Gaelic Football - Rules & Regulations discussion/clarification

Started by BennyCake, September 09, 2014, 12:47:26 PM

Quote from: imtommygunn on January 31, 2025, 12:21:24 PMThere's a Loughgiel team photo from the 80s where they played a football match so they must have played some football once  ;D Cushendall I don't think would have it about the place.

It seems the same down the Ards peninsula. Anyone ever try starting football up in any of those clubs JC?

Ballycran were the last club to play adult football, late 90's was probably when they gave up.

Back then getting sent off in the football would have ruled you out of the hurling so that probably didn't help.

A few lads would still play a bit of football for the likes of Kilclief, Saul, Darragh Cross etc etc, but not enough to sustain a team.

HiMucker

Quote from: onefineday on February 03, 2025, 12:27:20 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on February 02, 2025, 11:27:26 PM
Quote from: maldini on February 02, 2025, 11:15:26 PMDo only certain games, televised ones, operate the hooter after 35/70 mins?

Yes, only certain grounds. Seen the hooter man leaving CP today with a big box of about half a dozen hooters. I'd say they'll be part of all county grounds stock in the next few months.
Only division one at the moment.

I'm personally not a fan of how it's implemented - I'd much prefer it to be similar to rugby, with the game ending at the natural conclusion of a play. It's not as though it's an exact science anyway, so why not give that extra little bit to the crowd at the end of a game.
Agree with this, not sure why they haven't gone with that already. Sometimes it just seems like we don't implement positive aspects from other sports, as god forbid we be accused of copying it.

Quote from: HiMucker on February 03, 2025, 11:04:50 AM
Quote from: onefineday on February 03, 2025, 12:27:20 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on February 02, 2025, 11:27:26 PM
Quote from: maldini on February 02, 2025, 11:15:26 PMDo only certain games, televised ones, operate the hooter after 35/70 mins?

Yes, only certain grounds. Seen the hooter man leaving CP today with a big box of about half a dozen hooters. I'd say they'll be part of all county grounds stock in the next few months.
Only division one at the moment.

I'm personally not a fan of how it's implemented - I'd much prefer it to be similar to rugby, with the game ending at the natural conclusion of a play. It's not as though it's an exact science anyway, so why not give that extra little bit to the crowd at the end of a game.
Agree with this, not sure why they haven't gone with that already. Sometimes it just seems like we don't implement positive aspects from other sports, as god forbid we be accused of copying it.

Yes, 100%. Take our game yesterday. That goal to take Kerry into a 3 point lead. We won in our kick out and everyone is shouting at young Baker to kick it in as we'd only 10 secs to the hooter blowing..he obviously couldn't hear us. Rather than a last nail biting attack, it was a case of sullen faces (not Kerry faces of course) looking at the countdown of doom

Quote from: tbrick18 on February 03, 2025, 10:51:57 AMAnyone else getting the impression that these new rules will really suit teams that have big men?
If a physically smaller team is forced to use long kickouts (for example) they have a smaller chance of winning possession meaning the rules have more of a detrimental effect on them than on the bigger teams.

Look at Armagh v Tyrone - Armagh were physically much bigger/taller and wiped them out on kickouts, but Tyrone had to persist with the long kick regardless. With the 40m arc rule, essentially a short kickout is ruled out and with the strong breeze in that match it was near impossible to go over the top of the press.
It just feels to me like it gives bigger teams an unfair advantage in terms of the tactical part of the game.

Yeah absolutely, but then again watching that match there wasnt that many clean catches, all about breaking ball and you don't need to be big to win that. Thought Jemar Hall did really well the other night winning dirty ball and he was probably the smallest man on the field.

Quote from: tbrick18 on February 03, 2025, 10:45:27 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on February 03, 2025, 10:24:52 AM
Quote from: BigGreenField on February 03, 2025, 10:16:49 AMIf a keeper gets a black card (or red) does another player become the designated keeper for the purposes of the new rules or do all 14 players remain "live" at all times for passing?
Would assume u need to either sub on a keeper or an outfielder needs to put on the goalie jersey. Good question.

I had wondered the same thing.
Also, what is the implication of changing positions? So lets say I move the corner back into goals and the keeper out into CB. Do they have to change jersey's or will a free be conceded of someone passes the ball to the keeper now playing in CB? Hypothetical scenario, but in theory there's no reason why a manager wouldnt change players position during a game, including the keeper especially if an outfield player is selected in goals.
It'll be the man in the goalie jersey, don't see refs being bothered with that shit. You'd have to change jersey.

Quote from: Armagh18 on February 03, 2025, 11:16:44 AM
Quote from: tbrick18 on February 03, 2025, 10:45:27 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on February 03, 2025, 10:24:52 AM
Quote from: BigGreenField on February 03, 2025, 10:16:49 AMIf a keeper gets a black card (or red) does another player become the designated keeper for the purposes of the new rules or do all 14 players remain "live" at all times for passing?
Would assume u need to either sub on a keeper or an outfielder needs to put on the goalie jersey. Good question.

