Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

YoungSaff

Quote from: Gaels1789 on February 18, 2025, 02:27:39 PM
Quote from: YoungSaff on February 18, 2025, 02:22:16 PM
Quote from: Gaels1789 on February 18, 2025, 02:18:41 PM
Quote from: YoungSaff on February 18, 2025, 02:13:13 PMAnother whisper which I heard was a lad who plays for St Ergnants transfering to Ahoghill surely this wouldn't go down too well in the club ?? I heard he hurls for Ahoghill and has asked for the form to be signed , could anyone from these clubs or nearby shed some light ?

yes I heard this aswell young lad with lots of talent be a big loss to moneyglass if it's true, young lad with plenty of pace think he plays out on the wings.]

Did you hear who he was , i had heard a young lad but never got a name , meant to be a good one for them bound to be no lost love if the clubs are to meet and he is playing

I'm sure there's no love lost anyway, wonder did he make the right decision, not a big fan of people moving clubs.

I would be the same not a big fan !! I heard speculation there was a row between a young fella mcCann and McCloskey , presuming it is one of the two of them lads who is departing I had heard McCloskey was a fine hurler for Ahoghill so  assuming it is him ??

Gaels1789

Quote from: YoungSaff on February 18, 2025, 02:32:03 PM
Quote from: YoungSaff on February 18, 2025, 02:13:13 PMAnother whisper which I heard was a lad who plays for St Ergnants transfering to Ahoghill surely this wouldn't go down too well in the club ?? I heard he hurls for Ahoghill and has asked for the form to be signed , could anyone from these clubs or nearby shed some light ?

yes I heard this aswell young lad with lots of talent be a big loss to moneyglass if it's true, young lad with plenty of pace think he plays out on the wings.]

Did you hear who he was , i had heard a young lad but never got a name , meant to be a good one for them bound to be no lost love if the clubs are to meet and he is playing

I'm sure there's no love lost anyway, wonder did he make the right decision, not a big fan of people moving clubs.

I would be the same not a big fan !! I heard speculation there was a row between a young fella mcCann and McCloskey , presuming it is one of the two of them lads who is departing I had heard McCloskey was a fine hurler for Ahoghill so  assuming it is him ??

Jesus that is crazy if true never know what happens at trainings these days, I was talking to my cousin there from moneyglass said he wasn't there but told me they have a lad called Mike the pike back playing,
Said he could do danger up top

with phrases like on the wings and up top, im assuming its a transfer between Ballymena united and Larne.

Quote from: Hoof Hearted on February 18, 2025, 02:59:55 PMwith phrases like on the wings and up top, im assuming its a transfer between Ballymena united and Larne.

Can't wait to see Mike the pike this year though, is he an inside forward or holding midfielder?
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

YoungSaff

Quote from: Hoof Hearted on February 18, 2025, 02:59:55 PMwith phrases like on the wings and up top, im assuming its a transfer between Ballymena united and Larne.

Quote from: Gaels1789 on February 18, 2025, 02:46:00 PM
Quote from: YoungSaff on February 18, 2025, 02:32:03 PM

Jesus that is crazy if true never know what happens at trainings these days, I was talking to my cousin there from moneyglass said he wasn't there but told me they have a lad called Mike the pike back playing,
Said he could do danger up top

I remember him playing when moneyglass won the u21 they beat Lamh Dhearg in colaiste feirste he was a quare handful that night the funny name he stood out !

I heard the biddies have been busy in pre season playing the likes of Scotstown etc ,, will they be able to breakthrough this year ? I wonder have they anymore transfers up their sleeves or will it only be Ahoghill this window !!

paddyjohn

Portglenone always have a trick up their sleeve. I heard they were feeding an ex Derry man in the Fiddlers Rest one evening and giving an ex Tyrone man drink in the Duck!

