Gaelic Football - Rules & Regulations discussion/clarification

Started by BennyCake, September 09, 2014, 12:47:26 PM

Sorry, just to go back to the 6 Subs.

From RTÉ

"I feel for Dublin, they lost three players with hamstrings. I think that's definitely something that has to be looked at," McGuinness said.

"Peadar Mogan would be one of our fitter lads and he was really struggling at the end and we had the five subs on and we couldn't get him off.

So, isn't it up to them to manage their workload before calling for more new rules?

Quote from: Captain Scarlet on February 03, 2025, 08:40:37 PMSorry, just to go back to the 6 Subs.

From RTÉ

"I feel for Dublin, they lost three players with hamstrings. I think that's definitely something that has to be looked at," McGuinness said.

"Peadar Mogan would be one of our fitter lads and he was really struggling at the end and we had the five subs on and we couldn't get him off.

So, isn't it up to them to manage their workload before calling for more new rules?
I'd say work loads would be managed fairly well, I'm sure there would be well qualified and well paid people keeping on top of how much lads are doing on the gps but I'm not privy to it obviously.

Football is being played at a much higher pace now, that style of play with teams passing laterally across around 40m out will be seen less, but expecting players to be fit to get up and down all day with no break just won't happen. The solo and go has sped the game up a lot but will lead to a lot more running to be done.

Quote from: Armagh18 on February 03, 2025, 08:58:19 PM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on February 03, 2025, 08:40:37 PMSorry, just to go back to the 6 Subs.

From RTÉ

I'd say work loads would be managed fairly well, I'm sure there would be well qualified and well paid people keeping on top of how much lads are doing on the gps but I'm not privy to it obviously.

Football is being played at a much higher pace now, that style of play with teams passing laterally across around 40m out will be seen less, but expecting players to be fit to get up and down all day with no break just won't happen. The solo and go has sped the game up a lot but will lead to a lot more running to be done.

Is that not a good thing?

Managers will just have to adapt and "rest" players when needed.

Quote from: johnnycool on February 04, 2025, 08:13:46 AM

From RTÉ

It is of course, but no matter how fit and strong players get, they'll never be able to get up and down all dsy without little breaks of keeping the ball.

Quote from: Armagh18 on February 04, 2025, 08:49:21 AM

From RTÉ

It is of course, but no matter how fit and strong players get, they'll never be able to get up and down all dsy without little breaks of keeping the ball.

Maybe they could try kicking the ball more instead, like AFL players.

Quote from: thewobbler on February 04, 2025, 08:57:29 AM

From RTÉ

Will coaches allow that?

High risk activity and all that.

From RTÉ

Yeah brilliant but then the defending team will have to attempt to get back and defend. And if the forward it is kicked to wins the ball and the defender gets him slowed, he's going to need support runners to help.

Serious strain being put on players.

Quote from: Armagh18 on February 04, 2025, 09:37:26 AM

From RTÉ

Yeah brilliant but then the defending team will have to attempt to get back and defend. And if the forward it is kicked to wins the ball and the defender gets him slowed, he's going to need support runners to help.

Serious strain being put on players.

You (and I'm not just picking out you, this is tens of thousands of football followers, and pretty much every coach in the land) might need a wee trip to the adjustment bureau.

1. The game is going to be higher scoring now. Setting your team up to keep the score down is going to be much more difficult. So instead of treating every score against as something worthy of an enquiry, just accept it is part of the game.

2. The 3-up rules means that there will always be an outball (at least of sorts). And that outball is going to occasionally be intercepted and returned. If you really think you can condition humans to back up lengthy kicks of a football on repeat for an hour, then you're dangerous.

Also, I don't see any lads running the full lenght of the field too often. There is still a defensive set-up and not all attacking players go all the way and similarly not all defenders have to run all the way back.

What was McStay's gripe with the 3 back breach and allowing some leniency when a player is barely or "accidentally" over the line but not interfering with play? He said it was in the rules.

Quote from: highorlow on February 04, 2025, 10:21:54 AMWhat was McStay's gripe with the 3 back breach and allowing some leniency when a player is barely or "accidentally" over the line but not interfering with play? He said it was in the rules.

If two players are carried over the line by momentum when going for a ball or slipped over due to the surface then its a hop ball from the center

Will be some craic when you give that rather than the 50 m free in club games
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

If I'm about to shoot for a goal and an opponent slides across the HW line.....?

Quote from: Rossfan on February 04, 2025, 11:53:57 AMIf I'm about to shoot for a goal and an opponent slides across the HW line.....?

3 points if the goal goes in, then a shot at the 2 points arc after. Be daft to be sliding

Quote from: Mad Mentor on February 03, 2025, 01:28:57 PMWhy all the fuss about the count down clock and the hooter? Has this not been used in Ladies football for years?

Yeah and the rules for both are different as I understand. The end to the Armagh v Tyrone game potentially highlighting that. The final score would have stood under the rules in ladies football but as I understand didn't stand under the men's rules.