within 4m of where the foul occurred then have 4 more after where you can't be touched - so in essence that's 8m. Ok maybe need to solo before the 4m, but that's still 7m at least of not being able to be touched. The ulster council official and referees were put over this repeatedly and that is how it was explained.

So my questions remain:


I was told you can't tackle for 4 metres. Same as the Mark rule. If the player decides to run 4 meters then solo I'm allowing a tackle at 4 meters. Why mention 4 meters in the first place?


Like I said this is what we've been told. You've got to take the solo within 4m and then have 4 more after it (or you can give the ball to someone within 4m of the original foul and they can take the solo and go - but their solo must be within 4m of the foul) Can't be touched until after that. They were put over it repeatedly.

It's entirely changed from its original (as have others) rule. This is a different rule. As you've asked if I'm just outside the 21 I can't be touched for 8 meters, if so that's a penalty? That's bonkers
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

David McKeown

#2094
Quote from: on the sideline on February 22, 2025, 01:34:33 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 22, 2025, 12:23:18 AMWhat 8 meters?

The 4 steps/strides before taking the solo and the 4 after it

Thats how it was referee'd in the Dublin Kerry game but I am not sure thats the rule.  In fact on occasion it was start run within 4 metres of the foul run 4 metres solo then get another 4m before a tackle could come in.  Effectively giving nearly 12m from the spot of the foul.

I thought I liked initially and I can see some promise but I think it needs tightened up.

Also can you block a shot or pass within the 4m as opposed to tackle or charge or what exactly is the rule?
2022 Allianz League Prediction Competition Winner

David McKeown

On the new forward mark what happens if you commit a technical foul in the 'free attack' you get?  Is it like the previous rule where the free was supposed to be reversed or does it go back for the mark?
2022 Allianz League Prediction Competition Winner

DuffleKing

Quote from: David McKeown on February 22, 2025, 09:25:07 AMOn the new forward mark what happens if you commit a technical foul in the 'free attack' you get?  Is it like the previous rule where the free was supposed to be reversed or does it go back for the mark?

Back to the Mark

Saffron_sam20

Been to one club game. The 3v3 was constantly breached and only on one occasion did one of the teams highlight it and it got them a free when the other team was in a scoring position.

The kick outs completely ruined the game, one team was much bigger and the other team were losing their own kick out constantly.

The 'dissent' rule isn't really that though,a player shouted how long when opposition player was running and tbf it prob was too long. Ref blew the whistle and gave the free. How is that right? Apparently the ref said the player was giving off to him. But surely shouting too long is more to do with putting the other man off. That rule needs binned, just give a yellow or black for anyone acting the p***k and that'll do

statto

Quote from: Saffron_sam20 on February 22, 2025, 10:57:51 AMBeen to one club game. The 3v3 was constantly breached and only on one occasion did one of the teams highlight it and it got them a free when the other team was in a scoring position.

The kick outs completely ruined the game, one team was much bigger and the other team were losing their own kick out constantly.

The 'dissent' rule isn't really that though,a player shouted how long when opposition player was running and tbf it prob was too long. Ref blew the whistle and gave the free. How is that right? Apparently the ref said the player was giving off to him. But surely shouting too long is more to do with putting the other man off. That rule needs binned, just give a yellow or black for anyone acting the p***k and that'll do
Be a no from Jim Gavin.

David McKeown

Quote from: DuffleKing on February 22, 2025, 10:46:56 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on February 22, 2025, 09:25:07 AMOn the new forward mark what happens if you commit a technical foul in the 'free attack' you get?  Is it like the previous rule where the free was supposed to be reversed or does it go back for the mark?

Back to the Mark

So there's two different advantage rules now?  Superb
2022 Allianz League Prediction Competition Winner