Quote from: paddyjohn on February 18, 2025, 04:07:22 PMPortglenone always have a trick up their sleeve. I heard they were feeding an ex Derry man in the Fiddlers Rest one evening and giving an ex Tyrone man drink in the Duck!

thats why i saw Brian McGilligan and Plunkett donaghy getting outta bannsides car !!

bannside

Lol. I've had some great conversations with Derry players in Pats or The Fiddlers, when  Big Fergal Doherty had it the place was full of them. Ironically I did meet Brian McGilligan there too one night, a few years back, he was meeting up with an oul school mate from St Pats Maghera. Big gentleman.

paddyjohn

Quote from: Hoof Hearted on February 18, 2025, 04:35:49 PM
Quote from: paddyjohn on February 18, 2025, 04:07:22 PMPortglenone always have a trick up their sleeve. I heard they were feeding an ex Derry man in the Fiddlers Rest one evening and giving an ex Tyrone man drink in the Duck!

thats why i saw Brian McGilligan and Plunkett donaghy getting outta bannsides car !!

Brolly and Fay Devlin I heard!

Quote from: paddyjohn on February 18, 2025, 04:50:53 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on February 18, 2025, 04:35:49 PM

Brolly and Fay Devlin I heard!

poor Fay, he wouldnt get much of a word in with those 2 !!

EOC1923

Reading this thread, what a sorry county we are part of. F#cking hell what other county would that Dunloy thing happen, or the move to 16 teams last season, or the late move to have Division 1 play offs instead of the normal, Or the late move to redraw the championship semi pairings. What a shambles we are, unbelievable! Any wonder we are where we are

Hectic

Quote from: Hectic on October 01, 2024, 09:24:09 AMThere are no playoffs between Div 1 or  2 either as per said regulations!
Two teams down,  two teams up.
Ballymena are an outlier that just confuse the situation as they did play IFC to accommodate Dunloy in SFC- remember as well that they were one of the proposers of this outcome !

Correct, no more playoffs as per regulations.

But regulations don't say Dunloy are losing their place in top 16.

They also don't say who will take Dunloy's place should they exit the top 16 as some have suggested.

Did Ballymena play Intermediate to accommodate Dunloy or because they fancied a flat track run at Intermediate and a go at Ulster?

Logic surely would have said that when expanding to 16 for Senior Championship it would have been Ballymena promoted to Senior Championship as runners up last year.  Not Aldergrove, who didn't even make the Intermediate Championship semi finals if I remember correctly.

Remember also both Aldergrove and Ballymena only played Division one via round the table meetings when all games finished last year as opposed to winning promotion as set out at the start of the season.

But anyhow, no playoffs in regulations but also an absence of what to do should Dunloy exit the top 16 so might need heads round the table to make more decisions on final place in top 16 should that rumour be correct.

Simple outcome is regulations are followed as written, Dunloy remain in senior 16, which is this years Senior Championship participants minus Moneyglass and St Endas - St Paul's and Intermediate winners taking their place.  And then Division one mirroring Senior Championship.

But be good to know - even in advance of Intermediate final so that everyone knows what is on the line - not that it should affect two teams going out to try and win a championship of course.

————————————————————-

Just catching up and I see Dunloy appearing in Division 1 appears to be upsetting some.

Well take that back to the task force that drew up the regulations for leagues and championships ahead of last season.

I poured over them last autumn and the conclusion was that Dunloy would be top 16 as per regulations. Unless they opted out as some were suggesting at the time - seems baseless at this point.

Ballymena winning Intermediate was useful for said task force as otherwise they could have had a situation that was not accounted for when they penned their regulations.

But we are now pretty much as regulations written.

*'no playoffs' in original post refers to discussion around a 3rd set of playoffs last year.  League and championship relegation playoffs were accounted for in task force paper/regulations.

Take the Mark

How can it be taken back to this 'task force'? They are gone as far as I know, they came to sort their own clubs out with little consideration for any others, and fecked off.

They aren't the first committee to do that though - some members of the county board pulled manys a move like that down the years.

Níl a fhios agam

Yea to back up the rumors, i have caught wind myself Casements have strengthened both their line and their squad with inter county recruitment. So i say they are in a healthy position to kick on this year. With the new rules i think we could be in for a shock in 2025

Saffsof82

according to the BBC news this morning Corrigan has been confirmed at the venue for the Armagh game.