I had wondered the same thing.
Also, what is the implication of changing positions? So lets say I move the corner back into goals and the keeper out into CB. Do they have to change jersey's or will a free be conceded of someone passes the ball to the keeper now playing in CB? Hypothetical scenario, but in theory there's no reason why a manager wouldnt change players position during a game, including the keeper especially if an outfield player is selected in goals.
It'll be the man in the goalie jersey, don't see refs being bothered with that shit. You'd have to change jersey.

If you change jersey then the team sheets change too? I'm being deliberately pedantic here - I just think its a nonsense rule and if a team really wanted to push the boundaries then they could argue position changes to get away with passing to the keeper.

Of the rules introduced, I like the hooter and the solo and go.
The dissent rule is grand so long as the ref has a bit of wit about using correctly.
I'm undecided on the 2 pointers - are we seeing any more long range shooting than we saw in previous years? Not sure we are, but they are being rewarded more, so I'd argue this isn't adding anything.
The kickout rule and passing to the keeper I think are a load of horsesh*t and are designed deliberately to favour Kerry\Dublin etc and negate the "Ulster" tactics of running the ball.
The rule about handing the ball to an opponent after a foul is ridiculous imo.
And then there are all these sub-rules about moving the ball into/out of the arc for frees and more besides. They feel a bit like they are being made up as they go along.

At Kildare v Sligo a few went 'short' in terms of kicking from 20m to just outside the 40m arc. If the movement is right teams should be able to get quick ones away and not always go into the bodies.

That being said I like that and there was some great fielding yesterday.

It's not the new rules but I see some managers are crying out for 6 subs...lads are getting injured in games. But sure let's ingnore the feckin months of slogging and lack of rest and recovery that some of these TOP S&C lads allow.

Training to games ratio in the GAA is still woeful, so I'd rather they looked at what they were doing between games before they look for extra men to throw on.

BigGreenField

Quote from: Captain Scarlet on February 03, 2025, 12:21:10 PMIt's not the new rules but I see some managers are crying out for 6 subs...lads are getting injured in games. But sure let's ingnore the feckin months of slogging and lack of rest and recovery that some of these TOP S&C lads allow.

Training to games ratio in the GAA is still woeful, so I'd rather they looked at what they were doing between games before they look for extra men to throw on.

More subs just suits the bigger counties where the quality runs deeper before it drops off, no ability for teams to be smart with their training and match regime.

Rugby Union (for different reasons) brought in 8 subs in 2015 and largely recognised ever since as suiting the bigger countries/teams and also distorting the game (no gaps as players get taken off if tired).

smort

Was just about to say the same BGF. I like the idea of reducing the length of intercounty games to 60mins, rather than allowing additional substitutes

Quote from: Captain Scarlet on February 03, 2025, 12:21:10 PMAt Kildare v Sligo a few went 'short' in terms of kicking from 20m to just outside the 40m arc. If the movement is right teams should be able to get quick ones away and not always go into the bodies.

That being said I like that and there was some great fielding yesterday.

It's not the new rules but I see some managers are crying out for 6 subs...lads are getting injured in games. But sure let's ingnore the feckin months of slogging and lack of rest and recovery that some of these TOP S&C lads allow.

Don't think you'd be in the 'top' bracket if this was actually happening , which it of course isn't

Mad Mentor

Why all the fuss about the count down clock and the hooter? Has this not been used in Ladies football for years?

Smokin Joe

The countDOWN clock isn't needed.  Celtic Park yesterday had a clock that counter upwards, but the hooter blew at exactly 35 and 70 mins.  This seems to work OK, so not having software for a clock to countdown doesn't seem like a real reason not to implement the hooter.

GTP

MR2 may come along and correct me on all this but I believe you must have a designated goalkeeper on the pitch, so under the enhanced rules you will always have at least one player you cannot pass to in the defensive half. In the Intermediate final when Ballinderry keeper sent off for the final penalty the outfield player became the designated goalkeeper by putting on a bib. If not the designated keeper, he wouldn't have been able to touch the ball on the ground in the small square. A GK not taking a kick out is also restricted to staying in the small square until the kickout taken.

Forward mark is still a terrible rule, the 50m punishment for not giving the ball back and the 21m or 41m free for 3 up offences are too severe. C Glass didn't seem to know a free had been given against him when not handing the ball back in the Derry game resulting in a point for Kerry. And Derry's 3 up offence occurred when they were attacking surely this wasn't 'deliberate' as there would be no benefit in an added defender heading up the pitch as 12 v 11 can be made with the GK - 2 points against for something that didn't affect play is disproportionate.

Smokin Joe

According to the rulebook, the goalkeeper is designated by the fact that he wears a different jersey to the rest of his teammates.

Yeah there needs to be a GK by rule, if not it would be abuse of being able to have an outlet in defence to pass the ball to
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.